Berlinale: European Film Market

European Film Market

543 exhibitors, 9,230 professionals from 110 countries, including 1,623 international buyers and 1,124 screenings of 784 films: The European Film Market (EFM) is one of the most important international film industry gatherings. Film buyers and sellers, producers, distributors and financiers as well as representatives of the global TV, Home Entertainment and New Media market get up-to-date on the latest productions and developments in the global film scene, negotiate film rights and make or foster business network.

The EFM has been making its home in the magnificent renaissance building Martin-Gropius-Bau, internationally known as one of Berlin’s premier art museums, and the deluxe modern Marriott Hotel at the Potsdamer Platz. The proximity (spatial and otherwise) to the festival gives the EFM important impulses and ensures that it stays one of the most dynamic marketplaces for international film that it is today.

European Film Market initiatives

Since 2012 American independent filmmakers have their own lounge at the Martin-Gropius-Bau at the EFM under the umbrella "American Independents in Berlin". Organised by the Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) and the Sundance Institute, around 50 US Indies are showcased in the sections "IFP Selects" and "Sundance at EFM" to the over 1700 buyers at the first international film market of the year. International buyers have the opportunity to get a first crack at new US-American independent productions.

See also: American Independents in Berlin

The series co-organised by the Berlinale, the German Film Academy and German Films presents, within the framework of the European Film Market, films that have been longlisted by the German Film Academy’s nominating commission for the German Film Awards (aka Lola). The screenings are open to accredited national and international professionals as well as members of the German Film Academy who are eligible to vote on nominations.

See also: LOLA at Berlinale

The EFM Industry Debates address current developments in the film and entertainment industry. They foster the exchange of views amongst industry professionals. The topics in 2016 were: Cross Border Currents: India’s Big Chance, Producers as Entrepreneurs, Cross-Atlantic Series Success: (Re)Making TV for Europe and the World.

See also: EFM Industry Debates

“Meet the Docs” is a central meeting point for buyers, sellers, directors, producers and distributors of documentary films. The initiative aims to boost networking and exchange in the documentary sector and has been organized every year since 2009 in cooperation with the European Documentary Network (EDN), which, with 1,000 members from around 60 countries, has worked on Europe-wide networking in the area of documentary film since 1996.

See also: Meet the Docs

In cooperation with Berlinale Talents, the EFM also features an initiative for the up-and-coming generation of market-goers: Under the title "Berlinale Talents Market Hub" - backed by VFF - nine selected sales & distribution professionals from Berlinale Talents are present at Martin-Gropius-Bau with their own booth, which also serves as a contact and meeting point. In addition, 40 of the films developed during the Berlinale Talents Project Labs are presented to EFM visitors.

See also: Berlinale Talents Market Hub

EFM Asia is one of the many ways the EFM is further strengthening its links to Asian markets, establishing an attractive and effective platform for the Asian industry to connect to the European and international industry at the Market. Partnering with the networking platform “Bridging the Dragon”, the EFM hosts a seminar providing new insights into co-producing and creating strong content for both markets.

The Drama Series Days are providing creators and producers of high-quality drama and documentary series with innovative platforms and channels to present and sell their new works. This includes a home base at the EFM Buyers Lounge where key players in commissioning and acquiring new content come together. Special screenings and a range of talks and events showcasing the latest industry trends and developments from Germany, Europe and North America complement the programme. Additional to that, the Berlinale Co-Production Market presents handpicked international series projects to potential co-production partners, funds and broadcasters attending the EFM.

With the EFM Producers Hub the European Film Market is expanding its services, developing new initiatives and platforms designed to better meet the needs of producers attending the Market. The EFM Producers Hub as an exclusive place to promote new projects is also accessible for financiers and buyers. It features free consultancy to producers on new financing and distribution strategies as well as the recently launched “Presentations and Talks” where selected speakers introduce projects and ideas relevant to producers.

At the centre of Europe’s most exciting startup hub, the EFM takes leading entrepreneurs based in Europe and connects them with the film and audiovisual media industries. EFM Startups, successfully launched in 2015, gives EFM visitors the opportunity to tap in to carefully selected startup companies, who can provide the technical know-how to implement new production, distribution or marketing strategies or help them develop new ideas.


European Film Market
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin
phone +49 30 25920-666
fax +49 30 25920-699

Berlinale: European Film Market


European Film Market

543 Aussteller, 9.230 Fachbesucher aus 110 Ländern, darunter 1.623 internationale Einkäufer sowie 1.124 Screenings von 784 Filmen: Der European Film Market (EFM) zählt zu den bedeutendsten Branchentreffs der internationalen Filmindustrie. Produzenten, Verleiher, Ein- und Verkäufer, Finanziers sowie Vertreter von TV, Home Entertainment und Neuen Medien informieren sich hier über die neuesten Produktionen und Entwicklungen der globalen Filmlandschaft, handeln mit Filmrechten oder knüpfen und pflegen Geschäftskontakte.

Zentrum des EFM ist der Martin-Gropius-Bau. Zusätzlich stehen dem EFM im Marriott Hotel am Potsdamer Platz die EFM Marriott Offices und Stands als Ausstellungsflächen zur Verfügung. Damit befindet sich der European Film Market nicht nur im Herzen Berlins, sondern vor allem auch in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Festivalzentrum. Die nicht nur räumlich enge Bindung an das Festival gibt dem EFM immer wieder wichtige Impulse und sorgt dafür, dass er heute einer der dynamischsten Marktplätze für den internationalen Filmhandel ist.

