Berlinale: Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents

Every February Berlinale Talents brings 300 selected talents (writers, directors, producers, cinematographers, actors, editors, distributors, production designers, composers, sound designers and young film journalists) together with professionals from the international film industry. This vital platform has developed into one of the most exciting initiatives at the Berlinale and has led to many success stories of films made by Talents alumni, which can increasingly be enjoyed in the Berlinale film programme. Located in the close proximity of the festival centre and the European Film Market, Berlinale Talents hosts many events with Berlinale guests, renowned filmmakers and emerging talents in the three venues of the HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

Besides the fruitful association of established filmmakers with the award-winners of tomorrow, Berlinale Talents offers tailored coaching in all areas of film-making. Furthermore, the development of selected film projects is supported during and after the event. These projects are also presented in the Talents Online Community.

Berlinale Talents continuously cooperates with the Berlinale Co-Production Market. In the framework of the “Talent Project Market”, selected projects by participants are presented to producers and financiers.

Berlinale Talents is not just an industry event. Many events are public and open to interested Berlinale visitors.

Every edition of Berlinale Talents has a thematic focus, to which a part of the programme is dedicated and for which specific experts are invited.

Under the title “The Nature of Relations”, Berlinale Talents focuses in its 14th edition on the power, force and energy of interconnected thinking and creating. 300 outstanding Talents will be invited to a programme with international experts, again held at the three venues of HAU Hebbel am Ufer, from February 13 to February 18, 2016.

Berlinale Talents will host around 100 talks, workshops and networking events providing Talents and festival guests with a vibrant testing field for collaboration and exchange. In this edition, Berlinale Talents will practically explore new methods for collective and interdisciplinary film work, immerse into the inner coherences of story and character in cinematic narration and tackle the quality of actual relationships, e.g. with audiences against and across political, economic and cultural borders.

“In a time when connections are everything and everyone is connected, the nature of the relation itself is still a habitat to discover. Together, we aim to shed light on single elements as well as see the bigger picture,” describes programme manager Florian Weghorn the idea behind the upcoming programme and the key visual 2016.

In close collaboration with the European Film Market and the Berlinale Co-Production Market, Berlinale Talents continues to develop formats to address the challenges of an ever-changing film industry. The 2016 "Sales & Distribution Studio" adds new activities for its 10 participants and growing alumni network, which at present consists of 50 innovative sales agents and distributors. Another joint initiative is "Drama Series Days", where Berlinale Talents again offers a range of talks and workshops focusing on serial storytelling and production.

Berlinale Talents closely collaborates with different film festivals around the globe and helps them to build up their own regional networks and to support emerging filmmakers from their continents. The Talents initiative has been exported to Beirut (Lebanon), Buenos Aires (Argentina), Durban (South Africa), Guadalajara (Mexico), Sarajevo (Bosnia-Herzegovina) and Tokyo (Japan), which all host annual Talents International events within the framework of festivals and with support from Berlin.

More information on

Berlinale Talents is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, in cooperation with Creative Europe MEDIA, a programme of the European Union, Robert Bosch Stiftung and Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.


Berlinale Talents
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin

Berlinale: Berlinale Talents


Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents bringt jedes Jahr im Februar 300 ausgewählte Talente (Autoren, Regisseure, Produzenten, Kameraleute, Schauspieler, Filmcutter, Filmverleiher, Production Designer, Komponisten, Sound Designer und junge Filmjournalisten) mit Profis aus der internationalen Filmbranche zusammen. Diese vitale Plattform hat sich zu einer der spannendsten Initiativen der Berlinale entwickelt und zahlreiche Erfolgsgeschichten von Filmen ehemaliger Teilnehmer geschrieben, die zunehmend auch im Berlinale-Programm zu bewundern sind. In direkter Nachbarschaft des Festivalzentrums und des European Film Markets, lädt Berlinale Talents zu zahlreichen Veranstaltungen mit Berlinale Gästen, renommierten Filmschaffenden und herausragenden Talenten in die drei Häuser des HAU Hebbel am Ufer ein.

