Berlinale: Yearbook


5th Berlin International Film Festival
June 24 - July 5, 1955

“Perhaps the esteemed ladies and gentlemen have not been sufficiently convinced that not only does Berlin need them, but that they need the metropolis, to have a more positive influence on their market value than the small, delicate Cannes or the festive decorum of Venice.”

(Film critic Karena Niehoff gives the international film stars a talking to – they were notable at this Berlinale in their absence.)

Crowds awaiting stars on Kurfürstendamm (1955)
The "Hotel am Zoo" in full festival armor.

Berlinale reaches out

In its fifth year, the festival’s advertising expenditure jumps to 60,000 deutschmarks, equalling 15% of the festival budget. Alfred Bauer places highly visible outdoor posters advertising the film festival near the border to East Berlin. All venues and all the major streets in the western part of the city are draped with flags of the participating nations. On photographs from the time, buildings are barely visible, due to all the flags. Commentary made that year gives the impression that the Berlinale was seen as the “Olympics of Film” – an expression that was commonly used. The sports metaphor of “competition between nations” played a big role in the image of the festival. A country code was used during the film selection process and sometimes in the early years closer attention was paid to the origin of the movie than to the its actual content.

And so it was of considerable significance when the main prize of the Berlinale went to a German film for the first time: Robert Siodmak`s adaption of Hauptmann Die Ratten | The Rats starring the young Maria Schell is voted the best film by the audience. The almost documentary-style realism of the film, the undisguised appearance of war-ravaged Berlin and its inhabitants was even more striking than Otto Preminger’s Carmen Jones, which had garnered the most attention in the run-up to the festival. And once again an image flickered across Berlinale screens that would later become an icon of film history: the billowing skirt over Marilyn Monroe’s legs in Billy Wilder’s The Seven Year Itch.

A not insignificant political development: in the Berlinale guidelines, the Federal Republic of Germany appears for the first time as an official supporter of the festival.

Curt Jürgens, Maria Schell, Rober Siodmak

Berlinale: Chronik


5. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
24. Juni - 05. Juli 1955

„Vielleicht sind die kostbaren Herrschaften noch nicht genügend davon überzeugt worden, daß nicht nur Berlin sie braucht, sondern sie noch mehr die Großstadt nötig haben, die kräftiger an ihrem Kurswert arbeitet als das kleine zärtliche Cannes oder das schwelgerische Dekorum Venedigs.“

(Die Filmjournalistin Karena Niehoff liest den internationalen Filmstars die Leviten, die auf dieser Berlinale durch Abwesenheit glänzten.)

Die Menge wartet auf die Stars am Kurfürstendamm (1955)
Das Hotel am Zoo in voller Festivalmontur.

Die Berlinale zeigt sich

Das Werbebudget des Festivals macht im fünften Jahr einen Sprung auf 60.000 DM, was gut 15% des Festspieletats entspricht. Alfred Bauer lässt an der Sektorengrenze nach Ost-Berlin gut sichtbare Plakatwände anbringen, die für die Filmfestspiele werben. Alle Festspielorte und alle wichtigen Straßen im Westteil der Stadt werden großzügig mit den Flaggen der teilnehmenden Nationen geschmückt. Auf zeitgenössischen Fotos sieht man bisweilen die Häuser vor lauter Flaggen nicht mehr. Viele Äußerungen der damaligen Zeit lassen den Eindruck aufkommen, es handele sich bei der Berlinale um eine „Olympiade des Films“ - ein Begriff der sogar gelegentlich Verwendung fand. Der sportliche Gestus des „Länderwettstreits“ spielte in der Wahrnehmung des Festivals eine große Rolle. Bei der Filmauswahl wurde ein Länderschlüssel angewendet und auf die Herkunft eines Films reagierte man in den Anfangsjahren bisweilen sensibler als auf seinen Inhalt.

Curt Jürgens, Maria Schell, Rober Siodmak

Von denkbar großer Bedeutung war es denn auch, dass der Hauptpreis der Berlinale erstmals an einen deutschen Film ging: Robert Siodmaks Hauptmann-Adaption Die Ratten mit der jungen Maria Schell wird vom Publikum zum besten Film gekürt. Der fast dokumentarische Realismus des Films, die unverstellte Sichtbarkeit des noch immer vom Krieg gezeichneten Berlins und seiner Bewohner beeindruckte noch stärker als Otto Premingers Carmen Jones, dem im Vorfeld des Festivals die meiste Aufmerksamkeit gegolten hatte. Und wieder einmal flimmerte flüchtig ein Bild über die Berlinale-Leinwände, das wenig später zu einer Ikone der Filmgeschichte werden sollte: der wehende Rock über den Beinen Marilyn Monroes in Billy Wilders The Seven Year Itch.

Eine nicht unbedeutende politische Marginalie: In den Richtlinien der Berlinale taucht erstmals die Bundesrepublik Deutschland als offizielle Mitträgerin des Festivals auf.