Berlinale: Yearbook


22nd Berlin International Film Festival
June 23 - July 4, 1972

"Films of the one hand and the other, films that showed both sides, films in which the commercial character was compensated for by the artistic (and vice-versa), middle class films, and this also means for a middle class audience."

(Film critic Peter W. Jansen in the "Frankfurter Rundschau", commenting on the films in the Competition which were now seen in contrast to its "rival", the Forum.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Still from Pasolini's I Racconti Di Canterbury

Rivals or Partners?

Officially, Alfred Bauer had resigned himself to the Berlinale being divided into the Competition and the International Forum for New Cinema. It was clear to insiders however that he was merely trying to salvage the peace, and was personally in no way convinced that the new arrangement made sense. He felt that the Competition was being unfairly disparaged, accused his critics of tunnel vision, and argued that the enormous attraction of an international Competition was vital for the festival.

In fact, the visitor numbers were on his side: While the media’s attention was primarily focused on the Forum, the Competition drew four times as many people into the cinemas. Bauer’s estimation that the Forum had “no international appeal whatsoever” and, “as a seminar with the exclusive goal of creating political awareness”, had “only local significance”, clearly showed how great the distance between the two camps still was – proving the importance of the discussion that it had been the Forum’s goal to promote in the first place. Bauer’s criticisms were voiced in the tenor of the “parents’ generation”, which was suspicious of the progressive tendencies of the young.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Still from Hammersmith is out by Peter Ustinov

In retrospect it is not difficult to recognize the conflicts within the festival as reflecting the atmosphere in the culture at large. The activities of the terrorist RAF (Red Army Faction) had provoked a radicalisation on all sides. The climate in the media was becoming rougher, the tone used in the debates harsher, and the tendency to polemicise was increasing. In an article for Die Zeit, the journalist und future festival director Wolf Donner described the conflict between Competition and Forum as a choice of conscience between “plush” and “politics”: “The difference really is striking: At the Competition you have red plush, announcements in three languages, stars with bouquets, fancy people, a kind of forced festiveness. At the Forum – more beards and longer hair, scruffy attire, an informal atmosphere, debate.”

Plush and politics

Donner’s two-world characterization shows that the signs of the times marked the everyday atmosphere at the festival, and were also perceived as such. The dividing line between establishment and anti-establishment could still be clearly seen. The conflict was intensified by the undeniable weakness of the Competition programme that year – in contrast to a selection of exciting, and largely even outstanding, films in the Forum. The Competition line-up (including films by Peter Ustinov, Marco Ferreri, Arthur Miller, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Zin-Uh Zeong and Pier Paolo Pasolini) tried all too obviously to steer a middle course and thus, more often than not, succumbed to mediocrity. The Golden Bear awarded to Pasolini’s I Racconti di Canterbury | The Canterbury Tales was regarded as a stopgap measure; after all, Pasolini had already proven his genius on numerous other occasions.

The Forum films on the other hand showed contemporary themes, documented the political struggles of the time, told personal stories of failed lives and spoke in blunt and uncompromising terms. The idea of showing some of the contemporary films side by side with older, thematically similar works, testified to the high historical and intellectual standards of the Forum, and was positively received. Friedrich Luft – a critical observer of the festival and notorious for his radical demands – advocated doing away with the Competition entirely in favour of the Forum. Even the generally more circumspect Karena Niehoff did not want to take up the cudgels for the Competition this year and declared the Forum the “real winner” of the festival.

Berlinale: Chronik


22. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
23. Juni - 04. Juli 1972

„Filme des Einerseits-Andererseits, Filme, in denen der Konsumcharakter mit künstlerischem Anspruch kompensiert wird (und umgekehrt), Filme der Mittelklasse, und das heißt auch eines mittelständischen Publikums.“

(Der Filmkritiker Peter W. Jansen in der „Frankfurter Rundschau“ über die Filme des diesjährigen Wettbewerbs, dem mit dem Forum eine interne „Konkurrenz“ erwachsen war.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Szene aus Pasolinis I Racconti Di Canterbury

Rivalen oder Partner?

