

## Press Release

# Bears Award Ceremony: Live on TV

The Berlinale's International Jury will announce the winners of the Golden and Silver Bears live on Saturday, 18 February 2006. The award gala will begin at 7 p.m. in the Berlinale Palast and is expected to end by 8:10 p.m. Actor Heino Ferch will host the event.

In this year's Competition, 19 films are competing for the following prizes:

The Golden Bear for Best Film (to the producers)

The Jury Grand Prix - Silver Bear

The Silver Bear for Best Director

The Silver Bear for Best Actress

The Silver Bear for Best Actor

The Silver Bear for An Outstanding Artistic Achievement

The Silver Bear for Best Film Music

In addition, the International Jury will award the Alfred Bauer Prize – which was established in memory of the Berlinale's founder – to a feature film that opens up new perspectives in the field of cinematic art.

During the ceremony, the First Feature Award will also be presented for the first time. Endowed with  $25,000 \in$ , a three-member jury will present the award to the best directorial debut screened in the Competition, Panorama or Kinderfilmfest /14plus.

The Closing Ceremony of the Berlin International Film Festival will be presented live on 3sat. Besides being broadcast on television, the event will be streamed live on the Internet (<a href="www.berlinale.de">www.berlinale.de</a>).

### NOTE TO THE PRESS:

Unlike in previous years, the winners will <u>not</u> be announced at a press conference prior to the ceremony.

Accredited journalists may watch a live transmission of the award ceremony at the CinemaxX 3. A press conference with the prize-winners will be held afterwards; it will begin at approximately 8:40 p.m.

Press Office 16 February 2006 56. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 09. – 19.02.2006

### Press Office

Potsdamer Straße 5 10785 Berlin

Tel. +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 707 Fax +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 799

press@berlinale.de www.berlinale.de

Ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH

### Management:

Dieter Kosslick (Intendant Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin), Dr. Thomas Köstlin (Kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer), Dr. Bernd Scherer, Dr. Joachim Sartorius

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Bernd Neumann

Handelsregister: Amtsgericht Charlottenburg Nr. 96 HRB 29357 USt ID DE 136 78 27 46