Berlinale: Yearbook


42nd Berlin International Film Festival
February 13 - 24, 1992

“A hundred years – as old as cinema itself. Compared with that a festival is nothing.”

(Michael Althen in the "Süddeutsche Zeitung" on the hundred-year-old producer Hal Roach, this year’s Homage honouree.)

Impression of the 42nd Berlinale

Business as usual

“The 1992 Berlinale quickly became history”, Wolfgang Jacobson summed up in 50 Jahre Berlinale, echoing contemporary commentators. In his estimation, the festival had failed to highlight alternatives in a desert of uniformity. “It was business as usual – with good intentions certainly, but we have not yet seen the often-evoked new profile.”

While Moritz de Hadeln listed the sore points one after the other in his catalogue foreword (market conditions, a low point in German cinema, greed, the disparity between lack and excess, the war of the festivals and the questioning of their right to exist, “nouveau riche Europeans” and “highly esteemed American cinema”) it was still hard to tell what this Berlinale was offering in opposition to the “crisis”.

Worlds apart?

When the Star Trek sequel The Undiscovered Country premiered in the Zoo Palast as part of the Berlinale, opinions were divided: Some showed up in trekkie costumes and turned the Berlinale into a carnival, while others threw up their hands in horror at the ultimate occupation of the Berlinale by Hollywood. Many critics saw the close connection to the American majors, for which the Berlinale was envied by other festivals (particularly Cannes), as a sign that that the Berlinale had “sold out”.

Criticism once again focused on festival director Moritz de Hadeln, sparing Ulrich Gregor for the most part. But not only was there a one-sided view of the festival leadership, critics also tended to overlook the fact that the “oddly indifferent impression” left by the festival this year was due not least to structural problems in international filmmaking. Growing production numbers worldwide stood in contrast to an increasing conformity of style and choice of topics. “Conformity in diversity” Wolfgang Jacobsen called it – and so the 1992 Berlinale was, as it were, “up to date”.

Once again: Pragmatism or Rebellion?

Moritz de Hadeln had a pragmatic point of view in the discussion over whether there should be more or less Hollywood: The Americans, after all, go wherever they find the best markets, and audiences do want to see Hollywood product, “whose only fault it is to be well-made and well-distributed”. Many criticised this kind of pragmatism for foregoing an independent profile for the Berlinale. Rather than simply taking what comes – and then complaining about the poor selection – many critics would have rather seen more openness towards artistically daring and self-consciously uncommercial films. They argued that a greater willingness on the part of the festival to take risks would also serve as a positive sign to filmmakers, strengthening their resistance to the temptation of going commercial. There was more at stake here than which films were “better”. According to a fundamental critique, the division of power on the international market was threatening to lose its balance under American hegemony – and while the Berlinale was not exactly affirming this, its position was at best ambivalent.

William Defoe and Paul Schrader

Love's Labour Lost

Invoking the professional quality of American films was of course wasted effort against such criticism. The Competition this year did in fact offer a number of gripping and superiorly produced celluloid treats from the United States: Kenneth Branagh’s Dead Again, Paul Schrader’s Light Sleeper, Barry Levinson’s Bugsy, Martin Scorsese’s Cape Fear and Lawrence Kasdan’s Grand Canyon, which, according to many, did not quite deserve its Golden Bear however. These were films that cast their spell on the audience for two or three hours, leaving them with the feeling they’d gotten something for their money. David Cronenberg’s Naked Lunch had a more lasting effect – based on William S. Burrough’s novel, it had a few visual surprises up its sleeve.

Of a much different, smaller calibre – and accordingly praised by the critics – was Allison Anders’ offbeat, melancholy ballad Gas Food Lodging, about a mother and her daughters in a dead-end New Mexico town. This was the beginning of a new independent American cinema that told small stories from the margins of society, and which would experience a veritable boom in the coming years.

European cinema in the Competition had few great moments and no new names. Instead there were old masters, fulfilling the legitimate expectations placed on them to a greater or lesser degree. Eric Rohmer pleased his audience with the elated lightness of his Conte d’Hiver | A Winter's Tale, and István Szabó did not disappoint with Edes Emma, Draga Böbe | Dear Emma, Sweet Böbe, a simultaneously sensitive and stormy tale from a rapidly changing Hungary. Particularly exciting was Infinitas | Infinity by Georgian director Marlen Khutsiyev, a story about a man in search of himself. Many felt that this film of peace in the midst of revolutionary change and the frenzy of the new deserved more than “only” the Alfred Bauer Prize awarded by the jury. Bertrand Tavernier, for his part, made an entirely different political statement with his patient, three-hour documentary on the Algerian war, La Guerre sans Nom | The Undeclared War, breaking the strangely uniform silence that had thus far prevailed on the subject.

A little bit of everything

There were accusations that the Forum and Panorama had not distinguished their own profiles sufficiently and had contributed to the “indifferent variety” of the festival as a whole with their eclectic programming. A special series on “Sorbian film landscapes” in the Panorama, “Mexican Melodramas” and “Jewish Life” in the Forum – these appeared to some as arbitrary programming choices. The Forum did have two cult films on offer: Denis Lavant’s Les Amants du Pont-Neuf | The Lovers on the Bridge and Derek Jarman’s Edward II.

For the 15th anniversary of the Kinderfilmfest, Renate Zylla put on an extensive Retrospective of films from Denmark, the “number one country for children’s film”. Instead of complaining that the customary wealth of Czech and other Eastern European children’s films had, after the political changes, given way to a void, the aim was to emphasize “what has been steadily accompanying us all these years”. Indeed, the remarkable strength of Danish children’s and youth films had brought the Kinderfilmfest countless great moments, and there was a happy reunion this year with films by Astrid Henning-Jensen, Bille August, Søren Kragh-Jacobsen and others.

Berlinale: Chronik


42. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
13. - 24. Februar 1992

„Hundert Jahre, so alt wie das Kino. Verglichen damit ist ein Festival nichts.“

(Michael Althen in der „Süddeutschen Zeitung“ über den hundertjährigen Produzenten Hal Roach, dem die Hommage gewidmet war.)

Impression von der 42. Berlinale

Business as usual

„Die Berlinale 1992 war schnell Geschichte“, resümiert Wolfgang Jacobsen in „50 Jahre Berlinale“ ganz im Tonfall der zeitgenössischen Kommentatoren. Es sei dem Festival nicht gelungen, die Alternativen im Dschungel der Gleichförmigkeit ins rechte Licht zu setzen, meint er. „Business as usual, gute Absicht zwar, aber das beschworene neue Profil zeigte sich noch nicht.“

In seinem Festivalvorwort benannte Moritz de Hadeln zwar der Reihe nach die wunden Punkte – die Marktlage, die Flaute im einheimischen Film, die kommerzielle Gier, das Missverhältnis von Mangel und Überfluss, der Krieg der Festivals und die Diskussion um deren Existenzberechtigung, die „neureichen Europäer“ und das „hochgeschätzte amerikanische Kino“ –, so recht konnte jedoch niemand erkennen, was diese Berlinale der „Krise“ entgegensetzte.

Die Geister scheiden sich

Als das „Star Trek“-Sequel The Undiscovered Country | Das untentdeckte Land im Rahmen der Berlinale im Zoo-Palast Premiere hatte, schieden sich die Geister: Die einen kamen in Trekie-Kostümen und machten die Berlinale zum Karneval, die anderen schlugen die Hände über dem Kopf zusammen und sahen nun vollends die Berlinale unter der Okkupation Hollywoods. Die guten Kontakte zu den US-Majors, um die andere Festivals – vor allem Cannes - die Berlinale beneideten, galten vielen Kritikern als „Ausverkauf“ der Berlinale.

Die Kritik konzentrierte sich erneut auf Festivalleiter Moritz de Hadeln und ließ Ulrich Gregor weitgehend verschont. Aber die Kritiker zeigten nicht nur einen bisweilen einseitigen Blick auf die festivalinternen Verantwortlichkeiten. In der Personaldebatte wurde auch übersehen, dass der „merkwürdig indifferente Eindruck“, den das Festival dieses Jahr machte, nicht zuletzt auf strukturelle Probleme im internationalen Filmschaffen hinwies. Weltweit wachsenden Produktionszahlen standen eine immer einheitlicher werdende Stilistik und Themenwahl gegenüber. „Konformität in der Vielfalt“, nennt es Wolfgang Jacobsen - und damit war die Berlinale 1992 sozusagen „up to date“.

Einmal mehr: Pragmatismus oder Revolte?

Moritz de Hadeln argumentierte in der Diskussion um mehr oder weniger Hollywood pragmatisch: die Amerikaner gingen eben dahin, wo sie den besten Markt fänden. Und das Publikum wolle nun mal die Hollywoodware sehen, „deren einziger Fehler darin besteht, dass sie gut gemacht und gut unters Volk gebracht wird.“ Viele vermissten in diesem Pragmatismus jedoch ein eigenständiges Profil. Anstatt zu nehmen, was man bekommt – und darüber hinaus das mangelhafte Angebot zu kritisieren –, hätten sich viele Kritiker ein deutlicheres Zeichen für den künstlerisch gewagten und möglicherweise bewusst unkommerziellen Film gewünscht.