Neben der fruchtbaren Verknüpfung etablierter Filmemacher mit Preisgewinnern von morgen, bietet Berlinale Talents innerhalb einer Woche maßgeschneiderte Coachingprogramme zu allen Bereichen des Filmschaffens an. Außerdem wird die Entwicklung ausgewählter Filmprojekte während und nach der Veranstaltung unterstützt. Diese werden über die Talents-Community auch online präsentiert.

Eine regelmäßige Kooperation besteht mit dem Berlinale Co-Production Market. Hier werden im Rahmen des „Talent Project Market“ Produzenten und Filmfinanciers ausgewählte Projekte von teilnehmender Talente vorgestellt.

Berlinale Talents ist nicht nur ein Branchenevent. Viele Veranstaltungen sind öffentlich und können vom interessierten Berlinale-Publikum besucht werden!

Jede Ausgabe von Berlinale Talents setzt einen thematischen Schwerpunkt, dem sich ein Teil des Programms widmet und zu dem gezielt Experten eingeladen werden.

Berlinale Talents stellt seine 14. Edition unter das Motto „The Nature of Relations". Im Fokus stehen dabei die Wirkmächte, Energien und Kräfte des vernetzten Denkens und Handelns. 300 aufstrebende Filmschaffende werden zum Programm mit renommierten Experten eingeladen. Berlinale Talents findet vom 13. bis 18. Februar 2016 erneut in den drei Häusern des Theaters HAU Hebbel am Ufer statt.

In rund 100 Gesprächsveranstaltungen, Workshops und Netzwerktreffen bietet Berlinale Talents Filmemachern und Festivalgästen ein vielfältiges Forum zum gemeinsamen Arbeiten und Austausch. In dieser Edition wird Berlinale Talents sich insbesondere neuen Wegen des gemeinschaftlichen und interdisziplinären Filmschaffens widmen, tiefer in innere Bezüge von Handlung und Figuren der filmischen Erzählung eintauchen sowie die Qualität tatsächlicher Beziehungen, z.B. mit einem Filmpublikum, vor verschiedenen politischen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Hintergründen erkunden.

„In einer Zeit, wo Verbindungen alles sind und jeder stets verbunden ist, bleibt die wahre Natur der Beziehung ein unerforschtes Biotop. Gemeinsam werden wir die einzelnen Bereiche genauso beleuchten wie auch das größere Bild betrachten“, beschreibt Programmleiter Florian Weghorn die Idee hinter dem kommenden Programm und dem Key Visual 2016.

In Kooperation mit dem European Film Market und dem Berlinale Co-Production Market entwickelt Berlinale Talents auch weiter Formate, um den Herausforderungen der sich permanent entwickelnden Filmindustrie zu begegnen. Das „Sales & Distribution Studio“ ergänzt 2016 weitere Aktivitäten für seine zehn Teilnehmer und das Alumninetzwerk von derweil 50 innovativen Protagonisten aus den Bereichen Weltvertrieb und Verleih. Eine weitere gemeinsame Initiative ist das Format „Drama Series Days“, in dessen Rahmen Berlinale Talents wieder Gesprächsveranstaltungen und Workshops speziell zu seriellem Erzählen und Produzieren anbietet.

Berlinale Talents arbeitet eng mit unterschiedlichen Filmfestivals weltweit zusammen und unterstützt sie dabei, individuelle regionale Netzwerke aufzubauen und Filmemacher in den jeweiligen Kontinenten zu fördern. Dafür wird die Talents-Idee weltweit exportiert: Auch in Beirut (Libanon), Buenos Aires (Argentinien), Durban (Südafrika), Guadalajara (Mexiko), Sarajevo (Bosnien-Herzegowina) und Tokio (Japan) finden mittlerweile mit Unterstützung aus Berlin im Rahmen von Festivals jährliche Talents-Initiativen statt.

Weitere Informationen unter www.berlinale-talents.de

Partner
Berlinale Talents ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, in Kooperation mit Creative Europe MEDIA, Programm der Europäischen Union, Robert Bosch Stiftung und Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.

Kontakt

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin

Berlinale Talents
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin