Berlinale: Programme

Film file

Berlinale Special

How Much Does Your Building Weigh, Mr. Foster?

## ## ## ## ## ## ##
His designs are captivating on account of their logic and because they are not dull, functional constellations. The Hearst Tower in New York City, Hong Kong’s airport Chek Lap Kok, the dome of the Reichstag in Berlin, the Viaduc de Millau which spans the valley of the river Tarn in southern France, the renovated Grand Hotel Dolder in Zurich or Masdar City in Abu Dhabi (still under construction) are, indisputably, odes to technology. These exuberant futuristic visions that emerge from the cityscape like a landmark were created by Norman Foster’s office.
This film charts Norman Foster’s career: from his beginnings as a working-class boy from Stockport (southeast of Manchester) who took an interest in architecture at an early age, to the man who, following a stint in the Royal Air Force, went on to study architecture at Yale School of Art and Architecture and worked with Richard Buckminster Fuller before founding his own architectural practice with his wife Wendy as well as Sue and Richard Rogers. His is a face-paced story, one in which he has always sought the principle behind the grand design, as well as the most perfectly crafted, technical solution. This becomes apparent in the details and in the perfection for which Foster’s designs are renowned.
Whilst he was working on the Renault Distribution Centre in England his clients expressed an interest in a table they saw in the architect’s office. Foster began to develop the idea. He created a stainless steel base with suction cups of the kind used by glaziers when they are positioning large panes of glass. On these suction cups he placed large, heavy sheets of glass which give these endlessly versatile tables the impression of being light. This high-tech table did not only appeal to Renault UK. The ‘Nomos’ table is now one of the architect Norman Foster’s best-selling designs. Nomos sums up Foster’s work: beauty is a question of logic.

United Kingdom / Spain 2010, 72 min


Norberto Lopez, Carlos Carcas

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

How Much Does Your Building Weigh, Mr. Foster?

## ## ## ## ## ## ##
Seine Entwürfe bestechen durch ihre Logik und sind keine langweiligen Funktionskonglomerate. Der Hearst Tower in New York City, Hongkongs Flughafen Chek Lap Kok, die Reichstagskuppel in Berlin, das Viaduc de Millau über dem südfranzösischen Tarntal, das renovierte Grand Hotel Dolder in Zürich oder die in Bau befindliche Masdar City in Abu Dhabi sind wahre Oden an die Technik, Widerspruch kann da nicht aufkommen. Das Büro Norman Fosters entwarf diese überbordenden Zukunftsvisionen, die wie Landmarken aus der Stadtlandschaft ragen.
Der Film erzählt Norman Fosters Weg vom Arbeitersohn aus Stockport, südöstlich von Manchester, der sich früh für Architektur begeistert und nach Royal Air Force und Architekturstudium an der Yale School of Art and Architecture mit Richard Buckminster Fuller zusammenarbeitet und anschließend mit seiner Frau Wendy sowie Sue und Richard Rogers ein Architekturbüro gründet. Es ist eine rasante Geschichte, in der es immer auch um das Prinzip hinter dem großen Entwurf geht, um die Suche nach der technisch und handwerklich perfekten Lösung. Deutlich wird dies im Kleinen, in der Perfektion, für die Foster-Entwürfe bekannt sind.
Bei der Arbeit an der Zentrale des englischen Renault-Importeurs gefiel den Auftraggebern ein Tisch im Büro der Architekten. Foster entwickelte die Idee weiter. Ein vernickeltes Untergestell entstand mit Saugnäpfen, wie sie Glaser verwenden, wenn sie große Scheiben einsetzen. Auf den Saugnäpfen liegen die schweren Glasplatten, die den vielfach verstellbaren Arbeitstischen die leichte Anmutung geben. Der Hightech-Tisch gefiel nicht nur Renault-GB. Das Tischsystem Nomos ist heute einer der Designbestseller des Architekten Norman Foster. Nomos bringt Fosters Arbeit auf den Punkt. Schönheit ist hier eine Frage der Logik.

Großbritannien / Spanien 2010, 72 Min

von

Norberto Lopez, Carlos Carcas