Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

There Will Be Blood

Daniel Day-Lewis (Actor)

Paul Thomas Anderson (Director)

Paul Dano (Actor)

Anatol Weber (Moderation)

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

THERE WILL BE BLOOD

Inspired by the first 150 pages of Upton Sinclair’s socially critical novel, “Oil!” and the biography of Californian oil magnate Edward L. Doheny (1856-1935), Paul Thomas Anderson’s film tells the story of Daniel Plainview, who sets off in search of silver in the west of America at the turn of the last century, finds oil instead, and within just a few years becomes an incredibly rich tycoon.
Plainview’s rise to power is ruthless. Making use of his little son, H. W., he manages to persuade many farmers to relinquish mining rights on their own farmland. However, this eloquent self-made man is in danger of failing when it comes to Christian fundamentalist lay preacher Eli Sunday and his family. When he finally does gain permission to drill for oil on Eli’s land, the preacher turns into a formidable opponent who tries in his overly pious sermons to put a stop to Plainview’s push to modernise the land – and even forces the cold and cynical entrepreneur to get down on his knees.
Plainview’s star begins to fall when H. W. goes deaf following an accident on a derrick tower. Having risked his life time and again in his search for black gold, and, wholly consumed by his greed, Plainview’s misanthropic personality comes increasingly to the fore until finally he does not even stop at cold-blooded murder. The price that Plainview pays for his gigantic fortune is high and, what began as the search for happiness ends in rancour and loneliness.

USA 2007, 158 min

by

Paul Thomas Anderson

with

Daniel Day-Lewis
Paul Dano
Kevin J.OŽConnor
Ciarán Hinds
Dillon Freasier

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

There Will Be Blood

Daniel Day-Lewis (Schauspieler)

Paul Thomas Anderson (Regisseur)

Paul Dano (Schaupieler)

Anatol Weber (Moderation)

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

THERE WILL BE BLOOD

Inspiriert von den ersten 150 Seiten aus Upton Sinclairs sozialkritischem Roman „Öl!“ und der Biografie des kalifornischen Ölmagnaten Edward L. Doheny (1856-1935), erzählt Paul Thomas Anderson in seinem Film die Ge­schichte von Daniel Plainview, der um die Jahrhundertwende im amerikanischen Westen nach Silber sucht, stattdessen Öl findet und binnen weniger Jahre zum schwerreichen Tycoon aufsteigt.
Es ist ein Aufstieg, der keine Rücksichten kennt. Unter Einsatz seines kleinen Sohnes H. W. gelingt es Plainview, zahlreiche Farmer zur Abtretung des Schür­frechts auf ihren Farmen zu überreden. Nur an der Familie des fundamentalchristlichen Laienpredigers Eli Sunday droht auch der eloquente Selfmademan zu scheitern. Als er schließlich doch auf deren Gebiet Öl fördern darf, erwächst ihm in Eli ein Gegenspieler, der die von Plain­view vorangetriebene Modernisierung des Landes mit bigotten Predigten aufzuhalten versucht – und den kalten, zynischen Entrepreneur sogar einmal auf die Knie zwingt.
Plainviews Stern beginnt zu sinken, als H. W. infolge eines Unfalls auf dem Förderturm das Gehör verliert. Nachdem Plainview mehrfach sein eigenes Leben riskiert, um an das schwarze Gold zu gelangen, und ihn die Gier nach Reichtum endgültig erfasst hat, kommt seine menschenfeindliche Persön­lich­keit immer stärker zum Vorschein. Schließlich macht er auch vor einem eiskalten Mord nicht Halt. Der Preis, den Plainview für sein Riesenvermögen bezahlt, ist hoch – was als Suche nach dem Glück begann, endet in Ver­bit­terung und Einsamkeit.

USA 2007, 158 Min

von

Paul Thomas Anderson

mit

Daniel Day-Lewis
Paul Dano
Kevin J.OŽConnor
Ciarán Hinds
Dillon Freasier