Offiziell fand sich Alfred Bauer mit der Zweiteilung der Berlinale in den Wettbewerb und das Internationale Forum des Jungen Films ab. Intern jedoch war klar, dass er dabei lediglich den Festivalfrieden zu retten suchte und persönlich keineswegs von der Sinnhaftigkeit der neuen Struktur überzeugt war. Er sah den Wettbewerb zu Unrecht herabgesetzt, warf den Kritikern Einäugigkeit vor und argumentierte mit der enormen Zugkraft eines internationalen Wettbewerbs, die er für das Festival als existenziell empfand.

Die Besucherzahlen gaben ihm Recht: während sich die publizistische Aufmerksamkeit vor allem auf das Forum konzentrierte, lockte der Wettbewerb viermal soviel Menschen in die Kinos wie das Forum. Bauers Einschätzung, das Forum alleine besäße „keinerlei internationale Ausstrahlung“, sondern hätte „als ein politisches Seminar mit dem ausschließlichen Ziel der Bewusstseinsbildung nur lokale Bedeutung“, zeigte deutlich, wie groß die Distanz noch war – und bewies damit gerade die Notwendigkeit der Diskussion, um die es dem Forum ja ging. Bauer sprach in seiner Kritik ganz im Tenor der „Elterngeneration“, die den progressiven Neigungen der Jüngeren mit Misstrauen begegnete.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Szene aus Hammersmith is out von Peter Ustinov

Die Konfliktlinien innerhalb des Festivals lassen sich rückblickend unschwer als Spiegelung der gesellschaftlichen Wetterlage lesen. Die Aktionen der RAF sorgten für eine allgemeine Radikalisierung auf allen Seiten: in der Presselandschaft wurde das Klima rauer, in den Debatten der Ton härter, der Hang zur Polemik nahm zu. In einem Beitrag für die „Zeit“ beschrieb der Journalist - und spätere Festivalleiter - Wolf Donner den Gegensatz zwischen Wettbewerb und Forum als eine Gewissensentscheidung zwischen „Plüsch“ oder „Politik“: „Der Unterschied ist tatsächlich eklatant: beim Wettbewerb roter Plüsch, Ankündigungen in drei Sprachen, Stars mit Blumensträußen, feine Leute und bemühte Festlichkeit – beim Forum mehr Bärte und lange Haare, Gammel-Look, eine informelle Atmosphäre, Diskussionen.“

Plüsch und Politik

Donners Zwei-Welten-Bild zeigt, dass die Zeichen der Zeit den Festivalalltag bestimmten und auch als solche wahrgenommen wurden. Noch waren die Linien zwischen Establishment und Anti-Establishment klar zu erkennen. Für eine zusätzliche Verschärfung des Gegensatzes sorgte in diesem Jahr zudem die nicht zu leugnende Schwäche des Wettbewerbsprogramms – gegenüber einer zumindest aufregenden und spannenden, in weiten Teilen hervorragenden Auswahl im Forum. Die Wettbewerbsauswahl – u.a. Filme von Peter Ustinov, Marco Ferreri, Arthur Miller, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Zin-Uh Zeong und Pier Paolo Pasolini – wollte allzu offensichtlich einen Mittelweg gehen und fiel dabei allzu oft in Mittelmäßigkeit. Der Goldene Bär an Pasolinis I Racconti di Canterbury wurde als Verlegenheitslösung gewertet. Immerhin hatte Pasolini an anderer Stelle mehrfach sein Genie bewiesen.

Die Filme des Forums hingegen zeigten die Themen der Zeit, dokumentierten die politischen Kämpfe, erzählten persönliche Geschichten vom gescheiterten Leben, sprachen unverblümt und kompromisslos. Die Idee, einigen zeitgenössischen Filmen thematisch ähnlich gelagerte ältere Werke zur Seite zu stellen, bewies den hohen filmhistorischen und intellektuellen Anspruch des Forums und wurde positiv aufgenommen. Friedrich Luft – ein kritischer Beobachter des Festivals und berüchtigt für radikale Forderungen – plädierte dafür, den Wettbewerb kurzerhand ganz zu Gunsten des Forums abzuschaffen. Und auch die eher bedachtere Karena Niehoff wollte in diesem Jahr keine Lanze für den Wettbewerb brechen und erklärte das Forum zum „eigentlichen Sieger“ des Festivals.