Berlinale: Extras


Nasrin Sotoudeh sentenced in Iran

Nasrin Sotoudeh in Taxi by Jafar Panahi

The human rights activist Nasrin Sotoudeh, joint winner of the 2012 Sakharov Prize with Jafar Panahi, has been sentenced in Iran to 33 years in prison and 148 lashes. In Panahi’s film Taxi (winner of the 2015 Golden Bear), Sotoudeh plays herself: a lawyer banned from practising. She talks about interrogations, arrests and harassment of her clients. One of the things Sotoudeh campaigns against are women being forced to wear the hijab. She represents minors on death row, young women who demonstrated against the hijab laws and she advocates for the rights, among others, of the discriminated religious minority, the Bahá’í. The verdict, which was passed in Sotoudeh’s absence and without her knowledge, includes charges of “propaganda against the regime”, “inciting corruption and prostitution” and “spreading false news to manipulate public opinion”.

Nasrin Sotoudeh had already been sentenced to five years imprisonment in another trial, meaning she is facing a total of almost four decades in jail.

The statement from Amnesty International on Nasrin Sotoudeh says: “This is the harshest sentence Amnesty International has documented against a human rights defender in Iran in recent years, suggesting that the authorities – emboldened by pervasive impunity for human rights violations – are stepping up their repression.”

Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick is also shocked: “The inhuman sentence against Nasrin Sotoudeh has left us dismayed. The lawyer has boldly and bravely defended human rights in her homeland. The Berlinale thanks Foreign Minister Heiko Maas for his clear statement and calls on the federal government to continue to protest to the Iranian government against the sentence and to demand Sotoudeh’s release.”

We ask everyone to sign the Amnesty petition for the liberation of Sotoudeh: https://www.amnesty.org/en/get-involved/take-action/iran-free-nasrin-satoudeh-now/

Berlinale: Extras


Nasrin Sotoudeh in Iran verurteilt

Nasrin Sotoudeh in Taxi Teheran von Jafar Panahi

Die Menschenrechtlerin Nasrin Sotoudeh, die 2012 zusammen mit Jafar Panahi den Sacharow-Preis erhalten hat, ist im Iran zu 33 Jahren Gefängnis und 148 Peitschenhieben verurteilt worden. In Panahis Film Taxi Teheran (Goldener Bär 2015) spielt Sotoudeh sich selbst: Eine Anwältin, die Berufsverbot hat. Sie spricht über Verhöre, Verhaftungen, die Schikanen gegen ihre Klienten. Sotoudeh hatte sich unter anderem gegen den Kopftuchzwang engagiert. Sie vertritt Minderjährige in Todeszellen, junge Frauen, die gegen den Kopftuchzwang demonstrierten und setzt sich unter anderem für die Rechte der diskriminierten religiösen Minderheit der Bahai ein. In dem Urteil, das in Abwesenheit von Sotoudeh und ohne ihr Wissen gefällt wurde, werden ihr Vergehen wie „Propaganda gegen das Regime“, „Förderung von Korruption und Prostitution“ sowie „Verbreitung falscher Nachrichten, um die öffentliche Meinung zu manipulieren“ vorgeworfen.

In einem anderen Prozess war Nasrin Sotoudeh bereits zu fünf Jahren Haft verurteilt worden, so dass ihr fast vier Jahrzehnte Gefängnis drohen.

In der Amnesty-Meldung zu Nasrin Sotoudeh heißt es: „Dies ist das härteste Urteil, das Amnesty International in den letzten Jahren gegen Menschenrechtsverteidiger im Iran dokumentiert hat, was darauf hindeutet, dass die Behörden - ermutigt durch die weitgehende Straflosigkeit bei Menschenrechtsverletzungen - ihre Repression verstärken.“

Auch der Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick ist erschüttert. „Das unmenschliche Urteil gegen Nasrin Sotoudeh hat uns bestürzt. Mutig und unerschrocken hat sich die Anwältin in ihrer Heimat für die Menschenrechte eingesetzt. Die Berlinale dankt Außenminister Heiko Maas für seine klare Stellungnahme und fordert die Bundesregierung auf, auch weiterhin bei der iranischen Regierung gegen das Urteil zu protestieren und die Freilassung von Sotoudeh zu fordern.

Wir bitten alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger, die Amnesty-Petition zur Freilassung von Sotoudeh zu unterzeichnen: https://www.amnesty.de/mitmachen/urgent-action/nasrin-sotoudeh-freilassen.