Berlinale: Yearbook


41st Berlin International Film Festival
February 15 - 26, 1991

“The 41st International Film Festival is an act of faith, of courage, an attempt to overcome psychosis and to express interest in the other, whether he be American, English, Jew or Arab. We Germans also need to speak with each other, learn to understand each other”.

(Moritz de Hadeln in the foreword to the festival catalogue, defending his decision to let the Berlinale take place despite – or precisely because of – the Gulf War.)

The poster of the 41st Berlinale

Now more than ever: no surrender in the war of images

On January 16, war broke out in the Gulf. Immediately there were speculations that the Berlinale would be cancelled. But what would have been gained by that? In a passionate foreword to the festival catalogue, Moritz de Hadeln defended his and Ulrich Gregor’s decision not to cancel the Berlinale. Angrily he castigated the West’s ignorance of Arab culture, the interpretive monopoly of American war reporting and its acceptance by the viewing public. Instead of a timid retreat into the private zone in front of the television and its “indoctrinating” message, he invoked the connecting power of dialogue the film festival sought to promote. “What to do? Our answer is simple: We want to do everything possible to devote this festival to international dialogue. This cannot happen hysterically or fearfully, it cannot happen if we stay at home to follow the latest reports from the Gulf.”

A strong presence of European films in the Competition this year was meant to counteract the supremacy of American movies. Moritz de Hadeln had been repeatedly accused of being too eager to show major US productions in the Competition. It was not, however, an outstanding year for European cinema. De Hadeln had sagely written in the festival catalogue: “In order to select, a selection has to be possible”, meaning only that film production in the Middle East, Africa and Latin America was still scanty. But by no means did the Berlinale always have first choice of even the prosperous European countries’ films. Competition with Cannes was by now as formidable a barrier as were the financial straits of the “Third World”.

Homage 1991: Jane Russell und Moritz de Hadeln

Wide discrepancies in the quality of European films

Neil Jordan’s The Miracle, Simon Callow’s The Ballad of the Sad Café and Viktor Aristov’s Satana | Satan were among the few European films that were able to convince both critics and audience. The two German Competition entries seemed to reflect the devastating effects of the new German film funding policy, as a result of which most feature films could only be made as TV co-productions. Franz Seitz’ Erfolg | Success and Roland Gräf’s Der Tangospieler | The Tango Player were not able to convince their audiences.

That three of four Italian entries were awarded with a main prize – La Casa del Sorriso | The House of Smiles by Marco Ferreri, La Condanna | The Condemnation by Marco Bellocchio and Ultra by Ricky Tognazzi – was seen as a misguided affirmation of what was but a merely well-meant effort. The jury had done European film a disservice – after all, it would not have been a disgrace to give Jonathan Demme the Best Director Silver Bear for The Silence of the Lambs or to honour a film like Cabeza de Vaca, the debut film by Mexican director Nicolas Echevarria. This at least was the gist of many of the commentaries following the awards ceremony.

Collectively overlooked by the media, the public and the jury was Pantelis Voulgari’s Isiches Meres tou Avgoustou | Quiet Days of August, a film whose gentle poetry cast a spell over the few who saw it. “Small”, intimate films threatened to go under in a Competition that again and again was perceived – and perhaps also overestimated – as a clash of cultures. Finnish director Aki Kaurismäki seemed to be well aware of this when he decreed that his films could be shown at the Berlinale, but never in the Competition. This year, his I Hired a Contract Killer provided the Forum with a veritable hit.

Open borders – open competition

In the year one (and a half) after the fall of the Berlin wall there were high expectations of the Berlinale. Observers were eager to see whether the festival would succeed in maintaining its status as the most important festival for Eastern European cinema. It quickly became clear however that the opening of the borders had also led to stiffer competition between the festivals. Several interesting films from Eastern Europe were not even offered to the Berlinale or were withdrawn at short notice in favour of Cannes. So in the end Aristov’s Satana and the Slovakian entry Ked Hviezdy boli cervené by Dusan Trancíks were the only Eastern European films in the Competition.

On the other hand, Eastern European filmmaking continued to be strongly represented in the Forum and Panorama. The Hungarian satire Isten Hátrafelé Megy | God Walks Backwards by Miklós Jancsó in the Panorama, Alexandr Sokurov’s study on death Krug vtoroy | The Second Circle and Gluchy Telefon | Crossed Lines by Polish director Piotr Mikucki were exciting steps towards a new post-communist film language.

Film cultures – old and new

A Retrospective of Romanian documentaries from 1898 to 1990, showing a remarkable continuity of totalitarian regimes, also received a lot of attention. “Even the silent films from the 1920s, mostly short features on the pomp and pageantry of the royals, seemed, in light of the cult of personality to come, like a prologue to the vain self-portrayals of the Ceaucescu clan”, Dieter Bertz wrote in the weekly "Freitag".

