Berlinale: Yearbook


24th Berlin International Film Festival
June 21 - July 2, 1974

"The contracting parties shall encourage cooperation in the field of film. For this purpose, the organization of film shows and premieres, the exchange of feature, documentary and newsreel films, co-production of feature and documentary films, as well as a reciprocated participation in international film festivals shall be promoted."

(Article 7 of the German-Soviet Cultural Agreement.)

Posters at the East-West border (1954)
Cold War: Berlinale posters along the East-West border in 1954.

The ice is broken

1974 was a milestone in the history of the Berlinale: For the first time, a Soviet film was screened in the official programme of the festival. The title of Rodion Nakhapetov’s debut film, S toboy i bez tebya – With You and Without You, read like a retrospective commentary on the decades-long tug-of-war that had preceded this event. “The story of the socialist states’ absence from the Berlinale”, Wolfgang Jacobsen writes in "50 Years of Berlinale", “is a highly instructive tale of politics and culture; it is a substantial chapter in the history of East-West tension; a Cold War tragicomedy, a drama with shifting roles and changing protagonists.”

Stages of separation

The advisory board had already decided at the founding of the Berlin Film Festival not to invite any films from “Eastern bloc states”. Officially, this stance hardly changed until the end of the 60s. Unofficially, however, there were serious attempts at rapprochement. At times these were aimed at the DEFA, the state film company of the GDR; at times contact was sought with “Sovexport”, the body responsible for representing Soviet films abroad.

Meanwhile, the other side also had trouble expressing official interest in an event that primarily served the “imperialist ambitions of the United States”. The changing roles referred to by Jacobsen were variously filled by the Berlin Senate, the Foreign Ministry, the festival itself, or individuals with good connections. On the other side it was the Politburo, the ambassador, or Soviet film functionaries. In some years, Easter European films seemed like they were only a formality away from taking part in the Berlinale, but by the following year everything would look completely different. The diplomatic conditions were constantly changing and difficult to calculate for the festival.

Only occasionally would an Eastern European film show up at the film market, or a Czechoslovakian or Russian observer delegation would register for the Berlinale. Thaws did not last long during the Cold War and attempts at understanding and tolerance did not grow beyond delicate shoots. The most significant obstacle to a participation of the socialist states in the Berlinale, evoked again and again by both sides, was the “special diplomatic status of Berlin”. This status was charged with a symbolism that for a long time could be overcome neither by reason nor by political pragmatism. Besides the difficult political reality, the “diplomatic status” included all sorts of peculiarities. For instance, West Berlin did not appear on East German maps, and for a long time the official stance of West Germany was that the GDR did not exist either.

Freedom and necessity?

The decision as to whether the socialist states should take part in the Berlinale was based not on artistic but on (geo-) political factors. Alfred Bauer’s work here resembled that of a diplomat more than of an artistic director, and the interests of the festival were seldom identical with those of international politics. By the time Eastern European films started being shown at Cannes and the Karlovy Vary Festival was granted A-status, Berlin’s special role came to be seen as an obvious shortcoming. Great cinematic art was being created in the socialist states, but it could not be shown in the city whose destiny it could have been to bridge the gap between East and West.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Still from the Persian Tabejade Bijan (Still Life) by Sohrab Sahid Saless

Not until Willy Brandt’s policies led to a gradual détente in East-West relations in the early 1970s, did the climate begin to change for the Berlinale. As soon as the treaties with the Eastern bloc were signed in 1972, Alfred Bauer began to harbour hopes about the Soviet Union taking part in the festival. There was a promising meeting with Soviet Ambassador Abrassimov in Cannes, and Bauer’s efforts with Hungarian representatives also gave grounds for hope. In the end, however, the Berlin Senate argued that there was not enough time to sufficiently prepare for such a groundbreaking move.

