Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition (out of competition)

Shutter Island

Bradley J. Fischer (Producer)

Mike Medavoy (Producer)

Mark Ruffalo (Actor)

Sir Ben Kingsley (Actor)

Martin Scorsese (Director)

Leonardo DiCaprio (Actor)

Michelle Williams (Actress)

Arnold W. Messer (Producer)

Bradley J. Fischer (Producer)

Mike Medavoy (Producer)

Mark Ruffalo (Actor)

Sir Ben Kingsley (Actor)

Martin Scorsese (Director)

Leonardo DiCaprio (Actor)

Michelle Williams (Actress)

Arnold W. Messer (Producer)

Anatol Weber (Moderation)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
In 1954, in the midst of the Cold War, U.S. marshal Teddy Daniels and his new colleague Chuck Aule are assigned to find a missing woman named Rachel Solando who was a live-in patient at a psychiatric clinic. The woman is a multiple murderer, and the clinic – Ashecliffe Hospital – is an impenetrable penal institution located on an isle off the coast near Boston known as Shutter Island. How could she disappear from her cell without a trace?
Their investigations don’t exactly get off to a good start. Daniels’ wife has recently died in a fire in their apartment and her husband has been struggling to get a grip on things ever since. The bad weather they encounter as they make the crossing to the island looks as if it’s going to turn into a hurricane, Daniels is seasick, and their first interview with Dr John Cawley is fruitless: Daniels and his partner are confronted by a wall of silence.
The desolate, windswept isle is pervaded by a strange atmosphere, full of odd happenings and secrets. When the hurricane hits, the two policemen find themselves cut off from the mainland. With only the vaguest of leads pointing towards a dark conspiracy involving medical experiments and secret departments, they continue their investigations, in ominous isolation, surrounded by dangerous inmates and no less dubious doctors.
Martin Scorsese’s psychological thriller is based on a novel by Dennis Lehane. When the screenplay was offered to the director he was immediately enthusiastic, for, according to his agent, it reminded him of a silent film classic much admired by the director – THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI.

USA 2010, 138 min

DIRECTOR

Martin Scorsese

CAST

Leonardo DiCaprio
Mark Ruffalo
Ben Kingsley
Emily Mortimer

WORLD SALES

Paramount Vantage

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb (außer Konkurrenz)

Shutter Island

Bradley J. Fischer (Produzent)

Mike Medavoy (Produzent)

Mark Ruffalo (Schauspieler)

Sir Ben Kingsley (Schauspieler)

Martin Scorsese (Regisseur)

Leonardo DiCaprio (Schauspieler)

Michelle Williams (Schauspielerin)

Arnold W. Messer (Produzent)

Bradley J. Fischer (Produzent)

Mike Medavoy (Produzent)

Mark Ruffalo (Schauspieler)

Sir Ben Kingsley (Schauspieler)

Martin Scorsese (Regisseur)

Leonardo DiCaprio (Schauspieler)

Michelle Williams (Schauspielerin)

Arnold W. Messer (Produzent)

Anatol Weber (Moderation)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
1954, mitten im Kalten Krieg, erhalten der US-Marshall Teddy Daniels und sein neuer Kollege Chuck Aule den Auftrag, eine vermisste Frau zu finden. Ihr Name ist Rachel Solando, zuletzt hat sie als Patientin in einer Psychiatrie gelebt. Das Besondere: Die Frau ist eine mehrfache Mörderin und die Anstalt, das Ashecliffe-Hospital, ein Bundesgefängnis, das auf einer Insel draußen vor der Küste Bostons liegt – Shutter Island. Wie konnte sie spurlos aus ihrer Zelle verschwinden?
Die Ermittlungen stehen unter keinem guten Stern. Daniels Frau ist vor kurzem bei einem Wohnungsbrand ums Leben gekommen, seitdem ringt der Mann um sein inneres Gleichgewicht. Das Wetter während der Fahrt zur Insel ist mies, ein Hurrikan kündigt sich an. Daniels wird seekrank, und dann verläuft das erste Gespräch mit Dr. John Cawley auch noch ergebnislos. Daniels und sein Partner treffen auf eine Mauer des Schweigens.
Auf der einsamen, windumtosten Insel lastet eine unheimliche Atmosphäre voller Merkwürdigkeiten und Geheimnisse. Als dann auch noch der Hurrikan losbricht, ist den Polizisten der Rückzug aufs Festland verwehrt. Mit vagen Hinweisen auf eine dunkle Verschwörung, medizinische Experimente und geheime Abteilungen setzen sie ihre Ermittlungen fort – alleingelassen mit gefährlichen Irren und nicht weniger fragwürdigen Ärzten.
Martin Scorseses Thriller basiert auf einem Roman von Dennis Lehane. Als dem Regisseur das Drehbuch angeboten wurde, zeigte er sich sofort begeistert. Denn, so sein Agent, es erinnerte ihn an einen von ihm sehr bewunderten Stummfilmklassiker: DAS CABINET DES DR. CALIGARI.

USA 2010, 138 Min

REGIE

Martin Scorsese

DARSTELLER

Leonardo DiCaprio
Mark Ruffalo
Ben Kingsley
Emily Mortimer

WELTVERTRIEB

Paramount Vantage