Berlinale: Yearbook


40th Berlin International Film Festival
February 9 - 20, 1990

“All in all I think this undertaking was worth it. It was even fun for us, and we think it is worth building upon – certainly in the coming year, taking into account the unpredictability and tremendous speed of external developments.”

(Wolfgang Klaue, director of the East German state film archive, in a letter to Moritz de Hadeln after the first Berlinale to take place in both parts of Berlin)

The poster of the 40th Berlinale

History in the making

On November 9, 1989, Moritz de Hadeln wrote a letter to Horst Pehnert, chairman of the East German Film Bureau, that began with the following words: “During a private conversation with you at the 1989 Berlin International Film Festival, I […] suggested showing the official programme of the festival in East Berlin concurrently – practically simultaneously – with the screenings in West Berlin. Your reaction gave me the impression that you were very taken with the idea, but you answered that you seriously doubted either of us would ever experience such a thing.”

Even that afternoon there would have been no reason for de Hadeln to take up the matter again. But that night, everything was different: Berlin, Germany, the whole world – and in the midst of it the Berlinale – found themselves in an entirely new situation. Günther Schabowski’s declaration that East Germans were “as of immediately” permitted to travel without visas, meant nothing other than the fall of the wall and with it the end of the GDR.

Of course Moritz de Hadeln could not see this far into the future on November 9, 1989. His long-term goal was a citywide festival and a conceptual collaboration with the East German film authorities. His more concrete offer to Pehnert this time included an East Berlin screening of “the entire official programme” of the Berlinale, with the festival carrying the costs and taking care of the arrangements with producers and rights holders. The Berlinale director requested that the East Germans ensure the availability of an appropriately large cinema. Furthermore, in a veiled reference to border crossing regulations, there had to be assurances that Berlinale employees and “persons connected with the various films” would be able to attend the screenings in an uncomplicated manner.

Rising to the occasion: The first Berlinale to be held in both parts of the city

As early as the end of November, de Hadeln and Pehnert were able to meet during the "Leipziger Dokumentarfilmwoche" and discuss future plans. The festival director came away from the meeting with the sense that a positive decision from the East German authorities would be forthcoming, and preparations for financing the events began. Moritz de Hadeln’s audacious venture found favour with everyone. All could see the enormous political symbolism of having the Berlinale take place in both parts of the divided city. Nevertheless, many letters and phone calls were necessary before a suitably augmented budget was approved.

Even more painstaking effort was required to work out the special conditions that would make it possible to manoeuvre people and materials as smoothly as possible across the border and past the legal requirements and travel restrictions still in place. Arrangements were made allowing the films, advertising material and printed matter to be transported duty-free across the border, as well as allowing Berlinale guests to use the “diplomat’s lane” at the Invalidenstraße border crossing.

The directors of the other Berlinale sections were involved in the project as well, so that besides the complete Competition programme and a selection of Panorama films, the entire Kinderfilmfest line-up and a large part of the Forum programme were also shown in East Berlin. The Berlinale was given use of the Kosmos, Colosseum and Kino International cinemas free of charge. In return, the income from the ticket sales remained with the East Berlin local film authority, which also took over the advertising in the Eastern part of the city.

Historically most significant, but cineastically modest

In his catalogue forward, Moritz de Hadeln wrote that he “look[ed] forward to the reactions of the East German audiences, who can complete and correct our view of cinema”. No one could continue thinking of himself “as an islander”, he continued, everything was changing and needed to be rethought. “The Festival is taking on a pioneering role” in this process “and indicating possible new directions”.

Many, however, considered this pioneering role to be limited to the symbolic fact that the festival was being held in both parts of the reunited city. As far as the films themselves were concerned, the historical events of the day seemed to have taken the festival by surprise. Films that, taken on their own, were explosive, now seemed harmless, while those that under other circumstances would have at least offered good entertainment value seemed tasteless. One of the historically most significant Berlinale years ended up coming across as rather average in cinematic terms.