Bauer shifted his hopes to the coming year and held numerous talks with Czechoslovakian, Polish, Bulgarian and East German representatives on the occasion of the Karlovy Vary Festival in August 1972. There was briefly talk of a compromise, in which a selection of DEFA films would be shown as part of the Berlinale programme, but this too was unsuccessful. The Soviets repeatedly turned down invitations from the Berlinale without comment; not until June 1973 did a letter to Bauer from the Soviet consul provide a belated explanation: The invitations had been issued “with the agreement of the government of the Federal Republic of Germany and the Berlin Senate”, thus using the official language of the – meanwhile obsolete – Four Power Agreement. The Soviets saw this as blackmail, and made their participation dependent upon a reduction of West German state influence on the festival.

Not only did the Federal government’s sponsorship of the festival cause offence, but also the Federal Film Prize Award, which always took place during the Berlinale and in Berlin, as well as the traditional reception by the West German president. Soviet Consul General Sharkov and his Vice Consul Nikotin met three more times with Senate leader Herz and government official Schröder. But even without significant changes in the festival’s structure, on June 3, 1974 – two weeks before the beginning of the festival – Alfred Bauer received a call from Nikotin, who told him that the Soviet Union would take part in the Berlinale with a film “out of competition” and an observer delegation. The ice was broken.

A year of optimism

In addition to the universal joy over this event, there was a generally positive impression left by the 1974 Berlinale. The reviewers especially emphasized the significant improvement in the Competition films. Masterworks like Fassbinder’s Effi Briest and Tavernier’s L’Horloger de Saint Paul | The Watchmaker of St. Paul made the hearts of audience and critics alike beat faster – the fact that Fassbinder’s film went away empty-handed in the awards ceremony was met with equally unanimous incredulity and led to harsh criticism of the jury.

There was praise however for the ways in which the Competition and Forum programmes had come closer together and for the interesting cross-pollination that ensued. Exemplary for this were two films by the Persian Sohrab Shahid Saless. His debut film Yek Etefagh sadeh | A Simple Event screened in the Forum while Tabiate Bijan | Still Life was shown in the Competition. Films like these – sparse, realistic stories of daily life – led Peter W. Jansen to write in the "Frankfurter Rundschau" of a “festival forming an almost integrated whole”. He especially praised the marked increase in artistically ambitious films in the Competition: “In the guise of historical dramas, comedies or parables, these films address, more or less directly, perfectly concrete things – primarily the conditions in which the individual has to live in his particular social reality.”

Berlinale: Chronik


24. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
21. Juni - 02. Juli 1974

„Die Vertragsparteien werden die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet des Filmwesens fördern. Zu diesem Zweck werden sie insbesondere die Veranstaltung von Filmwochen, Film-Erstaufführungen, den Austausch von Spiel- und Dokumentar- und Wochenschaufilmen, Gemeinschaftsproduktionen von Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen sowie die gegenseitige Beteiligung an Internationalen Filmfestspielen unterstützen.“

(Artikel 7 des deutsch-sowjetischen Kulturabkommens, das 1973 in Kraft getreten war.)

Plakate an der Ost-West Grenze (1954)
Kalter Krieg: Berlinale-Plakate entlang der Berliner Sektorengrenze 1954.

Das Eis ist gebrochen

Das Jahr 1974 markiert einen Meilenstein in der Berlinale-Geschichte: zum ersten Mal läuft ein sowjetischer Film im offiziellen Programm des Festivals. S toboj i bes tebja – Mit dir und ohne dich: Der Titel von Rodion Nachapetows Debütfilm las sich wie ein rückblickender Kommentar auf das jahrzehntelange Tauziehen, das diesem Ereignis voran gegangen war. „Die Geschichte der Abstinenz der sozialistischen Staaten von der Berlinale“, so schreibt Wolfgang Jacobsen in „50 Jahre Berlinale“, „ist ein Lehrstück über Politik und Kultur, ein umfangreiches Kapitel Ost-West-Verkrampfung, eine Tragikomödie aus dem Kalten Krieg, ein Spiel mit verteilten Rollen und wechselnden Protagonisten.“

