Berlinale: Yearbook


62nd Berlin International Film Festival
February 09 - 19, 2012

“This was one of the best Berlinales in years, perhaps the best of the Kosslick era. Everything was just right: there were strong films and the film market was the best attended since its creation. Ticket sales reached a new record.”

Peter Zander, Berliner Morgenpost, 19.02.2012

Highlights of the Berlinale 2012

Following the intoxicating transformations and revolutions of the previous year, global politics were marked by a somberness in 2012. The crises in finance and in the Arab world proved to be permanent, the euro had to be saved month after month, and the hopes linked to the Arab Spring were overshadowed by current events in Syria: “In Syria the Arabellion isn’t confined to one spring. In Syria the bloodbath is stretched over the entire year,” wrote Tomas Avenarius in the Süddeutsche Zeitung two days before the beginning of the festival. In the midst of this climate of disillusionment, the cinema illusion machine was ruptured in the form of the 62nd Berlinale, which was highly praised by critics and audience alike, a festival which knew how to dream and provide a new perspective on the pressing political events in the world.

The actresses of the opening film: Diane Kruger, Virginie Ledoyen, Léa Seydoux

The 2012 opening film came from France: In Les Adieux à la Reine (Farewell My Queen) the old master Benoït Jacquot depicted daily life amidst the royals in the final days of the French Revolution of 1789 and the slowly growing unrest in Versailles in light of the news of the people’s rebellion. Parallels to the current political upheaval were swiftly drawn. On February 10, 2012 Wenke Husmann wrote on zeit.de: “Basically what we’re seeing is an analysis of the end of a form of government, as it continues to happen today.”

At the opening gala festival director Dieter Kosslick and Anke Engelke, who again provided lively moderation for the opening night, introduced the members of the International Jury 2012. The English filmmaker Mike Leigh assumed the presidency of the jury, and was joined by renowned personalities, such as the American actor Jake Gyllenhaal, the actress and singer Charlotte Gainsbourg and the winner of the Golden Bear 2011, Asghar Farhadi.

Surprising and surprised winners

When, ten days later, following a strong, much-praised Competition, the Jury again took the stage in the Berlinale Palast to present the awards, Mike Leigh and his co-jurors surprised both the audience and the critics. Favourites like Christian Petzold’s Barbara (Silver Bear – Best Director), Bence Fliegauf’s Csak a szél (Just The Wind) (Jury Grand Prix – Silver Bear) and Miguel Gomes’ Tabu (Alfred Bauer Award) had already received their honours before the announcement of the main award, while the Golden Bear went to the great Italian directors Paolo and Vittorio Taviani. In Cesare deve morire (Caesar must die), they tell of the unbroken power of art – inmates in an Italian prison stage Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar, through which they gain another perspective on their own lives.

Happy winners: Paolo and Vittorio Taviani, Rachel Mwanza

All were pleased over the joy of the Congolese actress Rachel Mwanza, who unexpectedly won the Silver Bear for Best Actress for her performance as a child soldier in Rebelle (War Witch) by Kim Nguyen. She made her way to the stage overjoyed – as did the male recipient: Mikkel Boe Følsgaard received the Silver Bear for Best Actor in Nikolaj Arcel’s historical drama En Kongelig Affære (A Royal Affair). The co-production from Zentropa also secured a second award: Nikolaj Arcel and Rasmus Heisterberg took the Silver Bear for the Best Script. The German cameraman Lutz Reitemeier was honored for his exceptional artistic work in Bai lu yuan (White Deer Plain) directed by Wang Quan'an. And, as if the jurors had already sensed the partially critical reaction to their main decision in advance, they presented an additional special prize not foreseen in the festival statutes: the French-born and Swiss-raised Ursula Meier received a Silver Bear for her film L’enfant d’en haut (Sister), which had been discussed as a possible candidate for the Golden Bear in the run-up to the awards ceremony.

