Berlinale: Yearbook


3rd Berlin International Film Festival
June 18 - 28, 1953

"This film is without a sliver of hope for the humanist. It is - no matter how brilliantly conceived and then delivered - essentially inhuman."

(Friedrich Luft in "Die Neue Zeitung" on Le salaire de la peur, on which the Berlinale audience bestowed the Golden Bear.)

Gary Cooper (1953)
Gary Cooper arriving at Tempelhof airport

In December 1952 the Berlin Senate votes in a budgetary session to make painful cuts in the budget of the film festival. The Finance Senator’s office criticizes the management of the festival and acts on its words by cutting not only Alfred Bauer’s salary, but also by limiting his contract – breaking previous agreements. Bauer considers the move an affront and resigns. After negotiations, most of the plans for cuts are scrapped, prompting Bauer to withdraw his resignation.

Workers' revolt in East Berlin

The third Berlinale begins on June 18, 1953, one day after the violently repressed revolt in the eastern part of the city, which ends with protests by construction workers on Stalinallee. The political situation puts a damper on the festival atmosphere and results in a noticeable drop in audience numbers, because the sector boundaries are temporarily closed. One of the stars of the festival is Gary Cooper, who arrives with his wife and family. His critical comments on the repressive policies of the American Senator and communist-hunter McCarthy are met with ambivalence in Berlin. The Golden Bear – awarded for the second time by the audience – goes to Le Salaire de la Peur by Henri Clouzot, a decision that was well received.

German films fail

One of the films that received the most attention was Jacques Tati’s Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot | Monsieur Hulot's Holiday. And a blatant curiosity was the almost documentary-style portrayal of the daily life of Boy Kumasenu from the Gold Coast. For the third year in a row the German contributions to the festival are a flop with audiences and the press. Erik Ode’s Der Kampf der Tertia | Fight of the Tertia and Rudolf Jugert’s Ein Herz spielt falsch | A Heart's Foul Play are considered embarrassing slip-ups, artistically and intellectually far below the international competition. On the one hand the selection process is burdened by different sensitivities, on the other hand, the (West) German film industry is unable to overcome the structural problems it has been stuck in for the eight years since the end of the war.

Waldbühne (open air venue) (1953)
The "Waldbühne" - a major festival menue in the 50's

Nearly all production facilities were destroyed during the war. While DEFA was rapidly developing in the eastern sector of the city, the West German and West Berlin film industry was slow getting back on its feet. To a large extent this was due to the centralized structure of the German film industry as it had existed under the Nazis. In 1942 all areas of the film industry from production to screening were brought together under the single roof of Ufa.


Debts and guilt

At the end of the war all of Ufa’s assets became the property of the occupying powers. While the Soviet leadership by in large continued to operate a centralized film industry under a different banner, the policies of the Americans and British focused on decentralizing the various sectors of the industry for a long-term transition to a market-orientated model. This was seen as part of democratization efforts, but required time, as Ufa’s assets were to be gradually sold off to private German investors. This process was overseen by the military governments and their “film officers”. Since 1948, the American film officer had been Oscar Martay, who had already delved into the German, and especially Berlin, film industry before he initiated the founding of the Berlinale in 1950.

The tedious process of reconstructing the film industry was met with resentment and misunderstanding on all sides. The Berlin Senate – which found itself responsible for a large portion of former production facilities – felt constrained by the American policies. On the other hand, German film producers accused the Senate of “cold socialization” which aimed at pushing the privatization of the film industry. It wasn’t easy to make a feature film in Germany at this time: one needed approval from the military administration for everything, and when the Allies began to allow the German authorities to participate more in the decision-making process, producers and filmmakers had to perform a balancing act between both sides. In any case, filming usually took place under improvised conditions and who wanted to take responsibility for the failure of a particular project - let alone the unsatisfying state of “German film”?

Berlinale: Chronik


3. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
18. - 28. Juni 1953

„Dieser Film ist ohne einen Lichtblick auf das Menschliche. Er ist, so brilliant er konzipiert und dann geführt sein mag - er ist im Grunde inhuman.“

(Friedrich Luft in „Die Neue Zeitung“ über Le salaire de la peur, den das Publikum mit dem Goldenen Bären auszeichnete.)

Gary Cooper (1953)
Gary Cooper am Flughafen Tempelhof

Im Dezember 1952 beschließt der Berliner Senat in seiner Haushaltssitzung empfindliche Kürzungen im Etat der Filmfestspiele. Aus dem Haus des Finanzsenators wird zudem Kritik an der Geschäftsführung der Filmfestspiele geäußert und darauf hingewirkt, Alfred Bauer nicht nur die Bezüge zu kürzen, sondern seinen Vertrag auch entgegen vorheriger Absprachen zu befristen. Bauer fasst dies als Affront auf und tritt von seinem Amt zurück. Erst Vermittlungsgespräche führen zu einer Rücknahme der meisten Kürzungspläne, woraufhin auch Bauer seine Kündigung wieder zurückzieht.