Initiativen des European Film Market

Seit 2012 präsentieren sich auf dem EFM unter dem Dach „American Independents in Berlin“ unabhängige amerikanische Filmemacher mit einer eigenen Lounge im Martin-Gropius-Bau. Organisiert vom Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) und dem Sundance Institute, stellen sich ca. 50 neue US-Indies in den Reihen „IFP Selects“ und „Sundance at EFM“ den über 1700 Einkäufern beim ersten internationalen Filmmarkt des Jahres vor. Den internationalen Einkäufern bieten sie schon früh im Jahr einen Blick auf aktuelle amerikanische Independentproduktionen und damit einen Ausblick auf das bevorstehende Filmjahr.

Siehe auch: „American Independents in Berlin“

Die gemeinsame Reihe von Berlinale, Deutscher Filmakademie und German Films zeigt im Rahmen des European Film Market Filme, die von der Kommission der Deutschen Filmakademie für die Nominierung zum Deutschen Filmpreis (Lola) vorausgewählt wurden. Zugänglich sind die Vorstellungen einem akkreditierten nationalen und internationalen Fachpublikum sowie den zur Wahl der Nominierungen berechtigten Mitgliedern der Deutschen Filmakademie.

Siehe auch: „LOLA at Berlinale“

Die „EFM Industry Debates“ diskutieren aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Film- und Unterhaltungsindustrie. Sie fördern den Meinungsaustausch unter Branchenprofis. Die Themen 2016 waren: India’s Big Chance, Producers as Entrepreneurs, Cross-Atlantic Series Success: (Re)Making TV for Europe and the World.

Siehe auch: „EFM Industry Debates“

„Meet the Docs“ ist zentraler Anlaufpunkt für Einkäufer, Verkäufer, Regisseure, Produzenten und Verleiher von Dokumentarfilmen. Die Initiative soll die Vernetzung und den Austausch in der Branche fördern. Sie wird seit 2009 in Kooperation mit dem European Documentary Network (EDN) organisiert, das mit seinen rund 1000 Mitgliedern aus über 60 Ländern seit 1996 für die europäische Vernetzung im Bereich Dokumentarfilm arbeitet.

Siehe auch: „Meet the Docs“

Gemeinsam mit Berlinale Talents gibt es auf dem EFM eine Initiative für die kommende Generation der Marktteilnehmer: Unter dem Dach von „Berlinale Talents Market Hub“ – unterstützt von VFF – sind neun ausgewählte professionelle Verkaufs- und Verleiher-Talente an einem Stand im Martin-Gropius-Bau vertreten, der als Anlaufstelle und Treffpunkt für Meetings dienen wird. Außerdem werden den EFM-Besuchern hier 40 der in den Berlinale Talents Project Labs entwickelten Filmprojekte präsentiert.

Siehe auch: „Berlinale Talents Market Hub“

Mit der Initiative „EFM Asia“ stärkt der EFM seine Beziehungen zu den asiatischen Märkten, um der europäischen und internationalen Industrie eine effektive Plattform zur Vernetzung mit asiatischen Partnern zu bieten. Zusammen mit der Networking-Plattform „Bridging the Dragon“ richtet der EFM ein eintägiges Seminar mit Experten und Branchenkennern aus und schafft so neue Möglichkeiten der Co-Produktion und überzeugende Inhalte für beide Märkte.

Siehe auch: „EFM Asia“

Die „Drama Series Days“ bieten Machern und Produzenten qualitativ hochwertiger Serien innovative Plattformen und Kanäle, um ihre neuen Projekte zu präsentieren und zu verkaufen. In der dafür eigens eingerichteten Buyer’s Lounge treffen sich die wichtigsten Einkäufer und Auftraggeber. Special Screenings und eine Reihe von Talks und Veranstaltungen zeigen die neuesten Trends in Deutschland, Europa und Nordamerika. Mit der Präsentation einer Auswahl hochkarätiger internationaler Serien-Projekte komplettiert der Berlinale Co-Production Market das Programm.

Siehe auch: „Drama Series Days“

Der „EFM Producers Hub“ bietet neue Initiativen und Plattformen, die speziell auf die Bedürfnisse der Produzenten beim EFM zugeschnitten sind. Auch Financiers und Einkäufer haben Zugang zum „EFM Producers Hub“, der einen exklusiven Raum schafft, um Projekte zu besprechen und voranzutreiben. Produzenten können sich kostenlos von Experten zu Finanzierungs- und Vertriebsstrategien beraten lassen, während das neue Format „Presentations and Talks“ Produzenten eine Bühne bietet, relevante Ideen und Projekte vorzustellen.

Siehe auch: „EFM Producers Hub“

Der „Berlinale Africa Hub“ ist Kommunikations- und Networking-Plattform für die afrikanische Filmindustrie und alle EFM-Besucher, die mehr erfahren möchten über neue Distributions- und Marketingmodelle, über Virtual Reality und 360-Grad-Projekte von afrikanischen Filmemachern und Produzenten, über erfolgreiche Startups, die audiovisuellen Content auf den afrikanischen Markt bringen und über in den vergangenen Jahren neu entstandene afrikanische VOD- und SVOD-Plattformen.

Kontakt

European Film Market
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 25920-666
Fax +49 30 25920-699