The pleasure of the audience

The Berlinale again lived up to its reputation as the world’s biggest audience festival, which could be seen not just in the ticket sales statistics, but also every day on and around the Red Carpet. The enthusiasm of Berliners knew no limits and they were rewarded with countless stars. Shah Rukh Khan caused a near state of emergency at the premiere of Don – The King is Back (director Farhan Akhtar) in the Friedrichstadt-Palast. To name a few more who came: Diane Kruger, Juliette Binoche, Salma Hayek, Antonio Banderas, Clive Owen, Isabelle Huppert, Andie MacDowell, Michael Fassbender, Keanu Reeves – a non-stop flow of celebrities. They were only trumped by the buzz surrounding the young actor Robert Pattinson, whose new haircut dominated the headlines for days. Expectedly, the critics distanced themselves from the sensationalism and were simply thankful for the good films that they could enjoy beyond the tabloid chatter: “The Competition impressed with world premieres and many thematically and artistically relevant films – as unknown as many of the names might still be. Such talents become big names through clever festival programmers, smart juries – and passionate audiences (Jan Schulz-Ojala, Tagesspiegel, 20.02.2012).

Giving thanks to the audience: Meryl Streep on the stage of the Berlinale Palast

February 14 saw frenetic celebration of one of the most outstanding actresses in the world of film: Meryl Streep received the Honorary Golden Bear for her lifework. The supposedly so-critical members of the journalistic class gave presents to the American during the afternoon Press Conference for The Iron Lady, while she nonchalantly spoke about Margaret Thatcher’s accomplishments in the struggle for women’s liberation. The spread of unscrupulous neo-liberalism as the one and only valid global ideology seemed to be forgotten amidst Streep’s charm, which enchanted the fans on the Red Carpet that evening. Jake Gyllenhaal, who has been befriended with Streep’s son since childhood, held the laudatory speech and a deeply moved Meryl Streep accepted the award. Shortly after the Berlinale she was slated to receive the Oscar for her Thatcher portrayal in Phyllida Lloyd’s film. The Homage was also dedicated to the American actress and showed a selection of her works.

In 2012 the Berlinale Cameras went to the central founding father of new German film, Haro Senft, the revolutionary of cinema sound Ray Dolby and the Studio Babelsberg, which celebrated its 100th birthday. This was also the occasion to honour the Brandenburg studio with a small retrospective – ten films from ten decades of studio history.

A new venue

The Berlinale was able to win a new venue in 2012 – the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. The possibilities of the building were tested with film talks which took place following each film screening. The series began with a bombshell: Angelina Jolie presented her directorial debut In the Land of Blood and Honey and brought Brad Pitt along for the premiere – the Haus der Berliner Festspiele was packed to the hilt. After the screening the American filmmaker discussed her motives and techniques with Jasmila Žbanić (Golden Bear 2006 for Grbavica). The following days saw further highlights with Werner Herzog, Keanu Reeves, Javier Bardem and others on the programme. The format for the events was deliberately kept open with discussions between filmmakers, audience discussions, expert discussions – whatever fit best to the film of the evening.

On the stage of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele: Angelina Jolie talking to Jasmila Žbanić, Keanu Reeves

"Berlinale Goes Kiez", the special series that was launched for the 60th Berlinale and has since brought the Flying Red Carpet to neighborhood repertory cinemas, continued to be a huge success in 2012 and the cinema operators enjoyed sold-out theatres.

In Panorama, the Finnish, partially crowd-funded Iron Sky by Timo Vuorensola caused a stir in the media. A group of Nazis escapes to the dark side of the moon in 1945 in order to try to conquer the world in 2018 – trash and exploitation with Götz Otto and Udo Kier. But the Panorama 2012 focused on the Arab Spring and made its contribution to the thematic focus of the Berlinale 2012. With films such as The Reluctant Revolutionary, the opening film of Panorama Dokumente, in which the British filmmaker Sean McAllister travels to Yemen in order to portray the country’s last tour guide and stumbles with his protagonist into the beginning of the Yemeni Arabellion. Romuald Karmakar threw the perspective of the democracy movements in the Arab world back towards Germany and with his purist cinematic documentation screened at an event in the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, showed how people, fascinated by faraway revolts perhaps forget how much freedom is endangered in their own countries. Christina Bylow wrote in the Berliner Zeitung on February 15, 2012, that Angriff auf die Demokratie – Eine Intervention (Attack on Democracy. An Intervention) was an "Outcry that was long overdue." Apart from genre movies and political films, the queer memory – always a core part of the Panorama – formed the third pillar of the programme.

