Berlinale: Yearbook


26th Berlin International Film Festival
June 25 - July 6, 1976

"Such nice little houses and such nice little streets. Strange that with some something is wrong."

(In the "Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung", film critic Brigittte Jeremias notices the critical reflexion of the American way of life in most US films.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Still from In the Realm of the Senses which was censored and roused a scandal.

The Competition of the 1976 Berlinale was more international than it had ever been: Films from Japan, the People’s Republic of China, Iran, Mexico, Brazil, Venezuela, Italy, the Netherlands, Great Britain, France and most of the Eastern bloc states underscored the Berlinale’s claim to represent international filmmaking in all its facets.

Critical reflexion in major US entries

As a result, the strong showing of American cinema was not, unlike in previous years, interpreted as a hegemonic threat. The American films this year were too complex, too self-critical for that. American cinema had held back conspicuously in recent years, and now that the Berlinale was open to films from the Eastern bloc, people were eager to see what it had to offer. It was the bicentennial anniversary of the American Declaration of Independence, one year after Watergate, and the final phase of the Vietnam War. Everyone was talking about the United States, and the most prominent criticism often came from American intellectuals and artists themselves.

George Stevens Jr.’s documentary America at the Movies, an enquiry into the image of America in American films, was screened in a festival matinee. While this film tended to treat the wealth of legends surrounding the “American way of life” in a more affirmative way, Robert Altman’s Buffalo Bill and the Indians or Sitting Bull’s History Lesson, Alan J. Pakula’s All the President’s Men, and, in the Forum, Alvin H. Goldstein’s The Unquiet Death of Julius and Ethel Rosenberg and Charlie Chaplin’s A King in New York were uncompromising reckonings with American myths and images of itself. The genocide of North America’s native inhabitants, the Watergate scandal and McCarthyism still stand today for the hardly homogenous identity of a country that, on the other hand, rightfully prides itself as being the cradle of modern democracy.

In years to come, the Berlinale would again and again serve as a welcome platform for American myths and their deconstruction. The fissure was already visible in the 1976 awards ceremony, when Robert Altman used his Golden Bear to voice protest against his producer Dino de Laurentiis. De Laurentiis had provided the Berlinale with the longer version of Buffalo Bill authorised by Altman, but it was the shorter version the director did not agree with that was to be distributed. The jury took a stand by expressly awarding the Golden Bear “only for the uncut original version shown in Berlin”.

The case of Ai No Corrida sets off a debate on censorship

It was in the Forum though that the scandal film of the festival was shown; there too the issue was censorship and artistic freedom. Nagisa Oshima’s masterpiece Ai no Corrida | In the Realm of the Senses was confiscated from the projection room during the premiere by the Criminal Investigation Police Department. The story of a couple that is sexually captivated by each other, and in which the man even lets the woman mutilate him, had already provoked sensational polemics in the popular press in the run-up to the Berlinale.

The confiscation was followed by a viewing of the incriminating film at the local court in Tiergarten, which resulted in a screening ban. Since the confiscation had taken place on the basis of the penal code (“public screening of a pornographic film”), the Forum management now stood accused of a crime. The inquiry was not called off until November. In the meantime there were countless letters of protest and expressions of solidarity from filmmakers around the world, attempts at mediation by the Berlin senate, interpretive skirmishes between lawyers – as well as a secret screening of the film at the Academy of Arts with a replacement copy listed under a fake title.

This was an unprecedented occurrence in the history of Berlin. It set off a debate on censorship and damaged the reputation of the festival and the city. The Forum in general had a tough time of it this year: Even the short film Filmfestspiele Berlin, specially produced as a festival profile, had provoked the protest of Ulrich Gregor. The film, he claimed, contained “image and sound montages that represent a deliberate defamation of a part of the Berlin Film Festival, namely the International Forum for New Cinema.” The internal harmony of the previous years was still unstable.

Berlinale: Chronik


26. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
25. Juni - 06. Juli 1976

„’So nette kleine Häuser und so nette kleine Straßen. Merkwürdig, dass bei manchen etwas nicht stimmt’.“

(Brigitte Jermias zitiert in der „Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung“ die kritische Selbstreflexion des american way of life im zeitgenössischen US-Kino.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Szene aus Im Reich der Sinne, um den es einen handfesten Zensur-Skandal gab.

Der Wettbewerb der Berlinale 1976 war so international besetzt wie selten zuvor: Filme aus Japan, der VR China und dem Iran, aus Mexiko, Brasilien und Venezuela, aus Italien, den Niederlanden, Großbritannien, Frankreich und den meisten Ostblockstaaten unterstrichen den Anspruch der Berlinale, das internationale Filmschaffen in all seinen Facetten zu repräsentieren.

