Berlinale: Yearbook


58th Berlin International Film Festival
February 7 - 17, 2008

“The Berlinale doesn’t just boost Berlin as a city of film. It exports a very specific Berlin feeling, a mixture of down-to-earth mentality and cordiality, which reaches to the human core at the centre of even the greatest star. This groundedness is, along with the glamour, a part of the success story.”

(Tagesspiegel)

Shah Rukh Khan
Shah Rukh Khan among his fans

Thanks to dazzling star presence the glamour factor at the 58th Berlin International Film Festival attracted a lot of the journalistic attention. Many were excited by visits by famous actresses such as Tilda Swinton, Penélope Cruz, Kristin Scott Thomas, Natalie Portman and Scarlett Johansson, who thrilled the Berlin audience merely by being there. Actors Nanni Moretti, Daniel Day-Lewis, Sir Ben Kingsley and Willem Dafoe provided the equivalent male star power. However, the number one audience favourite came neither from the realm of Hollywood nor from Europe but raised the heart rates of fans of Indian cinema: Bollywood great Shah Rukh Khan presented his new film Om Shanti Om at the Berlinale and his appearance caused a huge commotion in half of the city.

Films, celebrities and political causes

A few critics criticised a too-strong focus on the world of glamour. Daniel Kothenschulte of the Frankfurter Rundschau asked sardonically whether the film festival should be replaced by a “celebrity festival”. In general, however, the dominant impression was that the unassailable focus of the Berlinale was still the films. Without them it would not have been possible to again increase the number of tickets sold (more than 240,000) and accredited guests.

Patti Smith played the guitar for Dieter Kosslick

One of the most eagerly awaited high points was of course the announcement of the awards on the last Saturday of the festival. The fact that the International Jury headed by director Cost-Gavras was reduced from eight to six members (Susanne Bier and Sandrine Bonnaire had to cancel at short notices just before the festival), did nothing to diminish the passionate discussion within the group. With their decision to award the Golden Bear to the Brazilian film Tropa De Elite by José Padilha, the jurors made a surprising yet affirmative choice. It was surprising because few had placed the film on their short-list of potential winners, due to its extraordinary, true-to-life aesthetic. Affirmative, because the film’s topic of corruption and power mechanisms within a Brazilian police unit fulfilled expectations (especially of Costa Gavras) that the winner would be a strong socio-critical content. In this sense, the Grand Prix of the Jury went to a decidedly political film, the first documentary to ever have competed for the bears in the Berlinale Competition: Errol Morris’ Standard Operating Procedure on the scandalous occurrences and torture methods of the US military in the Abu-Ghraib prison in Iraq.

The mix of glamorous moments on the one side and explosive political issues on the other was reflected throughout the entire festival. And seldom did the individual sections present themselves in such unison as this year. For example, the issue of slums/favelas in the winning film was reflected in various ways in the programmes of the other sections, as in Los olvidados in the Retrospective, Cidade dos Homens in Generation or Sleep Dealer in Panorama.

Music for the heart and head

An even more powerful connective, pervasive force was the theme of music. Not just the fact that the film often successfully managed to bridge the gap between the artistic entertainment and the political motives of the musicians and filmmakers. After the Rolling Stones and director Martin Scorsese provided the festival with an exhilarating opening, the other sections followed with more stars from the world of pop and rock: besides Madonna, who presented her directing debut in the Panorama, Neil Young and Patti Smith were both present with films.

With the musical production love, peace & beatbox (shown as a Cross Section entry with the Perspektive Deutsches Kino) and War Child, the Generation section presented two documentaries for the first time in the new 14-plus Babylon cinema in Mitte, thereby expanding the cinematic range of its programme. The Crystal Bears went, in line with tradition, to feature films: Black Balloon in 14plus and Buda Az Sharm Foru Rikht in Kplus.

Although German film was not as strong and well represented as at previous festivals, the Perspektive Deutsches Kino presented a convincing programme. The courage of young German filmmakers willing to look beyond their own reality was well received and was honoured with the Teddy for the best documentary in the case of Football Under Cover and with the Dialogue en perspective prize for Drifter. Another exciting development for German film was the admittance of actress Hannah Herzsprung into the elite circle of the Shooting Stars 2008.