Presenting his film Puthisen Neang Kongrey in Berlin: the Cambodian director Ly Bun Yim

Strong entries in the sections

As in 2011, intergenerational conflict was a central theme in the Forum. The section focused on the blind spots of global image-making, with an emphasis on the tsunami and ensuing nuclear accident in Fukushima. Three films from three different directors, each who approached the invisible heart of the disaster. Praise was heaped upon the small series dedicated to the nearly extinguished Cambodian filmmaking of the 1960s and early 1970s. Christoph Terhechte’s team managed to bring viewable prints of three works to Berlin. They were shown as representatives of an entire generation of Cambodian filmmakers that was nearly totally annihilated when the Khmer Rouge took power. Andreas Busche wrote in the tageszeitung on February 2, 2012: “What was shown on the screen couldn’t be outdone in terms of creativity, folkloric curiosity and primitive fantasy in the most beautiful sense […]. When, later in the night, the lights went on in the cinema, we felt as if we had just awoken from a dream.” The praise was all the more beautiful since the Cambodian cineastes of that time effectively refused to give in to demands for faster, more precise reports and political engagement.

With Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank), the Forum displayed a good measure of self-irony: What does a Filipino film need to be shown at the Berlinale? A trash dump, starving kids and a story of abuse! No sooner said than done! The Forum did in fact invite the director Marlon N. Rivera and his team to Berlin. “The subject is the exploitative mechanism of the global festival circus, which is thoroughly capable of controlling the image production of countries that are marginal in terms of the film industry, until the next ‘young, wild cinema’ is discovered in a far-flung corner of the world and the caravan moves on.” (Alexandra Seitz, Berliner Zeitung, 13.02.2012).

The Generation section entered its 35th year well and section head Maryanne Redpath was happy that its second year in a dedicated venue, namely the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, was as successful as its premiere in 2011. Thematically, many of the films dealt with departures from rigid structures and paths toward one’s true self – which can sometimes be found by returning to one’s roots.

The winners of Dialogue en Perspective Ronald Vietz (producer) uand Marten Persiel (director) at „Made in Germany - Reden über Film“

In Perspektive Deutsches Kino the winner of the Dialogue en Perspective award, This Ain’t California by Martin Persiel pleased audiences and critics alike: “With music by Alphaville, Anne Clark, Trentemoeller, Picturebooks and Die Ärzte, the film is a riveting look back to a past, which says much about the lives of young people in the GDR. Martin Persiel never betrays his material, because the authenticity of the overall image stands above the authenticity of the individual image,” wrote Torsten Körner in the Tagesspiegel (11.02.2012). Section director Linda Söffker was able to successfully make it through her second year in the position – which she beforehand openly described as the more difficult of the two. The tendency to invite less projects from film schools and more independent productions continued to leave its mark. Perspektive Deutsches Kino celebrated a premiere with the series "Made in Germany – Reden über Film", which extended the discourse about filmmaking in Germany beyond the audience discussions following festival screenings.

Die Retrospective 2012 was dedicated to the (nearly) forgotten German-Russian film studio Mezhrabpom, the "Red Dream Factory" – also the title of the accompanying publication. Following the return of an already canonized auteur – Ingmar Bergmann – in the Retrospective 2011, the critics praised the newly awakened ambitions of the festival organizers: "This unknown chapter in film history lies at the center of this year’s Berlinale Retrospective – the first in a long time that has contributed to film-historical research." (Gerhard Midding, Die Welt, 10.02.2012)

"In the Limelight: Nuri Bilge Ceylan": the Turkish director with the programme manager of the Talent Campus Matthijs Wouter Knol in the Theater Hebbel am Ufer

Under the motto “Changing Perspectives“, the Berlinale Talent Campus celebrated its tenth anniversary. The mixture of (public) discussions, tailor-made programs and courses, established filmmakers and young talents, is now a permanent fixture of the Berlinale. Around 150 experts came to the events in the Hebbel am Ufer theater, including Keanu Reeves, Tony Gatlif and Brillante Mendoza.

The European Film Market reported record visitor numbers; 1739 international buyers came to the Martin-Gropius-Bau and the Marriott Hotel – the best result since its formation. An especially positive trend was that Chinese buyers are displaying more and more interest in international film.

