Press Release

Zarlinale

Jury for the Best First Feature

The Berlinale has been even more committed to supporting the next generation of film makers since 2006, when it introduced the Best First Feature Award. The award is endowed with 50,000 Euros, donated by the GWFF (Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrecht), a society dedicated to safeguarding film and television rights. The prize money is to be split between the producer and the director of the winning film. Additionally, the director will be awarded with a high-quality viewfinder as both a useful instrument and memorable trophy.

Debut feature films from the sections *Competition, Panorama, Generation Kplus* and *14plus* as well as debut films from the *Forum* will compete for the award. The winners will be announced at the official award ceremony in the Berlinale-Palast on February 14.

A three-person jury will decide on the Best First Feature:

In 2008 the writer, journalist and author Diablo Cody (USA) caused an international sensation, when her debut script for the teenager drama *Juno* was awarded an Oscar and 17 additional prizes. Diablo Cody is renowned for her innovative blogs, currently writes columns for Entertainment Weekly and develops successful cinema and TV material. She wrote the TV mini-series *The United States Of Tara* for producer Steven Spielberg. Her latest screenplay for the thriller *Jennifer's Body* will start filming in autumn 2009.

For many years In-Ah Lee (Germany) was active as producer for Wim Wenders' Reverse Angle Production on films such as *Don't Come Knocking* (2005). At present In-Ah Lee is involved in projects for greenskyfilms, a production company based in Cologne and Los Angeles. Here she is responsible especially for international co-productions and independent films.

Born in Teheran, director Rafi Pitts (Iran) now lives in France and is a leading representative of contemporary Iranian cinema. His feature film debut *The Fifth Season*, filmed in his native Iran, was an international festival success. In 2006 Rafi Pitts presented the drama *It's Winter* in the Berlinale *Competition*. He is currently working on his fifth feature film, *The Hunter*.

59. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 05. – 15.02.2009

Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Phone +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 707 Fax +49 · 30 · 259 20 · 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

Management:

Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Dr. Thomas Köstlin (Kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer), Dr. Bernd M. Scherer, Dr. Joachim Sartorius

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Bernd Neumann

Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRG Nr. 96 • HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46



Press Release

The Jury will screen the following films:

Competition (3)

Gigante by Adrián Biniez, Uruguay/Germany/Argentina

Katalin Varga by Peter Strickland, Romania/UK/Hungary

** The Messenger by Oren Moverman, USA

Panorama (8)

Claustrophobia by Ivy Ho, Hongkong/ People's Republic of China

Dongbei Dongbei by Zou Peng, China

Human Zoo by Rie Rasmussen, France

Nord (North) by Rune Denstad Langlo, Norway

Pedro by Nick Oceano, USA

Rossiya 88 (Russia 88) by Pavel Bardin, Russian Federation

Vingança (Retribution) by Paulo Pons, Brazil

** White Lightnin' by Dominic Murphy, UK/USA/Croatia

<u>Forum (7)</u>

Aguas Verdes (Green Waters) by Mariano De Rosa, Argentina

Cea mai fericită fată din lume (*The Happiest Girl in the World*) by Radu Jude, Romania/The Netherlands

The Day After (Eoddeon gaien nal) by Lee Suk-Gyung, Republic of Korea

Kan door huid heen (*Can Go Through Skin*) by Esther Rots, The Netherlands



Press Release

Marin Blue by Matthew Hysell, USA

Members of the Funeral (*Jangryesigeui member*) by Baek Seung-Bin, Republic of Korea

Soundless Wind Chime (Wu Sheng Feng Ling) by Kit Hung, Hongkong/Switzerland

Generation Kplus (4)

Brendan and the Secret of Kells by Tomm Moore and Nora Twomey, Ireland/France/Belgium

Flickan by Fredrik Edfeldt, Sweden

Gagma Napiri by George Ovashvili, Georgia/Kazakhstan

Mommo by Atalay Taşdiken, Turkey

Generation 14plus (3)

Cherrybomb by Glenn Leyburn and Lisa Barros D'Sa, UK

** Mary and Max by Adam Elliot, Australia

Miao Miao by Cheng Hsiao-Tse, Hongkong/Taiwan

**The films denoted with ** are no longer qualified for candidacy if they win an award at the current Sundance Festival.

Press Office January 22, 2009