Wall Peckers: Oliver Stone and Ron Kovic

Once again, and more vociferously than ever before, Moritz de Hadeln was castigated for the strong presence of Hollywood films in the Competition. Following the festival, the daily "taz" even demanded his resignation. The director Helma Sanders-Brahms had already set off the debate before the festival began when she quit the selection committee in protest and referred in an interview to the “stale compromises” being made there. Indeed, the Hollywood productions shown in the Competition proved to be average fare: films by Herbert Ross, Danny DeVito, Woody Allen, Roland Joffé, Oliver Stone and others did not spark much enthusiasm. Even Oliver Stone’s politically ambitious Born on the 4th of July came across as strangely unspectacular against the backdrop of the political excitement of the day.

Always too much and never enough...

But to use the failure of the American majors against the Berlinale as a whole seemed to repeat the same mistake the critics were accusing the festival of in the first place, namely overrating the importance of Hollywood due to its effective hegemony. There was actually plenty of cinematic and thematic counterweight spread out over the whole festival (including the Competition), such as Kira Muratova’s unscrupulous and sarcastic look at contemporary Soviet society in Astenicheskiy sindrom | The Weakness Syndrome, or Aleksandr Rogozhkin’s Karaul, which denounced the deplorable conditions in the Soviet army. And with Heiner Carow’s Coming Out, East Germany also made a strong and contemporary showing in the Competition.

But the discontent of many commentators was also provoked by the weakness of several European Competition films. Pedro Almodovar’s Atame! | Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! and Jacques Doillon’s La vengeance d’une femme | A Woman's Revenge were positively received, but also served as reproaches – more films of this quality would have been nice.

Section programmes offer significant counterweight

There was more, in fact: Kathryn Bigelow’s controversial Blue Steel in the Panorama for instance, or in the Kinderfilmfest the debut film by Austrian director Erhard Riedlsperger, Tunnelkind | Tunnel Child about the secret friendship between a Czech border guard and a fatherless Austrian girl, set during the time of the Prague Spring. The Forum presented a showcase of East German “shelf films”, forbidden works from the last twenty-five years; other exciting films worth seeing were Sergei Ovcharov’s Ono | It, Gus van Sant’s Drugstore Cowboy and two films by Aki Kaurismäki - Tulitikkutehtaan Tyttö | The Match Factory Girl and Leningrad Cowboys Go America, the latter now bearing a kind of zany relevance to current events.

In a hopeful positioning of the Berlinale at the pulse of its time, Moritz de Hadeln quoted Lenin in the festival catalogue foreword: “Film is the most important of all the arts”. But perhaps this year, with the future out in the streets, other things, other places and art forms were more important, at least for the time being.

Berlinale: Chronik


40. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin:
09. - 20. Februar 1990

„Alles in allem denke ich, war unser Unternehmen des Versuchs allemal wert, hat uns sogar Spaß gemacht und wird von unserer Seite für ausbauwürdig und –fähig befunden, sicher für das kommende Jahr immer eingerechnet alle Unwägbarkeiten der rasanten äußeren Entwicklungen.“

(Wolfgang Klaue, der Leiter des staatlichen Filmarchivs der DDR, in einem Brief an Moritz de Hadeln nach der ersten Berlinale, die in beiden Teilen Berlins stattfand.)

Das Plakat der 40. Berlinale

Geschichte in Echtzeit

Am 9. November 1989 schrieb Moritz de Hadeln an den Vorsitzenden der Hauptverwaltung Film der DDR, Horst Pehnert, einen Brief, der so begann: „Bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin 1989 hatte ich Ihnen in einem persönlichen Gespräch (…) den Vorschlag gemacht, das offizielle Programm der Filmfestspiele in Berlin (Ost) ganz aktuell, ja fast zeitgleich, zu wiederholen. Ihre Reaktion darauf hinterließ bei mir den Eindruck, daß sie von der Idee sehr angetan waren, mir aber antworteten, daß wir beide diesen Moment mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit nicht mehr erleben werden.“

Noch einen Tag vorher hätte es für de Hadeln wenig Grund gegeben, das Anliegen noch einmal aufzugreifen. Nun aber war alles anders: Berlin, Deutschland, die ganze Welt und mittendrin die Berlinale standen vor einer völlig neuen Situation. In der Nacht zum 9. November war die Mauer zwischen West- und Ost-Berlin brüchig geworden. Was von Günther Schabowski „ab sofort“ als visafreier Reiseverkehr deklariert worden war, bedeutete nichts anderes als den Fall der Mauer und mit ihm das Ende der DDR.

