Berlinale: Berlinale Residency Profile


Berlinale Residency

Please note:
The next Call for Entries for the Berlinale Residency is scheduled for early 2015 with the Residency taking place in autumn 2015.

The Berlinale Residency programme supports writer/directors from around the world, who have already enjoyed their first festival and cinema successes, in developing their new fiction, documentary film or cross-media projects. Only feature-length projects to which a producer is officially attached are eligible for selection.

The Berlinale Residency offers the filmmakers a great working atmosphere, monthly sessions with renowned script mentors from the Nipkow Programm, and social events with fellow filmmakers. Their producers receive input from widely experienced industry professionals and support in preparing and packaging the selected projects for the international market in a workshop towards the end of the Residency programme. The filmmakers and their producers return to Berlin in February for the Berlinale Co-Production Market where they present their project to potential co-producers and financiers.

The Berlinale Residency gives the filmmakers the opportunity to maximize the potential of their projects and to find their audiences, without limiting the creative qualities of the stories they want to tell. The writer/directors receive three monthly grants of 1.500 Euro each, enabling them to live and work in Berlin for the duration of the programme.

The three-month Berlinale Residency programme took place from August 15 – November 15, 2013.

The selected directors committed themselves to living in Berlin for these three months. The attached producers committed themselves to participating in a workshop in Berlin from Nov 8-11, 2013, and to present the project at the Berlinale Co-Production Market in February 2014 or at the Ibero-American Coproduction Meeting during the Guadalajara International Film Festival in March 2014.

Application

Eligible are directors from all over the world, who are currently working on a feature film project (fiction, documentary, cross-media) for theatrical release, who have already secured a production company for the project and who have:

  • already directed a feature-length film which screened in the official selection of a renowned international film festival (e.g. Berlinale, Cannes, Sundance, Toronto, Venice etc.)

and/or have finished a film which

  • was presented at the Berlinale Co-Production Market; or
  • participated in the Berlinale Talents’ Script Station, Doc Station or Talent Project Market; or
  • was supported by the World Cinema Fund

There are no restrictions in terms of the content or the planned shooting locations of the project.

All applicants must be fluent in English.

The application for the Berlinale Residency consists of two parts:

Part 1: Online application
First you must accept the conditions for participating in the Berlinale Residency. You will then proceed to the online application form which you must complete in English.
In addition, you must upload the following PDFs:

  • treatment (around 5-10 pages)
  • full script
  • distribution and marketing concept (one page)
  • a short description (1/2 page) of how you plan to find an audience for your film
  • budget
  • financing plan
  • signed rights clearance (clarifying that you are the copyright owner or otherwise entitled to realise this project)
  • a signed producer’s agreement which confirms the producer’s attachment to the project and his/her availability to attend the workshop in Berlin in November 2013

Part 2: Material per mail/courier

You have to send in the following items per mail or courier:

  • 7 DVD copies of one of your previous films (do not send video clips or showreels). Films made in a language other than English should be subtitled in English

The submitted samples of work will not be returned. The material which is NOT selected can be picked up at the Berlin-based offices of the Berlinale Residency. Should the sample of work not be picked up by June 30, it will be destroyed.

The Berlinale Residency is not liable for any loss or damage incurred, irrespective of the cause.

Download Participation Conditions pdf (85 KB)

The Berlinale Residency is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, the Nipkow Programme and the Guadalajara International Film Festival, in cooperation with the MEDIA Mundus programme of the European Union and Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.

Contact

Project Coordinator
Kathi Bildhauer

Assistant
Katrin Wirth

Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 522
Fax +49 • 30 • 259 20 • 529

Berlinale: Berlinale Residency Profil


Berlinale Residency

Die nächste Berlinale Residency wird von September bis November 2018 stattfinden. Bewerbungen können ab Februar 2018 eingereicht werden.

Das Berlinale-Residency-Programm unterstützt internationale Autorenfilmer*innen, die bereits erste Erfolge auf Festivals und im Kino feiern konnten, bei der Entwicklung ihrer neuen Filmprojekte (Spielfilm, Dokumentarfilm oder Crossmedia). Nur Langfilmprojekte, an denen bereits offiziell ein Produzent*innen beteiligt ist, können eingereicht werden.

Die Berlinale Residency bietet den Teilnehmenden eine inspirierende Arbeitsatmosphäre, monatliche Meetings mit renommierten Drehbuchberater*innen und Treffen mit anderen Filmschaffenden. Während eines Workshops gegen Ende der Residency erhalten die Produzent*innen zudem konkretes Feedback von erfahrenen Branchenexpert*innen und Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung der Projekte für den internationalen Markt. Im Februar kehren die Filmemacher*innen nach Berlin zurück, um gemeinsam mit ihren Produzent*innen beim Berlinale Co-Production Market ihre Projekte potentiellen Co-Produzent*innen und Finanziers vorzustellen.

Die Berlinale Residency gibt drei Filmemacher*innen die Chance, das Potential ihrer Projekte maximal auszuschöpfen, ohne dabei den kreativen Kern der Geschichte zu verwässern. Die Regisseur*innen erhalten ein monatliches Stipendium von je 1.500 Euro, das es ihnen ermöglicht, für die Dauer des dreimonatigen Programms in Berlin zu leben und zu arbeiten.

Bewerbung

Bewerben können sich Filmemacher*innen aus aller Welt, die an einem Langfilmprojekt für die Kinoauswertung arbeiten (Spielfilm, Dokumentarfilm, Crossmedia), bereits Produzent*innen gewinnen konnten und schon einmal:

  • mit einem Langfilm (als Regisseur*in) in der offiziellen Auswahl eines renommierten, internationalen Festivals vertreten waren (z.B. Berlinale, Cannes, Sundance, Toronto, Venedig etc.)

und/oder mit einem inzwischen fertig gestellten Projekt

  • für den Berlinale Co-Production Market ausgewählt waren oder
  • für die Script Station, die Doc Station oder den Talent Project Market von Berlinale Talents ausgewählt waren oder
  • eine Förderung durch den World Cinema Fund erhalten haben.

Es gibt keinerlei Einschränkungen in Bezug auf die inhaltliche/thematische Ausrichtung und die geplanten Drehorte der Projekte.

Alle Bewerber*innen müssen über gute Englischkenntnisse verfügen.

Die Bewerbung für die Berlinale Residency besteht aus zwei Schritten:

1. Online-Bewerbung

Im Anschluss an die Zustimmung zu den Teilnahmebedingungen für die Berlinale Residency, müssen die Bewerber*innen ein Onlineformular vollständig und auf Englisch ausfüllen. Darüber hinaus müssen die folgenden Dokumente auf Englisch hochgeladen werden:

  • Treatment (ca. 5 – 10 Seiten)
  • vollständiges Drehbuch
  • Vertriebs- und Marketingkonzept (eine Seite)
  • kurze Beschreibung des Zielpublikums des Filmes, inklusive einer Strategie, wie dieses Publikum erreicht werden soll (1/2 Seite)
  • Budget
  • Finanzierungsplan
  • eine Rechteerklärung, aus der hervorgeht, dass der/die Regisseur/in die Rechte am Stoff besitzt
  • eine unterzeichnete Produzentenvereinbarung, welche die Beteiligung der Produzent*innen am Projekt und ihre Verfügbarkeit für die Teilnahme am Script-to-Market Workshop im November 2015 und Berlinale Co-Production Market 2016 bestätigt

2. Postalische Einsendung von Bewerbungsmaterialien

Die folgenden Materialien müssen per Post oder Kurier eingereicht werden:

  • 7 DVD-Kopien von einem vorherigen Film des Regisseurs (bitte keine Videoclips oder Showreels). Nicht englischsprachige Filme müssen englische Untertitel haben.

Die eingereichten Arbeitsproben werden nicht zurückgesendet. Material, welches nicht ausgewählt wird, kann in den Berliner Büros der Berlinale Residency abgeholt werden. Nicht abgeholte Arbeitsproben werden nach dem 30. Juni vernichtet.

Die Berlinale haftet nicht für den Verlust oder die Beschädigung der eingereichten Materialien, ungeachtet der Ursache.

Download Participation Conditions pdf (132 KB)

Die Berlinale Residency ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, gefördert durch Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg und Auswärtiges Amt.

Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin