Berlinale: Yearbook


8th Berlin International Film Festival
June 27 - July 8, 1958

“By now one expects from Berlin more than just defiance and resistance, but vitality, flexibility, and cosmopolitanism. That which might have been appropriate for the time (1951), would gradually appear as outdated dogma.”

(Karena Niehoff in the “Tagesspiegel” newspaper.)

The film gala in West Berlin's "Funkturm", the radio tower.

The 1958 Berlinale was marked by the attempt to present itself as more mature both politically and with regards to its content. Already at the opening ceremony in the new Congress Hall in Tiergarten, the festival came across as more independent and self-assured in its role as a prestigious event. The guest list was more international than ever before. The audience was as fervent as ever.

Berlin's responsibility and the Berlinale's

In his opening speech, Berlin’s new mayor Willy Brandt, spoke of the moral responsibility of Berlin – by which he also meant the Berlinale: “The cinematic standards of different nations… differ from one another no less than the languages and customs of different peoples. But that can’t allow us to be narrow-minded. I trust in the cosmopolitanism of this city.” Commentators also demanded change from Berlin and the Berlinale: to move away from the “city on the frontline” mentality, towards to a more cosmopolitan outlook – otherwise supposedly sticking to principles would soon become “ outdated dogma,” as journalist Karena Niehoff warned in an article in the "Tagesspiegel".

As a reaction to strong criticism for the festival's "diplomacy" in the previous year, the Soviet Union is invited for the first time to submit films to the festival. Surprisingly, the invitation is turned down – due to an error in form. Although in subsequent years it always seemed as if no obstacles stood in the way of participation by films from socialist states, the first Russian films wouldn’t run at the Berlinale until 1974.

Gina Lollobrigida was the star of this year's festival.

A cinematic success

Cinematically speaking, the Berlinale 1958 was a resounding success. The critics praised the diversity of the programme, which was also reflected at the award ceremonies. The jury chaired by Frank Capra awarded the Bear for the best film to Ingmar Bergmann’s Smulltronstället | Wild Strawberries. A Silver Bear for the best director went to Tadashi Imai for his film Jun-ai Monogatari | The Story of Pure Love which addressed the dangers of the atomic age, and made a lasting impression on many commentators. Sidney Poitier received the Silver Bear for best actor for his role in The Defiant Ones. For Poitier, it was the beginning of a great career and he was to become a regular Berlinale guest.

Once again, emotions were stirred. Walt Disney, whose films regularly won awards, visited the Berlinale and was a favourite with Berliners: “Our children remind us of your characters every day,” he was told by mayor Willy Brandt during his visit to the Berlin city hall. An altogether dubious compliment.

Berlinale: Chronik


8. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
27. Juni - 08. Juli 1958

„Man erwartet mittlerweile mehr als Trotz und Trutz Vitalität und Biegsamkeit, Weltoffenheit von Berlin… - was 1951 seine Richtigkeit hatte, würde sich allmählich als anachronistische Rechthaberei ausnehmen.“

(Karena Niehoff im „Tagesspiegel“)

Der Filmball 1958 im Funkturm.

Die Berlinale 1958 war gekennzeichnet von dem Versuch, sich politisch reifer und inhaltlich offener darzustellen. Schon bei der Eröffnungsfeier in der neuen Kongresshalle im Tiergarten zeigte sich das Festival souveräner und selbstbewusster in seiner Rolle als repräsentatives Ereignis. Die Gästeliste war so international wie nie zuvor. Das Publikum zeigte ungebrochenes Wohlwollen.

Die Verantwortung Berlins und der Berlinale

Berlins neuer regierender Bürgermeister Willy Brandt sprach in seiner Eröffnungsrede von der politischen und moralischen Verantwortung Berlins und bezog die Berlinale in diesen Auftrag mit ein: „Die Maßstäbe der verschiedenen Nationen an die Qualität eines Films sind kaum weniger verschieden als die Sprache und Sitten der Völker. Das darf uns jedoch nicht dazu verleiten, engherzig zu sein. Ich vertraue auf die Weltoffenheit dieser Stadt.“ Auch die Kommentatoren forderten von Berlin und der Berlinale einen Wandel: weg vom Trotz der Frontstadt, hin zu mehr Weltoffenheit – sonst werde aus der vermeintlichen Prinzipienfestigkeit bald eine „anachronistische Rechthaberei“, wie die Journalistin Karena Niehoff in einem Artikel für den "Tagesspiegel" mahnte.

Als Reaktion auf die heftige Kritik an der Einladungspolitik des Festivals ergeht 1958 erstmals eine Einladung an die Sowjetunion, das Festival mit Filmen zu beschicken. Die Einladung wird jedoch überraschend abgelehnt – mit dem Hinweis auf einen Formfehler. Obwohl es in den Folgejahren immer wieder danach aussieht, als stünde einer Beteiligung von Filmen aus den sozialistischen Staaten nichts mehr im Wege, wird es noch bis 1974 dauern, bevor der erste russische Film auf der Berlinale läuft.

Gina Lollobrigida war der Star des Festivals.

Die Filme überzeugen

Filmisch ist die achte Berlinale ein voller Erfolg. Die Kritiker loben die Vielfalt im Programm, die sich auch bei den Preisverleihungen niederschlägt. Die Jury unter dem Vorsitz von Frank Capra zeichnet Smulltronstället | Wilde Erdbeeren von Ingmar Bergmann als besten Film aus. Ein Silberner Bär für die beste Regie geht an Tadashi Imai für seinen Film Jun-ai Monogatari | Geschichte einer wahren Liebe, der die Gefahren des Atomzeitalters thematisierte und bei vielen Kommentatoren den nachhaltigsten Eindruck hinterließ. Sidney Poitier erhält für seine Rolle in The Defiant Ones | Flucht in Ketten den Silbernen Bären als bester Darsteller. Für Poitier ist es der Beginn einer großen Karriere und er wird ein regelmäßiger Gast der Berlinale werden.

Aber auch für Rührung war wieder einmal gesorgt. Walt Disney, dessen Filme in den Vorjahren regelmäßig zu den (Publikums-)Preisträgern zählten, besuchte die Berlinale und war der Liebling der Berliner: „Unsere Kinder erinnern uns täglich an Ihre Figuren“, versichert Bürgermeister Willy Brandt dem Ehrengast bei dessen Besuch im Berliner Rathaus. Ein denkwürdiges Kompliment.