Berlinale: Prizes Independent Juries


Prizes of the Independent Juries

A jury is considered independent when its members are not selected by the Berlinale. A number of independent juries award prizes at the Berlinale. The high level of quality and diversity of the films are an invitation for critical examination and discerning judgment that opens up new directions. Accordingly the independent juries award their prizes along different criteria, in accordance to the special intention linked to each award.

Since 1992, the international film organisations of the Protestant and Catholic Churches - INTERFILM and SIGNIS - have been represented by the Ecumenical Jury. It consists of six members and awards its main prize to a film entered in the Competition. It also awards two other prizes, both worth 2,500 Euros, one to a film from the Panorama and one to a film in the Forum.

The prizes go to directors who have succeeded in portraying actions or human experiences that are in keeping with the Gospels, or in sensitising viewers to spiritual, human or social values.

The juries of the "Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique" (FIPRESCI), the international film critics association, view films from the Competition programme and the Panorama and Forum sections. They award a prize for the best film in each of these sections.

The jury of the "Gilde deutscher Filmkunsttheater“ (Guild of German Art House Cinemas) is composed of three members who run cinemas and are members of the Guild. The jury awards its prize to a film screened in the Competition.

The "Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d’Art et d’Essai" (C.I.C.A.E.), the International Confederation of Art House Cinemas, forms one jury for the Panorama and one for the Forum. Each jury awards one prize in its section.

Launched for the first time in 2003 within the Cannes Film Festival, the "Europa Cinemas Label" has been created in order to help European films increase their distribution and raise their profile with audiences and media. The Label is since then awarded by a jury of five member exhibitors to a European film selected in the Directors' Fortnight section in Cannes and since 2004 in the Venice Days. Since 2005, Europa Cinemas has been cooperating with the Berlinale to award the Label in the Panorama section.

The TEDDY AWARD – the most outstanding queer film prize in the world – is a socially engaged, political honour presented to films and people who communicate queer themes on a broad social platform, thereby contributing to tolerance, acceptance, solidarity and equality in society.

During the Berlinale the award is presented in the following categories: Best Feature, Best Documentary/Essay Film and Best Short Film as well as the Special TEDDY AWARD which goes to extraordinary personalities. Every year films from all sections of the Berlin International Film Festival compete for the TEDDY AWARDS.

In 2012, the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section’s eleventh year, the Berlinale launched the “Made in Germany - Perspektive Fellowship”, funded by Glashütte Original. The 15,000-euro fellowship is conceived to support emerging German directors in developing a film project, material and screenplay, and will be awarded to a talented new filmmaker from Perspektive Deutsches Kino. All of the directors who presented films in the Perspektive programme of the previous year can apply.

Since 2004, the prize "FGYO-Award Dialogue en perspective", has been awarded to a film entry in the section Perspektive Deutsches Kino. The French-German Youth Office (FGYO) is already for the tenth time the sponsor of the “FGYO-Award Dialogue en perspective”, endowed with 5,000 €. The prize is the result of an intercultural dialogue on film between young people from three different countries: France, Germany and an annually changing third country.

The prize is awarded to the film that equally impresses the young and critical jury members from the three nations. The prize jury is composed of seven members and is headed by a president. The jury members are selected by the prize donators by means of a public call for application. The president of the jury is a professional whose work enriches the cinematographic dialogue between France and Germany.This jury is the only one at the Berlin International Film Festival which is constituted after an open call for tender. Further information on conditions of participation is available here (in German and French only!).

A three-person jury awards the Caligari Film Prize to a film in the Forum. The prize is sponsored by the "German Federal Association of Communal Film Work" and “filmdienst” magazine. The winning film is honoured with 4,000 Euros, half of which is given to the director, the other half is meant to fund distribution.

The Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) is an alliance of festival organisers and film critics whose aim is to support Asian film. The jury awards a prize to an Asian film screened in the Forum.

The jury comprises nine members who view films from all sections. The Peace Film Prize is awarded in the form of a bronze sculpture by Otmar Alt and includes prize money of 5,000 euros. It is awarded under the patronage of the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War and supported by the Zehlendorf Peace Intiative, the Heinrich Böll Foundation, the International Auschwitz Committee and the IPPNW.

The German branch of Amnesty International has awarded the Amnesty International Film Prize for the first time at the Berlinale 2005. The prize is worth 5,000 Euros. The jury will view films entered into the Competition, Panorama, Forum and Generation sections, paying special attention to documentaries. The aim of the prize is to draw the attention of audiences and representatives of the film industry to the theme of human rights and encourage filmmakers to tackle this topic.

