Berlinale: Biographies


Linda Söffker

Linda Söffker is head of the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section.

Linda Söffker was born in Eberswalde (Brandenburg) in 1969 and studied cultural and theatre studies in Berlin. As a student she worked in the Zeughauskino in the German Historical Museum where, after graduating, she was hired as a curator and programme coordinator. There she was occupied with film series and publications “Myths of Nations. Peoples in film” and “50 Years Federal Republic” under Dr. Rainer Rother (the artistic director of the Deutsche Kinemathek since 2006). In 1999, Linda Söffker moved to the programming office of the Berlinale and three years later to the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section headed by Alfred Holighaus. There she worked first as an assistant, then as a curator and programme manager, before she assumed the role of section head in 2010.

Since 1998, Linda Söffker has been engaged in the field of cinema through various projects, such as conception and realisation of “Kino am Pool” a summer event in the Freibad Wilmersdorf, curating film series for the Zeughauskino, press work for the First Steps Award, co-curating the “Newcomer” film series in the Kino Karli, and production management and curatorial work at DOKU.ARTS, international festival for films on art in the Academy of Arts.

For several years, Linda Söffker has been active as a member of various film and funding juries (e.g. in the BKM production and script funding commission and in the feature film jury of the Austrian Film Award 2007). She writes for various publications, including cinema programme booklets for the Filmarchiv Austria and the Zeughauskino as well as for the film magazines RFF and Kolik.film. In 2006 she co-published the monography “Aki Kaurismäki” with Ralph Eue and has written the programme booklet of the German Film Award in cooperation with Alfred Holighaus since 2008.

Contact

Perspektive Deutsches Kino
Section Head
Linda Söffker
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin

Berlinale: Biografien


Linda Söffker

Linda Söffker ist Leiterin der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino.

Linda Söffker wurde 1969 in Eberswalde (Brandenburg) geboren und studierte Kultur- und Theaterwissenschaften in Berlin. Studienbegleitend arbeitete sie im Zeughauskino des Deutschen Historischen Museums und bekam nach ihrem Abschluss einen Vertrag als kuratorische Mitarbeiterin und Programm-Koordinatorin. Dort war sie u.a. tätig für die mehrmonatigen Filmreihen und Publikationen „Mythen der Nationen. Völker im Film“ und „50 Jahre Bundesrepublik“ unter der Verantwortung von Dr. Rainer Rother (seit 2006 Künstlerischer Direktor der Deutschen Kinemathek). 1999 wechselte Linda Söffker in das Programm-Organisationsbüro der Berlinale und drei Jahre später in die Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino unter der Leitung von Alfred Holighaus. Dort arbeitete sie zunächst als Assistentin, später als kuratorische Mitarbeiterin und Programm-Managerin, bevor sie 2010 schließlich die Sektionsleitung übernahm.

Seit 1998 engagiert sich Linda Söffker außerdem in verschiedenen Funktionen für diverse Projekte im Filmbereich: u.a. Konzeption und Durchführung des Sommer-Events „Kino am Pool“ im Freibad Wilmersdorf, Kuratorin von Filmreihen für das Zeughauskino, Pressearbeit für den First Steps Award, Co-Kuratorin der Filmreihe „Newcomer“ im Kino Karli, Produktionsleitung und kuratorische Mitarbeit bei DOKU.ARTS, Internationales Festival für Filme zur Kunst, in der Akademie der Künste.

Linda Söffker ist seit einigen Jahren auch aktiv als Mitglied verschiedener Film- und Förderjurys tätig (z.B. in der BKM-Förderkommission Produktion und Drehbuch oder in der Spielfilmjury des Österreichischen Filmpreises 2007) und schreibt hin und wieder für unterschiedliche Publikationen, u.a. Kino-Programmhefte für das Filmarchiv Austria und das Zeughauskino sowie für die Filmzeitschriften RFF und Kolik.film. 2006 gab sie zusammen mit Ralph Eue die Monografie „Aki Kaurismäki“ heraus und schreibt seit 2008 in Kooperation mit Alfred Holighaus das Programmheft zum Deutschen Filmpreis.

Kontakt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino
Leiterin
Linda Söffker
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin