Berlinale: Yearbook


19th Berlin International Film Festival
June 25 - July 6, 1969

“In One Plus One Brian Jones is seen mostly from behind, similar to the killer in Wim Wenders’ Alabama. And you see the ends of the guitar strings sticking out so much from the head of the guitar, you first thinks they’re hairs. One Plus One is already now a legendary film.”

(Peter Handke seeks and finds the legendary in Godard’s Rolling Stones film.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Rani Radovi by Zelimir Zilnik

The morning after

For the Berlinale, too, the year 1969 was marked by the revolutionary euphoria of the previous year as well as a certain hangover mood, which didn’t really surprise anyone. What today is seen as part of the process of self-discovery in a changing society, was perceived in 1969 as division and contradiction within the leftist social movement. Efforts to exclude and highlight differences appeared to be stronger than any sworn unity.

The episodic film Amore e Rabbia | Love and Anger pastes together five segments by Carlo Lizzani, Bernardo Bertolucci, Pier Paolo Paolini, Jean-Luc Godard and Marco Bellochio to create a fictive discourse between protesting students, professors and police thereby, at least in formal terms, fulfils a promise of diversity. Other films are, by contrast, seen as idiosyncratic expressions. The themes of “social change” or “generational conflict” were catch-alls, which allowed for many associations. Films like Rani Radovi by Zelimir Zilnik, Godard’s Le Gai Savoir | Joy of Learning, Peter Zadek’s Ich bin ein Elefant, Madame| I’m an Elephant, Madame, Fassbinder’s Liebe ist kälter als der Tod | Love Is Colder Than Death, Luis Buñuels La voie lactée | The Milky Way or Greetings by Brian de Palma were all very strong self-standing films, which were lumped together under the name. Much more – and this was recognised by critics at the time – they stood for a new regional focus on issues.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Love Is Colder Than Death: Ulli Lommel, Rainer-Werner Fassbinder

The image changes

Despite its strong programme, the 1969 Berlinale abstained for almost any fanfare at all and was the most subdued festival in years. To several observers, it appeared as if the festival didn’t want to attract too much attention to itself that year – if it had to take place at all. “A quick, business-like, low-key procedure, faithfully mirroring the festival's atmosphere,” wrote the “Süddeutsche Zeitung” on the awards ceremony and found it “in any case nice that nobody believed anymore in the old cult of the film industry – the self-depiction of an industry no longer functioned smoothly.” It was the calm before the storm, which was to break the following year and would result in fundamental change.

Berlinale: Chronik


19. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
25. Juni - 06. Juli 1969

„In One Plus One ist Brian Jones meist von hinten zu sehen, ähnlich wie der Todgeweihte in Wim Wenders’ Alabama. Und vom Gitarrenkopf sieht man die Enden der Gitarrensaiten so weit abstehen, daß man sie zuerst für Haare hält. One Plus One ist schon jetzt ein legendärer Film.“

(Peter Handke sucht und findet in Jean-Luc Godards Rolling-Stones-Film das Legendäre im Detail.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Rani Radovi von Zelimir Zilnik

Der Morgen danach

Auch für die Berlinale war das Jahr 1969 gezeichnet von der revolutionären Euphorie des Vorjahres und dem Einsetzen einer gewissen Katerstimmung, die wohl niemanden wirklich überraschte. Was heute als Teil des Selbstfindungsprozesses einer sich verändernden Gesellschaft gilt, wurde im Sommer 1969 als innere Zerrissenheit und Widersprüchlichkeit innerhalb der linken Gesellschaftskritik erlebt. Das Bemühen zur Abgrenzung und Differenzierung schien stärker zu sein, als die beschworene Einheit.

Der Episodenfilm Amore e Rabbia | Liebe und Zorn montiert fünf Beiträge von Carlo Lizzani, Bernardo Bertolucci, Pier Paolo Passolini, Jean-Luc Godard und Marco Bellochio zu einem fiktiven Diskurs zwischen protestierenden Studenten, Dozenten und Polizei und löst damit zumindest formal ein Versprechen auf Vielstimmigkeit ein. Andere Filme wurden dagegen als idiosynkratische Äußerungen gesehen. Die thematische Klammer „gesellschaftlicher Wandel“ oder „Generationenkonflikt“ war weit gespannt und ließ viele Assoziationen zu. Filme wie Rani Radovi von Zelimir Zilnik, Godards Le Gai Savoir | Die fröhliche Wissenschaft, Peter Zadeks Ich bin ein Elefant, Madame, Fassbinders Liebe ist kälter als der Tod, Luis Buñuels La voie lactée | Die Milchstraße oder Greetings von Brian de Palma waren starke eigenständige Beiträge, die man jedoch nur gewaltsam der gleichen "Sache" zuordnen konnte. Vielmehr, und das wurde auch von der zeitgenössischen Kritik gesehen, standen sie für eine Regionalisierung der angestoßenen Debatten.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Liebe ist kälter als der Tod: Ulli Lommel, Rainer-Werner Fassbinder

Das Selbstbild wandelt sich

Trotz eines starken Programms verzichtete die Berlinale 1969 fast gänzlich auf einen repräsentativen Auftritt und gab sich nüchtern wie kaum ein anderer Festivaljahrgang, Einigen Berichterstattern schien es, als wolle das Festival in diesem Jahr eher unauffällig bleiben - wenn es denn schon stattfinden musste. „Eine schnelle, geschäftliche, kleinlaute Prozedur das ganze, der genaue Spiegel der Festival-Stimmung“, schrieb die „Süddeutsche Zeitung“ über die Preisverleihung und befand: „In diesem Falle dennoch sympathisch: der überkommene Branchenkult hat kaum noch Gläubige, die Selbstdarstellung einer Industrie funktioniert schon lange nicht mehr bruchlos.“ Es war die Ruhe vor dem Sturm, der dann im Folgejahr losbrechen sollte und grundlegende Veränderungen zur Folge hatte.