The individual sections contributed so much to the euphoria displayed by guests, visitors and critics towards the 62nd Berlinale. Rather than trying to catch up with the latest global events, the 2012 festival found its own way between actuality and reflection. It turned out that cinema, even if it wishes to influence the construction of reality, is strongest as a space for reflection, away from the round-the-clock news reports. “Slowness has become a valuable commodity. This applies to current or only recently current events. But it applies also to the stories that we tell about ourselves” (Verena Lueken, FAZ, 17.02.2012)

Visitors  
Total amount of theater visits 444,402
Tickets sold 299,362
   
Professionals  
Accredited guests (press excl.) 15,923
Countries of origin 130
   
Press  
Journalists 3,838
Countries of origin 86
   
Website www.berlinale.de
Dec 1, 2011 - Feb 28, 2012
 
Page Views 14,539,038
Visits 1,723,128
   
Mobile website m.berlinale.de
Feb 1 - Feb 28, 2012
 
Page Views 87,843
Visits 41,242
   
Screenings  
Number of films in the public programme 402
(incl. 106 short films)
Total amount of public screenings 953
   
European Film Market  
Film industry participants 7,920
Number of films 761
Number of screenings 1,090
EFM-Stands
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
154
Number of exhibitors 403
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Participants 432
Countries of origin 46
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Participants 350
Countries of origin 87
   
Annual budget € 19.5 million
The Berlin International Film Festival receives € 6.5 million in institutional funding from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media in accordance with a decision by the German Bundestag.

Berlinale: Chronik


62. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
09. - 19. Februar 2012

„Dies war eine der besten Berlinalen seit Jahren, vielleicht die beste in der Ära Kosslick. Es stimmte einfach alles: Es gab starke Filme, der Filmmarkt war der bestbesuchte seit seinem Bestehen. Der Ticketverkauf hat wieder neue Rekorde erzielt.“

Peter Zander, Berliner Morgenpost, 19.02.2012

Highlights der Berlinale 2012

Nach den berauschenden Umbrüchen und Revolutionen des vergangenen Jahres stellte sich 2012 Ernüchterung in der Weltpolitik ein. Die Krisen in der Finanzwirtschaft und im arabischen Raum hatten sich als permanent erwiesen, der Euro musste Monat um Monat neu gerettet werden, die Hoffnungen, die sich mit dem arabischen Frühling verbunden hatten, wurden von den aktuellen Geschehnissen in Syrien überschattet: „In Syrien beschränkt sich die Arabellion nicht auf einen Frühling, in Syrien wird das Blutbad das ganze Jahr über angerichtet“, schrieb Tomas Avenarius zwei Tage vor Festivalbeginn in der Süddeutschen Zeitung. Und mitten in dieses Klima der Desillusionierung platzte die Illusionsmaschine Kino in Gestalt einer von Kritik und Besuchern gleichermaßen hochgelobten 62. Berlinale, die sowohl zu träumen wusste als auch neue Perspektiven auf die so drängenden politischen Geschehnisse warf.

Die Schauspielerinnen des Eröffnungsfilms: Diane Kruger, Virginie Ledoyen, Léa Seydoux

Der Eröffnungsfilm kam 2012 aus Frankreich: In Les Adieux à la Reine (Leb wohl, meine Königin!) zeigte Altmeister Benoït Jacquot den königlichen Alltag in den Tagen vor der Französischen Revolution 1789 und die nur langsam aufkommende Unruhe in Versailles angesichts der eintreffenden Nachrichten vom rebellischen Gebaren des Volkes. Die Parallelen zu den aktuellen politischen Umbrüchen wurden schnell gezogen, Wenke Husmann schrieb am 10.02.2012 auf zeit.de: „Doch im Grunde ist das, was wir sehen, die Analyse des Endes einer Staatsform, wie es auch heute noch stattfindet.“

Bei der Eröffnungsgala stellten Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick und Anke Engelke, die erneut die unverfrorene Moderatorin der Eröffnungsgala gab, die Mitglieder der Internationalen Jury 2012 in eingespielter Manier vor. Der englische Filmemacher Mike Leigh hatte das Präsidentenamt übernommen, an seiner Seite fand sich viel Prominenz, unter anderem der amerikanische Schauspieler Jake Gyllenhaal, die Schauspielerin und Sängerin Charlotte Gainsbourg und der Gewinner des Goldenen Bären 2011 Asghar Farhadi.

