Berlinale: Yearbook


60th Berlin International Film Festival
February 11 - 21, 2010

"But abundance suits this festival, which draws crowds to commercial movies and challenging experimental work alike, even in the dead of a snowy, bitterly cold winter. While Sundance and Cannes can seem at once hermetic and frenzied – somewhat surreal media happenings in resort towns crammed beyond capacity – the Berlinale takes place in an art-saturated city that comfortably accommodates eclecticism and excess."

(New York Times)

Metropolis at the Brandenburg Gate

2010 was the year the Berlin International Film Festival turned 60 – and one of the most important ways the Berlinale celebrated its anniversary was by “paying tribute to the city and the audience that give this festival its foundation. That’s what’s special about the Berlinale: everyone’s invited” (Berliner Zeitung). The spectacular highlight of the festivities was the world premiere of the almost completely reconstructed original version of Fritz Lang’s classic film Metropolis. The gala premiere at the Friedrichstadt-Palast in Berlin was accompanied by the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin and attended by numerous prominent guests from the worlds of art and politics, while the film was simultaneously shown at the Alte Oper in Frankfurt and projected onto a screen at the Brandenburg Gate. Prior to the event, the artist Christina Kim had created a unique curtain out of recycled film posters and Berlinale billboards that was hung from the Gate and then ceremoniously raised to reveal the images thought for years to have been lost forever. Hundreds of people came to see the film at Pariser Platz – despite the ice and the cold, which themselves ended up being a memorable part of the 2010 Berlinale.

Happy Birthday, Berlinale!

The Metropolis premiere was not the only birthday surprise. Experts including star architect Norman Foster and Berlin-based experimental filmmaker Professor Heinz Emigholz came together in the Neue Nationalgalerie as part of the Berlinale Keynotes event on “The Cinema of the Future” to discuss the evolvement of cinemas, particularly in terms of their architecture, sociological function and place in the urban environment.

The Berlinale Keynotes in the Neue Nationalgalerie

On the occasion of its 60th edition the Berlinale also multiplied its venues: in the “Berlinale Goes Kiez” programme, the Festival screened films for a period of eleven days at selected Berlin arthouse cinemas in neighbourhoods from Dahlem to Weißensee. Not only was public interest tremendous, so was the interest of the filmmakers in getting to know audiences on their own territory. The firmly rooted Berlinale tradition of audience discussions caught on in the neighbourhood cinemas, where lively conversations between film teams and film lovers took place after the screenings. Prominent German film personalities such as producer Claus Boje and director Christian Petzold sponsored individual cinemas and moderated the events.

A special anniversary section on the Berlinale website contained comprehensive information on special events as well as an impressive collection of videos, photos, and texts: numerous “star portraits”, historical image galleries and the “Berlinale Moments” – moving, odd, informative and amusing television clips from the past – gave visitors vivid glimpses into recent and older Festival history. In the “Berlinale Flashbacks”, a slew of national and international stars – including Tom Tykwer, Janusz Kaminski, Diane Kruger, Michael Ballhaus, Jeff Goldblum, Nick Hornby, Roland Emmerich, Carey Mulligan, Baz Luhrmann and Quentin Tarantino – remembered their favourite Berlinale moments or conveyed wishes from around the world in short video messages.

Jury president Werner Herzog, Yu Nan in the background

PLAY IT AGAIN...!

“It seems impossible to celebrate sixty years of the Berlinale with just forty films. But that’s exactly what the Retrospective succeeded in doing” (die tageszeitung). The Retrospective this year ventured a broader, external look back at the Festival’s history and left the programming up to British film critic David Thomson. His selection impressively demonstrated the Berlinale’s instinct for young talent and unconventional new approaches to filmmaking. Thus, for example, Jean-Luc Godard’s debut film À bout de souffle shaped and transformed cinema after 1960 like no other. With films like Lebenszeichen, Jury President Werner Herzog’s first film, Thomson’s programme also included a number of allusions and intersections across the Festival’s history. In this way, the cinematic journey through the years created a remarkable portrait of the Berlinale, full of discontinuities and breaks, but also of connections and long-term relationships.

