Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

Storm

Sturm

Bernd Lange (Author)

Rolf Lassgård (Actor)

Anamaria Marinca (Actress)

Kerry Fox (Actress)

Hans-Christian Schmid (Director)

Moderation: Rainer Rother

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

STORM

Hannah Maynard, prosecutor at the International Criminal Tribunal in The Hague, is leading a trial against Goran Duric, a former commander of the Yugoslavian National Army. He is accused of the deportation and later killing of Bosnian-Muslim civilians in Kasmaj, a small town in what is now the Republika Srpska.
When a key witness is ensnared in the contradictions of his testimony, the tribunal sends a delegation to Bosnia to get a definitive picture of the events on site. Doubts as to the witness’ credibility are confirmed; to all appearances he has not told the truth. Shortly afterwards his body is found; he has committed suicide in his hotel room.
For Hannah the case is not yet lost. Hoping to uncover new findings, she travels to the witness’ burial in Sarajevo and meets his sister Mira there. Hannah soon senses that Mira has much more to say about the defendant than she is willing to admit.
Even though Mira is afraid to face up to the past and hence endanger her unsuspecting family, with whom she has made a new life in Germany after the war, she finally delivers the key piece of evidence for Duric’s crimes and agrees to testify at the tribunal in The Hague.
Shortly before the critical hearing, Duric’s defence tries to have Mira’s testimony disallowed – and finds unexpected support from the judiciary. Hannah realises that her opponents are not only to be found in the dock – but also among her own ranks.

Germany / Denmark / Netherlands 2009, 110 min

by

Hans-Christian Schmid

with

Kerry Fox
Anamaria Marinca
Stephen Dillane
Rolf Lassgård

World Sales

TrustNordisk ApS

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Storm

Sturm

Bernd Lange (Autor)

Rolf Lassgård (Schauspieler)

Anamaria Marinca (Schauspielerin)

Kerry Fox (Schauspielerin)

Hans-Christian Schmid (Regisseur)

Moderation: Rainer Rother

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

STURM

Hannah Maynard ist Anklägerin am Kriegsverbrechertribunal in Den Haag und führt einen Prozess gegen Goran Duric, einen ehemaligen Befehls­ha­ber der jugoslawischen Volksarmee. Ihm wird vorgeworfen, für die Depor­tation und den späteren Tod bosnisch-muslimischer Zivilisten in Kasmaj, ei­ner Kleinstadt in der heutigen Republika Srpska, verantwortlich zu sein.
Als sich ein wichtiger Augenzeuge in Widersprüche verstrickt, schickt das Gericht eine Delegation nach Bosnien, um sich vor Ort ein Bild zu machen. Die Zweifel an der Glaubwürdigkeit des Zeugen erhärten sich, allem An­schein nach sagt er nicht die Wahrheit. Kurz darauf findet man seine Leiche; er hat sich in seinem Hotelzimmer das Leben genommen.
Hannah gibt den Fall noch nicht verloren. In der Hoffnung, neue Er­kennt­nisse zu gewinnen, reist sie zur Beerdigung des Zeugen nach Sarajevo und trifft dort auf dessen Schwester Mira. Schon bald gewinnt Hannah den Ein­druck, dass die junge Frau viel mehr über den Angeklagten zu sagen hat, als sie zugeben möchte.
Obwohl Mira Angst hat, sich der Vergangenheit zu stellen und damit ihre ahnungslose Familie zu gefährden, mit der sie sich in Deutschland ein neu­es Leben aufgebaut hat, liefert sie schließlich den entscheidenden Hinweis für Durics Verbrechen und erklärt sich bereit, ihre Aussage vor dem Tribunal in Den Haag zu wiederholen.
Unmittelbar vor der entscheidenden Verhandlung versuchen Durics Ver­tei­diger, Miras Zulassung als Zeugin abzuwenden – und finden mit ihrem An­lie­gen unerwartet Unterstützung von Seiten der Richterschaft. Hannah be­greift, dass ihre Gegner nicht nur auf der Anklagebank, sondern auch in den eigenen Reihen zu finden sind.

Deutschland / Dänemark / Niederlande 2009, 110 Min

von

Hans-Christian Schmid

mit

Kerry Fox
Anamaria Marinca
Stephen Dillane
Rolf Lassgård

Weltvertrieb

TrustNordisk ApS