Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Über uns das All

Above Us Only Sky

## ## ## ##
Martha is in a happy relationship, she has a home, knows just where she belongs and shares her life with Paul, the man she trusts and knows inside out. She looks ahead and sees – the future.
But then one day two policewomen appear at her door and all at once everything changes. The man with whom Martha has lived for many years is nothing but a phantom. Suddenly, Martha’s life is not what it was, and nothing she knew was what it seemed.
Then Martha meets Alexander, and a tiny gesture is enough to rekindle her longing for Paul, whom she now sees in Alexander. She looks ahead and sees – the past.
And so there she is, in a happy relationship once again; she has a home, knows just where she belongs and is sharing her life with someone she trusts. But does she really know the man she loves? Or does she just love the man she knows?
Jan Schomburg: “During the extended development period for ÜBER UNS DAS ALL a second theme emerged alongside the central one of a secret double life. I began to ask myself how people cope when love suddenly comes to an abrupt end. I noticed that what I really wanted to know was what kind of a new relationship such people might find themselves in. Is it possible to replace someone you love with someone else? Is it possible to miss someone so much that you see them in someone else? Can one’s longing for a lost love engender a new one?”

Germany 2011, 88 min

by

Jan Schomburg

with

Sandra Hüller
Georg Friedrich
Felix Knopp

World Sales

Bavaria Film International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Über uns das All

Above Us Only Sky

## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Da lebt Martha also in einer glücklichen Beziehung. Hat ein Zuhause. Weiß, wo sie hingehört. Teilt Bett, teilt Tisch, hat Vertrauen. Kennt ihren Mann Paul in- und auswendig. Und blickt sie nach vorn, sieht sie: die Zukunft.
Aber dann stehen plötzlich zwei Polizistinnen vor der Tür, und alles ist anders. Der Mann, mit dem Martha jahrelang gelebt hat: ein Phantom. In Marthas Leben ist nichts mehr, wie es war, und war nichts, wie es zu sein schien.
Dann begegnet Martha Alexander. Eine kleine Geste reicht, und ihre Sehnsucht lässt sie Paul in Alexander entdecken. Blickt sie nun nach vorn, dann sieht sie: die Vergangenheit.
Nun lebt Martha also in einer glücklichen Beziehung. Hat ein Zuhause. Weiß, wo sie hingehört. Teilt Bett, teilt Tisch, hat Vertrauen. Aber kennt sie den, den sie liebt? Oder liebt sie den, den sie kennt?
Jan Schomburg: „In der langen Zeit, in der ich Über uns das All entwickelt habe, ist neben dem Motiv des heimlichen Doppellebens ein weiteres Motiv in die Geschichte getreten. Als ich mich gefragt habe, wie jemand umgeht mit dem abrupten Ende einer Liebe, habe ich gemerkt, dass ich am ehesten wissen wollte, wie eine neue Liebesbeziehung aussehen könnte. Lässt sich ein Mensch, den man geliebt hat, durch einen anderen ersetzen? Kann man einen Menschen so sehr vermissen, dass man ihn in jemand anderem wiederentdeckt? Kann die Sehnsucht nach einer vergangenen Liebe eine neue erzeugen?“

Deutschland 2011, 88 Min

von

Jan Schomburg

mit

Sandra Hüller
Georg Friedrich
Felix Knopp

Weltvertrieb

Bavaria Film International