Berlinale: Berlinale Trailer


The Berlinale Trailer

Berlinale Trailer 2016

Since 2002 the Berlin International Filmfestival has an official festival trailer. The 50-second computer animation is the opener for every film screening during the Berlinale programme of all sections.

In cooperation with director Uli M Schueppel, Berlinale partner ARRI created a completely new, digital edition of the Berlinale opener. The trailer can now be shown at a resolution of up to 4K and at a frame rate of up to 96 frames per second, as well as in stereo 3D. The accompanying melody by Xaver von Treyer and Johannes Königer has also now been remixed in 7.1 Surround Sound and the immersive Dolby Atmos sound format by Dolby and ROTOR Film Babelsberg.

Idea and director: Uli M Schueppel
Storyboard: Angelika Margull
Music: Johannes Koeniger
Xaver von Treyer
Animation: ARRI Media GmbH

Uli M Schueppel (www.schueppel-films.de) directed numerous internationally awarded fiction films (e.g. planet alex, Vaterland) and documentaries (e.g. The Road to God Knows Where, Frozen Stories, The Day). His films The Place, BerlinSong, and Off Ways (Elektrokohle) have been screened in the official programme of Berlinale (Forum / Panorama). Since the original version in 2002 Uli M Schueppel has varied the trailer in details annually.

As composers, producers, engineers and programmers Xaver von Treyer (vontreyer.com) and Johannes Koeniger (panambient.com) have been involved in countless projects. Their musical and audio-technical input is much sought after in music productions, commercials and scores for films: Heaven, Goodbye Lenin, Run Lola Run, and a wide range of commercial and music clips. Under the name of Raccoon Brothers and In Sate Of Flux they release their own records and are present in the club scene as DJs and performers.

ARRI produces the popular Berlinale trailer in all necessary versions and formats.The trailer conceived by director Uli M Schueppel is shown before all film screenings at the festival. The music composed by Xaver von Treyer and Johannes Koeniger remains the recognizable melody of the “Kosslick Berlinale”.

The Berlinale trailer which was created in 2002 is continuously adapted by ARRI to fulfill the latest technical standards and meet the rising screening demands. Since 2011 there is a 3D version of the trailer and in 2015 ARRI also created an entire digital new edition in 4K-resolution and „high-frame-rate“.

In 2015, the Berlinale theme melody was remixed by ROTOR Film Babelsberg in Dolby Atmos and 7.1 surround sound. Thus, the Berlinale Trailer is presented in the immersive sound format at the Berlinale Palast, the Zoo Palast and CineStar.

Berlinale: Berlinale Trailer


Der Berlinale-Trailer

Berlinale-Trailer 2016

Seit 2002 haben die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin einen offiziellen Festival-Trailer. Die 50-sekündige Computeranimation eröffnet sämtliche Filmvorführungen im Rahmen des offiziellen Berlinale-Programms.

Berlinale-Partner ARRI hat in Zusammenarbeit mit Regisseur Uli M Schueppel eine vollständige digitale Neuauflage des Berlinale-Openers erstellt. Der Trailer kann nun in einer Auflösung von bis zu 4K und einer Bildrate von bis zu 96 Bildern pro Sekunde und sogar in Stereo 3D gezeigt werden. Im selben Zuge wurde auch die Begleitmelodie des Trailers von Xaver von Treyer und Johannes Königer mit Unterstützung von Dolby und ROTOR Film Babelsberg in 7.1 Surround Sound und dem immersiven Sound-Format Dolby Atmos neu abgemischt.

Idee und Regie: Uli M Schueppel
Storyboard: Angelika Margull
Musik: Johannes Koeniger
Xaver von Treyer
Visuelle Umsetzung: ARRI Media GmbH

Uli M Schueppel (www.schueppel-films.de) ist Regisseur von zahlreichen international ausgezeichneten Spielfilmen (u.a. planet alex, Vaterland) und Dokumentarfilmen (u.a. The Road to God Knows Where, Jahre der Kälte, Der Tag). Seine Filme Der Platz, BerlinSong, und Von Wegen (Elektrokohle) liefen im offiziellen Programm der Berlinale (Forum / Panorama). Seit der ursprünglichen Fassung im Jahre 2002 wurde der Trailer von Uli M Schueppel alljährlich in Details variiert.

Xaver von Treyer (vontreyer.com) und Johannes Koeniger (panambient.com) wirken als Komponisten und Produzenten in zahlreichen Musikproduktionen. Solo und als Zwei-Mann-Projekt produzierten sie CDs, Platten, Werbespots, komponierten für preisgekrönte Kinofilme, darunter Goodbye Lenin!, War Child, Heaven, Sommersturm, Behind The Couch. In der Club-Szene machten sie sich einen Namen als Raccoon Brothers und In State Of Flux. Sie veröffentlichen ihre eigenen Tonträger und sind als DJs und Live-Performer präsent.

ARRI produziert den beliebten Berlinale-Trailer in allen wichtigen Versionen und Formaten. Der von Uli M Schueppel konzipierte Trailer wird vor allen Filmscreenings des Festivals gezeigt. Die von Xaver von Treyer und Johannes Koeniger komponierte Musik bleibt die unverkennbare Melodie der „Kosslick-Berlinale“.

Der Berlinale Trailer aus dem Jahre 2002 wird von ARRI kontinuierlich angepasst, um dem technischen Wandel und den gestiegenen Screening Anforderungen gerecht zu werden. Seit 2011 gibt es den Trailer als 3D-Version und in 2015 hat ARRI eine vollständige digitale Neuauflage in 4K-Auflösung und „high-frame-rate“ erstellt.

Die Erkennungsmelodie der Berlinale wurde von ROTOR Film Babelsberg zur 65. Berlinale erstmalig in Dolby Atmos und 7.1 Surround-Sound abgemischt. Im Berlinale Palast, im Zoo Palast und im CineStar wird der Trailer somit im beeindruckenden 3D Raumklang zu hören sein.