Überraschende und überraschte Gewinner

Als die Jury zehn Tage später, nach einem starken und oft gelobten Wettbewerb, erneut die Bühne des Berlinale Palastes betrat, um die Preise zu vergeben, sorgten Mike Leigh und seine Mitjuroren sowohl beim Publikum als auch bei den Kritikern für überraschte Gesichter. Die als Titelfavoriten gehandelten Beiträge Barbara von Christian Petzold (Silberner Bär – Beste Regie), Csak a szél (Just The Wind) von Bence Fliegauf (Großer Preis der Jury – Silberner Bär) und Tabu von Miguel Gomes (Alfred-Bauer-Preis) wurden bereits vor der Verkündung des Hauptpreises ausgezeichnet, denn der Goldene Bär ging an die italienischen Regie-Urgesteine Paolo und Vittorio Taviani. Sie erzählen in Cesare deve morire (Caesar must die) von der ungebrochenen Macht der Kunst - in einem italienischen Gefängnis inszenieren die Häftlinge Shakespeares Julius Cäsar und finden so zu einem neuen Blick auf ihre eigene Biografie.

Glückliche Gewinner: Paolo und Vittorio Taviani, Rachel Mwanza

Einig war man sich in der Freude über die Freude der kongolesischen Schauspielerin Rachel Mwanza, die unverhofft den Silbernen Bären als Beste Darstellerin für ihre Verkörperung einer Kindersoldatin in Rebelle (War Witch) von Kim Nguyen verliehen bekam. Überglücklich bahnte sie sich ihren Weg zur Bühne. Genau wie das männliche Pendant: Mikkel Boe Følsgaard erhielt den Silbernen Bären als Bester Darsteller in Nikolaj Arcels Historiendrama En Kongelig Affære (Die Königin und der Leibarzt). Die Co-Produktion aus dem Hause Zentropa konnte sich noch einen zweiten Preis sichern: Nikolaj Arcel und Rasmus Heisterberg nahmen den Silbernen Bären für das Beste Drehbuch entgegen. Für seine herausragende künstlerische Leistung in Bai lu yuan (White Deer Plain) von Wang Quan`an wurde der deutsche Kameramann Lutz Reitemeier geehrt. Und als hätten die Juroren die teils kritische Beäugung ihrer Hauptentscheidung schon im Voraus erahnt, vergaben sie zusätzlich einen gar nicht in den Festivalstatuten vorgesehenen Sonderpreis: Die in Frankreich geborene und in der Schweiz aufgewachsene Ursula Meier erhielt einen Silbernen Bären für ihren Film L`enfant d`en haut (Sister), der im Vorfeld der Preisverleihung ebenfalls als Kandidat für den Goldenen Bären im Gespräch gewesen war.

Die Freuden des Publikums

Die Berlinale wurde ihrem Ruf als größtes Publikumsfestival mal wieder mehr als gerecht. Das ließ sich nicht nur statistisch in Kartenverkäufen messen, sondern auch jeden Tag am und um den Roten Teppich verfolgen. Die Begeisterung der Berliner kannte keine Grenzen und sie wurden mit Stars reichlich beschenkt. Shah Rukh Khan sorgte für den Ausnahmezustand bei der Premiere von Don – The King Is Back (Regie: Farhan Akhtar) im Friedrichstadt-Palast. Dazu kamen, um nur einige zu nennen: Diane Kruger, Juliette Binoche, Salma Hayek, Antonio Banderas, Clive Owen, Isabelle Huppert, Andie MacDowell, Michael Fassbender, Keanu Reeves – die Berühmtheiten gaben sich die Klinke in die Hand. Überflügelt wurden sie alle vom Rummel um den Jungschauspieler Robert Pattinson, dessen neue Frisur tagelang die Schlagzeilen dominierte. Die Kritik distanzierte sich erwartungsgemäß vom bizarren Sensationalismus und war dankbar für all die guten Filme, die sie abseits des Boulevardgeplappers in Ruhe genießen durfte: „Der Wettbewerb imponierte mit Weltpremieren und vielen thematisch und filmkünstlerisch relevanten Filmen – wie unprominent die Namen derzeit noch sein mögen. Groß werden sie dann schon durch klug programmierende Festivalmacher, kluge Jurys – und ihr leidenschaftliches Publikum“ (Jan Schulz-Ojala, Tagesspiegel, 20.02.2012).

Ihr Dank galt vor allem dem Publikum: Meryl Streep auf der Bühne des Berlinale Palastes

Am 14. Februar wurde eine der herausragendsten Schauspielerinnen der Filmwelt frenetisch gefeiert: Meryl Streep erhielt den Goldenen Ehrenbären für ihr Lebenswerk. Die vermeintlich sonst so kritischen Köpfe der journalistischen Zunft verteilten während der nachmittäglichen Pressekonferenz zu The Iron Lady Geschenke an die Amerikanerin, während diese nonchalant über die Errungenschaften Maggie Thatchers im Kampf um die Befreiung der Frau berichtete. Vergessen schien die Ausweitung des skrupellosen Neoliberalismus als einzige und letztgültige Weltideologie angesichts des Streep’schen Charmes, der am Abend auch die Fans am Roten Teppich verzückte. Jake Gyllenhaal, der mit Streeps Sohn seit Kindesbeinen befreundet ist, hielt die Laudatio und tief berührt nahm Meryl Streep die Auszeichnung entgegen. Kurz nach der Berlinale sollte sie für ihre Thatcher-Rolle in Phyllida Lloyds Film sogar den Oscar erhalten. Die Hommage war ebenfalls der amerikanischen Schauspielerin gewidmet und zeigte eine Auswahl ihrer Arbeiten.

Die Berlinale Kameras gingen 2012 an einen der zentralen Gründungsväter des Neuen Deutschen Films Haro Senft, den Revolutionär des Kinotons Ray Dolby und das Studio Babelsberg, das 2012 seinen 100. Geburtstag feierte. Dies war außerdem der Anlass, das Brandenburger Atelier mit einer kleinen Retrospektive – zehn Filme aus jeweils einem Studiojahrzehnt – zu ehren.

Eine neue Spielstätte

Mit dem Haus der Berliner Festspiele konnte für die Berlinale 2012 eine neue Spielstätte gewonnen werden. Erprobt wurden die Möglichkeiten des Hauses mit Film Talks, die im Anschluss an die Vorführung der jeweiligen Filme geführt wurden. Mit einem Paukenschlag startete die Reihe: Angelina Jolie war zu Gast, zeigte ihr Regiedebüt In the Land of Blood and Honey und brachte zur Premiere gleich noch Brad Pitt mit - das Haus der Berliner Festspiele platzte aus allen Nähten. Im Anschluss an die Vorführung diskutierte die amerikanische Filmemacherin mit Jasmila Žbanić (Goldener Bär 2006 für Grbavica) ihre Motive und Techniken. In den folgenden Tagen standen weitere Highlights mit Werner Herzog, Keanu Reeves, Javier Bardem und anderen auf dem Programm. Das Format für die jeweiligen Veranstaltungen wurde bewusst offen gehalten. Es gab Gespräche zwischen Machern, Publikumsgespräche, Expertengespräche – je nach den Ansprüchen des jeweiligen Films.

Auf der Bühne des Hauses der Berliner Festspiele: Angelina Jolie im Gespräch mit Jasmila Žbanić, Keanu Reeves

„Berlinale Goes Kiez“, die Sonderreihe, die zur 60. Berlinale initiiert wurde und seitdem den Fliegenden Roten Teppich zu den Programmkinos in der Umgebung bringt, wurde auch 2012 mit riesigem Erfolg fortgesetzt und die Kinobetreiber konnten sich an ausverkauften Sälen erfreuen.

Im Panorama sorgte vor allem der finnische, teilweise durch Crowdfunding finanzierte Iron Sky von Timo Vuorensola für medialen Rummel. Eine Gruppe von Nazis flieht 1945 auf die dunkle Seite des Mondes, um 2018 erneut einen Versuch zu starten, die Welt zu unterjochen - Trash, Exploitation mit Götz Otto und Udo Kier. Doch das Panorama 2012 fokussierte auch den Arabischen Frühling und trug so seinen Teil zu einem der Berlinale-Themenschwerpunkte 2012 bei. Mit The Reluctant Revolutionary etwa, dem Eröffnungsfilm der Panorama Dokumente, in dem sich der britische Filmemacher Sean McAllister auf den Weg in den Jemen macht, um den letzten Touristenführer des Landes zu porträtieren und mit seinem Protagonisten mitten in den Beginn der jemenitischen Arabellion stolpert. Romuald Karmakar warf den Blick auf die Demokratiebewegungen in der arabischen Welt zurück auf Deutschland und zeigte anhand seiner puristischen filmischen Dokumentation einer Veranstaltung im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, dass das, was die Welt am Aufbegehren in der Fremde fasziniert, vielleicht nur vergessen lässt, wie stark die Freiheit im eigenen Land gefährdet ist. Christina Bylow schrieb in der Berliner Zeitung am 15.02.2012, Angriff auf die Demokratie – Eine Intervention sei ein „Aufschrei, der überfällig war.“ Neben Genre- und politischen Filmen bildete das queere Gedächtnis – von jeher Kernbereich des Panoramas – den dritten Pfeiler des Programms.

