Berlinale: Yearbook


11th Berlin International Film Festival
June 23 - July 4, 1961

“Strangers to each another, the married couple goes out into the night, he even shakier than before, she is even more bored with his gentle compliance. The hug with which he saves himself, could not have been any more repugnant or fatal. The film releases us with such desolation, with the reduction of all relationships to the superficial.”

(Heinz Ungureit in the “Frankfurter Rundschau“ on Michelangelo Antonioni’s La Notte.)

Brandenburger Tor (1961)
Brandenburg Gate during the Berlinale 1961, just weeks before the wall was built.

Festival in transition

At the 1961 Berlinale, the fundamental conflicts over content that had been sparked the year before were aggravated and therefore once again reflected the era. With films by Jean-Luc Godard, Michelangelo Antonioni, Peter Finch, Bernhard Wicki, Fons Rademakers and Chris.Marker, the programme was stronger than it had been in a long time. And yet in the public eye – and especially in the tabloid press – it was perceived that once again the stars were missing and that the glamour of earlier days had disappeared. Not only in Berlin, but also at the other big festivals, this transition from celebrity cinema to socially critical auteur cinema proved to be an acid test for an entire generation of critics and cultural players.

The jury, made up of celebrities such as Nicolas Ray, Satijat Ray and other filmmakers, showed it had a good eye with its decision to award the Golden Bear to Antonioni’s La Notte | The Night and two Silver Bears to Godard’s Une Femme est une Femme| A Woman is a Woman: one as a special prize to the director and one to Anna Karina for her portrayal of Angéla.

Jayne Mansfield (1961)
Jayne Mansfield at the "Bosom Berlinale".

If they had been watching closely, they would have been able to catch the socio-critical medium of film red-handed doing its job. The very same publications that rallied against Goddard’s social criticism, ostensibly on moral grounds, were happy to gaze steadily at the décolleté of starlet Jayne Mansfield – and were thereby just about able to validate the accuracy of Goddard’s candid eye. Large swaths of the press dubbed the 1961 festival the “Bosom Berlinale”, while, in hindsight, it was in fact one of the most interesting up till then.

Cold Wars on- and off-screen

Even serious commentators had a hard time with the coolness and the theme of alienation in La Notte and the uncompromising and sympathetic portrayal of a woman in Une Femme est une Femme. Critics called these films cold and nihilistic, sensing that even colder times lay ahead – not just in Berlin, where a few weeks after the end of the Berlinale, the Cold War brought with it a brutal new reality: from August 13, 1961 a wall finalized the division of the city.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Anna Karina, Jean-Luc Godard arriving at Tempelhof airport.

Alfred Bauer was annoyed by the false and unfavourable picture that the German press had painted of the festival. In a letter to the CDU politician and publisher of the “Stern” magazine, Dr. Gerd Bucerius, he complained that the “defenseless readers” had been deprived of the cinematic quality of the festival to the benefit of the sensationalist “emphasis on the physical allure” of the female guests.

In-house, Bauer and his supporters were continuing to work on improving the selection process. FIAPF imposed the rule upon the large festivals that no country could be represented by more than two films in the Competition. Countries could submit one film each, leaving the festival the opportunity to independently view and invite films. FIAPF wish to reduce the total number of films in the Competition, didn’t leave a wide margin. The winners of the festival had been personally invited by Bauer and it became more and more clear that the programming would have to be freed from the often all too tactical considerations of national film associations.

Berlinale: Chronik


11. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
23 . Juni - 04. Juli 1961

„Die zwei einander fremden Eheleute gehen in die Nacht hinaus, er noch schwankender als vorher, sie noch gelangweilter über sein leichtes Nachgeben. Die Umarmung, in die er sich in dieser Situation rettet, kann abstoßender und fataler nicht gedacht werden. Mit solcher Trostlosigkeit, mit der Reduzierung aller Beziehungen auf das Äußerliche entlässt uns der Film.“

(Heinz Ungureit in der „Frankfurter Rundschau“ über Michelangelo Antonionis La Notte.)