Die Arbeiterrevolte in Ost-Berlin

Die dritte Berlinale beginnt am 18. Juni 1953, einen Tag nach dem gewalttätig niedergeschlagenen Aufstand im Ostteil der Stadt, der von protestierenden Bauarbeitern auf der Stalinallee seinen Ausgang nahm. Die politische Situation dämpft die Festivalstimmung und resultiert in einem merklichen Zuschauerschwund, da die Sektorengrenze kurzzeitig abgeriegelt wurde. Einer der Stars des Festivals ist Gary Cooper, der mit Frau und Familie anreist. Seine kritischen Äußerungen über die repressive Politik des amerikanischen Senators und Kommunisten-Jägers McCarthy werden in Berlin zwiespältig aufgenommen. Der Goldene Bär – zum zweiten Mal vom Publikum vergeben – geht an Le Salaire de la Peur von Henri Clouzot, eine Entscheidung die allgemein auf Anerkennung stößt.

Deutsche Filme fallen beim Publikum durch

Einer der meist beachteten Filme des Festivals ist Jacques Tatis Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot und ein Kuriosum zweifellos der fast dokumentarisch eingefangene Alltag des Boy Kumasenu von der Goldküste. Zum dritten Mal in Folge fallen die deutschen Festivalbeiträge bei Publikum und Presse durch. Erik Odes Der Kampf der Tertia und Rudolf Jugerts Ein Herz spielt falsch erscheinen als peinliche Ausrutscher, künstlerisch und intellektuell der internationalen Konkurrenz deutlich unterlegen. Einerseits ist das Auswahlverfahren durch die unterschiedlichsten Empfindlichkeiten belastet, andererseits sind die strukturellen Schwierigkeiten unübersehbar, in denen die (west)deutsche Filmbranche acht Jahre nach Kriegsende noch steckt.

Waldbühne (1953)
Die Waldbühne - ein wichtiger Festspielort in den 50er Jahren

Im zweiten Weltkrieg waren fast alle Produktionsstätten zerstört worden. Während im Ostsektor der Stadt der Aufbau der DEFA recht rasch vonstatten ging, entwickelte sich die westdeutsche und West-Berliner Filmwirtschaft nur sehr schleppend. Dies hing mit der zentralistischen Struktur der deutschen Filmbranche unter den Nationalsozialisten zusammen. 1942 waren von der Produktion bis zum Abspiel sämtliche Bereiche des Filmschaffens unter dem Dach der Ufa zusammengefasst worden.

Erblasten

Mit dem Kriegsende ging das gesamte Vermögen der Ufa in den Besitz der Siegermächte über. Während die sowjetische Führung an einer zentralisierten Filmwirtschaft unter veränderten Vorzeichen im Wesentlichen festhielt, zielte die Politik der Amerikaner und Briten darauf, die unterschiedlichen Bereiche zu dezentralisieren und langfristig in ein marktwirtschaftliches Modell zu überführen. Dies wurde als Teil der Demokratisierungsbemühungen gesehen, brauchte jedoch Zeit, da das Ufa-Vermögen sukzessive an deutsche Privateigentümer veräußert werden sollte. Dieser Prozess wurde von den jeweiligen Militärregierungen und ihren „Filmoffizieren“ begleitet. Der amerikanische Filmoffizier war seit 1948 Oscar Martay, der also bereits einen gründlichen Einblick in die deutsche, insbesondere die Berliner Filmwirtschaft hatte, bevor er 1950 die Gründung der Berlinale initiierte.

Der mühselige Prozess des Wiederaufbaus einer Filmwirtschaft war begleitet von gegenseitigen Ressentiments und Missverständnissen. Der Berliner Senat, auf dessen Zuständigkeitsgebiet sich ein Großteil der ehemaligen Produktionsstätten befand, fühlte sich durch die amerikanische Politik gegängelt. Die deutschen Spielfilmproduzenten wiederum warfen dem Senat „eine kalte Sozialisierung“ vor, die das Ziel habe, die Privatisierung der Filmwirtschaft zu hintertreiben. Es war nicht leicht, in diesen Jahren in Deutschland einen Spielfilm zu realisieren: für alles brauchte man eine Genehmigung der jeweiligen Militärregierung, und als die Alliierten anfingen, die deutschen Behörden stärker am Entscheidungsprozess zu beteiligen, mussten die Produzenten und Filmemacher des Öfteren den Spagat zwischen zwei Stühlen machen. Gedreht wurde jedenfalls meist unter improvisierten Bedingungen und wer wollte in dieser Situation die Verantwortung für das Scheitern eines Projekts – oder gar für das unbefriedigende Gesamtbild des „deutschen Films“ – übernehmen?