Kritische Selbstreflexion des US-Kinos

Auch der starke Auftritt des US-amerikanischen Kinos wurde da, anders als in früheren Jahren, nicht als hegemoniale Gefahr interpretiert. Zu komplex, zu selbstkritisch waren die US-Produktionen dieses Jahres. Nach der Öffnung der Berlinale für Filme aus den Ostblockstaaten war man nun gespannt auf das amerikanische Kino, das sich in den Berlinale-Jahrgängen der Vorjahre auffallend zurückgehalten hatte. Es war das Jubiläumsjahr der amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitserklärung, das Jahr 1 nach Watergate und der Vietnamkrieg ging in seine Endphase. Die USA waren in aller Munde und die profilierteste Kritik kam dabei oft von den amerikanischen Intellektuellen und Künstlern selbst.

In einer Fest-Matinee im Zoo-Palast wurde George Stevens jr.’s Dokumentation America at the Movies gezeigt, eine Recherche nach dem Amerikabild im amerikanischen Kino. Während dieser Film sich zum Legendenschatz des „American Way of Life“ eher affirmativ verhielt, waren Robert Altmans Buffalo Bill and the Indian’s or Sitting Bull’s History Lesson, Alan J. Pakulas All the President’s Men und im Forum Alvin H. Goldsteins The Unquiet Death of Julius and Ethel Rosenberg und Charlie Chaplins A King in New York kompromisslose Abrechnungen mit amerikanischen Mythen und Selbstbildern. Der Genozid an der nordamerikanischen Urbevölkerung, die Watergate-Affäre und die McCarthy-Ära stehen auch heute noch für die keineswegs homogene Identität eines Landes, das sich andererseits zu Recht damit rühmt, die Wiege der modernen Demokratie zu sein.

Auch in späteren Jahren sollte die Berlinale immer wieder eine willkommene Plattform für amerikanische Mythen und deren Dekonstruktion werden. Schon bei der Preisverleihung 1976 wurde dieser Gegensatz deutlich: Robert Altman nutzte die Auszeichnung durch den Goldenen Bären für einen Protest gegen seinen Produzenten Dino de Laurentiis. Dieser hatte der Berlinale zwar die längere, von Altman autorisierte Fassung von Buffalo Bill… zur Verfügung gestellt, für den Verleih jedoch eine gekürzte Fassung vorgesehen, mit der der Regisseur nicht einverstanden war. Die Jury bezog Partei, indem sie den Goldenen Bären ausdrücklich „nur für die in Berlin vorgeführte ungekürzte Originalfassung“ verlieh.

Der „Fall Ai No Corrida“ löst eine Zensurdebatte aus

Der Skandalfilm des Festivals lief jedoch im Forum und auch da ging es um Zensur und künstlerische Freiheit. Nagisa Oshimas Meisterwerk Ai no Corrida | Im Reich der Sinne wurde während der Premiere aus dem Projektionsraum des Kinos heraus von der Staatsanwaltschaft konfisziert. Die Geschichte eines einander sexuell verfallenen Paares, bei der sich auch noch der Mann von der Frau verstümmeln ließ, hatte bereits im Vorfeld der Berlinale reißerische Polemiken bei den Profiteuren der Boulevardpresse provoziert.

Der Konfiszierung folgte eine Sichtung des inkriminierten Films im Amtsgericht Tiergarten und daraufhin das endgültige Aufführverbot. Da die Konfiszierung auf der Grundlage des Strafgesetzbuches („öffentliche Vorführung eines pornografischen Films“) erfolgt war, stand die Forumsleitung nun also unter Strafanklage. Erst im November wurde das Ermittlungsverfahren eingestellt. Dazwischen lagen unzählige Protestschreiben und Solidaritätsbekundungen von Filmschaffenden aus aller Welt, Schlichtungsversuche des Berliner Senats, anwaltliche Auslegungsscharmützel – und: eine heimliche Vorführung des Films in der Akademie der Künste mit einer eilig organisierten Ersatzkopie unter einem Tarntitel.

Der Vorgang war einmalig in der Berlinale-Geschichte, löste eine Zensurdebatte aus und drohte dem Ansehen des Festivals und der Stadt zu schaden. Überhaupt hatte das Forum keinen leichten Stand in diesem Jahr: Schon der Kurzfilm „Filmfestspiele Berlin“, der eigens produziert worden war und als Selbstdarstellung des Festivals gezeigt wurde, hatte Ulrich Gregors Protest auf den Plan gerufen: Der Film enthalte „Bild- und Tonmontagen, die eine gezielte Diffamierung eines Teils der Berliner Filmfestspiele, nämlich des Internationalen Forum des Jungen Films darstellen.“ Die interne Harmonie der Vorjahre war noch labil.