Berlinale: Yearbook


9th Berlin International Film Festival
June 26 - July 7, 1959

"Chabrol is in a league with Baudelaire, with Flaubert, Balzac, and Ionesco."

(Karena Niehoff in "Der Tagesspiegel".)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Rita Hayworth and Willy Brandt, Berlin's mayor at the time.

A record year

In 1959 the Berlinale enjoys not just a record number of professional visitors and celebrity guests, but with films from a total of 53 countries, the programme is more international than ever before. Success was by no means guaranteed, because following Khrushchev’s announcement about the four-power status of Berlin, the city was still immersed in the “second Berlin crisis”. The heightened interest in the Berlinale was seen as a sign that the festival had freed itself considerably from the political fate of the “frontline city”. Though entries from Eastern Europe were absent from the festival, informal contacts to DEFA had stabilized in spite of the political crisis; working visits to East Berlin and the Babelsberg studios become a regular part of professional visitors Berlinale schedules.

The beginning of an era: Berlin and the Nouvelle Vague

Claude Chabrol’s Les Cousins | The Cousins is in 1959 the first Nouvelle Vague film at the Berlinale and the International Jury awards it the Golden Bear. This is the beginning of an era: in the following years Claude Chabrol, Francois Truffaut, Jean-Luc Godard and Agnès Varda are regularly guests with their films at the Berlinale and begin to prepare the way for an intense interest for everything that takes a new approach, including British New Cinema, Italian Cinema Nuovo and then later New German Film.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Sophia Loren and columnist Elsa Maxwell.

The early presence of the Nouvelle Vague in Berlin was largely due to Alfred Bauer’s admiration for these films, but also the influence of his French contact and representative, the film journalist Alexandre Alexandre. He introduces Bauer to Truffaut’s Les quatre cent coups | The 400 Blows, which had only shortly before caused an uproar at Cannes, and finally suggested Les Cousins for the Competition. With new films by Fons Rademakers and Akira Kurosawa, the festival had strong content. On top of that, a German entry was among the festival’s “hot titles” that year: Helmut Käutner’s Der Rest ist Schweigen | The Rest is Silence was considered a mature approach to the Nazi years and a critics’ favorite for one of the main prizes.

The desire to choose (and travel)

Yet, following the Berlinale there was a debate over how the film selection process could be further improved. The positive experiences with Alexandre sparked in Alfred Bauer the desire to work closer with correspondents in other countries, in order to view films early and be able to influence the selection process. At first these strivings failed, mostly due to money problems, as traveling was expensive and Bauer had always had difficultly justifying the size of the existing budget to the Berlin Senate.

Berlinale: Chronik


9. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
26. Juni - 07. Juli 1959

„Chabrol ist mit Baudelaire im Bunde, mit Flaubert, Balzac und Ionesco.“

(Karena Niehoff im „Tagesspiegel“.)

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Rita Hayworth und Willy Brandt, damals Regierender Bürgermeister von Berlin.

Rekordjahr

1959 verzeichnet die Berlinale nicht nur einen Rekord an Fachbesuchern und prominenten Gästen, mit Filmen aus insgesamt 53 Ländern ist das Programm auch so international wie nie zuvor. Das ist nicht selbstverständlich, denn die Stadt steckt nach Chruschtschows Aufkündigung des Vier-Mächte-Status noch mitten in der „zweiten Berlinkrise“. Das große Interesse an der Berlinale wird als Zeichen dafür gewertet, dass sich das Festival ein Stück weit emanzipiert hat vom politischen Schicksal der „Frontstadt“. Immer noch fehlen zwar osteuropäische Beiträge, es haben sich jedoch trotz der politischen Krise informelle Kontakte zur DEFA stabilisiert; Arbeitsbesuche in Ost-Berlin und in den Studios von Babelsberg sind bei den Berlinale-Fachbesuchern zur Regel geworden.

Beginn einer Ära: Die Berlinale und die Nouvelle Vague

Claude Chabrols Les Cousins | Schrei wenn du kannst ist 1959 der erste Film der Nouvelle Vague auf der Berlinale und die Internationale Jury zeichnet ihn mit dem Goldenen Bären aus. Dies ist der Beginn einer Ära, denn Claude Chabrol, Francois Truffaut, Jean-Luc Godard und Agnès Varda sind in den Folgejahren regelmäßig mit ihren Filmen zu Gast auf der Berlinale und werden zu Wegbereitern eines intensiven Interesses an allem, was neue Wege geht, also auch an dem britischen New Cinema und dem italienischen Cinema Nuovo und später dann auch am Neuen Deutschen Film.

© Filmmuseum Berlin
Sophie Loren und die Kolumnistin Elsa Maxwell.

Wesentlich verantwortlich für die frühe Repräsentanz der Nouvelle Vague in Berlin war Alfred Bauers Sympathie für diese Filme, vor allem aber die Fürsprache seines französischen Kontakt- und Gewährsmanns, des Filmjournalisten Alexandre Alexandre. Er machte Bauer auf Truffauts Les quatre cent coups | Sie küssten und sie schlugen ihn aufmerksam, der kurz zuvor in Cannes für Furore gesorgt hatte, und schlug schließlich Les Cousins für den Wettbewerb vor. Mit neuen Filmen von Fons Rademakers und Akira Kurosawa war das Festival inhaltlich stark besetzt. Obendrein gehörte in diesem Jahr auch ein deutscher Film zu den „heißen Filmen“ des Festivals: Helmut Käutners Der Rest ist Schweigen galt als eine reife Auseinandersetzung mit dem Nationalsozialismus und wurde von vielen Kommentatoren für einen Hauptpreis favorisiert.

Wunsch nach mehr Wahl- (und Reise-) freiheit

Trotz allem wurde im Anschluss darüber diskutiert, wie die Filmauswahl noch verbessert werden könnte. Die guten Erfahrungen mit Alexandre weckten bei Alfred Bauer den Wunsch, in Zukunft auch in anderen Ländern verstärkt mit Korrespondenten zu arbeiten, um Filme frühzeitig sichten und das Auswahlverfahren beeinflussen zu können. Solche Begehrlichkeiten scheiterten zunächst jedoch vor allem an Geldproblemen, denn Reisen waren teuer, und Bauer hatte immer noch einen schweren Stand, gegenüber dem Berliner Senat die Höhe des bestehenden Etats zu rechtfertigen.