Szenen einer Scheidung

Der Beirat für die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin hatte bereits bei der Gründung des Festivals beschlossen, keine Filme aus „Ostblockstaaten“ einzuladen. An dieser Haltung änderte sich bis Ende der sechziger Jahre offiziell wenig. Inoffiziell gab es dagegen sehr wohl Bemühungen der Annäherung. Mal richteten sich diese an die DEFA, die staatliche Filmgesellschaft der DDR, mal wurde der Kontakt zu „Sovexport“ gesucht, die für die Repräsentanz sowjetischer Filme im Ausland zuständig war.

Aber auch auf der anderen Seite tat man sich schwer, offizielles Interesse an einer Veranstaltung zu bekunden, die vor allem den „imperialistischen Ambitionen der USA“ diente. Die wechselnden Rollen, von denen Jacobsen spricht, besetzten mal der Berliner Senat, mal die Außenministerien, mal das Festival selbst oder einzelne Akteure mit guten Verbindungen – auf der anderen Seite das Politbüro, der Botschafter oder die sowjetischen Filmfunktionäre. In manchen Jahren kam man einer Teilnahme von osteuropäischen Filmen an der Berlinale so nah, dass sie nur noch eine Formsache schien, im Folgejahr aber konnte sich dann alles schon wieder anders darstellen. Die diplomatischen Befindlichkeiten wechselten beständig und waren für das Festival wenig berechenbar.

Nur vereinzelt tauchte einmal ein osteuropäischer Film in der Filmmesse auf oder meldete sich eine tschechische oder russische Beobachterdelegation für die Berlinale an. Im Kalten Krieg waren die Frühlingsgefühle zu kurz, die Ansätze zu Verständigung und Toleranz blieben zierliche Pflänzchen. Das bedeutendste - und von beiden Seiten immer wieder bemühte - Hindernis für eine Teilnahme der sozialistischen Staaten an der Berlinale war der „besondere diplomatische Status Berlins“ - aufgeladen mit einer Symbolik, der mit Vernunft und politischem Pragmatismus lange Zeit nicht beizukommen war. Denn zum „diplomatischen Status“ gehörten ja neben den realpolitischen Härten auch allerlei Kuriositäten: auf DDR-Landkarten existierte West-Berlin nicht und auch in der offiziellen Sprachregelung der BRD gab es die DDR lange Zeit gar nicht.

Freiheit und Notwendigkeit?

Die Entscheidung über die Teilnahme der sozialistischen Staaten an der Berlinale wurde nicht nach künstlerischen, sondern nach (welt)politischen Kriterien gefällt. Alfred Bauers Arbeit glich in dieser Sache eher der eines Diplomaten, als der eines künstlerischen Leiters, und die Interessen des Festivals waren ja selten identisch mit denen der Politik. Spätestens mit der Teilnahme osteuropäischer Filme am Festival in Cannes und der Zuerkennung des A-Status an das Festival in Karlovy Vary wurde die Sonderstellung der Berlinale zum Manko. In den sozialistischen Staaten wurde große Filmkunst geschaffen, aber in der Stadt, die für eine Brückenfunktion prädestiniert gewesen wäre, durften diese nicht gezeigt werden.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Szene aus Tabejade Bijan (Stilleben) des Persers Sohrab Sahid Saless

Erst als die Politik Willy Brandts Anfang der Siebziger Jahre eine allmähliche Entspannung des Ost-West-Verhältnisses brachte, änderte sich auch die Wetterlage für die Berlinale. Schon nach der Unterzeichnung der Ostverträge 1972 machte sich Alfred Bauer Hoffnung auf eine Teilnahme der Sowjetunion an der Berlinale. Ein Treffen mit dem sowjetischen Botschafter Abrassimow in Cannes verlief viel versprechend und auch Bauers Bemühungen bei ungarischen Vertretern gaben Grund zur Hoffnung. Schließlich führt jedoch der Berliner Senat das Argument ins Feld, die Zeit reiche nicht aus, um eine derart bahnbrechende Entscheidung ausreichend vorbereiten zu können.

