Berlinale: Panorama


Artistic vision versus commercial interests? The Panorama defines its mission as building bridges. Here, the target audience explicitly includes film buyers.

In the Panorama programme one finds new films by renowned directors, debut films and new discoveries. The selection of films provides insight on new directions in art house cinema. Traditionally, Auteur Films – movies with an individual signature – form the heart of the programme.

All films in Panorama celebrate their world or European premiere. At press conferences and audience discussions after the screenings, journalists and moviegoers get a chance to exchange views and discuss the films with directors, producers and actors.

The Panorama presents its films in three series with different profiles:

The public premieres in this series are held as evening screenings in the Zoo Palast and in Kino International.

In Panorama, the following awards are presented by independent juries:

  • Panorama Audience Award, in which more than 20,000 Berlinale visitors take part every year
  • Teddy Award, the most important queer film award in the world, which began in Panorama and can now go to films in all sections of the Berlinale.
  • Best First Feature Award, sponsored by GWFF
  • Prize of the FIPRESCI Jury
  • Label Europa Cinema
  • C.I.C.A.E. Prize
  • Amnesty International Film Prize
  • Prize of the Ecumenical Jury
  • Heiner Carow Prize, sponsored by the DEFA Foundation

Please find more information about awards at the Berlinale under Awards and Juries.

Manfred Salzgeber, Rose-Marie Couture, Wieland Speck
Manfred Salzgeber and Wieland Speck

The Panorama grew out of the “Info-Schau”, a programme that complimented the Berlinale Competition in the 1970s. In 1980, Manfred Salzgeber – one of the most important innovators in the Berlin art house cinema scene in the 1970s and co-initiator of the International Forum for New Cinema – was given the job of shaping the content. In 1982 Salzgeber added Wieland Speck to his team and developed a programme that addressed societal struggles and new aesthetic approaches and that never shied away from uncomfortable films. In 1986 the section was renamed Panorama.

Since 1992, the section has been headed by Wieland Speck, who continues in the spirit of his predecessor with regards to the section content. His goal is to take quality independent film out of its niche into the spotlight of the international market.

Sean Penn in Milk (Panorama 2009) by Gus Van Sant

Panorama has been dedicated to gay, lesbian and transgender film since the 1980s with films like Rob Epstein and Richard Schmiechen’s The Times of Harvey Milk, Greta Schiller’s Before Stonewall, Gus Van Sant’s Mala Noche and Pedro Almodóvar’s The Law of Desire.

From the very beginning, Panorama has given short film a great deal of attention and presented roughly 25 shorts in its programme every year. Short films are often aesthetically challenging and are a way to discover fresh talents early on in their career. At the Berlinale 2007, the passionate Panorama short film work was moved to the new Berlinale Shorts section, which was created in cooperation with the Berlinale Competition.


Programme Management
Paz Lázaro

phone +49 30 25920-400
fax +49 30 25920-409