Soweit voraus sehen konnte Moritz de Hadeln die Ereignisse am 9. November 1989 freilich nicht. Sein erneuerter und konkretisierter Vorschlag an Pehnert umfasste je eine Vorführung des „vollständigen offiziellen Programms“ der Berlinale, die Übernahme der Kosten dieses Projekts sowie die organisatorischen Absprachen mit den Produzenten und Rechteinhabern der betreffenden Filme durch die Filmfestspiele. Von Seiten der DDR erbat der Berlinale-Chef dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass ein geeignetes Großkino zur Verfügung stünde. Darüber hinaus müsse sichergestellt werden, dass den Mitarbeitern der Berlinale und den „mit den Filmen verbundenen Personen“ auf unkomplizierte Weise die Teilnahme an den Veranstaltungen ermöglicht werde. Das zielte auf die Grenzübertrittsbestimmungen.

Die Gunst der Stunde: Die erste Berlinale für ganz Berlin

Entscheidende Gespräche zwischen de Hadeln und Pehnert fanden dann bereits Ende November im Rahmen der Leipziger Dokumentarfilmwoche statt. Von Seiten der Berlinale ging man danach von einer positiven Entscheidung der verantwortlichen Stellen der DDR aus und bereitet sich nun darauf vor, das Ereignis auch finanzieren zu können. Moritz de Hadelns Vorstoß stieß überall auf Gegenliebe. Man war sich der enormen politischen Signalwirkung bewusst, die eine Berlinale entfalten würde, die in beiden Teilen der geteilten Stadt stattfände. Dennoch waren zahlreiche Briefe und Telefonate nötig, um ein entsprechend erhöhtes Budget zu bewilligt zu erhalten.

Noch mehr Kleinarbeit bedeutete jedoch die Ausarbeitung von Sonderkonditionen, die es ermöglichen würden, Menschen und Material möglichst unkompliziert über die Grenze und an den ja noch immer geltenden Auflagen und Restriktionen vorbei zu manövrieren. Es wurde vereinbart, dass die Filme, das Werbematerial und die Druckerzeugnisse zollfrei über die Grenze transportiert werden könnten, und dass für die Berlinale-Gäste am Grenzübergang Invalidenstraße die „Diplomatenspur“ freigehalten würde.

Auch die Leiter der anderen Sektionen der Berlinale wurden frühzeitig involviert und so konnte schließlich neben dem kompletten Wettbewerb und einer Auswahl des Panorama-Programms auch das vollständige Programm des Kinderfilmfestes und ein großer Teil des Forum-Programms in Ost-Berlin nachgespielt werden. Als Kinos wurden der Berlinale das Kosmos, das Colosseum und das Kino International zur Verfügung gestellt, und zwar kostenlos. Als Gegenleistung verblieben die Einnahmen aus den Kartenverkäufen bei der Ost-Berliner Bezirksfilmdirektion, die dafür dann auch noch die Festival-Werbung im Ostteil der Stadt übernahm.

Historisch bedeutsam, filmisch eher durchschnittlich

Im Vorwort zum Festivalkatalog zeigt sich Moritz de Hadeln „gespannt auf die Reaktionen des Publikums der DDR, die (das Publikum oder die Reaktionen, die .... korrigieren können) unser Kinoverständnis komplettieren und korrigieren kann.“ Niemand könne sich mehr „als Insulaner“ verstehen, schreibt er, alles sei in Bewegung, alles erscheine revisionsbedürftig. „Das Festival leistet Pionierarbeit, schlägt eine mögliche Richtung vor.“

Die Pionierarbeit sahen viele dann auf das symbolische Faktum begrenzt, das Festival in beiden Teilen der wieder vereinten Stadt auszurichten. Was die Filme anging, so schien es, als hätten die geschichtlichen Ereignisse das Festival überrumpelt. Was für sich genommen Brisanz hatte, erschien nun harmlos, was immerhin gutes Unterhaltungshandwerk war, galt nun als abgeschmackt. Eine der historisch bedeutsamsten Berlinale-Jahrgänge wurde somit filmisch als eher durchschnittlich erlebt.