Das Brandenburger Tor während der Berlinale, nur Wochen vor dem Mauerbau.

Festival im Übergang

Die Berlinale 1961 verschärfte die grundlegenden inhaltlichen Konflikte, die sich im Vorjahr angebahnt hatten und wurde damit erneut zu einem Spiegel der Zeit. Das Programm war mit Filmen von Jean-Luc Godard, Michelangelo Antonioni, Peter Finch, Bernhard Wicki, Fons Rademakers und Chris.Marker so gut besetzt wie schon lange nicht mehr. Dennoch wurde in der breiten Wahrnehmung - und vor allem in der Boulevard-Presse - erneut moniert, dass die großen Namen fehlten und der Glanz früherer Tage verloren gegangen sei. Nicht nur in Berlin, auch auf den anderen großen Festivals erwies sich der Übergang vom Starkino zum gesellschaftskritischen Autorenkino als Nagelprobe für das Selbstverständnis einer ganzen Generation von Kritikern und Kulturschaffenden.

"Starlett" Jayne Mansfield auf der "Busen-Berlinale".

Die mit Nicholas Ray, Satijat Ray und anderen Filmemachern prominent besetzte Jury bewies ein gutes Auge mit der Entscheidung, Antonionis La Notte den Goldenen Bären und Godards Une femme est une femme gleich zwei Silberne Bären zu verleihen: einen als Spezialpreis an den Regisseur und einen an Anna Karina für ihre Darstellung der Angéla.

Hätten alle so genau hingesehen, hätten sie das gesellschaftskritische Medium Film sozusagen in flagranti bei der Arbeit beobachten können. Denn die gleichen Publikationen, die gegen Godards Gesellschaftskritik aus vordergründigen Motiven moralisierten, starrten dem Starlett Jayne Mansfield unverwandt aufs wohlfeile Dekolleté – und bewiesen damit gerade die Richtigkeit von Godards illusionslosem Blick. Als die „Busen-Berlinale“ wurde der 1961er Jahrgang bei großen Teilen der Presse verbucht, dabei war er rückblickend einer der bislang interessantesten.

Kalte Kriege

Auch seriöse Kommentatoren taten sich schwer mit der Kühle und dem Thema der Entfremdung von La Notte und mit der kompromisslosen und solidarischen Darstellung einer Frau in Une Femme est une Femme. Man warf den Filmen Kälte und Nihilismus vor, ahnend vielleicht, dass noch kältere Zeiten anbrechen würden - nicht nur in Berlin, wo wenige Wochen nach dem Ende der Berlinale der kalte Krieg brutale Fakten schuf: ab dem 13. August 1961 betonierte eine Mauer die Teilung der Stadt.

Anna Karina und Jean-Luc Godard bei der Ankunft in Tempelhof.

Alfred Bauer war verärgert über das falsche und unvorteilhafte Bild, das die deutsche Presse vom Festival vermittelt hatte. In einem Schreiben an den CDU-Politiker und Herausgeber des „Stern“, Dr. Gerd Bucerius, monierte er, dass „dem wehrlosen Leser“ die filmische Qualität des Festivals zugunsten des sensationslüsternen „Herausstellens der körperlichen Reize“ der weiblichen Gäste des Festivals vorenthalten worden sei.

Intern arbeiteten Bauer und seine Mitstreiter weiter an einer Verbesserung des Auswahlverfahrens. Die FIAPF hatte den großen Festivals die Auflage gemacht, dass kein Land mit mehr als zwei Filmen im Wettbewerb vertreten sein sollte. Jeweils einen Film durften die jeweiligen Länder selbst anmelden, daneben blieb den Festivals die Möglichkeit, selbständig Filme zu sichten und einzuladen. Da die Gesamtzahl der Wettbewerbsfilme auf Wunsch der FIAPF reduziert werden sollte, war die Marge jedoch nicht groß. Die Gewinner des Festivals hatte Bauer selbst eingeladen, und mehr und mehr wurde klar, dass sich die Programmgestaltung von den allzu oft taktischen Überlegungen der nationalen Filmverbände emanzipieren musste.