Berlinale: Yearbook


23rd Berlin International Film Festival
June 22 - July 3, 1973

“A revolutionary of the form returns victoriously, with his head held high, to the consumer-friendly cinema of amusement”.

(Friedrich Luft in "Die Welt" on Claude Chabrol and his film Les Noces Rouges | Wedding in Blood.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
The Year of the Woman by Sandra Hochman

Can't feed two

Budget concerns dominated the run-up to this year’s festival. Festival director Alfred Bauer and Forum director Ulrich Gregor fought together for an increase of the festival budget, even if they had different ideas about how the additional funds were to be divided up. The budget of 1.2 million Deutschmarks had never been increased. Bauer calculated that if inflation were taken into account, this sum was less than the budget for 1966, before the Forum even existed. Compared with the other large international festivals, Berlinale was at the bottom of the list. With the Four Power Agreement on Berlin and the Basic Treaty explicitly emphasizing the role of the city as cultural mediator, the time seemed ripe for requesting more money for the Berlinale. The board of trustees however did not see fit to make more then an additional 100,000 Deutschmarks available, following the festival. This was just enough to purchase an interpreter facility for the Forum. It was a drop in the bucket.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Satyajit Ray reveived a Golden Bear for Ashani Sanket.

As far as the films were concerned, however, the 1973 Berlinale gave reason to be optimistic. The Forum continued to bring exciting and ambitious films to Berlin, and began to embrace new narrative forms that did not always have to be politically motivated. Nor did the Competition disappoint this year. Films such as Robert Aldrich’s Emperor of the North, Satyajit Ray’s Ashani Sanket | Distant Thunder, André Cayatte’s Il n’y pas de Fumée sans feu | Where There’s Smoke and Claude Chabrol’s Les Noces Rouges now also brought stories of upheaval and an increasingly problematic reality to the Competition.

On the one hand, and the other

While the Emperor of the North leading men Lee Marvin and Ernest Borgnine were audience favourites, Chabrol’s film went down best with the critics. In Friedrich Luft’s review of the film you can detect the balancing act that, according to Alfred Bauer, it was necessary to uphold in the Competition: “Highly enjoyable trash – but on a silver platter. A revolutionary of the form returns victoriously, with his head held high, to the consumer-friendly cinema of amusement”.

Eiichi Yamamoto’s Knashimino Belladonna was cause for some irritation, since the film was listed as animation and was thus evidently mistaken as “family entertainment”. The audience brought their children, but instead of a “Japanese Disney”, they were shown an unbridled medley of sumptuously sexual images. While audience members left in droves, it was not enough for a scandal – which can probably be counted as a sign of growing maturity.

French cinema coming on strong

While French films had made a strong showing in the Competition, the Forum emphatically confirmed this impression. Jean Eustache’s La Maman et la Putain | The Mother and the Whore, Godard’s Tout va Bien | Just Great and the four-hour “abridged version” of Jacques Rivette’s Out One Spectre were, as premieres, already received as lasting works of art with their finger on the pulse of their time. This year, Competition and Forum films allowed for points of reciprocal enlargement and connection, which were also taken up by reviewers. The two sides had something to say to each other again. So it didn’t really hurt when the Forum team was collectively given the “Berlin Art Prize” because they had “provided a concrete alternative to the faltering self-image of the official Berlin Film Festival”. The Competition and the Forum were starting to grow together and could no longer be so easily divided.

Berlinale: Chronik


23. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
22. Juni - 03. Juli 1973

„Ein Revolutionär der Form kehrt, siegreich, in das Gebrauchs- und Amüsierkino, erhobenen Hauptes, zurück.“

(Friedrich Luft in der „Welt“ über Claude Chabrol und seinen Film Les Noces Rouges.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
The Year of the Woman von Sandra Hochman

