Berlinale: Berlinale Profile


The Berlinale
Festival profile

Berlin: an exciting, cosmopolitan cultural hub that never ceases to attract artists from around the world. A diverse cultural scene, a critical public and an audience of film-lovers characterise the city. In the middle of it all, the Berlinale: a great cultural event and one of the most important dates for the international film industry. More than 300,000 sold tickets, almost 20,000 professional visitors from 124 countries, including around 3,700 journalists: art, glamour, parties and business are all inseparably linked at the Berlinale.

The entire world of film

The public programme of the Berlin International Film Festival shows about 400 films per year, mostly international or European premieres. Films of every genre, length and format find their place in the various sections: great international cinema in the Competition, independent and art house in Panorama, films for young audiences in Generation, new discoveries and promising talents from the German film scene in Perspektive Deutsches Kino, avant garde, experimental and unfamiliar cinematography in the Forum and Forum Expanded, and an exploration of cinematic possibilities in Berlinale Shorts. The Berlinale Special, including Berlinale Special Gala, is showing new and extraordinary productions and honours great cinema personalities. The programme is rounded out by a Retrospective as well as an Homage, which focuses on the œuvre of a great personality of cinema, curated by the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen. Beginning in 2013, the Retrospective expanded to include presentations of Berlinale Classics. They show current restorations of film classics as well as rediscovered films.

Furthermore the Berlinale has regularly organised a programme of special presentations that open up new perspectives, provide insight into key themes, make new connections and explore realms where film intersects with other creative disciplines. Food, pleasure and the environment – these are the topics that lie at the centre of the Culinary Cinema. Berlinale Goes Kiez is travelling from arthouse cinema to arthouse cinema within the city to present selected films from the Berlinale programme and NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema is devoted to the cinematic story-telling of Indigenous peoples worldwide.

The European Film Market in the Martin-Gropius-Bau

The film industry at the Berlinale

The Berlin International Film Festival is a source of inspiration in the global film community: film programmes, workshops, panel discussions, joint projects with other social and cultural actors – the forms of cooperation and the possibilities for creative interaction are countless.

The most important meeting point is the European Film Market (EFM). Around 400 companies and more than 8,000 professionals from 95 countries build and foster contacts here, strengthen their position in the industry or negotiate film rights.

The Berlinale Co-Production Market, affiliated to the EFM, offers fertile ground for international co-productions.

Berlinale Talents brings high profile professionals attending the Berlinale to workshops and discussions with 300 promising young film talents from all over the world. Both sides benefit. The talents profit from the experience of the professionals, who in turn gain fresh ideas from taking part.

The World Cinema Fund (WCF) provides financial support to film projects in countries with weak film infrastructure thereby helping strengthen the regions’ position on the international film market.

The Berlinale Residency programme offers six directors a grant to come to Berlin for four months. Working in close contact with individually selected mentors and market experts, the directors can take a decisive step toward placing their next film project on the way to a successful theatrical release.

The close connection between the festival and market is a unique characteristic of the Berlinale and always results in exceptional synergies.

Berlinale: Profil der Berlinale


Die Berlinale
Das Festivalprofil

Berlin: ein weltoffener und aufregender Kulturschauplatz von ungebrochener Anziehungskraft. Künstler aus aller Welt kommen hierher. Eine differenzierte Kinolandschaft und ein filmbegeistertes Publikum zeichnen die Stadt aus. Mittendrin die Berlinale als großes Kulturereignis und eines der wichtigsten Events der internationalen Filmindustrie. Über 300.000 verkaufte Eintrittskarten, nahezu 20.000 Fachbesucher aus 124 Ländern, darunter etwa 3.700 Journalisten: Kunst, Glamour, Party und Geschäft sind bei der Berlinale untrennbar miteinander verbunden.

Die ganze Welt des Films

Das öffentliche Programm der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin zeigt jedes Jahr ca. 400 Filme, überwiegend Welt- oder Europapremieren. Filme aller Genres, Längen und Formate finden in den verschiedenen Sektionen ihren Platz: großes internationales Kino im Wettbewerb, Independent und Arthouse im Panorama, Kino für ein junges Publikum in Generation, Neuentdeckungen und vielversprechende Talente aus der deutschen Filmlandschaft in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino, Avantgarde, Experiment und noch unbekannte Kinematografien im Forum und Forum Expanded sowie die Erkundung filmischer Möglichkeiten in den Berlinale Shorts. Das Berlinale Special, einschließlich Berlinale Special Gala, zeigt außergewöhnliche Neuproduktionen und ehrt Filmpersönlichkeiten. Ergänzt wird das Programm durch eine Retrospektive sowie eine Hommage, die das Lebenswerk einer großen Filmpersönlichkeit ehrt, kuratiert von der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen. 2013 wurde die Retrospektive um die Präsentationen der Berlinale Classics erweitert. Sie zeigen aktuelle Restaurierungen von Filmklassikern sowie wiederentdeckte Filme.

Zudem bietet die Berlinale jedes Jahr ein Programm von Sonderveranstaltungen, das Schwerpunkte vertieft, aktuelle Anknüpfungspunkte schafft, Perspektiven eröffnet und die Schnittmengen des Films mit anderen kreativen Zusammenhängen untersucht. Essen, Genuss und Umwelt – das sind die Themen, welche die Sonderreihe Kulinarisches Kino in den Fokus rückt. Berlinale Goes Kiez zieht mit ausgewählten Berlinale-Filmen durch Berliner Programmkinos und NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema widmet sich den filmischen Erzählungen indigener Völker auf der ganzen Welt.

Der European Film Market im Martin-Gropius-Bau

Die Filmbranche bei der Berlinale

Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin setzen Impulse im globalen Filmgeschehen: Filmreihen, Workshops, Panels, gemeinsame Projekte mit anderen gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Akteuren – die Formen der Zusammenarbeit und die Möglichkeiten kreativer Interaktion sind vielfältig.

Wichtigster Treffpunkt ist der European Film Market (EFM). Rund 400 Firmen und mehr als 8.000 Fachbesucher aus 95 Ländern knüpfen und pflegen hier ihre Kontakte, positionieren sich in der Branche oder handeln mit Filmrechten.

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market bietet, angegliedert an den EFM, ein fruchtbares Terrain für internationale Ko-Produktionen.

Berlinale Talents bringt die teilnehmenden Stars der Berlinale in Workshops und Diskussionen mit 300 jungen Filmtalenten aus aller Welt zusammen. So profitieren beide: Die Einen von den Erfahrungen, die Anderen von den frischen Ideen.

Der World Cinema Fund (WCF) schließlich ermöglicht mit finanzieller Unterstützung Filmprojekte in strukturell benachteiligten Ländern und stärkt diese Regionen so im internationalen Filmgeschäft.

Die Berlinale Residency lädt sechs Regisseure für ein viermonatiges Stipendium nach Berlin ein. Im engen Kontakt mit individuell ausgewählten Mentoren und Marktexperten können sie dabei ihr nächstes Filmprojekt auf dem Weg zum Kinoerfolg einen entscheidenden Schritt voranbringen.

Die enge Verknüpfung von Festival und Markt ist eine Besonderheit der Berlinale und sorgt immer wieder für besondere Synergien.