Bauer hoffte auf das kommende Jahr und führte im August 1972 am Rande des Festivals in Karlovy Vary zahlreiche Gespräche mit Vertretern der CSSR, Polens, Bulgariens und der DDR. Als Kompromiss war kurzzeitig auch im Gespräch, zunächst eine Auswahl von DEFA-Filmen ins Berlinale-Programm zu nehmen, aber auch dieser Vorstoß blieb ohne Erfolg. Mehrmals lehnte die sowjetische Seite Einladungen der Berlinale kommentarlos ab. Erst im Juni 1973 gibt ein Brief des sowjetischen Konsuls an Bauer die nachträgliche Begründung: die Einladungen waren „im Einvernehmen mit der Regierung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und dem Senat von Berlin“ ergangen und bedienten sich damit einer Sprachregelung des - mittlerweile veralteten - Vier-Mächte-Abkommens. Die sowjetische Seite betrachtete dies als Erpressung und machte ihre Teilnahme an der Berlinale von einer Reduzierung des Bundeseinflusses auf das Festival abhängig.

Man stieß sich nicht nur an der Trägerschaft des Bundes, sondern auch an der Bundesfilmpreisverleihung, die stets im zeitlichen Rahmen der Berlinale und in Berlin stattfand, sowie am traditionellen Empfang des Bundespräsidenten. Noch dreimal trafen sich der sowjetische Generalkonsul Scharkow und sein Vizekonsul Nikotin mit Senatsdirektor Herz und Regierungsdirektor Schröder. Aber auch ohne dass es größerer Einschnitte in die Festivalstruktur bedurfte hätte, erhält Alfred Bauer am 3. Juni 1974 schließlich – zwei Wochen vor Festivalbeginn einen Anruf von Nikotin, in dem dieser ihm mitteilt, die Sowjetunion werde sich mit einem Film „außer Konkurrenz“ und einer Beobachterdelegation an der Berlinale beteiligen. Das Eis war gebrochen.

Ein Jahr des Aufbruchs

Zur allgemeinen Freude über dieses Ereignis kam ein generell positiver Eindruck des Berlinale-Jahrgangs 1974 hinzu. Vor allem die deutlich bessere Filmauswahl im Wettbewerb wurde von den Rezensenten hervorgehoben. Meisterwerke wie Fassbinders Effi Briest und Taverniers L’Horloger de Saint Paul | Der Uhrmacher von Saint Paul ließen die Herzen bei Publikum und Presse höher schlagen – dass Fassbinders Film dann jedoch bei der Preisvergabe leer ausging, stieß auf ebenso einhelliges Unverständnis und brachte der Jury harsche Kritik ein.

Gelobt wurde dagegen vor allem, dass sich die Programme von Wettbewerb und Forum thematisch einander angenähert hätten und interessante Querverweise entstünden. Exemplarisch dafür standen zwei Filme des Persers Sohrab Shahid Saless: sein Debütfilm Yek Ettefaghe Sadeh | Ein einfaches Ereignis lief im Forum, Tabiate Bijan | Sillleben wurde im Wettbewerb gezeigt. Filme wie diese – karge illusionslose Alltagsgeschichten - ließen Peter W. Jansen in der „Frankfurter Rundschau“ von einem „Festival fast aus einem Guß“ sprechen. Er lobte vor allem die deutliche Zunahme von künstlerisch anspruchsvollen Filmen im Wettbewerb: „In diesen Filmen wird mehr oder weniger direkt, in der Einkleidung der historischen Darstellung oder der Komödie oder der Parabel, von durchaus konkreten Dingen gesprochen, vor allem von den Bedingungen, unter denen der einzelne in der jeweiligen gesellschaftlichen Realität existieren muss.“