Berlinale: Retrospective


Retrospective 2017:
“Future Imperfect. Science · Fiction · Film”

The Retrospective of the 67th Berlin International Film Festival is dedicated to science fiction films, one of the most visual stunning and spectacular genres in the history of film. This year’s Retrospective will showcase imaginary worlds in an imperfect future, the way the science fiction genre has conceived of them since its beginnings, with a focus on two themes - the society of the future, and the strange and Other. A total of 27 international features, including classics, cult films, and largely unknown productions from places like Japan, as well as Central and Eastern Europe will make up the 2017 Retrospective.

The particular appeal of these films is that they provide us with a sensory experience of a distant future, although positive visions of that future tend to be the exception. The genre is dominated by depictions of dystopias that use pessimistic extrapolation to imbue contemporary issues with an explosive quality. The environmental dystopia portrayed in Soylent Green (dir: Richard Fleischer, USA 1973), for instance, is the result of over-population and environmental pollution. Using a muted colour palette, it depicts a world in which there is intense competition for water, food, and accommodations, and humans are recycled like trash. Central to the sci-fi genre are storylines dealing with totalitarian systems and omnipresent surveillance, such as in the first film version of George Orwell’s famous novel 1984 (dir: Michael Anderson, UK / USA 1956). Director George Lucas’ memorable vision of a technocratic future in THX 1138 (USA 1971) is a highly efficient and fully automated society, in which the emotions and free will of the individual are suppressed with medication. Another sub-genre are post-apocalyptic films where the Earth has become uninhabitable. In O-bi, o-ba: Koniec cywilizacji (O-bi, O-ba: The End of Civilization, dir: Piotr Szulkin, Poland 1985), the survivors of a nuclear holocaust have retreated to a life underground. When all civilized order has been annihilated, violence and chaos rule; but new forms of community also emerge.

Another ubiquitous theme in science fiction films is the alien or unknown Other. The genre is replete with scenarios that have humans coming into contact with extraterrestrial life forms, and ideas about what the aliens might look like and how they live. The Danish silent film Himmelskibet (A Trip to Mars) by Holger-Madsen premiered in 1918, making it one of the earliest science fiction films ever shot. It conjures up a very peaceful vision of a Mars expedition and the encounter with the life forms who live there. Other friendly-seeming alien races include the starfish-shaped extraterrestrials in Kōji Shima’s Uchūjin Tōkyō ni Arawaru (Warning from Space, Japan 1956) and the childlike creatures in Steven Spielberg’s Close Encounters of the Third Kind (USA 1977). The genre classic The War of the Worlds (dir: Byron Haskin, USA 1953), by contrast, is a perfect example of the threatening alien invasion from space storyline. But the Other can also surface within human society or even within the individual. Artificial intelligence, androids, and robots raise the issue of the difference between men and machines. That is explored in a gloomy, merciless manner in Marek Piestrak’s Test Pilota Pirxa (Pilot Pirx’s Inquest, Poland / USSR 1979).

The exhibition “Things to Come. Science · Fiction · Film” has been on view at the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen since June 2016 and will run parallel to the Retrospective. It also explores the intertwining of science and fiction and will remain open until April 23, 2017 at Filmhaus on Potsdamer Platz.

The publication accompanying the Retrospective will be released only in English for the first time. The richly-illustrated volume published by the Bertz + Fischer house will feature essays by renowned international authors, who delve into science fiction film within the context of their national cinema.

For the second time this year, the film Retrospective will be rounded out with a special presentation in the television mediathek of the Deutsche Kinemathek, showcasing the intensity, with which German television has been exploring the subject of the future for decades.
The Deutsche Kinemathek will also host numerous events to complement the Retrospective.

The Museum of Modern Art, New York, has been a Retrospective partner since 2011. In the summer of 2017, MoMA will present a related and extended exhibition of science fiction films, organised by Joshua Siegel, MoMA Curator of Film.

Since 1977, the Berlin International Film Festival has organised film history Retrospectives in cooperation with the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen. The Retrospective is always dedicated to an important director or a film history theme. The Retrospective brings German and international films back to the big screen, often with a restored version or new copy. Contemporary film is positioned within a historical context.