Das Geld reicht nicht für zwei

Im Vorfeld des Festivals ging es vor allem um Etatfragen. Festivalleiter Alfred Bauer und Forum-Chef Ulrich Gregor kämpften gemeinsam für eine Erhöhung des Festspieletats, auch wenn sie über die Aufteilung zusätzlicher Mittel unterschiedliche Vorstellungen hatten. Der Festivaletat lag bei 1,2 Millionen D-Mark und war nicht erhöht worden. Bauer rechnete vor, dass dies bei Berücksichtigung der Inflation noch unter dem Etat von 1966 lag, als es das Forum noch gar nicht gegeben hatte. Im Vergleich der großen internationalen Festivals war die Berlinale damit das Schlusslicht. Die Zeit schien gut für die Forderung nach mehr Geld für die Berlinale, denn mit der Unterzeichnung des Vier-Mächte-Abkommens über Berlin und dem Grundlagenvertrag war die Rolle der Stadt als kulturelle Mittlerin ausdrücklich betont worden. Das Kuratorium sah sich (im Anschluss an das Festival) jedoch nicht in der Lage, mehr als 100.000 D-Mark zusätzlich bereit zu stellen. Das reichte gerade mal für die Anschaffung einer Dolmetscheranlage für das Forum. Was blieb, war ein Tropfen auf den heißen Stein.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Für Ashani Sanket bekam Satyajit Ray den Goldenen Bären.

Was die Filme anbelangte, bot die Berlinale 1973 jedoch Grund für einigen Optimismus. Das Forum holte weiterhin spannendes und anspruchsvolles Kino nach Berlin, wendete sich nun auch neuen Erzählformen zu, die nicht immer politisch motiviert sein mussten. Aber auch der Wettbewerb enttäuschte in diesem Jahr nicht. Filme wie Robert Aldrichs Emperor of the North, Satyajit Rays Ashani Sanket, André Cayattes Il n’y pas de Fumée sans feu und Claude Chabrols Les Noces Rouges erzählten auch im Wettbewerb Geschichten des Umbruchs und der problematisch gewordenen Wirklichkeit.

Einerseits, andererseits

Während Lee Marvin und Ernest Borgnine, die Hauptdarsteller aus Emperor of the North, die Stars beim Publikum waren, kam Chabrols Film bei den Kritikern am besten an. In Friedrich Lufts Rezension des Films kann man den Balanceakt durchscheinen sehen, den es nach Alfred Bauers Auffassung im Wettbewerb zu halten galt: „Genussvolle Kolportage – aber auf dem Silbertablett. Ein Revolutionär der Form kehrt, siegreich, in das Gebrauchs- und Amüsierkino, erhobenen Hauptes, zurück.“

Für einige Irritationen sorgte Eiichi Yamamotos Knashimino Belladonna, der als Zeichentrickfilm angekündigt war und damit offenbar als „Familienunterhaltung“ missverstanden wurde. Das Publikum brachte die Kinder mit, aber anstatt eines „japanischen Disney“ bekam es einen entfesselten Bilderreigen schwelgerischer Sexualität zu sehen. Zwar verließen die Zuschauer in Scharen den Saal, für einen Skandal reichte das aber nicht - was man wohl als Reifeprozess verbuchen konnte.

Starker Auftritt des französischen Kinos

Schon im Wettbewerb hatte sich das französische Kino stark präsentiert. Im Forum wurde dieser Eindruck nachdrücklich bestätigt. Jean Eustaches La Maman et la Putain, Godards Tout va Bien und die vierstündige „Kurzfassung“ von Jacques Rivettes Out One Spectre wurden bereits bei ihrer Premiere als bleibende Kunstwerke auf der Höhe ihrer Zeit erlebt. Wettbewerbs- und Forumsfilme schufen in diesem Jahr an vielen Stellen sinnvolle Ergänzungen und Anschlussmöglichkeiten, die auch von den Rezensenten aufgegriffen wurden. Man hatte sich wieder etwas zu sagen. Da tat es auch nicht mehr weh, wenn die Mitarbeiter des Forums kollektiv den „Kunstpreis Berlin“ mit der Begründung bekamen, „gegenüber dem angeschlagenen Selbstverständnis der offiziellen Berliner Filmfestspiele eine konkrete Alternative gesetzt“ zu haben. Wettbewerb und Forum begannen zusammen zu wachsen und ließen sich nicht mehr so einfach auseinander dividieren.