The Homage was devoted to actress Hanna Schygulla and screenwriter and director Michael Kohlhaase, two personalities of outstanding importance in the history of German film as well as in the history of the Berlinale.

Bears love honey

The Competition in 2010 was once again richly and glamorously adorned with the newest productions from around the world. A host of directors, actors, and film team members came to Berlin to present their works, and the stars cavorted on the red carpet. Old master Martin Scorsese came to visit, bringing with him his new film Shutter Island along with its leading cast Leonardo DiCaprio, Ben Kingsley, Mark Ruffalo and Emily Mortimer. Crowds of spectators thronged to the Competition premieres. Ewan McGregor and Pierce Brosnan introduced The Ghost Writer by Roman Polanski, while many a fan’s heart beat faster at the sight of Indian Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan.

Julianne Moore came to Berlin for the premiere of The Kids Are All Right

The stars gave countless autographs on their way into the Berlinale Palast, many evenings in the driving snow. But none of them shied away from coming into immediate contact with the enthusiastic Berlin audiences, who altogether bought almost 300,000 tickets, breaking last year’s record.

Once again it was the quiet, unobtrusive films that were compelling to both audiences and the jury, and in the end it was a little boy who conquered the hearts of Werner Herzog’s jury members. Young Bora Altas who played the leading role in Semih Kaplanoglu’s Bal (Honey) tipped the scales in his film’s favour and the Turkish-German co-production was awarded the Golden Bear. Florin Serban won both the Jury Grand Prix as well as the Alfred Bauer Prize for his film Eu cand vreau sa fluier, fluier (If I Want To Whistle, I Whistle). Roman Polanski, who at the time of the awards ceremony was under house arrest in Switzerland, received a Silver Bear for Best Director. The evening’s big winner was Kak ya provel etim letom (How I Ended This Summer). This Russian production, directed by Alexei Popogrebsky, garnered three prizes: actors Grigori Dobrygin and Sergei Puskepalis shared the prize for Best Actor ex aequo and cinematographer Pavel Kostomarov was awarded a Silver Bear for his Outstanding Artistic Achievement in the Category Camera. After the grand awards ceremony the Festival closed with the film Otouto (About Her Brother) by Japanese director Yoji Yamada, who also received a Berlinale Camera from Festival Director Dieter Kosslick in recognition of his long and remarkable career.

Bora Altas at the press conference for Bal (Honey)

In light of both its crowned and uncrowned gems, "the Berlinale with this Competition once again showed itself to be a showcase for thoughtful and sensitive world cinema" (Spiegel Online), which is often drowned out in the everyday film business by blockbuster bluster. At the same time, some critics did complain about the perceived lack of radical and provocative works in the Competition, one of them mourning the "wild bear" of the past (Frankfurter Rundschau).

Another anniversary and a farewell

The Panorama, Forum, Generation, Berlinale Shorts, Perspektive Deutsches Kino and Culinary Cinema sections presented the Berlinale’s diversity of themes and forms in their usual outstanding way. Leading up to the Festival, Panorama section director Wieland Speck spoke of “a new global boldness”, which was corroborated by his programme in the days to follow. The documentaries seemed at times to be stealing the show from the feature films – at least according to the results of the Panorama Audience Award: Berlinale audiences voted five documentary films to the top of the list. In the end Lucy Walker prevailed with Waste Land and set a record as the first director to be awarded the coveted prize twice (in 2007 she won with her film Blindsight).

At 40, the Forum also had a milestone anniversary to celebrate. It was observed with twelve blocks of films looking back at years past, with section history highlights by Hou Hsiao Hsien to Chantal Ackermann selected by different Forum directors. Two founding members and long-time curators of the International Forum of New Cinema, Ulrich and Erika Gregor, were also honoured with a Berlinale Camera. Initiated in the late sixties as a counter-event to the Berlinale and as a platform for political, private and formal extremes and experiments, the Forum stayed its course in the 60th Berlinale year. Forum Expanded provided an additional artistic space for reflection and innovation, inspiring and offering up for discussion new developments on and beyond the screen.

