## Press Release



Berlinale Kinderfilmfest: The Crystal Bears and the Prizes of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk

The *Kinderfilmfest*'s eleven-member Children's Jury of the 56th Berlin International Film Festival awards the **Crystal Bear for Best Feature Film** as well as the **Crystal Bear for Best Short Film** to the following films:

The Crystal Bear for Best Feature Film goes to:

Drømmen (We Shall Overcome) by Niels Arden Oplev, Denmark/Great Britain

"'I have a dream!' – Like Martin Luther King, the film's main character has the dream not to let human dignity be undermined by the rigid principles of a past age. We were very moved by how this change in the times was presented, as well as by the outstanding performances of the actors and the touching story."

The Crystal Bear for Best Short Film goes to:

Aldrig en absolution (Never an Absolution) by Cameron B. Alyasin, Sweden/USA

"This film brought home an important topic, one to which we are often, unfortunately, blind. A harsh reality is presented in a moving but unsparing manner. The excellent performance of the young leading actor and the awesome music, which reflects his inner struggle so well and demands we take action, made this film the clear winner for us."

The members of the Children's Jury, who are between the ages of eleven and fourteen, were:

Jacopo Clark, Lea Elsner, Sophia Hoffinger, Roberta Huldisch, Viktor Kewenig, Moritz Kleine, Joana Mendes Flascha, Jannis Nellesen, Ayda Parnianfard, Philina Schmidt and Daniil Shchapov. 56. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 09. – 19.02.2006

Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Tel. +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 707 Fax +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

Management:

Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Dr. Thomas Köstlin (Kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer), Dr. Bernd Scherer, Dr. Joachim Sartorius

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Bernd Neumann

Handelsregister: Amtsgericht Charlottenburg Nr. 96 HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46

## Press Release



The five-member International Jury of the *Kinderfilmfest* of the 56th Berlin International Film Festival Berlin awards the **Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk**, endowed with 7,500 euros, as well as the **Special Prize of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk**, endowed with 2,500 euros, to the following films:

The Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderfhilfswerk goes to:

Ang Pagdalalaga ni Maximo Oliveros (The Blossoming of Maximo Oliveros) by Auraeus Solito, Philippines

"This is a challenging story of love, disappointment, tragedy and hope. It is told with simple means but resonates with much to think about."

The Special Prize of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk goes to:

Wei xiao der yu (A Fish with a Smile) by C.Jay Shih, Alan Tuan, Poliang Lin, Taiwan

"An apparently simple but beautifully made film reminds us to open our hearts to the truth that if you set someone free, you also shall be free. This is a film with something for people of all ages."

The members of the International Jury of the *Kinderfilmfest* were:

Torun Lian (director, Norway) Catherin Fitzgerald (producer, New Zealand) Dyonisos Reitz Kerasiotis (head of BUSTER Children's Film Festival, Denmark) Ogowa Ondego (artistic director of LOLA Kenya Children's Screen Festival) Bernd Sahling (director, Germany)

The award ceremony was held earlier today, on February 18 at 3:30 p.m. in the Zoo Palast.

Press Office February 18, 2006