Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Forum Expanded

umsonst

for nothing

## ## ## ## ## ##
Unannounced, Aziza is once again standing in her room – internship, Portugal, everything canceled. But her room is occupied. Her mother, Trixi, has rented it out. Zach lives there now, a twenty-something from New Zealand, who came to Germany on a one-way ticket. Starting from this situation, the film develops an almost documentary-style portrait of a Kreuzberg ‘situation’: everything is readily available, time, people, summer, streets. And in the end a crash, the film itself: ‘for nothing’?

Clustering together in a neighborhood, sitting on the street doing nothing or very little, does this have a method? Is there something ‘meant’ by the Kreuzkölln situation of sitting-in-the-sun, using the streets like a bar, and singing on the streets - even if no one is even trying to ‘mean’ or ‘say’ anything? And yet: this use of the city, persisting on getting by without money, insisting on having time, this ‘demonstrates’ something. And what if it were just a way of reacting to the word ‘crisis’? To film the condition and to capture a story in it. People that live here, others that have joined them, stay for an undetermined time, leave, interrupt, also just to end this story altogether. (Stephan Geene)

Stephan Geene is an artist, umsonst is his second feature-length film after AFTER EFFECT (2008). Alongside theatrical works with minimal club and above all film works in various exhibition contexts (including with Judith Hopf), he works with the collective b_books (bookshop, publisher, events space, and film production), as a theorist and translator (of Jacques Derrida, Maurizio Lazzarato, Beatriz Preciado und Jacques Rancière). Most recent publication: Film Avantgarde Biopolitik (co-edited with Sabeth Buchmann and Helmut Draxler), Vienna 2009.

Germany 2014, 93 min

by

Stephan Geene

with

Ceci Chuh
Elliot McKee
Vivian Daniel
Seynep Saleh
Imri Kahn

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

umsonst

for nothing

## ## ## ## ## ##
Aziza steht unangekündigt wieder in ihrem Zimmer – Praktikum, Portugal, alles abgebrochen. Aber ihr Zimmer ist besetzt, die Mutter, Trixi, hat das Zimmer vermietet. Zach wohnt jetzt dort, aus Neuseeland ist er mit einem One-Way-Ticket nach Berlin gekommen. Aus dieser Situation entwickelt der Film ein fast dokumentarisches Porträt einer Kreuzberger ‚Situation’: alles ist da, zur Verfügung, Zeit, Menschen, Sommer, Straße. Und am Ende ein Absturz, der Film selbst: ‚umsonst’?

Sich in einem Stadtteil zusammenballen, auf der Straße sitzen und nichts oder wenig tun, hat das Methode? Gibt es da etwas, was mit dem Kreuzköllner Zustand von In-der-Sonne-Sitzen, die Straße als Bar zu verwenden und mit Gitarre auf der Straße zu singen ‚gemeint’ ist – auch wenn ja gerade niemand irgendetwas ‚meinen’ oder ‚sagen’ will? Und doch: diese Verwendung der Stadt, das Beharren auf geldlosem Umgang, das Bestehen darauf, Zeit zu haben, das ‚demonstriert’ etwas. Und wenn es nur eine Form wäre, auf das Wort ‚Krise’ zu reagieren? Den Zustand filmen und darin eine Geschichte anfangen lassen. Personen, die hier wohnen, andere, die dazu kommen, unbestimmte Zeit bleiben, gehen, unterbrechen, um eben auch diese Geschichte insgesamt zu beenden. (Stephan Geene)

Stephan Geene ist Künstler, umsonst ist sein zweiter Langfilm nach AFTER EFFECT (2008). Neben Theaterarbeiten mit minimal club und vor allem filmischen Ausstellungsbeiträgen in unterschiedlichen Kontexten (u.a. mit Judith Hopf) arbeitet er im Rahmen des Kollektivs b_books (Buchladen, Verlag, Veranstaltungsraum und Filmproduktion) als Theoretiker und Übersetzer (von Jacques Derrida, Maurizio Lazzarato, Beatriz Preciado und Jacques Rancière). Letzte Buchveröffentlichung: Film Avantgarde Biopolitik (Hg. zusammen mit Sabeth Buchmann und Helmut Draxler), Wien 2009.

Deutschland 2014, 93 Min

von

Stephan Geene

mit

Ceci Chuh
Elliot McKee
Vivian Daniel
Seynep Saleh
Imri Kahn