Berlinale Classics

Beginning in 2013, the Retrospective expanded to include presentations of Berlinale Classics. By integrating current restorations of film classics as well as rediscovered films in brilliant image and sound a forum is created to premiere the growing number of high-quality restorations and reconstructions that make use of new digital-processing technologies.

As a rule, films screened in Berlinale Classics are introduced by a prominent festival guest. Berlinale Classics carries on the Retrospective torch by presenting new restorations independently of the Retrospective’s current theme, and is supported through co-operations with international partners.

The Retrospective has been managed by the Deutsche Kinemathek since 1977 that has organised the following Retrospectives:

  • Germany 1966 – Redefining Cinema (2016)
  • Glorious Technicolor. From George Eastman House and Beyond (2015)
  • Aesthetics of Shadow. Lighting Styles 1915–1950 (2014)
  • The Weimar Touch. The International Influence of Weimar Cinema after 1933 (2013)
  • The Red Dream Factory. Mezhrabpom-Film and Prometheus 1921–1936 (2012)
  • Ingmar Bergman. Film as life and life as film (2011)
  • PLAY IT AGAIN…! 60 Years Berlinale (2010)
  • 70 mm - Bigger than Life (2009)
  • Luis Buñuel (2008)
  • City Girls. Images of Women in Silent Film (2007)
  • Dream Girls. Film Stars in the 1950s (2006)
  • Production Design + Film. Locations, Settings, Spaces (2005)
  • New Hollywood 1967-1976. Trouble in Wonderland (2004)
  • F. W. Murnau (2003)
  • European 60’s (2002)
  • Fritz Lang (2001)
  • Artificial People (2000)
  • Otto Preminger (1999)
  • Siodmak Bros. Berlin – London – Paris – Hollywood (1998)
  • G. W. Pabst (1997)
  • William Wyler (1996)
  • Happy Birthday, Cinema! (1995)
    Buster Keaton 100
    Slapstick & Co.
  • Erich von Stroheim (1994)
  • CinemaScope (1993)
  • Babelsberg. A film studio (1992)
  • Cold War (1991)
  • The Year 1945 (1990)
    40 Years Berlinale
  • Europe 1939 (1989)
    Erich Pommer
  • Colour. The History of Colour Film (1988)
  • Rouben Mamoulian (1987)
  • Henny Porten (1986)
  • Special Effects (1985)
  • Ernst Lubitsch 1914-1933 (1984)
  • Exile. Six Actors from Germany (1983)
  • Insurrection of Emotions: Curtis Bernhardt (1982)
    East German Children’s Films
  • The Producer: The Films of Michael Balcon (1981)
  • Billy Wilder (1980)
    3D Films
  • Rudolph Valentino (1979)
    We Danced Around the World. Revue Films
  • Marlene Dietrich, Part 2 (1978)
    Censorship – Banned German Films 1933-1945
  • Marlene Dietrich, Part 1 (1977)
    Love, Death and Technology. Cinema of the Fantastical 1933-1945

1976

  • Eleanor Powell
  • Conrad Veidt, Part 2
  • Great German Films 1929-1932
  • German Short Films of the 1930s, Part 2

1975

  • Greta Garbo
  • Conrad Veidt, Part 1
  • German Short Films of the 1930s, Part 1

1974

  • Lilian Harvey
  • Jacques Feyder
  • Norman McLaren

1973

  • Wilhelm/William Dieterle
  • American Musicals
  • Animations by Dave Fleischer

1972

  • Douglas Fairbanks
  • Ludwig Berger
  • American Animations 1940-1955

1971

  • Busby Berkeley
  • Eddie Cantor

1970

  • Winners of the “Golden Bears” and other Berlinale films
  • Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire

1969

  • Abel Gance
  • Musicals 1929-1950
  • Oskar Fischinger

1968

  • Ernst Lubitsch, Part 2
  • W. C. Fields

1967

  • Ernst Lubitsch, Part 1
  • Harry Langdon

1966

  • Cinema Novo
  • Max Ophüls
  • Mack Sennett

1965

  • Masterpieces of German Film1895-1932

1964

  • Louis Lumière
  • Pola Negri
  • Paul Leni

1963

  • Elisabeth Bergner
  • E. A. Dupont
  • Karl Grune
  • Yasujiro Ozu

1962

  • Asta Nielsen
  • G. W. Pabst
  • Ingmar Bergman

1961

  • Richard Oswald
  • Billy Wilder
  • Akira Kurosawa

1960

  • 10 Years Golden Berlin Bear
  • Musicals from 1930-1945
  • Musicals from 1930-1945 (Experimental film special programme)