Mexican cinema, which already made a good impression in the Competition with Nicholas Echevarria’s Cabeza de Vaca, showed itself to be extremely lively in a special series in the Forum. The Berlinale audience was introduced to a cinematography it was to see more of in the future. The German films in the Forum were also persuasive, or at least their themes were on the pulse of their time. “Farewell ceremonies”, Klaus Dermutz wrote in the "Süddeutsche Zeitung", referring to the conspicuously large number of German films (including East-West co-productions) that addressed the reunification and especially the uncertainty over the common future. Jürgen Böttcher’s Die Mauer, Andreas Voigt’s Letztes Jahr Titanic, Sibylle Schoenemann’s Verriegelte Zeit | Locked-Up Time, Ulrike Ottinger’s Countdown and Ein schmales Stück Deutschland by Lew Hohlmann, Joachim Tschirner and Klaus Salge all shared this thematic preoccupation.

In addition to a festival that could best be described as mixed – and disappointing after such high expectations – there was also the sobering attendance at the concurrent screenings in the east part of Berlin. Only 9,426 people attended the seventy screenings at the Kino International, which amounted to only 25% capacity. The Berlinale was still popular with the professionals however – 8,342 accreditations set a new record. How could these numbers be explained? The future of the Berlinale was a perplexing question.

Berlinale: Chronik


41. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
15. - 26. Februar 1991

„Die 41. Internationalen Filmfestspiele sind ein Akt des Vertrauens, des Muts, um die Psychose zu überwinden, um sich für den anderen zu interessieren, gleich ob er Amerikaner, Engländer, Jude oder Araber sei. Miteinander zu reden, sich verstehen zu lernen, ist auch eine deutsche Notwendigkeit.“

(Moritz de Hadeln im Vorwort des Festivalkatalogs, in dem er die Entscheidung rechtfertigt, die Berlinale trotz oder gerade wegen des Golfkriegs stattfinden zu lassen.)

Das Plakat der 41. Berlinale

Jetzt erst recht: Keine Kapitulation im Krieg der Bilder

Am 16. Januar brach in der Golfregion der Krieg aus. Sofort gab es Spekulationen, die Berlinale werde abgesagt. Aber was wäre damit gewonnen gewesen? In einem leidenschaftlichen Vorwort zum Festivalkatalog rechtfertigt Moritz de Hadeln seine und Ulrich Gregors Entscheidung, die Berlinale nicht ausfallen zu lassen. Wütend geißelt er die Ignoranz des Westens gegenüber der arabischen Kultur, die Deutungshoheit der amerikanischen Kriegsberichterstatter und deren Akzeptanz durch das Fernsehpublikum. Statt einem ängstlichen Rückzug ins Private vor den Fernsehapparat und dessen „indoktrinierende“ Botschaft beschwört er den verbindenden Dialog, den das Filmfestival befördern könne: „Was tun? Unsere Antwort ist einfach: wir wollen alles unternehmen, um dieses Festival dem internationalen Dialog zu widmen. Das geht nicht in Hysterie und mit Angst, nicht, wenn man zu Hause bleibt, um bloß die neuesten Nachrichten vom Golf zu verfolgen.“

Eine starke Präsenz europäischer Filme im Wettbewerb sollte in diesem Jahr ein Zeichen setzen gegen die Vormachtstellung des amerikanischen Kinos. Immer wieder war Moritz de Hadeln eine zu große Bereitschaft vorgeworfen worden, amerikanische Großproduktionen im Wettbewerb zu zeigen. Es war jedoch kein überragendes europäisches Kinojahr. Salomonisch hatte Moritz de Hadeln im Festivalkatalog geschrieben: „Um auszuwählen, muss die Auswahl möglich sein“ – damit jedoch lediglich die noch spärliche Filmproduktion im Nahen Osten, Afrika und Lateinamerika gemeint. Aber auch aus den wohlhabenden europäischen Filmländern konnte sich die Berlinale keineswegs immer die Perlen heraussuchen. Die Konkurrenz zu Cannes war bisweilen eine ebenso hohe Hürde wie die Geldnöte in der „Dritten Welt“.

Hommage 1991: Jane Russell und Moritz de Hadeln

Deutliches Qualitätsgefälle im europäischen Film

Neil Jordans The Miracle, Simon Callows The Ballad of the Sad Café und Viktor Aristows Satana | Der Satan gehörten zu den wenigen europäischen Filmen, die Kritiker und Publikum überzeugten. Bei den beiden deutschen Wettbewerbsbeiträgen schienen sich die verheerenden Folgen der neuen deutschen Förderpolitik abzuzeichnen, die dazu führte, dass die meisten Spielfilme nur mehr als Koproduktionen mit Fernsehsendern realisiert werden konnten. Franz Seitz’ Erfolg und Roland Gräfs Der Tangospieler konnten nicht überzeugen.

