Berlinale: Yearbook


35th Berlin International Film Festival
February 15 - 26, 1985

"My view of world cinema, every year between winter and spring in Berlin, is fixed on a small diner on the direct route from the Festival office to the Zoo-Palast. In the flow of faces and handshakes combined with the sentence 'Let's talk some time', it offers a bit of comfort. ... When the Berlinale is over, Berlin is, one notices with amazement, still there. On the day after, however, one avoids the scenes of such recent collegial sociability. Having more or less already checked out, one wanders in and out alone. The Zoo-Palast shows Rambo VII."

(A piece of contemporary festival prose by jury president Wolfgang Kohlhaase.)

The Zoo-Palast-Theatre in the 1980s

You need to build bridges, if you don't want to sit between the chairs

The 1985 Berlinale was characterised by tireless efforts on just about every front imaginable, testifying to the challenges of running the festival. It was no secret that Moritz de Hadeln was interested in developing close contacts with the American film scene. The Competition was increasingly becoming a platform for so-called “big American entertainment movies”, while the Forum and the Info-Schau featured American independents and underground films.

At the same time de Hadeln was working on improving the relationship with Cannes and French cinema. The visit to Cannes by Berlin culture senator Volker Hassemer and the appointment of actor Jean Marais as jury president in Berlin were interpreted as gestures in this direction. Most of all though it was French cinema that put on a strong showing in this year’s Competition. Michel Deville’s Péril en la demeure | Peril, Marguerite Duras’ Les Enfants | The Children and Jean-Luc Godard’s Je vous salue, Marie | Hail Mary belonged to the outstanding films and were also the most intensely discussed. In a time of increased political influence on the film industry, Godard’s entry especially had the stuff for a scandal. Conservative catholic groups accused the film of blasphemy and tried unsuccessfully to have it banned. Worried questions were once again heard from the Ministry of the Interior, to which de Hadeln responded with marked reservation.

The festival director also engaged his efforts in the often-evoked “mediating function” of Berlin and the Berlinale. In this spirit, and following the “Mediterranean Panorama” of the previous year’s Info-Schau, a “Baltic Sea Panorama” was put on this year, which showed films from the Soviet Union, Poland, East Germany, West Germany and the Scandinavian countries. Such parity-creating efforts could also be seen in the make-up of the jury this year, where Wolfgang Kohlhaase represented East Germany, as well as, to a certain degree, in the Competition films.

Nevertheless, East German filmmaker Rainer Simon, recipient of a Golden Bear for Die Frau und der Fremde, later voiced a somewhat sour assessment of this year’s Berlinale: It is almost as difficult for films to overcome the “wall in front of the money” as it is the Berlin wall, he complained. The world was being flooded with “commercial trash from North America” and he was frightened to observe “what the great majority of people (in East and West) are lining up to watch”.

The Retrospective is an audience favorite

Perhaps he had passed by one of the cinemas in which the Retrospective films were being shown. This section was devoted to “special effects” in 1984 and was so extensive that it started a week before the festival itself. The programme was a huge success with the audience and offered an interesting variation on de Hadeln’s focus on American cinema. “King Kong has an American passport”, he had written in an interim report to the board of trustees. Indeed, the tirades against commercial films often overlooked the fact that the history of cinema is also the history of a mass medium.

It don't pay to be square: Forum and Info-Schau are elaborating their rebellious image

Meanwhile, “ambitious” films got their fair share of attention as well. The thematic emphasis in the Info-Schau was on urban lifestyles and subcultures, within which there was a concentration on American images of the underground: Gringo by Lech Kowalski, Paul Cadmus – Enfant Terrbile at Eighty by Donald Sutherland, Screamplay by Rufus Butler Seder and It don’t pay to be an honest citizen by Jacob Burckhardt with William Burroughs and Allen Ginsberg, were examples of this interest of Manfred Salzgeber’s. This orientation would also considerably shape the “Panorama” profile, as the Info-Schau was to be called as of the following year.