CINEMA fairbindet is a developmental special prize, that has been awarded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development at the Berlinale film festival since 2011. Every year this award recognizes an outstanding feature or documentary film, which inspires by the cinematic creativity. The award-winning film focuses on global development and human rights issues contributing to intercultural dialogue and encouraging audiences to discover new perspectives. The winning film will then go on a roadshow through Germany and be shown to a wide audience.

A three-person jury awards the Heiner Carow Prize for the promotion of German cinematic arts to a documentary, feature or essay film in the Panorama section. The award is sponsored by the DEFA Foundation and is worth 5,000 euros. The prize honours films that address the social and political issues of today and in history with extraordinary aesthetic means.

In cooperation with the Allianz Cultural Foundation, Forum Expanded will bestow the Think:Film Award. The three-person jury will select a film or artistic work from the Forum Expanded programme that creatively uses its own medium to artistically capture and reflect geopolitical contexts, and in doing so, expands the scope of aesthetic experience and stimulates a change of perspective.

The award includes trips to Berlin and Cairo with a public presentation of the selected work, as well as a travel budget of 1,000 Euro. The Arsenal Institute for Film and Video Art, and its partner institution, the Cimatheque - Alternative Film Center in Cairo will host the presentations.

Readers' Juries and Audience Awards

All Berlinale visitors can vote for the Panorama Audience Award by filling in a vote sheet. The prize was started in 1999 and is made possible by a joint initiative between the Berlin city magazine tip, the radio channel radioeins and the Panorama section itself.

The jury is made up of twelve readers of the daily newspaper "Berliner Morgenpost". The prize is awarded to a feature film in the Competition section.

Since the Berlinale 2007, the Berlin-based national daily newspaper "Tagesspiegel" has awarded a Readers' Prize. The jury consists of nine members and the prize is given to the best film in the Forum.

The jury, which is made up of seven readers of the Berlin gay and lesbian magazine "Siegessäule", takes into account all films with gay or lesbian content, regardless of which section they are in. The prize is awarded to a feature-length film and is endowed with 1,000 Euro.

Prizes Berlinale Co-Production Market & Berlinale Talents

Since 2011, ARTE has presented the ARTE International Prize, which is worth €6,000 and goes goes to one of the projects selected for the Berlinale Co-Production Market.

The Talent Project Market offers about ten producers and directors taking part in Berlinale Talents the opportunity to present their project to potential coproducers and backers at the Berlinale Co-Prouduction Market. Since 2004, the 10,000 euro VFF Talent Highlight Pitch Award has been donated by the VFF copyright agency for film and TV producers during the Talent Project Market. An international jury presents the award to the most promising project in terms of its realisability and potential as a film production.

The Sound Studio is a hands-on training programme for all sound designers and score composers participating in Berlinale Talents. The programme features workshops, case studies and presentations, which focus on the use of sound in the filmmaking process and its importance for the narrative structure of a story. Participants in the 2014 Sound Studio had the opportunity to do sound design for a Dolby® Atmos policy trailer which will be used in Dolby® Atmos cinemas worldwide. The winner will travel to Dolby® in Wootton Basset, England, to complete the final mixing using Dolby® Atmos.

Berlinale: Preise Unabhängige Jurys


Preise von unabhängigen Jurys

Als unabhängig gelten Jurys, die ihre Preise im Namen externer, vom Festival unabhängiger Organisationen und Institutionen vergeben. Das hohe Qualitätsniveau und die Vielfalt im Festival-Programm laden dazu ein, sich kritisch mit dem Medium auseinanderzusetzen und mit einem eigenen Werturteil Akzente zu setzen. Dementsprechend vergeben die unabhängigen Jurys ihre Preise nach unterschiedlichen Kriterien, je nach dem speziellen Anliegen, das sich mit der Auszeichnung verbindet.

Seit 1992 sind die internationalen Filmorganisationen der evangelischen und der katholischen Kirchen - Interfilm und Signis - durch eine aus sechs Mitgliedern bestehende gemeinsame ökumenische Jury vertreten. Die Jury vergibt ihren Hauptpreis für einen Film aus dem Wettbewerb, sowie je einen mit 2.500 Euro dotierten Preis für einen Film aus der Sektion Panorama und aus dem Programm des Forums.

Die Jury ehrt mit den Preisen Filmschaffende, die in ihren Filmen ein menschliches Verhalten oder Zeugnis zum Ausdruck bringen, das mit dem Evangelium in Einklang steht, oder die es in ihren Filmen schaffen, die Zuschauer für spirituelle, menschliche und soziale Werte zu sensibilisieren.