Dass von vier italienischen Beiträgen gleich drei von der Jury einen Hauptpreis erhielten – La Casa del Sorriso | Das Haus des Lächelns von Marco Ferreri, La Condanna | Die Vergewaltigung von Marco Bellocchio und Ultra von Ricky Tognazzi –, wurde als fehlgeleitete Affirmation des lediglich gut Gemeinten interpretiert. Ein buchstäblicher „Bärendienst“, den die Jury dem europäischen Film da erwies, wäre es doch keine Schande gewesen, Jonathan Demme für The Silence of the Lambs | Das Schweigen der Lämmer alleine den Silbernen Bär für die Beste Regie zu geben oder einen Film wie Cabeza de Vaca, das Debüt des Mexikaners Nicolas Echevarria, auszuzeichnen. So oder so ähnlich klangen zumindest viele Kommentare nach der Preisverleihung.

Von Presse, Publikum und Jury kollektiv übersehen wurde Pantelis Voulgaris Isiches Meres tou Avgoustou | Stille Tage im August, der die wenigen, die ihn sahen, mit seiner stillen Poesie in seinen Bann zog. Hier zeigte sich, dass „kleine“, intime Filme im Wettbewerb unter zu gehen drohten, der ein ums andere Mal als ein Clash der Kulturen wahrgenommen - und wohl auch überschätzt wurde. Der finnische Regisseur Aki Kaurismäki schien sich darüber im Klaren zu sein, als er verfügte, dass seine Filme gerne auf der Berlinale gezeigt werden dürften, jedoch niemals im Wettbewerb. Mit I Hired a Contract Killer verschaffte er stattdessen dem Forum einen veritablen Hit.

Offene Grenzen - offene Konkurrenzen

Im Jahr 1 (1/2) nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer waren die Erwartungen an die Berlinale groß. Man war gespannt, ob es gelingen würde, den Status als wichtigstes Festival für den osteuropäischen Film zu bewahren. Es zeigte sich jedoch schnell, dass mit der Öffnung der Grenzen auch die Konkurrenzsituation unter den Festivals gewachsen war. Mehrere interessante Filme aus osteuropäischen Staaten wurden der Berlinale gar nicht angeboten oder nach anfänglicher Zusage dann doch zugunsten von Cannes kurzfristig zurückgezogen. So waren schließlich Aristows Satana und der slowakische Beitrag Ked Hviezdy boli cervené| Als die Sterne rot waren von Dusan Trancíks die einzigen osteuropäischen Filme im Wettbewerb.

Im Forum und Panorama war das osteuropäische Filmschaffen dagegen weiterhin stark vertreten. Die ungarische Satire Isten Hátrafelé Megy | Gott läuft rückwärts von Miklós Jancsó im Panorama, Alexandr Sokurows Studie über den Tod Krug Wotroj | Der Zweite Kreis und Gluchy Telefon | Gestörte Verbindung des Polen Piotr Mikucki waren spannende Versuche, zu einer neuen postkommunistischen Filmsprache zu finden.

Neue Kinematografien - und alte neu entdeckt

Viel beachtet war auch eine Retrospektive rumänischer Dokumentarfilme von 1898 bis 1990, die eine merkwürdige Kontinuität totalitärer Paradigmen aufzeigte. „Selbst das Stummfilmpaket aus den zwanziger Jahren, meist kurze Reportagen über Prunk und Pomp des königlichen Herrscherhauses, wirkte im Wissen um den späteren Personenkult wie ein Prolog auf die eitlen filmischen Selbstdarstellungen des Ceaucescu-Clans“, schrieb etwa Dieter Bertz in der Wochenzeitung „Freitag“.

Bereits durch Cabeza de Vaca im Wettbewerb positiv aufgefallen präsentierte sich das mexikanische Kino in einer Sonderreihe im Forum als überaus vital. Hier wurde dem Berlinale-Publikum eine Kinematografie erschlossen, von der es in Zukunft mehr zu sehen bekam. Im Forum konnten auch die deutschen Filme überzeugen, zumindest erwiesen sie sich thematisch auf der Höhe ihrer Zeit. „Zeremonien des Abschieds“ benannte Klaus Dermutz in der „Süddeutschen Zeitung“ die auffällig hohe Zahl deutscher und deutsch-deutscher Produktionen, die sich mit der Wiedervereinigung, vor allem aber mit der nun folgenden Ungewissheit vor der gemeinsamen Zukunft beschäftigten. Jürgen Böttchers Die Mauer, Andreas Voigts Letztes Jahr Titanic, Sibylle Schoenemanns Verriegelte Zeit, Ulrike Ottingers Countdown und Ein schmales Stück Deutschland von Lew Hohlmann, Joachim Tschirner und Klaus Salge gehörten zu diesem thematischen Schwerpunkt.

Zu einem allgemein durchwachsenen – nach den hohen Erwartungen enttäuschenden – Jahrgang kam noch hinzu, dass auch die Parallelpräsentation des Festivals im Ostteil Berlins eher ernüchternd verlief. Zu den 70 Vorführungen im Kino International kamen nur 9.426 Besucher, was einer Auslastung von nur 25% entsprach. Bei Fachbesuchern dagegen war die Berlinale weiterhin beliebt, 8342 Akkreditierungen waren Rekord. Wie waren diese Zahlenspiele zu deuten? Die Zukunft der Berlinale bereitete einiges Kopfzerbrechen.