With Before Stonewall, Greta Schiller and Robert Rosenberg’s documentary on the “invisible history” of the American gay rights movement, the Info-Schau also had a cult film of the political underground in its programme. This in turn was echoed by Rob Epstein’s The Times of Harvey Milk in the Forum. Epstein’s film documents the political climate and homophobia that led to the 1978 murder of gay civil rights activist Harvey Milk in San Francisco. Films that researched, made visible and worked through suppressed and repressed material dominated this year’s Forum. Robert Altman’s Secret Honor, a reckoning with Richard Nixon, was another American entry along these lines. German filmmakers were no less radical in judging their own history: Thomas Harlan’s Wundkanal: Hinrichtung für vier Stimmen and Eberhard Fechner’s three-part documentary Der Prozess were impressive and unsparing examinations of the Nazi past – and its continuing effects into the present day.

Berlinale: Chronik


35. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
15. - 26. Februar 1985

„Meinem Blick auf den Weltfilm, jedes Jahr in Berlin, zwischen Winter und Frühling, ist ein kleines Lokal zugeordnet, am kurzen Weg vom Festivalbüro zum Zoo-Palast. Im Fluß der Gesichter und Händedrücke, verbunden mit dem Satz ‚Wir sehen uns noch’, bietet es einen gewissen Halt. … Wenn die Berlinale aus ist, ist Berlin, wie man erstaunt bemerkt, weiterhin da. Wenigstens am Tag danach aber meide man die gerade noch so kollegial belebten Gastlichkeiten. Mehr oder weniger abgereist, läuft man fremd hinein und hinaus. Im Zoo-Palast läuft Rambo sieben.“

(Ein Stück zeitgenössischer Festivalprosa von Wolfgang Kohlhaase)

Der Zoo-Palast in den 1980er Jahren

Wer nicht zwischen den Stühlen sitzen will, muss lernen Brücken zu bauen

Verschiedene Bemühungen in denkbar verschiedene Richtungen kennzeichneten das Berlinale-Jahr 1985 und zeigten, welche Herausforderung sich mit der Leitung des Festivals verband. Es war kein Geheimnis, dass sich de Hadeln um gute Kontakte zum amerikanischen Film bemühte. Der Wettbewerb bot zunehmend eine Plattform für „das große amerikanische Unterhaltungskino“, wie es gerne genannt wird. Forum und Info-Schau präsentierten dagegen amerikanische Independent- und Undergroundfilme.

Gleichzeitig hatte Moritz de Hadeln jedoch auch an der Verbesserung des Verhältnisses zu Cannes und zum französischen Film gearbeitet. Der Besuch des Berliner Kultursenats Volker Hassemer in Cannes und die Berufung des Schauspielers Jean Marais zum Jurypräsidenten in Berlin wurden als Gesten in diesem Prozess gewertet. Vor allem aber präsentierte sich das französische Kino stark im diesjährigen Wettbewerb. Michel Devilles Péril en la demeure | Gefahr im Verzug, Marguerite Duras’ Les Enfants und Jean-Luc Godards Je vous salue, Marie | Maria und Josef gehörten zu den herausragenden und am heftigsten diskutierten Filmen. Vor allem Godards Film taugte in einer Zeit verstärkter politischer Einflussnahme zum Skandal. Konservative katholische Kreise warfen dem Film Blasphemie vor und versuchten erfolglos, ein Aufführungsverbot zu erwirken. Aus dem Bundesinnenministerium kam wieder einmal eine besorgte Anfrage, die Moritz de Hadeln jedoch betont reserviert beantwortete.