Christoph Schlingensief showed and commented on the film L'Inferno in Forum Expanded

Many of the films in the Generation section this year played with the boundaries between film and reality and drew an enthusiastic young audience as well as numerous industry guests to the sold-out screenings. The German film Neukölln Unlimited , which won the Generation 14plus competition, “magically cast its spell over every single viewer” according to the jury’s statement. This documentary by Agostino Imondi and Dietmar Ratsch paints a precise portrait of three Lebanese siblings in urban Berlin.

The Berlinale Shorts were refreshingly heedless of conventional film language and in many cases positioned themselves “between the arts”. The Golden Bear for Best Short Film accordingly went to the Swedish film Händelse Vid Bank by Ruben Östlund, which tells its story in a single shot.

Alfred Holighaus and Linda Söffker

The anniversary year was the last year for Alfred Holighaus as director of Perspektive Deutsches Kino. He will take on new challenges as part of the management of the Deutsche Filmakademie and has left the section’s leadership up to his programme coordinator of many years, Linda Söffker. Holighaus’ film selections for the 60th Berlinale once more provided a strong and unconventional overview of German filmmaking in a variety of formats and genres.

Optimism among filmmakers and sales agents – Joy overshadowed at the World Cinema Fund

The eighth edition of the Berlinale Talent Campus gave 350 young film artists from 95 countries the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity of coming face to face with the best in their fields. This year’s theme was “Cinema needs talent – Looking for the Right People”. The talents met with more than 150 invited international experts and Berlinale guests – including Claire Denis, Sir Ken Adam, cinematographer Christian Berger and director Stephen Frears – in over one hundred events such as workshops, panel discussions and training sessions to exchange ideas about the possibilities of collaborative filmmaking. The Campus itself provided the setting for just that, enabling participants to create networks, make new contacts and launch new joint projects.

Participants of the Berlinale Talent Campus shooting on location in winterly Berlin

The World Cinema Fund’s joy over the remarkable success of its funding strategy – just one example being this year’s Oscar nomination for the 2009 Golden Bear winner La teta asustada – was sadly overshadowed during the anniversary Berlinale: director Jafar Panahi, who was invited to attend a WCF panel discussion as an honorary guest, was refused permission to leave Iran and was later even arrested along with other Iranian filmmakers. Festival Director Dieter Kosslick spoke for many when he expressed his great concern and dismay at the arrests.

The 2010 European Film Market’s balance sheet testified to clearer skies, reporting 6,450 industry guests and – finally – a “spring-like upturn” in Berlin. After the crisis year of 2009, in which the world financial crisis left an unmistakable mark on film funding, the mood was optimistic.

In its seventh year, the European Film Market affiliate Berlinale Co-Production Market not only brought together the producers and directors of 37 international film projects with interested co-production and funding partners, but also paved the way for new business relationships at the “Talent Project Market” and “Breakfast at Books”. It will be exciting to see whether the contacts made at the 60th Berlinale will produce the next generation of films to lure Berlin audiences out of their warm apartments into the snow and ice on the way to the cinema.

Visitors  
Total amount of theater visits 493,336
Tickets sold 299,478
   
Professionals  
Accredited guests (press excl.) 15,586
Countries of origin 128
   
Press  
Journalists 3,912
Countries of origin 82
   
Screenings  
Number of films in the public programme 386
(incl. 124 short films)
Total amount of public screenings 921
   
European Film Market  
Film industry participants 6,450
Number of films 666
Number of screenings 1,014
EFM-Stands
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
130
Number of exhibitors 419
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Participants 466
Countries of origin 48
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Participants 347
Countries of origin 93

Berlinale: Chronik


60. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
11. - 21. Februar 2010

„Überfluss ist diesem Festival angemessen, welches die Massen sowohl in kommerzielle Filme als auch in anspruchsvolle, experimentelle Arbeiten lockt, selbst im tiefsten, verschneiten und bitterkalten Winter. Während Sundance und Cannes hermetisch und gleichzeitig ekstatisch wirken - wie surreale Medien-Happenings in überfüllten Ferienorten - präsentiert sich die Berlinale in einer durch und durch von Kunst erfüllten Stadt, die Eklektizismus und Exzess mühelos miteinander vereint.“

(New York Times)