Mauerspechte: Oliver Stone und Ron Kovic

Erneut und diesmal lauter als je zuvor wurde Moritz de Hadeln für die starke Präsenz von Hollywoodfilmen im Wettbewerb gegeißelt. Die Tageszeitung „taz“ forderte im Anschluss an das Festival sogar seinen Rücktritt. Bereits im Vorfeld hatte die Regisseurin Helma Sanders-Brahms die Diskussion eröffnet, indem sie das Auswahlkomitee aus Protest verlassen und in einem Interview von „faden Kompromissen“ gesprochen hatte. Tatsächlich erwiesen sich die Hollywoodproduktionen im Wettbewerb als durchschnittlich, Filme u.a. von Herbert Ross, Danny DeVito, Woody Allen, Roland Joffé und Oliver Stone, die kaum jemanden begeisterten. Selbst Oliver Stones politisch ambitionierter Born on the 4th of July | Geboren am 4. Juli wirkte durch die tagespolitische Aufregung merkwürdig unspektakulär.

Immer schon zuviel, aber doch nie genug...

Der Berlinale jedoch generell einen Strick aus dem Scheitern der US-Majors zu drehen, schien eine Wiederholung des Fehlers zu sein, den die Kritiker dem Festival ja gerade vorwarfen: Hollywood aufgrund seiner faktischen Hegemonialstellung über zu bewerten. Verteilt über das gesamte Festival, aber auch im Wettbewerb, gab es ausreichend cineastisches und thematisch belangreiches Gegengewicht, etwa Kira Muratovas skrupellose und sarkastische Bestandaufnahme der Sowjetgesellschaft in Asteniceskij Sindrom | Das asthenische Syndrom oder Alexander Rogoshkins Karaul | Die Wache, der die Missstände in der Sowjetarmee anprangerte. Und mit Heiner Carows Coming Out war auch die DDR zeitgenössisch und stark im Wettbewerb vertreten.

Die Unzufriedenheit vieler Kommentatoren entzündete sich aber auch an der Schwäche einiger europäischer Filme im Wettbewerb. Pedro Almodovars Atame! | Fessle mich! und Jacques Doillons La vengeance d’une femme | Die Rache einer Frau wurden positiv aufgenommen, dienten jedoch auch als Anlass zu Vorhaltungen: Von Filmen dieser Qualität bräuchte es mehr.

Die Sektionen bieten ein veritables Gegengewicht

Es gab mehr: Im Panorama Kathryn Bigelows umstrittener Blue Steel, oder im Kinderfilmfest etwa den österreichischen Debütfilm Tunnelkind | Tunnel Child von Erhard Riedlsperger, der in der Zeit des Prager Frühlings spielt und von der heimlichen Freundschaft zwischen einem tschechischen Grenzer und einem vaterlosen österreichischen Mädchen erzählt. Das Forum zeigte eine Werkschau von „Regalfilmen“ aus der DDR, verbotenen Werken der zurückliegenden 25 Jahre. Spannend, sehenswert auch Sergej Owtscharows Ono | Es, Gus van Sants Drugstore Cowboy und gleich zwei Filme von Aki Kaurismäki, nämlich Tulitikkutehtaan Tyttö | Das Mädchen aus der Streichholzfabrik und Leningrad Cowboys Go America, der immerhin eine schrullige Aktualität bekommen hatte.

„Von allen Künsten ist das Kino das wichtigste“, zitierte Moritz de Hadeln in seinem Festivalvorwort Lenin und positionierte die Berlinale hoffnungsvoll am Puls der Zeit. Aber möglicherweise waren es in diesem Jahr, in dem die Zukunft auf der Straße lag, andere Dinge, andere Künste, andere Orte, die nun erst einmal mehr zählten und wichtiger waren.