1959

  • International Masterpieces from the Early Years of Talkies

1958

  • Masterpieces of International Film from 1915 to 1945

1957

  • German Artists in Foreign Film

1956

  • The Humour of Nations

1955

  • 60 Years Film

1954

  • Showcase of Famous Films

1951-1953

  • Silent Movies

Contact

Retrospective & Homage
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin
phone +49 30 300 903-26
fax +49 30 300 903-13

Berlinale: Retrospektive


Retrospektive 2017:
„Future Imperfect. Science · Fiction · Film“

Die Retrospektive der 67. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin widmet sich dem Science-Fiction-Film und damit einem der bildgewaltigsten und spektakulärsten Genres der Filmgeschichte. Sie zeigt imaginierte Welten einer unvollendeten Zukunft, wie sie der Science-Fiction-Film seit seinen Anfängen inszeniert. Im Zentrum der Schau stehen zwei Themen: die Gesellschaft der Zukunft und das Fremde. Insgesamt umfasst die Retrospektive 27 internationale Spielfilme, darunter Klassiker, Kultfilme und weitgehend unbekannte Produktionen etwa aus Japan sowie Mittel- und Osteuropa.

Der Reiz dieser Filme liegt insbesondere darin, dass sie eine ferne Zukunft sinnlich erfahrbar machen. Positive Zukunftswelten sind hierbei allerdings die Ausnahme. Dominiert wird das Genre von Dystopien, die zeitgenössischen Fragen in der pessimistischen Zuspitzung eine besondere Brisanz verleihen. Die Öko-Dystopie Soylent Green (... Jahr 2022 ... die überleben wollen, Regie: Richard Fleischer, USA 1973) zum Beispiel handelt von Überbevölkerung und Umweltverschmutzung. In reduzierten Farben entwirft sie eine Welt, in der Wasser, Nahrung und Wohnraum hart umkämpft sind und die Bevölkerung wie Abfall recycelt wird. Zentral für das Genre ist die Auseinandersetzung mit totalitären Systemen und allgegenwärtiger Überwachung wie in 1984 (Regie: Michael Anderson, Großbritannien / USA 1956), der ersten Kinoverfilmung von George Orwells bekanntem Roman. Einprägsam zeichnet George Lucas in THX 1138 (USA 1971) eine technokratische Zukunftsvision von einer hocheffizienten und vollautomatisierten Gesellschaft, in der Gefühle und der freie Wille des Einzelnen durch Medikamente unterdrückt werden. In postapokalyptischen Filmen ist die Erde unbewohnbar. So haben sich in O bi, o ba: Koniec cywilizacji (O bi, o ba: Das Ende der Zivilisation, Regie: Piotr Szulkin, Polen 1985) die Überlebenden einer atomaren Katastrophe unter die Erdoberfläche zurückgezogen. Wo jegliche zivilisatorische Ordnung ausgelöscht ist, herrschen Gewalt und Chaos, es bilden sich aber auch neue Formen von Gemeinschaft heraus.

Allgegenwärtig ist in Science-Fiction-Filmen das Sujet des Fremden oder unbekannten Anderen. Immer wieder entwickeln sie Szenarien, in denen Menschen mit extraterrestrischen Lebensformen in Kontakt treten und wie Außerirdische aussehen und leben. Der dänische Stummfilm Himmelskibet (Das Himmelsschiff) von Holger-Madsen, der 1918 uraufgeführt wurde und damit zu den frühesten Science-Fiction-Filmen überhaupt gehört, beschwört noch die friedliche Vision von einer Mars-Erkundung und der Begegnung mit den dort lebenden Wesen. Freundlich wirken auch die seesternförmigen Außerirdischen in Kōji Shimas Uchūjin Tōkyō ni Arawaru (Die Außerirdischen erscheinen in Tokio, Japan 1956) oder Steven Spielbergs kindliche Wesen in Close Encounters of the Third Kind (Unheimliche Begegnung der dritten Art, USA 1977). Der Genreklassiker The War of the Worlds (Kampf der Welten, Regie: Byron Haskin, USA 1953) hingegen steht exemplarisch für bedrohliche Alien-Invasionen aus dem All. Das Andere kann jedoch auch innerhalb der menschlichen Gesellschaft oder gar im Individuum selbst zutage treten. Künstliche Intelligenz, Androiden und Roboter werfen die Frage nach dem Unterschied zwischen Mensch und Maschine auf. Sie stellt sich auf düstere und erbarmungslose Weise auch in Marek Piestraks Test Pilota Pirxa (Der Test des Piloten Pirx, Polen / UdSSR 1979).

