Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

La teta asustada

The Milk Of Sorrow

Antonio Chavarrías (Producer)

Pilar Guerrero (Actress)

Claudia Llosa (Director)

Magaly Solier (Actress)

José María Morales (Producer)

Moderation: Ralf Schenk

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

THE MILK OF SORROW

Fausta is ill with a disease contracted from her mother’s breast milk known as “the milk of sorrow”. However, this is not a sickness caused by bacteria or infection: it is a condition that only affects those women in Peru who were abused or raped during the years of terrorist struggle.
Although this horrific period is now history, Fausta is nonetheless a living reminder of this time. Her sickness is called fear – and it has robbed her of her soul. But then, when her mother suddenly dies, Fausta is forced to face her fears. The overpowering nature of these fears, and the desperate lengths to which Fausta will go to assuage them is revealed by her biggest secret: in order to bar loathsome intruders from entering her body she has inserted a potato into her vagina as a kind of antibacterial ‘defence shield’. However, her mother’s death unleashes unexpected events that change Fausta’s life dramatically, as well as the lives of others involved. Fausta now sets out on a journey – a journey that will lead her out of her fear and into freedom.
Peruvian director Claudia Llosa’s film addresses a dark era of her country’s history. Established in 2001, the Peruvian ‘commission for truth and reconciliation’ (Comisión de la Verdad y Reconciliación, CVR) has registered almost 70,000 murder cases, as well as countless rapes, abductions and other human rights abuses in the period from 1980 to the year 2000.

Spain / Peru 2008, 94 min

by

Claudia Llosa

with

Magaly Solier
Susi Sànchez
Efraín Solís
Marino Ballón
Delci Heredia

World Sales

The Match Factory GmbH

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

La teta asustada

The Milk Of Sorrow

Antonio Chavarrías (Produzent)

Pilar Guerrero (Schauspielerin)

Claudia Llosa (Regisseurin)

Magaly Solier (Schauspielerin)

José María Morales (Produzent)

Moderation: Ralf Schenk

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

THE MILK OF SORROW

Fausta leidet unter der „Milch des Leids“, einer Krankheit, die durch die Mut­­termilch übertragen wird. Es ist dies keine Krankheit, die durch Bakte­rien oder Ansteckung herbeigeführt wird – von ihr betroffen sind ausschließ­lich Frauen, die in Peru während der Jahre des terroristischen Kam­p­fes misshandelt oder vergewaltigt wurden.
Diese schlimme Zeit ist längst Vergangenheit. In Fausta aber ist sie lebendig. Ihre Krankheit heißt Angst und hat ihr die Seele geraubt. Als überraschend ihre Mutter stirbt, ist Fausta gezwungen, sich ihren Ängsten zu stellen. Wie übermächtig diese sind und zu welch verzwei­felten Handlungen sie Fausta veranlassen, lässt sich leicht ermessen, wenn man Faustas größtes Geheimnis erfährt: Um widerliche Eindringlinge aus ihrem Körper fernzuhalten, hat sie eine Kartoffel in ihre Vagina eingeführt, die gewissermaßen als eine Art antibakterieller „Abwehrschild“ fungiert. Doch dann löst der Tod der Mutter unerwartete Ereignisse aus, die Faustas Leben und das Leben anderer Beteiligter einschneidend verändern. Für Fausta aber beginnt eine Reise aus der Furcht in die Freiheit.
Die peruanische Regisseurin Claudia Llosa arbeitet in ihrem Film die bedrückende Vergangenheit ihres Landes auf: Die im Jahre 2001 eingesetzte peruanische „Wahrheitskommission“ (Comisión de la Verdad y Recon­cilia­ción, CVR) hat für den Zeitraum von 1980 bis 2000 fast 70.000 ermordete Men­­schen, unzählige Vergewaltigungen, Entführungen und andere Men­schen­rechtsverletzungen verzeichnet.

Spanien / Peru 2008, 94 Min

von

Claudia Llosa

mit

Magaly Solier
Susi Sànchez
Efraín Solís
Marino Ballón
Delci Heredia

Weltvertrieb

The Match Factory GmbH