Die Jurys der „Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique“ (FIPRESCI), des internationalen Verbands der Filmkritik, sichten Filme aus dem Programm des Wettbewerbs und in den Sektionen Panorama und Forum. Pro Sektion wird ein Preis für den besten Film vergeben.

Die Jury der „Gilde deutscher Filmkunsttheater“ setzt sich aus drei Juroren zusammen, die Kinobetreiber und Mitglieder der Gilde sind. Sie vergibt ihren Preis an einen Film des Wettbewerbs.

Für die „Confédération Internationale des Cinémas D´Art et Essai" (C.I.C.A.E.), den Internationalen Verband der Filmkunsttheater, sind zwei Jurys auf der Berlinale tätig: eine vergibt einen Preis an einen Film des Panoramas, eine kürt einen Film des Forums.

Das „Label Europa Cinemas“ wurde auf dem Filmfestival in Cannes 2003 erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Ziel der Initiative ist die Förderung europäischer Filme, ihres Verleihs und ihrer Wahrnehmung beim Publikum und in den Medien. Es wird jeweils ein europäischer Film der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes und seit 2004 auch der Venice Days in Venedig mit dem Label durch eine Jury von fünf Mitglieds-Kinobetreibern ausgezeichnet. 2005 wurde diese Auszeichnung zum ersten Mal auf der Berlinale vergeben, und zwar an einen europäischen Film des Panoramas.

Der Teddy Award, der bedeutendste queere Filmpreis der Welt, ist eine gesellschaftlich engagierte politische Auszeichnung, die Filmen und Personen zugute kommt, die queere Themen auf einer breiten gesellschaftlichen Ebene kommunizieren und somit einen Beitrag für mehr Toleranz, Akzeptanz, Solidarität und Gleichstellung in der Gesellschaft leisten.

Der Preis wird im Rahmen der Berlinale in den Kategorien Bester Spielfilm, Bester Dokumentar-/Essayfilm und Bester Kurzfilm sowie als Special Jury Award vergeben. Filme aus allen Sektionen der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin konkurrieren jedes Jahr um die Teddy Awards.

Im elften Jahr der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino rief die Berlinale 2012 den von Glashütte Original gestifteten „Made in Germany - Förderpreis Perspektive“ ins Leben. Das mit 15.000 € dotierte Stipendium zur Unterstützung von jungen deutschen Regisseuren/-innen bei der Projekt-, Stoff- und Drehbuchentwicklung geht an ein Regietalent der Perspektive Deutsches Kino. Teilnahmeberechtigt sind alle Regisseure/-innen, die bei der vergangenen Berlinale einen Film im Programm der Perspektive hatten.
Siehe auch Made in Germany – Förderpreis Perspektive

Seit 2004 wird der Preis „DFJW-Preis Dialogue en perspective“ in der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino verliehen. Bereits zum zehnten Mal ist das Deutsch-Französische Jugendwerk (DFJW) der Stifter des „DFJW-Preis Dialogue en perspective“, dotiert mit 5.000 €. Der Preis ist das Ergebnis eines interkulturellen filmischen Diskurses junger Menschen aus drei Ländern: Frankreich, Deutschland und ein jährlich wechselndes Gastland.

Der Preis wird an einen Film verliehen, der es vermag, kritische Jugendliche der drei Nationen gleichermaßen zu beeindrucken. Die Jury besteht aus sieben Mitgliedern und einem Jurypräsidenten/ einer Jurypräsidentin. Die Jurymitglieder werden mittels einer öffentlichen Ausschreibung vom Preisstifter ausgewählt. Die Jurypräsidentin oder der -präsident sind Persönlichkeiten, die sich für einen filmischen Dialog zwischen Deutschland und Frankreich engagieren. Diese Jury ist die einzige auf der Berlinale, deren Zusammensetzung öffentlich ausgeschrieben wird.
Siehe auch DFJW-Preis Dialogue en perspective

Die aus drei Mitgliedern bestehende Jury vergibt den Caligari-Filmpreis an einen Film des Forums. Der Preis wird vom „Bundesverband kommunale Filmarbeit“ und der Zeitschrift „film-dienst“ gestiftet. Er ist mit 4.000 Euro dotiert, wobei die eine Hälfte an den Regisseur des Films geht, die andere den Verleih fördert.

Die Jury besteht aus neun Mitgliedern, die Filme aus allen Sektionen sichten. Der Preis wird in Form einer Bronzeplastik von Otmar Alt verliehen und ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert. Der Friedensfilmpreis steht unter Schirmherrschaft der Internationalen Ärzte für die Verhütung des Atomkriegs / IPPNW. Er wird getragen von der Friedensinitiative Zehlendorf, der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, dem Internationalen Auschwitz Komitee und der IPPNW.

