Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

The Ghost Writer

Der Ghostwriter

Charlie Woebcken, Alain Sarde (Producers)

Robert Benmussa (Producer)

Pierce Brosnan, Ewan McGregor (Actor)

Olivia Williams (Actress)

Robert Harris (Author)

Alexandre Desplat (Composer)

Jenni Zylka (Moderator)

Charlie Woebcken, Alain Sarde (Producers)

Robert Benmussa (Producer)

Pierce Brosnan, Ewan McGregor (Actors)

Olivia Williams (Actress)

Robert Harris (Author)

Alexandre Desplat (Composer)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
‘The Ghost’ – a successful British ghostwriter – has been asked to write the memoirs of Prime Minister Adam Lang. The publishers have promised Lang millions for his book and time is running out. For the ghost the assignment means a giant leap in his career, and a princely fee. But the project is ill-fated from the outset, not least because the first writer, Lang’s long-standing advisor, has just been killed in a tragic accident.
Brushing his misgivings aside the new man travels to the Atlantic island Martha’s Vineyard, where the ex-prime minister and his wife Ruth have retreated together with a small team including the prime minister’s attractive assistant, Amelia Bly. But the island’s peace is deceptive: Lang’s holiday home is tantamount to a maximum security prison. What secret is contained in the book manuscript in the safe that cannot leave the house?
No sooner does the ghostwriter arrive on the island than a top-ranking British politician accuses Lang of having condoned the arrest of some alleged terrorists who were subsequently handed over to the CIA in secret; moreover, since the men were tortured – allegedly with Lang’s knowledge – this implicates him in a war crime. The accusation causes the press and enraged demonstrators to spring into action and, before long, the premier’s house is besieged. In the midst of all the commotion the ghostwriter makes a discovery that puts the clever ex-premier in a completely different light. He comes across a global conspiracy and the knowledge suddenly puts his life in great danger. Can he bring the truth to light, before it’s too late?

France / Germany / United Kingdom 2009, 128 min

by

Roman Polanski

with

Ewan McGregor
Kim Cattrall
Olivia Williams
Pierce Brosnan

World Sales

Summit Entertainment

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

The Ghost Writer

Der Ghostwriter

Charlie Woebcken, Alain Sarde (Produzenten)

Robert Benmussa (Produzent)

Pierce Brosnan, Ewan McGregor (Schauspieler)

Olivia Williams (Schauspielerin)

Robert Harris (Autor)

Alexandre Desplat (Komponist)

Jenni Zylka (Moderator)

Charlie Woebcken, Alain Sarde (Produzenten)

Robert Benmussa (Produzent)

Pierce Brosnan, Ewan McGregor (Schauspieler)

Olivia Williams (Schauspielerin)

Robert Harris (Autor)

Alexandre Desplat (Komponist)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##
„The Ghost“, ein erfolgreicher britischer Ghostwriter, soll die Memoiren des ehemaligen Premierministers Adam Lang verfassen. Der Verlag hat Lang eine hohe Millionengage für das Buch zugesagt und die Zeit drängt – für seinen „Ghost“ verspricht das einen Karrieresprung und ein fürstliches Honorar. Doch von Anfang an steht das Projekt unter einem unguten Stern, nicht zuletzt weil der erste Autor, Langs langjähriger Berater, gerade bei einem tragischen Unfall starb.
Der neue Ghostwriter wirft jedoch seine Bedenken schnell über Bord und reist auf die Atlantikinsel Martha’s Vineyard, wohin sich der Ex-Premierminister mit seiner Frau Ruth und einem kleinen Stab um seine attraktive Assistentin Amelia Bly zurückgezogen hat. Doch die Ruhe der Insel ist trügerisch: Langs Ferienhaus gleicht einem Hochsicherheitstrakt. Welches Geheimnis birgt das Buchmanuskript, das im Safe liegt?
Kaum ist der Ghostwriter auf der Insel eingetroffen, beschuldigt ein hochrangiger britischer Politiker Lang, die Festnahme mutmaßlicher Terroristen und ihre heimliche Auslieferung an die CIA unterstützt zu haben – mithin eines Kriegsverbrechens, da die Männer mit Langs Wissen gefoltert wurden. Dies ruft neben der Presse auch Demonstranten auf den Plan, die das Anwesen belagern. Inmitten des Tumults macht der Ghostwriter eine Entdeckung, die den Ex-Premier in ein ganz neues Licht rückt. Er stößt auf eine globale Verschwörung und befindet sich plötzlich in höchster Lebensgefahr. Kann er die Wahrheit ans Licht bringen, ehe es zu spät ist?

Frankreich / Deutschland / Großbritannien 2009, 128 Min

von

Roman Polanski

mit

Ewan McGregor
Kim Cattrall
Olivia Williams
Pierce Brosnan

Weltvertrieb

Summit Entertainment