

# Press Release

### Presentation of the Panorama Audience Award 2006

The audiences' ballots have been counted: the *Panorama* Audience Award 2006 – which is sponsored by "radioeins" of RBB, Berlin-Brandenburg's public radio and television broadcasting station, and Berlin's city magazine "tip" in collaboration with the Berlinale's *Panorama* section – goes to *Bubot Niyar (Paper Dolls)*, directed by Tomer Heymann.

The *Panorama* Audience Award has existed since 1999. Movie-goers of the 56th Berlin International Film Festival were asked to cast their ballot cards or vote online for the films screened in the *Panorama* section. Over 19,000 votes were cast and counted. 37 features and 14 documentaries were competing for this year's award. The Israeli-Swiss co-production took the lead from the start and held its position until the final count.

The official award ceremony will be held on Sunday, February 19 at 5 p.m. in the CinemaxX 7. The winning film will be awarded the bronze statue by Berlin sculptor Hubertus Brand. The prize will be presented by "radioeins" chief editor Florian Barckhausen and Robert Weixlbaumer from the "tip" film staff. Head of the *Panorama* Wieland Speck will also attend the event which will be hosted by "radioeins" film expert Knut Elstermann. Following the award ceremony, the audiences' favourite film will be rescreened.

Winner of the *Panorama* Audience Award 2006: Bubot Niyar (Paper Dolls) Israel/Switzerland 2005 Directed by Tomer Heymann

2nd place - *Panorama* Audience Award: Estrellas de la linea (The Railroad All-Stars) Spain 2005 Directed by José Maria Rodríguez

3rd place - Panorama Audience Award: Breakfast on Pluto Ireland/Great Britain 2005 Directed by Neil Jordan 56. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 09. – 19.02.2006

#### Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Tel. +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 707 Fax +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

### Management:

Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Dr. Thomas Köstlin (Kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer), Dr. Bernd Scherer, Dr. Joachim Sartorius

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Bernd Neumann

Handelsregister: Amtsgericht Charlottenburg Nr. 96 HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46



# Press Release

Since 2004 movie-goers have also been asked to cast their ballots for their favourite short film in the *Panorama* section. This year they could choose from 23 short films. The *Panorama* Audience Award for Best Short Film goes to *Hayelet Bodeda (The Substitute)* by Talya Lavie.

Winner of the Panorama Audience Award for Best Short Film:

Hayelet Bodeda (The Substitute)

Israel 2005

Regie: Talya Lavie

Exact details on the voting results will be available as of February 20 at: <a href="https://www.PanoramaPublikumsPreis.de">www.PanoramaPublikumsPreis.de</a>

Press Office 18 February 2006