Parallel zur Retrospektive zeigt die Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen seit Juni 2016 die Ausstellung „Things to Come. Science · Fiction · Film“. Sie ist bis zum 23. April 2017 im Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz zu sehen und widmet sich als einem weiteren Schwerpunkt auch der Verflechtung von Science und Fiction, von Wissenschaft und Fiktion.

Die Begleitpublikation zur Retrospektive erscheint erstmals ausschließlich in englischer Sprache. Der reich illustrierte Band im Bertz + Fischer Verlag präsentiert Essays von renommierten internationalen Autoren, die den Science-Fiction-Film im Kontext von nationalen Kinematografien ergründen.

Bereits zum zweiten Mal ergänzt die Mediathek Fernsehen der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen die Retrospektive: In einer Sonderschau zeigt sie, wie intensiv sich das deutsche Fernsehen seit Jahrzehnten mit dem Thema Zukunft auseinandersetzt.
Zur Retrospektive wird es zahlreiche Veranstaltungen in der Deutschen Kinemathek geben.

The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York, ist seit 2011 Partner der Retrospektive. Im Sommer 2017 wird es seine erweiterte Schau von Science-Fiction-Filmen, organisiert vom MoMA Curator of Film Joshua Siegel, präsentieren.

Die Retrospektive ist einem bedeutenden Regisseur oder einem filmhistorischen Thema gewidmet. Die Retrospektive bringt Filme aus aller Welt zurück auf die große Leinwand – oft in restaurierter Fassung oder mit neuer Kopie. Das zeitgenössische Kino wird in einen historischen Zusammenhang gestellt. Mitwirkende und Kuratoren präsentieren die Filme im Kino und machen Filmgeschichte erfahrbar. Seit 1977 ist die Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen der Partner der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin für filmhistorische Programme.

Berlinale Classics

2013 wurde die Retrospektive um die Präsentationen der Berlinale Classics erweitert. Sie zeigen aktuelle Restaurierungen von Filmklassikern sowie wiederentdeckte Filme, brillant in Bild und Ton. Damit wird für die wachsende Anzahl hochwertiger Restaurierungen und Rekonstruktionen, die die neuen Möglichkeiten der digitalen Bearbeitung nutzen, ein Forum für Erstaufführungen geschaffen.

Die Filme der Berlinale Classics werden in der Regel von einem prominenten Gast des Festivals vorgestellt. Berlinale Classics setzt die Tradition der Retrospektive fort, neue Restaurierungen auch unabhängig vom jeweils aktuellen Retrospektive-Thema zu präsentieren, und ist gestützt auf die Kooperation mit internationalen Partnern.

Seit 1977 wird die Retrospektive von der Deutschen Kinemathek betreut, die seitdem folgende Retrospektiven veranstaltete:

