Berlinale: Yearbook


66th Berlin International Film Festival
February 11 - 21, 2016

“The predominant topic: politics, art and the subtle, tense links between the two in a time when it no longer seems possible not to take a position, to keep out of things and simply look away whilst the world is confronted with momentous decisions and developments.”

Thomas Schultze, Blickpunkt Film, February 29, 2016

66th Berlinale: the highlights

2016: the world in motion. “We can do it!” the Chancellor dictated into the history books on August 31, 2015. She was referring to the millions of refugees making their way to Europe from Africa and the Middle East. During the following weeks, the German culture of welcome was unparalleled: images of people in Munich applauding refugees arriving at the main railway station went around the world. But gradually disenchantment set in. Refugee hostels went up in flames. Three weeks after the Berlinale ended, the right-wing Alternative für Deutschland (Alternative for Germany) party scored record-breaking results in three state elections and Europe erected barbed-wire fences along its external borders in the name of “security”. A muddy tent city sheltering thousands of refugees grew around the Greek village of Idomeni after Macedonia opted to seal itself off. People died in the attempt to cross the river on the border between Greece and Macedonia. In this regard, the 66th Berlinale was a very special festival. As Rachel Donadio put it on February 21, 2016 in the New York Times: “Perhaps more gripping than any drama onscreen is the one playing out in Germany itself, where the arrival of more than one million asylum-seekers in the past year — 80,000 of them in Berlin — has been challenging the country’s ideas about itself. ”

Gianfranco Rosi at the Award Ceremony in the Berlinale Palast

It is before this particular backdrop that the full power of the International Jury’s decision about the winner of the 2016 Golden Bear becomes apparent: the award went to Fuocoammare, a documentary-style film by Italian director Gianfranco Rosi. It tells the story of Lampedusa, a small Mediterranean island which, for years, has been a focal point of all the wretchedness of being a refugee: a place which at once symbolises the past, the present and the future of the new world order. The personified memory of this despair, the doctor Pietro Bartolo who has followed the movement of refugees since 1991 and has had to tally the number of deaths and raped women on a daily basis, provided for one of the most emotional press conferences of the festival. To see in order to tell: at stake above all else was the visibility of this new world. In the words of Festival Director Dieter Kosslick: “We are seeing the migration of 60 million to 70 million people around the world in front of our eyes. A worldwide catastrophe is happening and we can’t say, as the Germans said in 1945, we didn’t see it, we had no idea” (in an interview with Leo Barraclough in Variety, February 19, 2016).

In this regard, the timing of the 66th Berlinale was a stroke of luck, since the filmmakers had already begun working on their films months or even years before. Hence Gerhard Midding’s accusation that the Competition was “dominated by the current topics of do-gooders’ cinema” (Der Freitag, February 25, 2016) was unfounded. “Rosi’s brilliant images, which neither lose their clarity at night nor under water, [...] make it clear that this film is compelling not only in its subject matter but also aesthetically. The footage of a group of refugees silhouetted against the light whilst their bodies are wrapped in rustling golden survival foil, is unforgettable” (Hannah Pilarczyk, Spiegel Online, February 13, 2016).

Realities

In 2016 the filmmakers interrogated their own capabilities and the implications of their medium. Whilst reviews resorted with striking frequency to the word “reality” to characterise the 66th edition (“reality wins”, “triumph of reality”), it became increasingly apparent that the concept of a monolithic REALITY as such was obsolete. This was visible in films including Fuocoammare in which lives run parallel to each other with hardly any points of intersection. There are the islanders and there are the refugees – and they have very little in common.

Philipp Scheffner on Havarie

In this way, cinema in 2016 proved its absolute necessity, its inexhaustible potential as a space for awareness, memory and reflection. In the individual works, the topic of flight emerged on an aesthetically very high level. A paradigm of this was Havarie in the Forum. Starting from a three-minute video he discovered on YouTube, director Philipp Scheffner undertook extensive research to understand the story behind this clip which depicts a stricken refugee boat in the Mediterranean filmed from the perspective of a cruise liner. When the filmmaker returned to Germany, the media overkill in reporting on the refugee crisis had reached its first peak and Scheffner realised it would be impossible to complete Havarie in the form he had intended. The deluge of images had led to apathy and impotence (“during the work on this film, images overtook reality”, as the film’s synopsis puts it). And so Scheffner expanded the three-minute clip into 90-minute cinema and the statements of the interviewees were now to be heard as voiceover.

The films did not condemn. Instead, each approached the subject matter in its own way. Head of Forum Expanded Stefanie Schulte Strathaus said of her section that there were no films which did not in some way deal with the refugee crisis but the works provided a necessary broadening of context. For example, Now: End of Season by Ayman Nahle which combines images of stranded refugees in Istanbul with a historical phone call between Hafiz al-Assad and Ronald Reagan. In the end, the conversation does not actually take place, Reagan fails to come to the phone and al-Assad is left hanging on the line. The conflicts in which the West, under pressure from refugee movements, is now interested, were seeded in the past – and film is needed to make these connecting lines visible. Because the images in daily news reports simply switch from one crisis (capitalism/the Euro) to the next (refugees) without even mentioning that one perhaps has something to do with the other. Dieter Kosslick made this clear in a conversation with Dirk-Oliver Heckmann (Deutschlandfunk February 10, 2016): “This is the first brutal response to uncontrolled economic globalisation. This is what we have now and it will continue.”

E. Wagner, A. B. Sidibé and M. Siebert on Les Sauteurs

Havarie and Now: End of Season were just two films in a whole range of works which utilised a rigorous uncoupling of sound and image. And in his second work in the Forum, And-Ek-Ghes..., Scheffner presented another cinematic device which proved influential at the 66th Berlinale: he installed his protagonist Colorado Vecu as co-director. From this point onwards, Vecu acted in the double function of director/protagonist and told and staged parts of the story of his arrival in Germany himself. The same technique was deployed by Estephan Wagner and Moritz Siebert in the production of their Danish film Les Sauteurs: whilst filming around the Spanish enclave of Melilla, they employed Abou Bakar Sidibé from Mali as their third director. The view of the border fence, the hope that is Europe, was thus fundamentally changed and the voices of the marginalised and excluded were raised: the refugees were less talked about and their perspective was taken more into account. Life on the Border in Generation seamlessly took up the thread: Kurdish filmmaker Bahman Ghobadi gave children in the Kobanê and Singal refugee camps cameras to enable the audience to see everyday life through the children’s own eyes. The Berlinale itself reacted to the tense situation and the need for integration with calls for donations, sponsored cinema visits and a series of work experience placements for refugees in the different areas of the festival.

Attitude Is Everything

The attitude of the filmmakers towards their subjects was a deciding factor; it became clearer than ever that merely filming the world might produce pictures but these are far from constituting a film. “The attitude is the foundation, and we encourage that in the Talents,” Berlinale Talents Project Manager Christine Tröstrum stated for the record; and Berlinale Shorts Curator Maike Mia Höhne responded to a question regarding the qualities required of a film in her section by saying: “It must have a very strong individual style of the artist and a very strong attitude” (Szene Hamburg, February 12, 2016). This is a type of filmmaking which also has a long tradition in Germany, as evidenced in the 2016 Retrospective “Germany 1966 – Redefining Cinema”, one which addressed the anniversary of a decisive turning point in film history: as young filmmakers in the East and West in the 1960s began to interrogate the socio-political reality on both sides of the Wall, and directors in the West achieved success under the “New German Cinema” label, the 11th plenum of the Socialist Unity Party in East Germany decided to ban half of the feature films made in that country. In an interview conducted by Christiane Peitz with Volker Schlöndorff (West) and Wolfgang Kohlhaase (East), Kohlhaase explained: “Cinema was generally politicised. Not as an exaggerated pose but as an attitude. It was to refer to the world. That was something on which all of us at DEFA agreed” (Der Tagesspiegel, February 13, 2016).

Michael Ballhaus and Hanna Schygulla at the Award Ceremony

Someone who began his career in the 1960s as cinematographer for the New German Cinema wunderkind Rainer Werner Fassbinder, provided another emotional highlight of the festival: as guest of the Homage, Michael Ballhaus was awarded the Honorary Golden Bear on February 18, 2016. The Berlin-born 80-year old was received with tremendous warmth. He has collaborated with the most eminent international directors for decades and yet has remained down-to-earth and modest: “Before he realised his dreams and became a cinematographer, he undertook a two-year apprenticeship in a Würzburg photo studio. This taught him humility and a motto which he adopted as his own: ‘My profession is a serving one’” (Der Tagesspiegel, February 17, 2016).

Glamour and Participation

In this respect, Ballhaus was emblematic of how the various demands in 2016 had to be dealt with. The balancing act between glamour and star cinema on the one hand and pressing political and humanitarian challenges on the other was more difficult than ever before. The festival opened with Hail, Caesar!, a nostalgic homage to old Hollywood cinema by Joel and Ethan Coen. An overwhelming festival atmosphere on the first night, star power. Yet, on the festival’s first red carpet, Festival Director Dieter Kosslick gave an emphatic reminder not to forget those who did not have the opportunity to take part. That Hollywood glamour can have a powerfully political effect was demonstrated the next day as George Clooney – part of Hail, Caesar!’s star cast – together with his wife, human rights lawyer Amal Ramzi Alamuddin Clooney, spoke with Angela Merkel in the chancellery about the refugee situation.

Wieland Speck giving the Special Teddy 2016 to Christine Vachon

Flight, forced exile, questions about co-existence, the possibility of integration – all issues which flared up with a new intensity in February 2016 and which the Berlinale has long since focused on. This became clear at a remarkable birthday party: the Teddy, the only official queer film award at an A-list festival, turned a full 30 years old “and whilst in 1987 ‘there were 15 people hanging around in a bookshop and watching films on 16 mm,’ as Teddy-creator and Panorama curator Wieland Speck recalled, today the gala is being broadcast by Arte as a livestream” (Maike Schultz, Berliner Zeitung, February 22, 2016). The film series accompanying the anniversary gave added cause to look back at the section’s own programmatic history as well as at queer history in general and to see how much the politics of cinema have contributed to emancipation and acceptance. And Speck explicitly did not want integration to be understood as a process of subjugation: integration is only possible if both sides encounter each other with mutual respect and on an equal footing.

In the official Panorama programme, the general uncertainty in the face of the world’s “crises” manifested itself in a myriad of sudden events: killing sprees, accidents, self-induced catastrophes and a longing for the return to a homeland. The latter in particular also played an important role in the other sections. For the 2016 edition of Generation, section head Maryanne Redpath stated that the films frequently created fantastic dream worlds and in many cases these surreal universes were safe havens. This was expressed even more clearly by Maike Mia Höhne who understood the Berlinale Shorts programme to be one large cinematic essay driven by the yearning to arrive.

The winners of the 2016 Competition: Gianfranco Rosi, Danis Tanović, Lav Diaz, Mia Hansen-Løve, Trine Dyrholm, Majd Mastoura, Tomasz Wasilewski and Mark Lee Ping-Bing

The Competition Prizes

The Competition could not satisfy the critics with its range as it did last year because some of the films fell short in the eyes of some journalists. However, the overall balance was positive: “The festival must nevertheless be counted as a success: Kosslick has once again managed to draw large media attention to world cinema outside of the Anglo-American mainstream.” (Andreas Borcholte, Spiegel Online, February 21, 2016). And so the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize went to Bosnian-Herzegovinian filmmaker Danis Tanović (for Smrt u Sarajevu / Death in Sarajevo), the Alfred Bauer Prize to Filipino director Lav Diaz who, with his 485-minute epic Hele Sa Hiwagang Hapis (A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery) provided the first 9 am red carpet at the Berlinale and nevertheless excited the audience: “After this film you didn't leave the cinema exhausted but instead inspired, even euphoric. Lav Diaz shows how images can tear down the fortifications of purportedly standardised stories by means of their own meandering, questioning, open narrative” (Katja Nicodemus, Zeit-Online, February 25, 2016). Mark Lee Ping-Bing was honoured for his cinematography in the Chinese entry Chang Jiang Tu (Crosscurrent) by Yang Chao. Majd Mastoura won Best Actor for his performance in Inhebbek Hedi (Hedi) by Mohamed Ben Attia (who also took home the Best First Feature Award). The Tunisian actor dedicated his prize to the victims of the revolution in his homeland and, in doing so, drew attention to a country which in the overkill of the daily political news cycle has already disappeared again off the media’s world map. The rest of the Bears remained in the increasingly shaky political construct that is Europe: Mia Hansen-Løve was honoured as Best Director for L’avenir (Things to Come), Trine Dyrholm as Best Actress for Kollektivet (The Commune) by Thomas Vinterberg and the Silver Bear for Best Script went to Poland, to Tomasz Wasilewski for Zjednoczone stany miłości (United States of Love). The single German Competition entry came away empty-handed in terms of awards but was extensively praised by the critics. On February 20, 2016, James Woodall wrote in The Spectator about Anne Zohra Berrached’s 24 Wochen (24 Weeks): “It grips like nothing else I’ve seen in German cinema in the past decade.”

And so the Berlinale was, in spite of the critical voices, able to continue its success story in 2016. As in the previous years, ticket sales increased, the European Film Market posted record figures and the festival’s profile was further sharpened: “It seems that nowhere is there more discussion about images than here. Whoever talks about film comes to an understanding about their own perspective and that of others, about pain, longing, narrative styles and social morality. About the world we live in and the world we want to live in” (Christiane Peitz, Der Tagesspiegel, February 21, 2016).

Visitors  
Total amount of theater visits 503,900
Tickets sold 335,986
   
Professionals  
Accredited guests (press excl.) 16,770
Countries of origin 122
   
Press  
Journalists 3,804
Countries of origin 86
   
Screenings  
Number of films in the public programme 395
Total amount of public screenings 1,060
   
European Film Market  
Film industry participants 9,230
Number of films 784
Number of screenings 1,124
EFM-Stands
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
182
Number of exhibitors 543
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Participants 583
Countries of origin 52
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Participants 300
Countries of origin 79
   
Annual budget € 23 million
The Berlin International Film Festival receives € 6.5 million in institutional funding from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Berlinale: Chronik


66. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
11. - 21. Februar 2016

„Das bestimmende Thema: Politik und Kunst und ihre feinen, nervösen Verflechtungen in einer Zeit, in der es nicht mehr möglich scheint, keine Haltung einzunehmen, sich rauszuhalten oder einfach wegzusehen, während sich die Welt mit folgenschweren Entscheidungen und Entwicklungen konfrontiert sieht.“

Thomas Schultze, Blickpunkt Film, 29.02.2016

66. Berlinale: Die Highlights

2016: Die Welt in Bewegung. „Wir schaffen das!“ hatte die Bundeskanzlerin am 31.08.2015 in die Geschichtsbücher diktiert. Gemeint war der Andrang der Millionen von Flüchtlingen, die sich aus Afrika und dem Nahen Osten auf den Weg nach Europa machten. Die deutsche Willkommenskultur war in den folgenden Wochen beispiellos: Die Bilder der Münchner, die am Hauptbahnhof den ankommenden Flüchtlingen applaudierten, gingen um die Welt. Doch nach und nach setzte Ernüchterung ein. Flüchtlingsheime brannten. Drei Wochen nach dem Festival erzielte die rechtsgerichtete Partei Alternative für Deutschland Rekordergebnisse bei drei Landtagswahlen und Europa zog unter dem Stichwort „Sicherheit“ Stacheldrahtzäune an den europäischen Außengrenzen hoch. Im griechischen Idomeni entstand eine verschlammte Zeltstadt mit Tausenden von Flüchtlingen, nachdem Mazedonien beschlossen hatte, auf Abschottung zu setzen. Menschen starben bei dem Versuch, den Grenzfluss von Griechenland aus zu überwinden. Die 66. Berlinale war insofern ein ganz besonderes Festival. Wie es Rachel Donadio am 21. Februar 2016 in der New York Times formulierte: „Perhaps more gripping than any drama onscreen is the one playing out in Germany itself, where the arrival of more than one million asylum-seekers in the past year — 80,000 of them in Berlin — has been challenging the country’s ideas about itself.”

Gianfranco Rosi bei der Preisverleihung im Berlinale Palast

Erst vor diesem Hintergrund eröffnet sich die ganze Kraft, die die Entscheidung der Internationalen Jury über den Gewinner des Goldenen Bären 2016 entfaltete: Ausgezeichnet wurde Fuocoammare, ein zum Dokumentarischen neigendes Werk des italienischen Regisseurs Gianfranco Rosi. Er erzählt von Lampedusa, jener kleinen Insel im Mittelmeer, auf der sich das ganze Elend der Flucht schon seit Jahren verdichtete, ein Ort, der gleichzeitig Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft der neuen Weltordnung symbolisierte. Das personifizierte Gedächtnis dieser Verzweiflung, Pietro Bartolo, ein Arzt, der seit 1991 die Flüchtlingsströme verfolgt, tagtäglich die Toten, die vergewaltigten Frauen zählen muss, sorgte für eine der emotionalsten Pressekonferenzen des Festivals. Sehen, um davon zu erzählen: Was auf dem Spiel stand, war zuallererst die Sichtbarkeit dieser neuen Welt. In den Worten von Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick: „We are seeing the migration of 60 million to 70 million people around the world in front of our eyes. A worldwide catastrophe is happening and we can`t say, as the Germans said in 1945, we didn’t see it, we had no idea“ (Im Interview mit Leo Barraclough in Variety, 19.02.2016).

Die 66. Berlinale war in dieser Hinsicht ein Glücksgriff, hatten die Filmemacher doch schon monate- oder jahrelang vorher mit den Arbeiten an ihren Werken begonnen. Gerhard Middings Vorwurf, dass „die News-Themen des Weltverbesserungskinos den Ton“ (Der Freitag, 25.02.) im Wettbewerb angeben würden, lief so ins Leere. „Rosis brillante Bilder, die weder bei Nacht noch unter Wasser an Klarheit einbüßen, machen [...] deutlich, dass dieser Film nicht nur inhaltlich, sondern auch ästhetisch zwingend ist. Unvergesslich die Aufnahmen, in denen eine Gruppe von Geflüchteten im Gegenlicht zu Schemen wird, während ihre Körper in knisternde, goldglitzernde Rettungsfolie gehüllt sind“ (Hannah Pilarczyk, Spiegel Online, 13.02.2016).

Realitäten

Die Filmemacher befragten 2016 intensiv die eigenen Möglichkeiten und die Implikationen ihres Mediums. Während die Kritik auffallend oft das Wort „Realität“ bemühte, um den 66. Jahrgang zu charakterisieren („Die Realität gewinnt“, „Triumph der Realität“), wurde immer deutlicher, dass das Konzept einer monolithischen REALITÄT als solche nicht mehr zu gebrauchen war: Zu besichtigen unter anderem auch in Fuocoammare, in dem die Leben parallel, beinahe ohne Überschneidungspunkte verlaufen. Es gibt die Inselbewohner, es gibt die Geflüchteten – und wenig Gemeinsames.

Philipp Scheffner über Havarie

So bewies das Kino 2016 seine ganze Notwendigkeit, sein unerschöpfliches Potential als Wahrnehmungs-, Erinnerungs- und Reflexionsraum. Das Thema Flucht erschien in den einzelnen Werken auf durchweg hohem ästhetischen Niveau. Paradigmatisch in diesem Sinne war Havarie im Forum: Regisseur Philipp Scheffner hatte ausgehend von einem dreiminütigen Videoclip, den er auf YouTube gefunden hatte, intensiv recherchiert, um die Geschichte dieser Sequenz, die ein havariertes Flüchtlingsboot im Mittelmeer aus der Perspektive eines Kreuzfahrtschiffes zeigt, nachzuvollziehen. Als der Filmemacher zurück nach Deutschland kam, hatte der mediale Overkill der Flüchtlingsberichterstattung einen ersten Höhepunkt erreicht und Scheffner sah sich außerstande, Havarie auf die vorgesehene Art und Weise fertig zu stellen. Die Bilderflut hatte abgestumpft und ohnmächtig gemacht („Während der Arbeit an diesem Film haben die Bilder die Realität überrollt“, wie es in der Synopse des Films heißt). Also dehnte Scheffner die drei Minuten zu 90 Minuten Kino und die Statements der Befragten waren nunmehr im Off zu hören.

Die Filme prangerten nicht an, sondern dachten auf je ihre Weise über das Thema nach. Für das Forum Expanded konstatierte die Leiterin Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, dass es keinen Film gebe, der sich nicht mittelbar mit der Flucht beschäftige, die Werke sorgten jedoch für die notwendige Erweiterung der Kontexte. Etwa Now: End of Season von Ayman Nahle, der Bilder gestrandeter Flüchtlinge in Istanbul mit einem historischen Telefonat zwischen Hafiz al-Assad und Ronald Reagan kombiniert. Das Gespräch kommt nicht zustande, Reagan kommt nicht ans Telefon und lässt al-Assad in der Leitung verhungern. Die Konflikte, für die sich der Westen unter dem Druck der Migrationsströme nun interessierte, waren historisch gewachsen – und um diese Verbindungslinien sichtbar zu machen, brauchte es wiederum den Film, denn das offizielle mediale Bild in der täglichen Berichterstattung stellte einfach nur von der einen Krise (Kapitalismus / Euro) auf die andere Krise (Flüchtlinge) um, ohne auch nur zu erwähnen, dass das eine vielleicht mit dem anderen zu tun hat. Dieter Kosslick stellte das im Gespräch mit Dirk-Oliver Heckmann (Deutschlandfunk 10.02.2016) klar: „Das ist die erste brutale Antwort auf eine ungebremste ökonomische Globalisierung. Das haben wir jetzt und das wird weitergehen.“

E. Wagner, A. B. Sidibé und M. Siebert über Les Sauteurs

Havarie und Now: End of Season waren nur zwei Arbeiten aus einer ganzen Reihe von Filmen, die auf eine strikte Entkopplung von Bild und Ton setzten. Und Scheffner führte mit seinem zweiten Forums-Beitrag And-Ek Ghes... ein weiteres prägendes filmisches Mittel der 66. Berlinale vor: Er installierte den Protagonisten Colorado Vecu als Co-Regisseur. Vecu firmierte fortan in der Doppelfunktion Regisseur/Protagonist und erzählte und inszenierte so seine Geschichte von der Ankunft in Deutschland in Teilen selbst. Die gleiche Technik wandten Estephan Wagner und Moritz Siebert für die Produktion des dänischen Films Les Sauteurs an: Während der Dreharbeiten rund um die spanische Enklave Melilla engagierten sie den Malier Abou Bakar Sidibé als dritten Regisseur. Der Blick auf den Grenzzaun, die Hoffnung Europa veränderte sich so fundamental und die Stimmen jener Marginalisierten und Ausgeschlossenen erhoben sich; es wurde weniger über die Flüchtlinge geredet als ihr Blick aufgenommen. Life on the Border in Generation schloss sich nahtlos an: Der kurdische Filmemacher Bahman Ghobadi überließ Kindern aus den Flüchtlingslagern Kobanê und Singal Kameras, um den Zuschauern die Möglichkeit zu geben, das Leben und den Alltag durch ihre Augen zu sehen. Die Berlinale reagierte ihrerseits auf die angespannte Situation und der Notwendigkeit der Teilhabe mit Spendenaufrufen, Patenschaften für Kinobesuche und einer Reihe von Hospitationen von Flüchtlingen in den verschiedenen Festivalbereichen.

Die Einstellung ist die Einstellung

Die Haltung der Filmemacher zu ihren Sujets rangierte als entscheidendes Kriterium, deutlicher denn je wurde, dass das bloße Abfilmen der Welt zwar Bilder, aber noch keine Filme erzeugt. „Die Haltung ist das Fundament, darin bestärken wir die Talente“, gab die Projektleiterin von Berlinale Talents Christine Tröstrum zu Protokoll und die Kuratorin der Berlinale Shorts Maike Mia Höhne antwortete auf die Frage nach den erforderlichen Qualitäten eines Filmes in ihrer Reihe: „Er muss eine sehr starke Handschrift haben und eine starke Haltung“ (Szene Hamburg, 12.02.2016). Eine Art des Filmemachens, die auch in Deutschland eine lange Tradition besitzt, wie die Retrospektive 2016, „Deutschland 1966 – Filmische Perspektiven in Ost und West“, bewies, die sich mit der Jährung einer tiefen filmgeschichtlichen Zäsur beschäftigte: Als die jungen Filmemacher in Ost und West in den 1960er Jahren begannen, zu beiden Seiten der Mauer den politisch-gesellschaftlichen Alltag zu befragen und die Regisseure im Westen unter dem Label „Neuer Deutscher Film“ Erfolge erzielen konnten, entschied das 11. Plenum der Sozialistischen Einheitspartei in den DDR, die Hälfte aller entstandenen Spielfilme zu verbieten. In einem Interview, das Christiane Peitz mit Volker Schlöndorff (West) und Wolfgang Kohlhaase (Ost) führte, erläuterte Kohlhaase: „Das Kino war insgesamt politisiert. Nicht als ausgestellte Pose, sondern als Haltung. Es sollte sich auf die Welt beziehen. Da waren wir uns einig in der Defa“ (Der Tagesspiegel, 13.02.2016).

Michael Ballhaus und Hanna Schygulla bei der Preisverleihung

Einer, der in den 1960er Jahren als Kameramann des Wunderkindes des Neuen Deutschen Films Rainer Werner Fassbinder seine Karriere begonnen hatte, sorgte für einen weiteren emotionalen Höhepunkt des Festivals: als Gast der Hommage wurde Michael Ballhaus am 18. Februar der Goldene Ehrenbär verliehen. Die Sympathien flogen dem in Berlin geborenen 80jährigen nur so zu. Er hatte mit den bedeutendsten internationalen Regisseuren über Jahrzehnte hinweg zusammengearbeitet und blieb dabei doch immer bodenständig und bescheiden: „Bevor er sich seinen Traum erfüllte und Kameramann wurde, machte er zwei Jahre in einem Foto-Atelier in Würzburg eine Lehre. Das lehrt Demut und ein Motto, das er sich zu Eigen machte: „Mein Beruf ist ein dienender“ (Der Tagesspiegel, 17.02.2016).

Glanz und Teilhabe

Ballhaus stand in diesem Sinne sinnbildlich für den Umgang mit den verschiedenen Erfordernissen 2016. Der Spagat zwischen Glamour und Starkino auf der einen und den drängenden politischen und menschlichen Herausforderungen auf der anderen Seite war schwierig wie nie. Eröffnet hatte das Festival Hail, Caesar!, eine nostalgische Hommage ans alte Hollywood-Kino von Joel und Ethan Coen. Berauschende Festivalatmosphäre am ersten Abend, Starpower. Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick mahnte auf dem ersten Roten Teppich des Festivals eindringlich, jene nicht zu vergessen, die nicht die Möglichkeit hätten, teilzunehmen. Und dass die Strahlkraft Hollywoods durchaus politisch wirken kann, zeigte sich am Tag darauf, als George Clooney - Teil des Hail, Caesar!-Starensembles zusammen mit seiner Frau, der Menschenrechtsanwältin Amal Ramzi Alamuddin Clooney im Kanzleramt mit Angela Merkel über die Flüchtlingssituation sprachen.

Wieland Speck überreicht Christine Vachon den Special Teddy 2016

Flucht, Vertreibung, Fragen des Zusammenlebens, die Möglichkeit auf Integration – Fragen, die im Februar 2016 mit neuer Heftigkeit aufflammten und die die Berlinale seit jeher beschäftigt hatten. Deutlich wurde dies an einer fulminanten Geburtstagsparty: der Teddy wurde als einziger offizieller queerer Filmpreis auf einem A-Festival satte 30 Jahre alt „,und während man 1987 noch „mit 15 Leuten in einem Buchladen hockte und Filme auf 16 Millimeter schaute‘, wie Teddy-Erfinder und Panorama-Chef Wieland Speck erinnerte, wird die Gala heute von Arte per Livestream übertragen“ (Maike Schultz, Berliner Zeitung, 22.02.2016). Die beigeordnete Filmreihe zum Jubiläum gab noch einmal Anlass, in die eigene programmatische und queere Geschichte zu blicken und zu sehen, wie viel die Politik des Kinos zu Emanzipation und Akzeptanz beigetragen hatte. Und Speck wollte Integration explizit nicht als einen Prozess der Unterwerfung verstanden haben, Integration sei nur möglich, wenn man sich in gegenseitigem Respekt auf Augenhöhe begegne.

Im offiziellen Programm des Panoramas drückte sich die Unsicherheit angesichts der „Krisen“ dieser Welt in einer Vielzahl von Plötzlichkeiten aus: Amokläufe, Unfälle, selbstinduzierte Katastrophen und eine Sehnsucht nach Rückkehr in die Heimat. Besonders letzteres spielte auch in den anderen Sektionen eine wichtige Rolle. Für den 2016er Jahrgang von Generation konstatierte Sektionsleiterin Maryanne Redpath, dass die Filme häufig fantastische Traumwelten inszenierten und in vielen Fällen diese surrealen Kosmen Zufluchtsorte seien. Noch deutlicher wurde Maike Mia Höhne, denn sie verstand das Berlinale-Shorts-Programm als ein großes filmisches Essay, getrieben von der Sehnsucht anzukommen.

Die Gewinner im Wettbewerb 2016: Gianfranco Rosi, Danis Tanović, Lav Diaz, Mia Hansen-Løve, Trine Dyrholm, Majd Mastoura, Tomasz Wasilewski und Mark Lee Ping-Bing

Die Preise im Wettbewerb

Der Wettbewerb konnte in seiner Breite die Kritik nicht auf gleiche Weise überzeugen wie im Jahr zuvor, denn einige der Filme fielen in den Augen einiger Journalisten durch. Dennoch war die Gesamtbilanz positiv: „Als Erfolg muss dieses Festival trotzdem gelten: Kosslick ist es erneut gelungen, dem Weltkino abseits des anglo-amerikanischen Mainstreams große mediale Aufmerksamkeit zu verschaffen“ (Andreas Borcholte, Spiegel Online, 21.02.2016). So ging der Silberne Bär Großer Preis der Jury an den bosnisch-herzegowinischen Filmemacher Danis Tanović (für Smrt u Sarajevu / Mort à Sarajevo), der Alfred-Bauer-Preis an den philippinischen Regisseur Lav Diaz, der mit seinem 485minütigen Epos für den ersten Roten Teppich um 9 Uhr morgens bei der Berlinale gesorgt hatte und dennoch begeisterte: „Nach diesem Film verließ man das Kino nicht ermüdet, sondern beflügelt, ja euphorisiert. Lav Diaz führt vor Augen, wie Bilder das Bollwerk der vermeintlich vorgeschriebenen Geschichten einreißen können, mit einer eigenen, mäandernden, fragenden, offenen Erzählung.“ (Katja Nicodemus, Zeit-Online, 25.02.2016). Für seine Kameraarbeit im chinesischen Beitrag Chang Jiang Tu von Yang Chao wurde Mark Lee Ping-Bing geehrt. Als Bester Darsteller wurde Majd Mastoura für seine Rolle in Inhebbek Hedi von Mohamed Ben Attia ausgezeichnet (der auch den Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm einstreichen konnte). Der tunesische Schauspieler widmete seinen Preis den Opfern der heimischen Revolution und machte somit aufmerksam auf ein Land, das unter dem tagespolitischen Overkill schon wieder von der medialen Weltkarte verschwunden war. Die restlichen Bären blieben im immer wackligeren politischen Konstrukt Europa: Mia Hansen-Løve wurde für L’avenir mit dem Regiepreis ausgezeichnet, Trine Dyrholm als Beste Darstellerin (in Kollektivet von Thomas Vinterberg) und der Silberne Bär für das Beste Drehbuch ging nach Polen, an Tomasz Wasilewski (für Zjednoczone stany miłości). Der einzige deutsche Beitrag im Wettbewerb ging leer aus, wurde aber von der Kritik ausgiebig gefeiert. James Woodall schrieb am 20.02.2016 in The Spectator über Anne Zohra Berracheds 24 Wochen: „It grips like nothing else I’ve seen in German cinema in the past decade”.

Und so konnte die Berlinale trotz der kritischen Stimmen 2016 ihre Erfolgsstory fortschreiben. Die Kartenverkäufe gingen wie in den Jahren zuvor nach oben, der European Film Market verbuchte Rekordzahlen und das Profil des Festivals wurde weiter geschärft: „Nirgendwo sonst dürfte mehr über Bilder diskutiert werden als hier. Wer über Filme redet, verständigt sich über den eigenen Blickwinkel und den der anderen, über Schmerzen, Sehnsüchte, Erzählweisen und soziale Moral. Darüber, in welcher Welt wir leben, in welcher wir leben wollen“ (Christiane Peitz, Der Tagesspiegel, 21.02.2016).

Besucher  
Kinobesuche 503.900
Verkaufte Eintrittskarten 335.986
   
Fachbesucher  
Akkreditierte Fachbesucher (ohne Presse) 16.770
Herkunftsländer 122
   
Presse  
Pressevertreter 3.804
Herkunftsländer 86
   
Screenings  
Anzahl Filme im öffentlichen Programm 395
Anzahl öffentlicher Vorführungen 1.060
   
European Film Market  
Fachbesucher 9.121
Anzahl Filme 784
Anzahl Screenings 1.124
Stände auf dem EFM
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
181
Anzahl Aussteller 543
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Teilnehmer 583
Herkunftsländer 52
   
Berlinale Talents  
Teilnehmer 300
Herkunftsländer 79
   
Jahresbudget € 23 Mio.
Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin erhalten eine institutionelle Förderung in Höhe von € 6,7 Mio. von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.