Der kambodschanische Regisseur Ly Bun Yim präsentierte seinen Film Puthisen Neang Kongrey in Berlin

Starke Beiträge in den Sektionen

Generationenkonflikte waren - wie schon 2011 – ein zentraler Topos der Filme im Forum. Des Weiteren widmete sich die Sektion den blinden Flecken der globalen Bildpraxis, ein Schwerpunkt lag auf der Tsunami- und anschließenden atomaren Katastrophe in Fukushima. Drei Filme von drei unterschiedlichen Regisseuren, die sich jeweils auf ihre Weise dem unsichtbaren Herzen des Super-GAUs näherten. Lob erntete vor allem die kleine Reihe, die sich mit der fast ausgelöschten kambodschanischen Kinematographie aus den 1960ern und den frühen 70ern widmete. Das Team um Christoph Terhechte hatte es geschafft, drei der Werke in vorführbaren Kopien nach Berlin zu bringen – sie wurden stellvertretend für eine ganze Generation kambodschanischer Filmemacher, die die Roten Khmer bei ihrer Machtübernahme nahezu annihiliert hatten, gezeigt. Andreas Busche schrieb in der tageszeitung am 16.02.2012: „Was sich auf der Leinwand abspielte, war an Ideenreichtum, folkloristischer Merkwürdigkeiten und im allerschönsten Sinne primitiver Fantasterei nicht zu überbieten […]. Als spätnachts die Lichter im Kino wieder angingen, fühlten wir uns, als seien wir selbst gerade aus einem Traum erwacht.“ Das Lob war umso schöner, als das kambodschanische Kino jener Tage den Anspruch nach schneller und präziser Berichterstattung, nach politischem Engagement, konsequent verweigerte.

Und mit Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank) bewies das Forum viel Selbstironie: Was braucht ein philippinischer Film, um bei der Berlinale gezeigt zu werden? Eine Müllkippe, verhungernde Kinder und eine Missbrauchsgeschichte. Gesagt, getan und gern lud das Forum das Team um Regisseur Marlon N. Rivera dann tatsächlich nach Berlin ein. „Aufs Korn genommen wird vor allem ein vom globalen Festivalzirkus betriebener Ausbeutungs-Mechanismus, der durchaus dazu in der Lage ist, die Bildproduktion eines – weltfilmwirtschaftlich gesehen – randständigen Landes zu steuern. Und zwar so lange, bis das nächste „junge, wilde Kino“ in einem entlegenen Weltwinkel entdeckt wird und die Karawane weiterzieht“ (Alexandra Seitz, Berliner Zeitung, 13.02.2012).

Die Generation ging guter Dinge in ihr 35. Jahr und Sektionsleiterin Maryanne Redpath freute sich auf das zweite Jahr in der eigenen Heimstätte, dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt, so erfolgreich war die Premiere im Jahr 2011 verlaufen. Die Filme erzählten vom Aufbrechen aus starren Strukturen und den Wegen zu sich selbst – die zuweilen auch über die Rückbesinnung auf die eigenen Wurzeln gefunden werden konnten.

Die Gewinner der Dialogue en Perspective Ronald Vietz (Produzent) und Marten Persiel (Regie) bei „Made in Germany - Reden über Film“

In der Perspektive Deutsches Kino begeisterte vor allem der Gewinnerfilm des Preises Dialogue en Perspective This Ain`t California von Marten Persiel Zuschauer und Kritiker gleichermaßen: „Mit der Musik von Alphaville, Anne Clark, Trentemoeller, Picturebooks und den Ärzten wird der Film zu einem hinreißenden Rück- und Einblick in ein gestern, das viel über jugendliche Lebenswelten in der DDR erzählt. Martin Persiel verrät sein Material nie, weil über der Authentizität des Einzelbildes die Wahrhaftigkeit des Gesamtbildes steht“, schrieb Torsten Körner im Tagesspiegel (11.02.2012). So brachte Linda Söffker ihr zweites Jahr als Sektionsleiterin, das sie offen als das schwierigere im Vorfeld bezeichnet hatte, gut zu Ende. Die Tendenz, weniger Filmhochschul- und mehr unabhängige Produktionen einzuladen, setzte sich merklich fort. Eine Premiere feierte die Perspektive Deutsches Kino mit der Reihe „Made in Germany - Reden über Film“, die den Diskurs über das Filmemachen in Deutschland über die Publikumsgespräche im Anschluss an die Festivalvorführungen hinaus verlängerten.