Die deutsche Sektion von Amnesty International verlieh auf der Berlinale 2005 erstmalig den Amnesty International Filmpreis. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert. Die Jury sichtet Filme der Sektionen Wettbewerb, Panorama, Forum und Generation und richtet dabei ein besonderes Augenmerk auf Dokumentationen. Ziel des Preises ist es, die Aufmerksamkeit von Fachbesuchern und breitem Publikum auf das Thema Menschenrechte zu lenken und Filmemacher dazu zu ermutigen, sich dieses Themas verstärkt anzunehmen.

Eine aus drei Mitgliedern bestehende Jury vergibt den Heiner-Carow-Preis zur Förderung der deutschen Filmkunst an einen Dokumentar-, Spiel- oder Essayfilm der Sektion Panorama. Der Preis wird von der DEFA-Stiftung ausgelobt und ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert. Ausgezeichnet werden Filme, die sich sozialen und politischen Fragen der Gegenwart und Geschichte mit außergewöhnlichen ästhetischen Mitteln annehmen.

Forum Expanded vergibt in Kooperation mit der Allianz Kulturstiftung den Think:Film Award. Die aus drei Mitgliedern bestehende Jury zeichnet damit einen Film bzw. eine künstlerische Arbeit aus dem Programm des Forum Expanded aus, die das eigene Medium kreativ nutzt, um geopolitische Kontexte künstlerisch zu erfassen und zu reflektieren, dabei den Raum der ästhetischen Erfahrung erweitert, sowie gedankliche Perspektivwechsel anregt.

Der Preis beinhaltet einen Besuch in Berlin und Kairo mit einer öffentlichen Präsentation der ausgezeichneten Arbeit sowie ein Reisebudget von 1.000 Euro. Gastgeber sind das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst in Berlin und seine Partnerinstitution, die Cimatheque – Alternative Film Center in Kairo.

Leser- und Publikumspreise

Für den Panorama Publikums-Preis können alle Besucher der Berlinale mittels Stimmzetteln votieren. Der Preis wird seit 1999 verliehen und verdankt sich einer gemeinsamen Initiative des Berliner Stadtmagazins tip, des Radiosenders radioeins und des Panoramas.

Die Jury besteht aus zwölf Lesern der Tageszeitung „Berliner Morgenpost“. Es wird ein Spielfilm des Wettbewerbs prämiert.

Seit der Berlinale 2007 beruft auch der „Tagesspiegel“ eine Leserjury. Sie besteht aus neun Mitgliedern, die in einem Ausschreibungsverfahren ermittelt werden. Der Leserpreis des Tagesspiegel geht an den besten Film des Forums.

Die Jury, die sich aus sieben Lesern der „Siegessäule“, einem schwul-lesbischen Berliner Stadtmagazin, zusammensetzt, sichtet Filme aller Sektionen, die in einem schwul-lesbischen Kontext stehen. Der Leserpreis wird an einen Langfilm verliehen und ist mit 1.000 Euro dotiert.

Preise Berlinale Co-Production Market & Berlinale Talents

ARTE vergibt seit 2011 den mit 6.000 Euro dotierten ARTE International Prize an eins der für den Berlinale Co-Production Market ausgewählten Projekte.

Der Talent Project Market bietet ca. zehn an Berlinale Talents teilnehmenden Produzenten und Regisseuren die Möglichkeit, ihr Projekt potentiellen Koproduzenten und Finanziers im Berlinale Co-Production Market vorzustellen. Seit 2004 wird der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte VFF Talent Highlight Pitch Award im Rahmen des Talent Project Market von der VFF - Verwertungsgesellschaft für Film- und Fernsehproduzenten gestiftet. Eine internationale Jury vergibt den Preis an das erfolgversprechendste Projekt mit den größten Aussichten auf Produktionsrealisierbarkeit und Herstellung als Filmwerk.

Das Sound Studio ist ein Hands-on Programm für alle an Berlinale Talents teilnehmenden Sound Designer und Filmkomponisten. Es beschäftigt sich in Workshops, Case Studies und Präsentationen praktisch und theoretisch mit den Möglichkeiten der Tongestaltung im Film und reflektiert die Wichtigkeit und inhaltliche Präsenz der Tonebene im Bereich Sound Design und Score. Die Teilnehmer des Sound Studios bekamen 2014 die Chance, das Sounddesign für einen Policy Trailer für Dolby® Atmos zu kreieren, der international in Dolby®-Atmos-Kinos eingesetzt werden soll. Hierzu wird der Gewinner zu Dolby® nach Wootton Bassett in England eingeladen, um die Tonmischung in Dolby® Atmos zu vollenden.