Berlinale 2010: Geburtstags-Erinnerungen

2010 stand die 60. Ausgabe der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin auf dem Programm - und die Berlinale zelebrierte ihr Jubiläum nicht zuletzt als „Verneigung vor einer Stadt und einem Publikum, die diesem Festival erst die Basis geben. Das ist das Besondere an der Berlinale: Sie lädt alle ein“ (Berliner Zeitung). Spektakulärer Höhepunkt der Feierlichkeiten war die Weltpremiere der fast vollständig rekonstruierten Originalversion des Filmklassikers Metropolis von Fritz Lang. Zeitgleich zur Wiederaufführung in der Frankfurter Alten Oper wurde die Galapremiere im Berliner Friedrichstadt-Palast, begleitet vom Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, mit zahlreichen prominenten Gästen aus Kunst und Politik begangen und zudem auf eine Leinwand am Brandenburger Tor übertragen. Die Künstlerin Christina Kim hatte im Vorfeld des Events einen einzigartigen Vorhang aus recycelten Film- und Berlinale-Billboards erschaffen, der feierlich den Blick auf die lange Jahre verschollen geglaubten Bilder freigab. Hunderte von Zuschauern ließen sich das Ereignis am Pariser Platz nicht entgehen – trotz der Kälte und des Eises, die das Bild der Berlinale 2010 ebenfalls prägen sollten.

Happy Birthday, Berlinale!

Die Metropolis-Premiere blieb nicht die einzige Geburtstagsüberraschung. In der Neuen Nationalgalerie trafen sich Experten wie der Stararchitekt Norman Foster und der Berliner Experimentalfilmemacher Prof. Heinz Emigholz, um in den Berlinale Keynotes „Das Kino der Zukunft“ gemeinsam über die Entwicklung des Kinos, seiner Architektur und seiner (stadt-)soziologischen Funktion zu diskutieren.

Die Berlinale Keynotes in der Neuen Nationalgalerie

Zu ihrer 60. Ausgabe vermehrte die Berlinale außerdem ihre Spielstätten: Unter dem Titel „Berlinale Goes Kiez“ bespielte das Festival an elf Tagen ausgewählte Berliner Programmkinos in den Nachbarschaften von Dahlem bis Weißensee. Dabei war nicht nur das Zuschauerinteresse enorm, sondern auch die Lust der Filmemacher, ihr Publikum vor Ort kennen zu lernen – so wurden die auf der Berlinale fest verwurzelten Publikumsgespräche nach der Vorführung auch in den Kiezkinos zu lebhaften Dialogen zwischen den Filmteams und ihren Zuschauern. Prominente deutsche Filmpersönlichkeiten wie der Produzent Claus Boje oder der Regisseur Christian Petzold hatten Kinopatenschaften übernommen und führten moderierend durch die Abende.

Neben umfassenden Informationen zu den Sonderveranstaltungen hielt ein eigens eingerichteter Jubiläumsbereich auf der Berlinale Webseite eine imposante Sammlung an Videos, Fotos und Texten bereit: Zahlreiche Starportraits, historische Bildergalerien und die „Berlinale Moments“ - bewegende und kuriose, informative und vergnügliche Fernsehausschnitte vergangener Zeiten - gewährten lebendige Einblicke in die jüngere und ältere Festivalgeschichte. In den „Berlinale Flashbacks“ erinnerte sich eine kaum zu überschauende Zahl nationaler und internationaler Stars – unter ihnen Tom Tykwer, Janusz Kaminski, Diane Kruger, Michael Ballhaus, Jeff Goldblum, Nick Hornby, Roland Emmerich, Carey Mulligan, Baz Luhrmann und Quentin Tarantino – an sehr persönliche Berlinale-Augenblicke oder überbrachte von überall auf der Welt ihre Glückwünsche in kurzen Videobotschaften.

Jurypräsident Werner Herzog, im Hintergrund Yu Nan

PLAY IT AGAIN ...!