Die Retrospektive 2012 widmete sich dem (fast) vergessenen deutsch-russischen Filmstudio Meschrabpom, der „roten Traumfabrik“ - so der Titel der begleitenden Publikation. Und nach dem Wiedersehen mit einem bereits kanonisierten Auteur – Ingmar Bergmann – in der Retrospektive 2011 lobten die Kritiker die neu erwachten Ambitionen der Festivalmacher: „Dieses unbekannte Kapitel der Filmgeschichte steht im Mittelpunkt der diesjährigen Berlinale-Retrospektive – der ersten seit langer Zeit, die filmhistorische Forschungsarbeit leistet“ (Gerhard Midding, Die Welt, 10.02.2012).

„In the Limelight: Nuri Bilge Ceylan“: der türkische Regisseur mit dem Programmleiter des Talent Campus Matthijs Wouter Knol im Theater Hebbel am Ufer

Der Berlinale Talent Campus feierte unter dem Motto „Changing Perspectives“ sein zehntes Jubiläum, die Mischung aus (Publikums-) Gesprächen, individuellen Förderangeboten und Kursen, etablierten Filmemachern und jungen Talenten, ist mittlerweile nicht mehr aus dem Angebot der Berlinale wegzudenken. 150 Experten kamen zu den Veranstaltungen im Theater Hebbel am Ufer, unter ihnen Keanu Reeves, Tony Gatlif und Brilliante Mendoza.

Der European Film Market konnte Besucherrekorde vermelden, 1739 internationale Einkäufer kamen in den Martin-Gropius-Bau und ins Marriott Hotel, das beste Ergebnis seit seinem Bestehen. Besonders erfreulich war, dass sich vor allem die chinesischen Einkäufer mehr und mehr für das globale Filmschaffen interessierten.

Die einzelnen Sektionen trugen so viel zu der Euphorie bei, mit der die 62. Berlinale bei Gästen, Besuchern und Kritikern aufgenommen wurde. Statt den neuesten globalen Geschehnissen hinterherzulaufen, fand das Festival 2012 einen eigenen Weg zwischen Aktualität und Reflektion, denn was sich erwies, war, dass das Kino, will es prägend am Bau der Wirklichkeit teilhaben, vor allem als Reflektionsraum, abseits der brandaktuellen Berichterstattung, seine Stärken besitzt. „Die Langsamkeit ist ein hohes Gut geworden, das gilt für den Umgang mit den aktuellen oder kürzlich noch aktuellen Geschehnissen, es gilt auch für die Geschichten, die wir uns darüber erzählen“ (Verena Lueken, FAZ, 17.02.2012).

Besucher  
Kinobesuche 444.402
Verkaufte Eintrittskarten 299.362
   
Fachbesucher  
Akkreditierte Fachbesucher (ohne Presse) 15.923
Herkunftsländer 130
   
Presse  
Pressevertreter 3.838
Herkunftsländer 86
   
Website www.berlinale.de
01.12.2011 - 28.02.2012
 
Page Views 14.539.038
Besuche 1.723.128
   
Mobile Website m.berlinale.de
01.02.2012 - 28.02.2012
 
Page Views 87.843
Besuche 41.242
   
Screenings  
Anzahl Filme im öffentlichen Programm 402
(davon 106 Kurzfilme)
Anzahl öffentlicher Vorführungen 953
   
European Film Market  
Fachbesucher 7.920
Anzahl Filme 761
Anzahl Screenings 1.090
Stände auf dem EFM
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
154
Anzahl Aussteller 403
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Teilnehmer 432
Herkunftsländer 46
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Teilnehmer 350
Herkunftsländer 87
   
Jahresbudget € 19,5 Mio.
Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin erhalten eine institutionelle Förderung in Höhe von € 6,5 Mio. vom Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages.