Berlinale: Yearbook

10th Berlin International Film Festival
June 24 - July 5, 1960

“Love, thieves, man and the masses... (a) criminal wave, of the ‘steal when you can’ variety.”

(Heinz Mudrich gets worked up in the "Stuttgarter Zeitung" about the criminal energy of the Nouvelle Vague heroes, Bresson’s pickpocket and the "morbid Michel" in Breathless.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Jean Paul Belmondo and Jean Seberg in Godard's Breathless.

Signs of things to come

For contemporaries, the 1960 Berlinale was a weak festival, a “working conference”, short on glamour, and that in the anniversary year of all things. In hindsight, however, the first significant signs that a shift regarding content was occurring surfaced in 1960, though these were only partially intentional. More than all else, the inconsistencies of the programme and disunity amongst commentators reflected a gap in the international film industry between the cinema of the traditional studios, off of which the big festivals had lived up till now, and the independent and provocative films of the younger generation. The crisis was as much aesthetic as it was economic and political in nature. It wasn’t just about the question which films one wanted to make, but also about under which conditions one wanted to make films and that neither could be separated from the other.

Is this the future or the end?

Out of this crisis a new, independent cinema developed around the world during the 1960s: Nouvelle Vague, Free Cinema, Cinema Nuovo and, with the Oberhausen Manifesto, New German Film. A few years later it was said that “Daddy’s cinema is dead”. If that was the case, it had begun to die in 1960 and in fact several commentators feared the Berlinale itself had seen its last days or much worst. Because “Daddy’s cinema” was the cinema of the major studios, films with big stars for a broad audience, with which the big festivals had experienced their golden years. Even the witty Berlinale observer Karena Niehoff couldn’t pin down what was happening: Was it finally getting serious or was it the beginning of the end?

Vittorio Gassman (1960)
Vittorio Gassmann is being prepared for a radio interview.

The tabloid press sulked, because a lot of the sex appeal – which it was believed only female stars could supply – was missing due to the many male figures on the guest list – Richard Widmark, Gene Kelly, Richard Attenborough, Jean Gabin and Jean-Paul Belmondo. But serious observers also felt over- (or under-)welmed and started to point fingers. The increase in the number of films from “exotic” countries such as Pakistan, Korea, Thailand, Egypt and India was pitied as a mistaken humanitarian measure and slated as an “attack on the ability to sit still”. Critics said cinema had “gone down the drain” and were utterly irritated by the jury’s decisions.

The "New Wave" has some gulping for air

And the Nouvelle Vague, whose uncompromising style they had only just gotten used to, was thought to have already gone astray morally. In Jean Luc-Godard’s A bout de souffle | Breathless and Robart Bresson’s Pickpocket, most critics saw only incitation to criminal acts, which became only more scandalous through the original dramatic montage and the stirringly beautiful performances by Jean Seberg and Jean Paul Belmondo. Only a few praised the jury’s courage to present the Silver Bear for best director to Godard. In fact, with A bout de souffle, Pickpocket and with Guy Green’s The Angry Silence the festival had, looking back, three films in its programme that were to become milestones in film history. Milestones on a journey that had only just begun and which was perceived by many at the time as the wrong path.

Berlinale: Chronik


10. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
24. Juni - 05. Juli 1960

„Liebe, Diebe, Mensch und Masse… [Eine] kriminelle Welle, Marke ‘Klau, wenn du kannst’.“

(Heinz Mudrich echauffiert sich in der „Stuttgarter Zeitung“ (?) über die kriminelle Energie der Nouvelle-Vague-Helden, Bressons Taschendieb und den „morbiden Michel“ in Außer Atem.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Jean Paul Belmondo und Jean Seberg in Godards A bout de souffle.

Vorboten des Kommenden

Für die Zeitgenossen war die Berlinale 1960 ein schwaches Festival, ein „Arbeitstreffen“ mit wenig Glanz, ausgerechnet im Jubiläumsjahr. Rückblickend jedoch gab es 1960 die ersten deutlichen Anzeichen für einen inhaltlichen Umbruch, der jedoch nur zum Teil bewusst initiiert war. Vor allem spiegelten die Inkonsistenzen des Programms und die Uneinigkeit der Kommentatoren eine inhaltliche Kluft wider, die sich im internationalen Filmschaffen abzeichnete: zwischen dem traditionellen Studiokino, von dem die großen Festivals bislang gelebt hatten, und den unabhängigen und irritierenden Filmen der jungen Generation. Die Krise war sowohl eine ästhetische, als auch ein ökonomische und politische. Es ging nicht nur um die Frage, welche Filme man machen wollte, sondern auch darum, unter welchen Bedingungen man Filme machen wollte und dass das eine vom anderen nicht zu trennen sei.

Die Zukunft oder das Ende?

Aus dieser Krise heraus entwickelte sich während der sechziger Jahre allerorten ein neues, unabhängiges Kino: die Nouvelle Vague, das Free Cinema, das Cinema Nuovo und spätestens seit dem „Oberhausener Manifest“ auch der Neue Deutsche Film. „Papas Kino ist tot“ hieß es ein paar Jahre später. Dann hätte 1960 also gerade das „Sterben“ eingesetzt und tatsächlich fürchteten einige Kommentatoren das Ende der Berlinale, manche sogar Schlimmeres. Denn „Papas Kino“ war ja das Kino der großen Studios, Filme mit großen Stars für ein großes Publikum, mit denen auch die großen Festivals ihre goldenen Jahre erlebt hatten. Selbst die scharfsinnige Berlinale-Beobachterin Karena Niehoff wusste 1960 nicht, wie sie dran war: Wurde es nun endlich ernst oder war das der Anfang vom Ende?

Vittorio Gassman (1960)
Vittorio Gassmann wird für ein Radio-Interview zurecht gemacht.

Die Boulevard-Presse schmollte, weil ihr unter den vielen Mannsbildern auf der Gästeliste – Richard Widmark, Gene Kelly, Richard Attenborough, Jean Gabin und Jean-Paul Belmondo – der Sex-Appeal abhanden ging, den – so glaubte man – erst die weiblichen Stars garantieren. Aber auch seriösere Beobachter fühlten sich über- (oder unter-)fordert und suchten nach Schuldigen. Die deutliche Zunahme an Filmen aus „exotischen“ Ländern wie Pakistan, Korea, Thailand, Ägypten und Indien wurde als fehlgeleitete Humanitärmaßnahme bemitleidet und als „Angriff auf das Sitzfleisch“ abgekanzelt, man sah die „Filmkunst im Eimer“ und war schließlich vollends verärgert durch die Entscheidungen der Jury.

So mancher verschluckt sich an der „Neuen Welle“

Und die Nouvelle Vague, mit deren kompromisslosen Blick man sich gerade erst angefreundet hatte, glaubte man moralisch bereits auf Abwegen. In Jean Luc-Godards A bout de souffle | Außer Atem und Robert Bressons Pickpocket sah die Mehrheit der Rezensenten lediglich Aufforderungen zu Straftaten, die durch originelle Schnittdramaturgien und das betörend schöne Spiel von Jean Seberg und Jean Paul Belmondo nur umso skandalöser wurden. Nur wenige lobten den Mut der Jury, Godard den Silbernen Bären für die beste Regie zu geben. Tatsächlich aber hatte das Festival mit A bout de souffle, mit Pickpocket und mit Guy Greens The Angry Silence aus heutiger Sicht drei Filme im Programm, die zu Meilensteinen werden sollten. Meilensteinen auf einem Weg, der aber gerade erst begonnen hatte und von vielen Zeitgenossen noch für einen Irrweg gehalten wurde.