Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

Smrt u Sarajevu / Mort à Sarajevo

Death in Sarajevo

Izudin Bajrović (Actor), Snežana Vidović (Actress), François Margolin (Producer), Amra Bakšić Čamo (Producer), Bernard-Henri Lévy (Writer), Jacques Weber (Actor), Danis Tanović (Director, Scriptwriter), Vedrana Seksan (Actress)

Moderation: Nicolaj Nikitin

Press Conference at full length
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Sarajevo on 28 of June, 2014. At the Hotel Europa, the best hotel in town, the manager Omer prepares to welcome a delegation of diplomatic VIPs. On the centenary of the assassination that is considered to have led to World War I, an appeal for peace and understanding is supposed to start from here. But the hotel staff have other worries: having not been paid for months, they are planning to go on strike. Hatidza from the hotel laundry is elected strike leader even though her daughter Lamija, who works in reception, is firmly against industrial action. Meanwhile, in the sealed-off presidential suite, a guest from France rehearses a speech. Elsewhere, a television reporter conducts interviews about war and its consequences. Was Gavrilo Princip, the 1914 assassin, a criminal or a national hero? What long shadow does his deed cast into the present?
Danis Tanović, whose An Episode in the Life of an Iron Picker screened in Competition at the Berlinale in 2013, offers a satirical parable about political dreams and nightmares. His Hotel Europa, which he portrays from its cellar passageways right up to its sunlit roof terrace, becomes an arena of hope, violence and death.

France / Bosnia and Herzegovina 2016, 85 min

by

Danis Tanović

with

Jacques Weber
Snežana Vidović
Izudin Bajrović
Vedrana Seksan

World Sales

The Match Factory

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Smrt u Sarajevu / Mort à Sarajevo

Death in Sarajevo

Izudin Bajrović, Snežana Vidović (Schauspieler), François Margolin (Produzent), Amra Bakšić Čamo (Produzentin), Bernard-Henri Lévy (Autor), Jacques Weber (Schauspieler), Danis Tanović (Regisseur, Drehbuch), Vedrana Seksan (Schauspielerin)

Moderation: Nicolaj Nikitin

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Sarajevo, 28. Juni 2014. Im Hotel Europa, dem besten Haus am Platz, bereitet sich Direktor Omer auf den Empfang diplomatischer Ehrengäste vor. Am 100. Jahrestag jenes Attentats, das als Auslöser für den Ersten Weltkrieg gilt, soll von hier aus ein Appell für Frieden und Verständigung gestartet werden. Doch die Hotelangestellten haben andere Sorgen: Seit Monaten ohne Lohn, planen sie einen Streik. Hatidza aus der hauseigenen Wäscherei wird zur Streikbeauftragten gewählt, obwohl ihre Tochter Lamija, die am Empfang arbeitet, strikt dagegen ist. Währenddessen probt ein aus Frankreich angereister Gast in der abgeschotteten Präsidentensuite eine Rede. Und eine Fernsehreporterin führt Interviews zum Krieg und seinen Folgen. War Gavrilo Princip, der Attentäter von 1914, ein Verbrecher oder ein Nationalheld? Welche langen Schatten wirft seine Tat bis in die Gegenwart?
Danis Tanović, der mit Aus dem Leben eines Schrottsammlers im Wettbewerb der Berlinale 2013 vertreten war, inszeniert ein satirisches Gleichnis auf politische Träume und Albträume. Sein Hotel Europa, das er von den Kellergängen bis zur sonnigen Dachterrasse ins Spiel bringt, wird zur Bühne von Hoffnung, Gewalt und Tod.

Frankreich / Bosnien und Herzegowina 2016, 85 Min

von

Danis Tanović

mit

Jacques Weber
Snežana Vidović
Izudin Bajrović
Vedrana Seksan

Weltvertrieb

The Match Factory