Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition (out of competition)

Cinderella

 

David Barron (Producer), Helena Bonham Carter, Richard Madden, Lily James (Cast), Kenneth Branagh (Director), Cate Blanchett, Stellan Skarsgård (Cast), Allison Shearmur (Producer), Sandy Powell (Costume Design)
Moderation: Anatol Weber

Press Conference at full length
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Following the tragic death of her mother, Ella's father remarries. When he also dies, Ella is left at the mercy of the caprices and cruelties of her stepmother and her daughters. She is demoted to being a servant and renamed "Cinder-ella". Ella appears to find a soulmate in a good-looking stranger whom she assumes to be an attendant at the royal palace. When the court throws a grand ball, Ella is forbidden to attend but gains unexpected help from a good fairy ...
The famous fairy tale from the Brothers Grimm has inspired numerous filmmakers. At the very first Berlinale in 1951 the now legendary Disney animated version of the story won the Golden Bear in the film musical category. Now, with an eye for visual opulence, dramatic timing and wit, Kenneth Branagh reinterprets the tale as a timeless love story. The live-action film features rising young stars such as Lily James (Downton Abbey) and Richard Madden (Game of Thrones) alongside international acting greats. The film's look is taken care of by production designer Dante Ferretti (Hugo Cabret) and costume designer Sandy Powell (Gangs of New York).

USA / United Kingdom 2014, 105 min

by

Kenneth Branagh

with

Cate Blanchett
Lily James
Richard Madden
Stellan Skarsgård
Holliday Grainger
Sophie McShera
Derek Jacobi
Helena Bonham Carter

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb (außer Konkurrenz)

Cinderella

 

David Barron (Produzent), Helena Bonham Carter, Richard Madden, Lily James (Schauspieler), Kenneth Branagh (Regisseur), Cate Blanchett, Stellan Skarsgård (Schauspieler), Allison Shearmur (Produzentin), Sandy Powell (Kostümdesign)
Moderation: Anatol Weber

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Ellas Vater heiratet nach dem tragischen Tod ihrer Mutter erneut. Als auch er stirbt, ist sie den Launen und Grausamkeiten ihrer Stiefmutter und deren Töchtern schutzlos ausgeliefert. Sie wird zur Dienerin degradiert und "schmutzige Ella", Cinderella, genannt. In einem gut aussehenden Fremden, den sie für einen Bediensteten des königlichen Palasts hält, scheint Ella einen Seelenverwandten gefunden zu haben. Als der Hof zum großen Ball lädt, Ella der Besuch jedoch verboten wird, bekommt sie unerwartet Hilfe von einer guten Fee …
Das berühmte Märchen der Brüder Grimm hat zahlreiche Filmemacher inspiriert. Auf der ersten Berlinale, 1951, gewann der inzwischen legendäre Disney-Animationsfilm den Goldenen Bären in der Kategorie Musikfilm. Nun interpretiert Kenneth Branagh mit Gespür für visuelle Opulenz, dramaturgisches Timing und Witz den Stoff als zeitlose Liebesgeschichte neu. In der Realverfilmung besetzt er Jungstars wie Lily James (Downton Abbey) und Richard Madden (Game of Thrones) neben internationalen Schauspielgrößen. Für den Look des Films sorgen Produktionsdesigner Dante Ferretti (Hugo Cabret) und Kostümbildnerin Sandy Powell (Gangs of New York).

USA / Großbritannien 2014, 105 Min

von

Kenneth Branagh

mit

Cate Blanchett
Lily James
Richard Madden
Stellan Skarsgård
Holliday Grainger
Sophie McShera
Derek Jacobi
Helena Bonham Carter