  • Deutschland 1966 – Filmische Perspektiven in Ost und West (2016)
  • Glorious Technicolor. Filme aus dem George Eastman House und weiteren Archiven (2015)
  • Aesthetics of Shadow. Lighting Styles 1915–1950 (2014)
  • The Weimar Touch. The International Influence of Weimar Cinema after 1933 (2013)
  • Die rote Traumfabrik. Meschrabpom-Film und Prometheus (1921–1936) (2012)
  • Ingmar Bergman. Filme als Leben und Leben als Film (2011)
  • PLAY IT AGAIN…! 60 Jahre Berlinale (2010)
  • 70 mm – Bigger than Life (2009)
  • Luis Buñuel (2008)
  • City Girls. Frauenbilder im Stummfilm (2007)
  • Traumfrauen. Stars im Film der fünfziger Jahre (2006)
  • Production Design + Film. Schauplätze, Drehorte, Spielräume (2005)
  • New Hollywood 1967-1976. Trouble in Wonderland (2004)
  • F. W. Murnau (2003)
  • European 60’s (2002)
  • Fritz Lang (2001)
  • Künstliche Menschen (2000)
  • Otto Preminger (1999)
  • Siodmak Bros. Berlin – London – Paris – Hollywood (1998)
  • G. W. Pabst (1997)
  • William Wyler (1996)
  • Happy Birthday, Cinema! (1995)
    Buster Keaton 100
    Slapstick & Co.
    Projecto Lumiere – A Tribute to Pordenone
  • Erich von Stroheim (1994)
  • CinemaScope (1993)
  • Babelsberg. Ein Filmstudio (1992)
  • Kalter Krieg (1991)
  • Das Jahr 1945 (1990)
    40 Jahre Berlinale
  • Europa 1939 (1989)
    Erich Pommer
  • Color. Die Geschichte des Farbfilms (1988)
  • Rouben Mamoulian (1987)
  • Henny Porten (1986)
  • Special Effects (1985)
  • Ernst Lubitsch 1914-1933 (1984)
  • Exil. Sechs Schauspieler aus Deutschland (1983)
  • Aufruhr der Gefühle: Curtis Bernhardt (1982)
    Kinderfilme aus der DDR
  • Der Produzent: Die Filme von Michael Balcon (1981)
  • Billy Wilder (1980)
    3-D-Filme)
  • Rudolph Valentino (1979)
    Wir tanzen um die Welt. Revuefilme
  • Marlene Dietrich, 2. Teil (1978)
    Zensur - Verbotene deutsche Filme 1933-1945
  • Marlene Dietrich, 1. Teil (1977)
    Liebe, Tod und Technik. Kino des Phantastischen 1933-1945

1976

  • Eleanor Powell
  • Conrad Veidt, 2. Teil
  • Deutsche Spitzenfilme 1929-1932
  • Deutsche Kurzspielfilme der dreißiger Jahre, 2. Teil

1975

  • Greta Garbo
  • Conrad Veidt, 1. Teil
  • Deutsche Kurzspielfilme der dreißiger Jahre, 1. Teil

1974

  • Lilian Harvey
  • Jacques Feyder
  • Norman McLaren

1973

  • Wilhelm/William Dieterle
  • Amerikanische Musicals
  • Trickfilme von Dave Fleischer

1972

  • Douglas Fairbanks
  • Ludwig Berger
  • Amerikanische Zeichentrickfilme 1940-1955

1971

  • Busby Berkeley
  • Eddie Cantor

1970

  • Gewinner des „Goldenen Bären“ und andere Berlinale-Filme
  • Ginger Rogers und Fred Astaire

1969

  • Abel Gance
  • Musicals 1929-1950
  • Oskar Fischinger

1968

  • Ernst Lubitsch, 2. Teil
  • W. C. Fields

1967

  • Ernst Lubitsch, 1. Teil
  • Harry Langdon

1966

  • Cinema Novo
  • Max Ophüls
  • Mack Sennett

1965

  • Meisterwerke deutscher Filmkunst 1895-1932

1964

  • Louis Lumière
  • Pola Negri
  • Paul Leni

1963

  • Elisabeth Bergner
  • E. A. Dupont
  • Karl Grune
  • Yasujiro Ozu

1962

  • Asta Nielsen
  • G. W. Pabst
  • Ingmar Bergman

1961

  • Richard Oswald
  • Billy Wilder
  • Akira Kurosawa

1960

  • 10 Jahre Goldener Berliner Bär
  • Musikfilme der Jahre 1930-1945
  • Musikfilme der Jahre 1930-1945 (Experimentalfilm-Sonderprogramme)

1959

  • Internationale Meisterwerke der ersten Tonfilmjahre

1958

  • Meisterwerke des internationalen Films von 1915 bis 1945

1957

  • Deutsche Künstler im ausländischen Film

1956

  • Humor der Nationen

1955

  • 60 Jahre Film

1954

  • Schau berühmter Filme

1951-1953

  • Stummfilme

Kontakt

Retrospektive & Hommage
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 300 903-26
Fax +49 30 300 903-13