Mehr Mut zum Risiko von Seiten des Festivals, so die Vorstellung, wäre auch ein positives Signal an die Filmemacher und würde auch bei diesen den Mut stärken, sich der Verführung des Kommerzes zu entziehen. Dabei ging es um mehr als nur darum, welches die besseren Filme seien. Eine grundsätzliche Kritik besagte, dass die Machtverteilung auf dem internationalen Markt unter der amerikanischen Hegemonie aus dem Gleichgewicht zu geraten drohe – und dass sich die Berlinale dazu wenn nicht affirmativ, so doch zu unentschlossen positioniere.

William Defoe und Paul Schrader

Verlorene Liebesmüh'

Der Hinweis auf die professionelle Qualität des US-Kinos war gegen diese Kritik natürlich verlorene Liebesmüh’. Im Wettbewerb bot das US-Kino in diesem Jahr nämlich in der Tat eine Reihe packender und souverän produzierter Leinwanderlebnisse: Kenneth Branaghs Dead Again, Paul Schraders Light Sleeper, Barry Levinsons Bugsy, Martin Scorseses Cape Fear und Lawrence Kasdans Grand Canyon, den viele jedoch mit dem Goldenen Bären allerdings für überbewertet hielten. Filme, die den Zuschauer für zwei, drei Stunden in ihren Bann zogen und ihn mit dem Gefühl entließen, etwas für sein Geld bekommen zu haben. Nachhaltiger wirkte dagegen David Cronenbergs Naked Lunch, der von William S. Burroughs Romanvorlage profitierend mit einigen visuellen Überraschungsmanövern aufwartete.

Von ganz anderem, kleinerem Kaliber - und deshalb von den Kritikern geschätzt: Allison Anders’ schräg melancholische Ballade Gas Food Lodging über eine Mutter und ihre Töchter in einem Kaff in New Mexico. Hier stellte sich ein neues amerikanisches Independent-Kino der kleinen Geschichten vom Rande der Gesellschaft vor, das in den Folgejahren einen wahren Boom erleben sollte.

Das europäische Kino hatte im Wettbewerb nur wenige Sternstunden, keine neuen Namen, dafür Altmeister, die berechtigte Erwartungen mal mehr, mal weniger erfüllten. Eric Rohmer gefiel mit der beschwingten Leichtigkeit seines Conte d’Hiver | Wintermärchen. István Szabó überzeugte mit Edes Emma, Draga Böbe | Sweet Emma, Dear Böbe, einer ebenso einfühlsamen wie stürmischen Geschichte aus einem sich rasch wandelnden Ungarn. Cineastisch aufregend - und daher für viele zu Unrecht von der Jury „nur“ mit dem Alfred-Bauer-Preis bedacht – war vor allem Infinitas des Georgiers Marlen Chuziev, die Geschichte eines Mannes auf der Suche nach sich selbst, ein Film der Ruhe inmitten des Umsturzes und des Taumels des Neuen. Und Bertrand Tavernier setzte einen ganz anderen zeitpolitischen Akzent mit seiner dreistündigen geduldigen Reportage La Guerre sans Nom über den Algerienkrieg, mit dem er ein bis dato merkwürdig einheitliches Schweigen brach.

Vielfalt ohne roten Faden

Forum und Panorama mussten sich den Vorwurf gefallen lassen, zuwenig an einem jeweils eigenen Profil gearbeitet zu haben und mit einem eklektischen Programm zu dem bei aller Vielfalt „indifferenten“ Eindruck des Gesamtfestivals beigetragen zu haben: eine Sonderreihe „Sorbische Filmlandschaften“ im Panorama, daneben im Forum „Mexikanische Melodramen“ und „Jüdische Lebenswelten“ erschienen einigen als etwas wahllose Schwerpunktsetzungen. Zwei Kultfilme hatte das Forum jedoch im Programm: Denis Lavants Les Amants du Pont-Neuf | Die Liebenden von Pont-Neuf und Derek Jarmans Edward II.

Im Kinderfilmfest hatte Renate Zylla zum 15. Jubiläum der Sektion eine umfassende Retrospektive mit Filmen aus Dänemark, dem „Kinderfilmland Nummer Eins“ organisiert. Anstatt zu beklagen, dass der gewohnten Fülle an tschechischen und osteuropäischen Kinderfilmen mit dem politischen Umbruch zunächst einmal eine Leere gefolgt war, sollte herausgestellt werden, „was uns all die Jahre kontinuierlich begleitet hatte“. Tatsächlich hat die auffällige Stärke des dänischen Kinder- und Jugendfilms dem Kinderfilmfest zu unzähligen Sternstunden verholfen und so gab es in diesem Jahr ein frohes Wiedersehen mit Filmen von Astrid Henning-Jensen, Bille August, Søren Kragh-Jacobsen und anderen.