„60 Jahre Berlinale mit 40 Filmen zu feiern scheint unmöglich. Die Retrospektive schafft es dennoch“ (die tageszeitung). Die Retrospektive wagte einen weiteren, externen Blick zurück auf die Festivalgeschichte und überließ die programmatische Zusammenstellung dem britische Filmkritiker David Thomson. Mit seiner Auswahl belegte er eindrücklich das Gespür der Berlinale für junge Talente und unkonventionelle neue Wege in der Filmgestaltung. So prägte und veränderte etwa Jean-Luc Godards Debütfilm À bout de souffle die Filmkunst nach 1960 wie kein anderer. Mit Filmen wie Lebenszeichen, dem ersten Film des diesjährigen Jurypräsidenten Werner Herzog, ergaben sich darüber hinaus auch immer wieder festivalgeschichtliche Bezüge und Zusammenhänge. Die filmische Reise durch die Jahrzehnte setzte sich so zu einem imposanten Selbstbild des Festivals voller Diskontinuitäten und Brüche, aber auch Verbundenheiten und langjähriger Beziehungen zusammen.

Mit der Schauspielerin Hanna Schygulla und dem Drehbuchautor und Regisseur Michael Kohlhaase war die Hommage in diesem Jahr zwei Persönlichkeiten gewidmet, denen eine herausragende Bedeutung in der deutschen Filmgeschichte, aber auch in der Festivalgeschichte der Berlinale zukommt.

Bären lieben Honig

Der Wettbewerb war auch 2010 reichhaltig und glamourös mit den neuesten Produktionen aus aller Welt geschmückt. Zahlreiche Regisseure, Schauspieler und Teammitglieder kamen nach Berlin, um ihre Werke zu präsentieren, und die Stars tummelten sich auf dem Roten Teppich. Altmeister Martin Scorsese besuchte die Berlinale, im Gepäck hatte er seinen neuen Film Shutter Island sowie dessen Hauptdarsteller Leonardo DiCaprio, Ben Kingsley, Mark Ruffalo und Emily Mortimer. Der Andrang der Schaulustigen zu den Wettbewerbspremieren riss nicht ab. Ewan McGregor und Pierce Brosnan stellten The Ghost Writer von Roman Polanski vor, der indische Bollywoodstar Shah Rukh Khan ließ die Herzen vieler Fans höher schlagen.

Julianne Moore kam zur Premiere von The Kids Are All Right nach Berlin

Trotz des Schneetreibens an manchem Abend schrieben die Stars unzählige Autogramme auf ihrem Weg in den Berlinale Palast. Keiner zeigte Scheu vor der unmittelbaren Begegnung mit dem enthusiastischen Berliner Publikum, das dieses Jahr mit fast 300.000 verkauften Tickets den Publikumsrekord aus dem Vorjahr noch übertreffen konnte.

Zum wiederholten Mal waren es die ruhigen, unaufdringlichen Filme, die das Publikum und die Jury überzeugten. Letztendlich eroberte ein kleiner Junge die Herzen der Jurymitglieder um Werner Herzog. Der junge Bora Altas, der in Semih Kaplanoglus Bal (Honey) die Hauptrolle spielte, machte den Unterschied und die türkisch-deutsche Koproduktion wurde mit dem Goldenen Bären ausgezeichnet. Florin Serban erhielt für seinen Film Eu cand vreau sa fluier, fluier (If I Want To Whistle, I Whistle) sowohl den Großen Preis der Jury als auch den Alfred-Bauer-Preis. Roman Polanski, der zum Zeitpunkt der Preisvergabe im Schweizer Hausarrest saß, wurde mit einem Silbernen Bären für die Beste Regie ausgezeichnet. Der große Gewinner des Abends hieß Kak ya provel etim letom (How I Ended This Summer). Die russische Produktion unter der Regie von Alexei Popogrebsky wurde mit gleich drei Preisen bedacht: die Schauspieler Grigori Dobrygin und Sergei Puskepalis teilten sich den Preis für den Besten Darsteller ex aequo, der Kameramann Pavel Kostomarov erhielt einen Silbernen Bären für seine Herausragende Künstlerische Leistung in der Kategorie Kamera. Nach der großen Preisverleihung schloss das Festival mit dem Film Otouto (About Her Brother) des japanischen Regisseurs Yoji Yamada, dem von Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick an diesem Abend zudem eine Berlinale Kamera in Anerkennung seiner bemerkenswerten, langjährigen Karriere verliehen wurde.

