Berlinale: Berlinale Talents


Berlinale Talents

Every February Berlinale Talents brings 300 selected talents (writers, directors, producers, cinematographers, actors, editors, distributors, production designers, composers, sound designers and young film journalists) together with professionals from the international film industry. This vital platform has developed into one of the most exciting initiatives at the Berlinale and has led to many success stories of films made by Talents alumni, which can increasingly be enjoyed in the Berlinale film programme. Located in the close proximity of the festival centre and the European Film Market, Berlinale Talents hosts many events with Berlinale guests, renowned filmmakers and emerging talents in the three venues of the HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

Besides the fruitful association of established filmmakers with the award-winners of tomorrow, Berlinale Talents offers tailored coaching in all areas of film-making. Furthermore, the development of selected film projects is supported during and after the event. These projects are also presented in the Talents Online Community.

Berlinale Talents continuously cooperates with the Berlinale Co-Production Market. In the framework of the “Talent Project Market”, selected projects by participants are presented to producers and financiers.

Berlinale Talents is not just an industry event. Many events are public and open to interested Berlinale visitors.

Every edition of Berlinale Talents has a thematic focus, to which a part of the programme is dedicated and for which specific experts are invited.

In 2015 the main theme is "2015: A Space Discovery". Berlinale Talents invites 300 emerging filmmakers to discover new ways of looking at cinematic space. Throughout nearly 100 talks and workshops, experts and talents dedicate themselves to film as a multi-dimensional spatial art, jointly exploring various perspectives for the screen, or how characters unfold the action spaces of edited stories and imagery. Berlinale Talents relates all this, on a local and global level, to the economic and cultural spaces in which talents develop, create and market their films.

"Technically and aesthetically the cinematic space is just being re-invented these days, while our daily living spaces are tangibly being transformed by political and economic upheavals. Filmmakers navigate in many dimensions, their films therefore offer the frameworks or let them overcome boundaries. We look forward to turning Berlinale Talents once again into an open space for encounters, exchanges and networking," says Programme Manager Florian Weghorn on this year's thematic focus.

Berlinale Talents closely collaborates with different film festivals around the globe and helps them to build up their own regional networks and to support emerging filmmakers from their continents. The Talents initiative has been exported to Beirut (Lebanon), Buenos Aires (Argentina), Durban (South Africa), Guadalajara (Mexico), Sarajevo (Bosnia-Herzegovina) and Tokyo (Japan), which all host annual Talents International events within the framework of festivals and with support from Berlin.

More information on www.berlinale-talents.de

Partners
Berlinale Talents is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, in cooperation with Creative Europe MEDIA programme of the European Union, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg and Canon.

Contact

Berlinale Talents
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin

Berlinale: Berlinale Talents


Berlinale Talents

Berlinale Talents bringt jedes Jahr im Februar 300 ausgewählte Talente (Autoren, Regisseure, Produzenten, Kameraleute, Schauspieler, Filmcutter, Filmverleiher, Production Designer, Komponisten, Sound Designer und junge Filmjournalisten) mit Profis aus der internationalen Filmbranche zusammen. Diese vitale Plattform hat sich zu einer der spannendsten Initiativen der Berlinale entwickelt und zahlreiche Erfolgsgeschichten von Filmen ehemaliger Teilnehmer geschrieben, die zunehmend auch im Berlinale-Programm zu bewundern sind. In direkter Nachbarschaft des Festivalzentrums und des European Film Markets, lädt Berlinale Talents zu zahlreichen Veranstaltungen mit Berlinale Gästen, renommierten Filmschaffenden und herausragenden Talenten in die drei Häuser des HAU Hebbel am Ufer ein.

Neben der fruchtbaren Verknüpfung etablierter Filmemacher mit Preisgewinnern von morgen, bietet Berlinale Talents innerhalb einer Woche maßgeschneiderte Coachingprogramme zu allen Bereichen des Filmschaffens an. Außerdem wird die Entwicklung ausgewählter Filmprojekte während und nach der Veranstaltung unterstützt. Diese werden über die Talents-Community auch online präsentiert.

Eine regelmäßige Kooperation besteht mit dem Berlinale Co-Production Market. Hier werden im Rahmen des „Talent Project Market“ Produzenten und Filmfinanciers ausgewählte Projekte von teilnehmender Talente vorgestellt.

Berlinale Talents ist nicht nur ein Branchenevent. Viele Veranstaltungen sind öffentlich und können vom interessierten Berlinale-Publikum besucht werden!

Jede Ausgabe von Berlinale Talents setzt einen thematischen Schwerpunkt, dem sich ein Teil des Programms widmet und zu dem gezielt Experten eingeladen werden.

2015 lädt Berlinale Talents unter dem Motto „2015: A Space Discovery“ 300 aufstrebende Filmschaffende ein, den filmischen Raum neu zu entdecken. In rund 100 Gesprächsveranstaltungen und Workshops werden sich Experten und Talente dem Film als multidimensionalem Raumkunstwerk widmen und praktisch erkunden, welche Perspektiven sich auf der Leinwand eröffnen oder wie sich Figuren die Handlungsräume der montierten Geschichten und Bilderwelten erschließen. All dies wird Berlinale Talents mit den lokalen und globalen Wirtschafts- und Kulturräumen in Beziehung setzen, in denen die Talente ihre Filme entwickeln, umsetzen und auf den Markt bringen.

„Technisch und ästhetisch erfindet das Kino den Raum gerade neu, während politische und ökonomische Umbrüche unsere alltäglichen Lebensräume spürbar verändern. Filmschaffende bewegen sich in den unterschiedlichsten Dimensionen, ihre Filme geben ihnen dafür den Rahmen oder lassen sie Grenzen überwinden. Wir freuen uns, Berlinale Talents auch 2015 wieder zu einem offenen Raum für Begegnung, Austausch und Netzwerkarbeit zu machen“, erklärt Programmleiter Florian Weghorn den thematischen Schwerpunkt.

Berlinale Talents arbeitet eng mit unterschiedlichen Filmfestivals weltweit zusammen und unterstützt sie dabei, individuelle regionale Netzwerke aufzubauen und Filmemacher in den jeweiligen Kontinenten zu fördern. Dafür wird die Talents-Idee weltweit exportiert: Auch in Beirut (Libanon), Buenos Aires (Argentinien), Durban (Südafrika), Guadalajara (Mexiko), Sarajevo (Bosnien-Herzegowina) und Tokio (Japan) finden mittlerweile mit Unterstützung aus Berlin im Rahmen von Festivals jährliche Talents-Initiativen statt.

Weitere Informationen unter www.berlinale-talents.de

Partner
Berlinale Talents ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, in Kooperation mit Creative Europe MEDIA - Programm der Europäischen Union, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg und Canon.

Kontakt

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin

Berlinale Talents
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin