Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Grand Budapest Hotel

Director, Screenwriter: Wes Anderson / Cast: Ralph Fiennes , Tony Revolori, Willem Dafoe, Bill Murray, Jeff Goldblum, Tilda Swinton, Edward Norton, Saoirse Ronan / Co-Producer: Jeremy Dawson / Moderation: Anatol Weber

Press Conference at full length
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
A hotel foyer is not unlike a stage, and legendary concierge Monsieur Gustave is the tacit director of many a wonderful entrance or exit in this particular hotel. He knows the proclivities and secret desires of his eccentric guests who come from far and wide. Some of the ladies in particular are most grateful. One such individual is quirky Madame D, who bequeaths Gustave a valuable Renaissance painting. Her resentful son Dimitri accuses Gustave of having murdered his mother and of legacy hunting. Gustave winds up in prison. But thanks to his knowledge of human nature, a bald fellow inmate and some gaudy patisserie, he manages to secure his release. When turbulent events show no signs of abating, lobby boy Zero Moustafa becomes his confidante. Together they set off in search of the missing painting. They soon find themselves caught up in a dangerous row about family assets as well as in the turmoil of a rapidly changing society between the wars.
Wes Anderson specialises in enigmatic tragicomedies peopled by eccentric individuals. His work was previously screened at the Berlinale Competition in 2002 with The Royal Tenenbaums and again in 2005 with The Life Acquatic.

United Kingdom / Germany 2014, 100 min

by

Wes Anderson

with

Ralph Fiennes
Tony Revolori
F. Murray Abraham
Mathieu Amalric
Adrien Brody

World Sales

Fox Searchlight Pictures

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Grand Budapest Hotel

Regisseur, Drehbuchautor: Wes Anderson / Darsteller: Ralph Fiennes, Tony Revolori, Willem Dafoe, Bill Murray, Jeff Goldblum, Tilda Swinton, Edward Norton, Saoirse Ronan / Co-Produzent: Jeremy Dawson / Moderation: Anatol Weber

Pressekonferenz in voller Länge
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Das Hotelfoyer als Theater der Welt. Heimlicher Regisseur wunderbarer Auf- und Abtritte ist der legendäre Concierge Monsieur Gustave. Er kennt die Vorlieben und geheimen Wünsche seiner weit gereisten exzentrischen Gäste. Einige Damen wissen es ihm zu danken. So die schrullige Madame D., die ihm ein wertvolles Renaissancegemälde vermacht. Doch ihr missgünstiger Sohn Dimitri beschuldigt Gustave des Mordes an seiner Mutter und der Erbschleicherei. Gustave landet im Gefängnis. Dank seiner Menschenkenntnis, des glatzköpfigen Mitinsassen Ludwig und grellfarbiger Patisserie vermag er sich zu befreien. Im Zuge weiterer turbulenter Ereignisse wird der Page Zero Moustafa sein Vertrauter. Gemeinsam gehen sie auf die Suche nach dem verschwundenen Gemälde, geraten in einen gefährlichen Streit um ein Familienvermögen und in die Wirren einer sich plötzlich dramatisch verändernden Gesellschaft der Zwischenkriegszeit.
Wes Anderson ist Spezialist für hintersinnige Tragikomödien mit exzentrischem Personal. Er war bereits mit Die Royal Tenenbaums (2002) und Die Tiefseetaucher (2005) im Wettbewerb der Berlinale vertreten.

Großbritannien / Deutschland 2014, 100 Min

von

Wes Anderson

mit

Ralph Fiennes
Tony Revolori
F. Murray Abraham
Mathieu Amalric
Adrien Brody

Weltvertrieb

Fox Searchlight Pictures