Bora Altas bei der Pressekonferenz von Bal (Honey)

Mit ihren gekrönten und ungekrönten Perlen „zeigte sich die Berlinale mit diesem Wettbewerb einmal mehr als Schaufenster für das von Nachdenklichkeit und Innerlichkeit geprägte Weltkino“ (Spiegel Online), das vom Getöse der Blockbuster im normalen Kinobetrieb oft an den Rand gedrängt wird. Auch wenn manchen Kritikern dabei zu wenig radikal herausragende und provokante Werke im Wettbewerb vertreten waren und sie mitunter den “Abschied von wilden Bären“ (Frankfurter Rundschau) konstatierten.

Ein weiteres Jubiläum und ein Abschied

Die Sektionen Berlinale Special, Panorama, Forum, Generation, Berlinale Shorts, Perspektive Deutsches Kino und das Kulinarische Kino präsentierten die Themen- und Formenvielfalt der Berlinale in gewohnt eindrucksvoller Weise. Der Sektionsleiter des Panoramas Wieland Speck sah bereits im Vorfeld des Festivals „einen neuen, global zu betrachtenden Wagemut“ und das in den Festivaltagen zu sehende Programm bestätigte dies. Die Dokumentarfilme stahlen den Spielfilmen mitunter die Schau – so zumindest der Eindruck nach der Vergabe des PanoramaPublikumsPreises: die Berlinale-Besucher hatten gleich fünf dokumentarische Formate auf die vorderen Plätze gewählt. Lucy Walker setzte sich am Ende mit Waste Land durch und schaffte damit eine bisher einzigartige Leistung – hatte die Londonerin die begehrte Auszeichnung doch bereits 2007 mit ihrem Film Blindsight gewonnen.

Das Forum feierte mit seinem 40-jährigen Bestehen ebenfalls ein rundes Jubiläum. Dies wurde mit einem zwölf Filmblöcke umfassenden programmatischen Rückblick zelebriert, der die vergangenen Forumsjahre Revue passieren ließ – von Hou Hsiao Hsien bis Chantal Ackermann beeindruckte der Rückblick auf die von unterschiedlichen Filmemachern ausgewählten Meilensteine der Sektion. Zudem wurden mit Ulrich und Erika Gregor dieses Jahr zwei Mitbegründer und langjährige Kuratoren des Internationalen Forums des Jungen Films mit einer Berlinale Kamera ausgezeichnet. In den späten 1960er Jahren zunächst als Gegenveranstaltung zur Berlinale und Plattform für politische, private und formale Extreme und Experimente initiiert, setzte das Forum im 60. Berlinalejahr sein Anliegen konsequent fort. Das Forum Expanded bot einen zusätzlichen künstlerischen Reflexions- und Innovationsraum, in dem auf und jenseits der Leinwand neue Impulse gesetzt und diskutiert werden konnten.

Christoph Schlingensief zeigte und kommentierte den Film L'Inferno im Forum Expanded

Die Filme der Sektion Generation spielten in diesem Jahr verstärkt mit den Grenzen zwischen Film und Wirklichkeit und zogen ein begeistertes junges Publikum sowie zahlreiche Fachbesucher in die ausverkauften Vorstellungen. Mit Neukölln Unlimited gewann in Generation 14plus ein deutscher Film, der laut Jurybegründung „jeden einzelnen seiner Zuschauer auf eine magische Weise in seinen Bann zieht“. Die Dokumentation von Agostino Imondi und Dietmar Ratsch zeigt das präzise Porträt dreier libanesischer Geschwister im urbanen Berlin.

Die Berlinale Shorts fielen auf erfrischende Weise aus dem Rahmen konventioneller Filmsprache und positionierten sich in vielen Fällen „zwischen den Künsten“. So ging der Goldene Bär für den Besten Kurzfilm auch an Händelse Vid Bank (Zwischenfall vor einer Bank) von Ruben Östlund - Der schwedische Film zeigt seine Geschichte in einer einzigen Einstellung.

Alfred Holighaus und Linda Söffker

Das Jubiläumsjahr bedeutete für Alfred Holighaus das letzte Jahr als Leiter der Perspektive Deutsches Kino. Ab 2010 wird er sich in der Geschäftsführung der Deutschen Filmakademie neuen Herausforderungen stellen und seiner langjährigen Programmkoordinatorin Linda Söffker die Sektionsleitung überlassen. Holighaus’ Filmauswahl zur 60. Berlinale versammelte noch einmal einen starken, von seinem eigenwilligen Blick geprägten Überblick über das deutsche Filmschaffen in zahlreichen Formaten und Genres.

Optimismus am Markt - getrübte Freude beim World Cinema Fund

Die achte Ausgabe des Berlinale Talent Campus gab 350 jungen Filmschaffenden aus 95 Ländern die einmalige Gelegenheit, die Besten ihres Faches hautnah zu erleben. In über 100 Veranstaltungen trafen die Talente mit mehr als 150 geladenen internationalen Experten und Berlinale-Gästen - unter ihnen Claire Denis, Sir Ken Adam, der Kameramann Christian Berger und der Regisseur Stephen Frears – in Workshops, Podiumsdiskussionen und Trainingssessions zusammen, um sich unter dem Motto „Cinema needs Talent – Looking for the Right People“ über die Möglichkeiten kollaborativen Filmschaffens auszutauschen. Und der Campus gab genau jenen Raum, um Netzwerke zu bilden, neue Kontakte zu knüpfen und Projekte gemeinsam auf den Weg zu bringen.

Teilnehmer des Berlinale Talent Campus beim Außendreh im winterlichen Berlin

Die Freude des World Cinema Fund über seine überaus erfolgreiche Förderpolitik - erwähnt sei hier nur die diesjährige Oscar-Nominierung des Goldenen Bären-Gewinners 2009 La teta asustada - wurde während der Jubiläums-Berlinale leider getrübt: Dem als Ehrengast zu einer WCF-Podiumsdiskussion eingeladenen Regisseur Jafar Panahi wurde im Vorfeld des Festivals die Ausreise aus dem Iran verweigert, um später gar mit anderen iranischen Filmschaffenden inhaftiert zu werden. Nicht nur Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick reagierte mit großer Sorge und Bedauern auf die Verhaftungen.

Ungetrübter war die Bilanz des European Film Market 2010, der 6.450 Fachbesucher verzeichnen und endlich einen „frühlingshaften Aufschwung“ in Berlin vermelden konnte. Die Stimmung war optimistisch nach dem Krisenjahr 2009, in dem die Weltwirtschaftskrise auch deutliche Spuren im Bereich der Filmfinanzierung hinterlassen hatte.

Der an den European Film Market angegliederte Berlinale Co-Production Market konnte in seinem siebten Jahr nicht nur die Produzenten und Regisseure von 37 internationalen Filmprojekten mit 450 interessierten Koproduktions- und Finanzierungspartnern zusammenbringen, sondern leitete auf dem „Talent Project Market“ und bei „Breakfast at Books“ zahlreiche neue Geschäftsverbindungen in die Wege. Es bleibt spannend, ob die auf der 60. Berlinale geknüpften Kontakte die nächste Generation an Filmen hervorbringen, die das Berliner Publikum bei Schnee und Eis aus ihren warmen Wohnungen in die Kinos zu locken vermögen.

Besucher  
Kinobesuche 493.336
Verkaufte Eintrittskarten 299.478
   
Fachbesucher  
Akkreditierte Fachbesucher (ohne Presse) 15.586
Herkunftsländer 128
   
Presse  
Pressevertreter 3.912
Herkunftsländer 82
   
Website www.berlinale.de
01.12.2009-28.02.2010
 
Page Views 15.792.173
Besuche 1.459.712
   
Mobile Website m.berlinale.de
01.02.2010 - 28.02.2010
 
Page Views 174.900
Besuche 85.003
   
Screenings  
Anzahl Filme im öffentlichen Programm 403
(davon 124 Kurzfilme)
Anzahl öffentlicher Vorführungen 955
   
European Film Market  
Fachbesucher 6.450
Anzahl Filme 666
Anzahl Screenings 1.014
Stände auf dem EFM
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
130
Anzahl Aussteller 419
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Teilnehmer 466
Herkunftsländer 48
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Teilnehmer 347
Herkunftsländer 93