Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Filth And Wisdom

Vicky McClure (Actress)

Eugene Hutz (Actor)

Madonna (Director)

Holly Weston (Actress)

Andreas Struck (Moderator)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

FILTH AND WISDOM

Andriy Krystiyan, or A. K. for short, has come to England from the Ukraine. A. K. is a philosopher (at least that’s what he claims to be), a poet, and an authority on all aspects of life. At the same time, he is following his grand plan to become an international star. Global stardom is how A. K. describes the goal that he and his band Gogol Bordello are pursuing with their particular brand of boisterous gypsy punk. For the time being, however, he makes ends meet by performing role play in women’s clothing for straight married men.
A. K. shares a flat with two young women named Juliette and Holly. Juliette dreams of being a kind of Florence Nightingale of the developing world. She is currently working behind the counter at the local drug store run by Sardeep, the Indian chemist. Holly is a trained ballerina. Her big dream is to dance with the Royal Ballet. So far she hasn’t been able to earn a single penny with her dancing, and continues to ‘polish’ her skills as a pole dancer at Beechman’s Exotic Gentleman’s Club.
These three distinctive personalities are at the centre of a cinematic tale of everyday life about people who are obliged to take on jobs just to earn a living, but who live in hope of one day fulfilling their dreams. But the paths to one’s goal are sometimes circuitous. And whether we take the path of wisdom or the path of filth, we will eventually arrive at the same enlightened place.

United Kingdom 2008, 81 min

by

Madonna

with

Eugene Hutz
Holly Weston
Vicky McClure
Richard E. Grant
Stephen Graham
Inder Manocha
Shobu Kapoor

World Sales

HSI London

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Filth And Wisdom

Vicky McClure (Schauspielerin)

Eugene Hutz (Schauspieler)

Madonna (Regisseurin)

Holly Weston (Schauspielerin)

Andreas Struck (Moderation)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

FILTH AND WISDOM

Andriy Krystiyan, abgekürzt A. K., ist aus der Ukraine nach England immigriert. A. K. ist Philosoph, das behauptet er jedenfalls, außerdem Dichter und eine Autorität in allen Fragen des Lebens. Zugleich verfolgt er den Plan, ein Weltstar zu werden – „global superstardom“ nennt A. K. das Ziel, das er und seine Band Gogol Bordello mit ihrem heftigen Zigeuner-Punk anpeilen. Um bis dahin über die Runden zu kommen, lässt sich A. K. einstweilen für Rollenspiele vor verheirateten Männern engagieren und tritt dabei in Frau­en­kleidern auf.
A. K. lebt mit zwei jungen Frauen zusammen, Juliette und Holly. Juliette wä­re gern so etwas wie eine moderne Florence Nightingale der Dritten Welt. Zurzeit arbeitet sie allerdings bloß als Tresenkraft in der örtlichen Dro­ge­rie des aus Indien stammenden Apo­thekers Sar­deep. Holly ist eine ausgebildete Ballerina. Ihr größter Traum ist es, mit dem Royal Ballet zu tanzen, aber weil sie mit dem Tanzen bislang noch keinen einzigen Penny verdient hat, ist sie momentan gezwungen, ihre Fertig­keiten an der Stange des Beech­man’s Exotic Gentleman’s Club zu „verfeinern“.
Diese drei ausgeprägten Charaktere stehen im Zentrum einer filmischen Erzählung, die vom ganz normalen Leben handelt – von Menschen, die gezwungen sind, Brotjobs anzunehmen, um sich irgendwann einmal ihre Le­bens­träume erfüllen zu können. Und in der Tat sind es verschlungene Wege, die einen dabei zum Ziel führen können. Aber ob es nun Wege durch den Schmutz oder solche der Weisheit sind – oft genug führen beide zum selben Ziel.

Großbritannien 2008, 81 Min

von

Madonna

mit

Eugene Hutz
Holly Weston
Vicky McClure
Richard E. Grant
Stephen Graham
Inder Manocha
Shobu Kapoor

Weltvertrieb

HSI London