Der Festivalleiter bemühte sich auch um die oft beschworene „Brückenfunktion“ Berlins und der Berlinale. Um dies zu unterstreichen, wurde in Anlehnung an das „Mittelmeer-Panorama“ in der Info-Schau des Vorjahres in diesem Jahr ein „Ostsee-Panorama“ organisiert, in dem Filme aus der UdSSR, Polen, der DDR, der Bundesrepublik und den skandinavischen Ländern gezeigt wurden. Das Bemühen um Parität zeigte sich auch bei der Jury-Besetzung, in der Wolfgang Kohlhaase diesmal die DDR vertrat, und zu einem gewissen Grad auch bei der Auswahl der Wettbewerbsfilme.

Der DDR-Filmemacher Rainer Simon, der für Die Frau und der Fremde einen Goldenen Bären erhielt, kam dennoch später zu einer etwas sauertöpfischen Beurteilung dieses Berlinale-Jahrgangs: Für Filme fast so schwer zu überwinden wie die Berliner Mauer sei die „Mauer, hinter der das Geld steckt“. „Kommerziellen Schund aus Nordamerika“ sieht er die Welt überschwemmen und ihm wird Angst, „wenn man an den Kinokassen (in West und Ost) sieht, wofür sich die große Mehrheit der Zuschauer interessiert.“

Retrospektive wird zum Publikumshit

Vielleicht ist er an einem der Kinos vorbeigegangen, in denen es die Filme der Retrospektive zu sehen gab. Diese widmete sich in diesem Jahr den „Special Effects“ und war so umfangreich, dass sie bereits eine Woche vor dem Festival begann. Diese Retrospektive war ein großer Publikumserfolg und bot eine interessante Variante von de Hadelns Interesse für den US-amerikanischen Film. „King Kong hat einen US-Pass“ hatte er in einem Zwischenbericht an das Kuratorium geschrieben und tatsächlich übersahen ja die Brandreden gegen den Kommerzfilm oft, dass die Geschichte des Films eben auch die Geschichte eines Massenmediums ist.

Info-Schau und Forum arbeiten an ihrem rebellischen Profil

Unterdessen kam auch in diesem Jahr der „anspruchsvolle“ Film nicht zu kurz. In der Info-Schau gab es einen thematischen Schwerpunkt über urbane Lebensentwürfe und Subkultur und innnerhalb dessen eine Konzentration auf amerikanische Underground-Bilder: Gringo von Lech Kowalski, Paul Cadmus – Enfant Terrbile at Eighty von Donald Sutherland, Screamplay von Rufus Butler Seder oder It don’t pay to be an honest citizen von Jacob Burckhardt mit William Burroughs und Allen Ginsberg waren Beispiele für dieses Interesse Manfred Salzgebers, das auch wesentlich zum Profil des „Panoramas“ beitragen sollte, wie die Info-Schau ab dem folgenden Jahr genannt wurde.

Mit Before Stonewall, Greta Schillers und Robert Rosenbergs Dokumentation über die „unsichtbare Geschichte“ der amerikanischen Schwulenbewegung, hatte die Info-Schau darüber hinaus auch einen Kultfilm des politischen Underground im Programm. Dieser wiederum fand sein Echo in Rob Epsteins The Times of Harvey Milk, den das Forum zeigte. Epsteins Film dokumentiert das politische Klima und die Homophobie, die 1978 zur Ermordung des schwulen Bürgerrechtlers Harvey Milk in San Francisco geführt hatten. Aufarbeitung, Recherche und Sichtbarmachung des Unterdrückten und Verdrängten waren Themen des diesjährigen Forums. Robert Altmans Secret Honor, eine Abrechnung mit Richard Nixon, war dafür ein weiteres US-amerikanisches Beispiel. Deutsche Filmemacher gingen nicht weniger radikal mit der eigenen Geschichte ins Gericht: Thomas Harlans Wundkanal: Hinrichtung für vier Stimmen und Eberhard Fechners dreiteilige Dokumentation Der Prozess waren eindrucksvolle und schonungslose Befragungen der Nazi-Vergangenheit – und ihres Fortwirkens bis in die Gegenwart hinein.