Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

Rage

Andrew Fierberg (Producer)

Christopher Sheppard (Producer)

Steve Buscemi (Actor)

Lily Cole (Actress)

Sally Potter (Director)

Simon Abkarian (Actor)

Riz Ahmed (Actor)

Patrick J. Adams (Actor)

Jakob Cedergren (Actor)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

RAGE

Seven days, fourteen characters, a schoolboy and his website. An accident, a murder and a crisis in New York’s fashion industry. Broken dreams, bitter conflict and secret confessions: Sally Potter’s film is a tragicomedy about the effects of globalisation in the age of information.
Over seven days, Michelangelo, a young blogger, shoots behind-the-scenes interviews on his cell-phone at a New York fashion house while Merlin, a designer of Middle-Eastern origin, prepares to show his latest collection. Interviews with a group of people including Minx (a celebrity supermodel), Tiny Diamonds (the financial backer), Anita de Los Angeles (a seamstress), Vijay (who delivers pizzas), Frank (a war photographer) and Mona Carvell (a critic), build a bitterly funny exposé of an industry in crisis as the effects of globalization and a faltering economy polarize working conditions and produce an ever-increasing gap between appearance and reality.
Meanwhile Michelangelo becomes the person everyone turns to: when the death of a model on the runway becomes a murder investigation, the interviews become confessionals. A world which fetishises appearance over humanity turns upside down under the quiet gaze of a child armed only with the tools of his generation: the internet and the cell-phone.

United Kingdom / USA 2008, 99 min

by

Sally Potter

with

Dame Judi Dench
Jude Law
Dianne Wiest
Steve Buscemi
Riz Ahmed
Eddie Izzard
Lily Cole
Simon Abkarian

World Sales

6 Sales Entertainment Group

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Rage

Andrew Fierberg (Produzent / Producer)

Christopher Sheppard (Produzent)

Steve Buscemi (Schauspieler)

Lily Cole (Schauspielerin)

Sally Potter (Regisseurinr)

Simon Abkarian (Schauspieler)

Riz Ahmed (Schauspieler)

Patrick J. Adams (Schauspieler)

Jakob Cedergren (Schauspieler)

Moderation: Jenni Zylka

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

RAGE

Sieben Tage, 14 Protagonisten, ein Schüler und seine Website. Ein Unfall, ein Mord und eine Krise in der New Yorker Modebranche. Zerbrochene Träume, bittere Auseinandersetzungen, heimliche Geständnisse: Sally Potters Film ist eine Tragikomödie über die Auswirkungen der Globalisierung im Infor­ma­­tions­zeitalter.
Sieben Tage lang dreht Michelangelo, ein junger Blogger, mit seinem Mobiltelefon in einem New Yorker Modehaus Hintergrundinterviews, während Merlin, ein Modedesigner mit familiären Wurzeln im Nahen Osten, die Präsentation seiner jüngsten Kollektion vorbereitet. Aus den Aussagen der Interviewten – darunter Minx (ein berühmtes Supermodel), Tiny Diamonds (der Finanzier im Hintergrund), Anita de Los Angeles (eine Näherin), Vijay (Pizzabote), Frank (Kriegsfotograf) und Mona Carvell (Kritikerin) – entsteht die bitter-komische Zustandsbeschreibung einer krisengeschüttelten Branche. In ihr sorgen die Globalisierung und eine stagnierende Wirtschaft für verschärfte Arbeitsbedingungen und eine wachsende Kluft zwischen Schein und Sein.
Unterdessen wird Michelangelo für die Beteiligten zum Hauptansprech­partner: Nachdem ein Model auf dem Laufsteg zu Tode gekommen ist und daraufhin in einer Mordsache ermittelt wird, gewinnen seine Interviews den Charakter von Beichten. Eine Welt, die der Oberflächlichkeit verfallen ist, wird unter dem sanften Blick eines Kindes auf den Kopf gestellt – und dabei verfügt Michelangelo doch ausschließlich über die Werkzeuge seiner Generation: über Internet und Handy.

Großbritannien / USA 2008, 99 Min

von

Sally Potter

mit

Dame Judi Dench
Jude Law
Dianne Wiest
Steve Buscemi
Riz Ahmed
Eddie Izzard
Lily Cole
Simon Abkarian

Weltvertrieb

6 Sales Entertainment Group