Strong (southeast) Asian cinema in the Forum and Panorama

The Forum successfully fulfilled its role as platform for daring, unconventional filmmakers and, was optimally supplemented by the artistic and installative pieces shown in Forum expanded. The Japanese Forum film Asyl - Park and Love Hotel was awarded with the high-value prize for the best first film. Otherwise, the large number of impressive productions from Southeast Asia stuck out among a broad spectrum of international productions.

Kumasaka Izuru, Keiko Araki
Kumasaka Izuru und Keiko Araki won the Best First Feature Award

The region was also the setting of Teddy-winner Olaf de Fleur Johannesson’s Panorama film The Amazing Truth About Queen Raquela. In his own words he wanted, in his work, to show “what social disrespect, poverty, homosexuality and cross-dressing mean in a Catholic-dominated society such as the Philippines.” A high number of the films in the section displayed a comparable and often socially critical thoughtfulness. A thread that linked many of the films in the programme was a return to clear narrative structures and genre formats

Market and festival – a successful connection

In 2008, industry visitors were again able to make good use of the opportunities provided by the European Film Market to form and foster productive, lasting business relationships. A total of 430 companies from 51 countries were represented with stands in the Martin-Gropius-Bau and the approximately 6,400 professional guests received a comprehensive overview of current developments in the international production scene. The increased interest in the Berlinale Co-Production Market as a guide and motor for international co-productions also confirmed the role of the Berlinale as a market and working platform. Thirty-five film projects from 25 countries were discussed in various event formats with a focus on future co-productions. The increasingly important funding body, the World Cinema Fund, was able to expand its radius of support during this year’s festival and presented for the first time funded projects from the regions of Southeast Asia and the Caucasus.

The Berlinale Talent Campus in the HAU again served as the ideal location for exchange between 349 young international filmmakers and professionals from all areas of the industry. Inspiration and discussion was provided by celebrity guests such as Stephen Daldry, Julie Delpy and Maria Schrader, who, together with the talents, explored the many sides of cinematic emotional realities, the dedicated theme of this year’s Campus.

Francesco Rosi in front of his portrait

In conclusion, the Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung described the Berlinale as “a cinematographic adventure freed from the pressure of marketing” and spoke of a cinematic “experience of abundance” which no other festival in the world could provide. This opulence is thanks to the Berlinale Shorts, the comprehensive Luis Buñuel Retrospective, the Homage to Francesco Rosi, and the numerous special series, which provided additional programme highlights with “War at Home- The Vietnam War in US Cinema”, “Rebellion of the Filmmakers” with works from Filmverlag der Autoren and the Culinary Cinema.

In his acceptance speech for the Silver Bear (best director), Paul Thomas Anderson praised the extraordinary atmosphere at the Berlinale and the informal way that Dieter Kosslick managed the festival, as if he was throwing a “party in his living room”. But also the city of Berlin played its part in making the Berlinale 2008 a success and highlight in the festival calendar: “Berlin’s scene, Berlin’s culture and history have a one-of-a-kind quality which secure the success and survival of the ever-growing festival circus. It is the myth of Berlin which is recharged year in, year out.” (Tagesspiegel)

Visitors  
Total amount of theater visits 450,115
Tickets sold 240,098
   
Professionals  
Accredited guests (press excl.) 15,930
Countries of origin 125
   
Press  
Journalists 4,152
Countries of origin 82
   
Website www.berlinale.de
Dec 15, 2007 - Feb 25, 2008
 
Page Views 15,657,066
Visits 986,264
   
Screenings  
Number of films in the public programme 384
(incl. 106 short films)
Total amount of public screenings 929
   
European Film Market  
Film industry participants 6,443
Number of films 732
Number of screenings 1,105
EFM-Stands
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
120
Number of exhibitors 430
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Participants 461
Countries of origin 49
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Participants 349
Countries of origin 90

Berlinale: Chronik


58. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
07. - 17. Februar 2008

„Die Berlinale wirkt nicht nur als Kick für die Kinostadt Berlin nach. Sie exportiert auch ein sehr spezifisches Berlin-Gefühl, eine Mischung aus Bodenständigkeit und Herzlichkeit, die den menschlichen Kern erreicht, der auch im größten Star steckt. Diese Bodenhaftung ist neben dem Glamour Teil der Erfolgsstory."

(Tagesspiegel)

Shah Rukh Khan
Shah Rukh Khan inmitten seiner Fans

Angesichts des fulminanten Staraufgebots nahm der Glamourfaktor bei der 58. Ausgabe der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin einen großen Teil der journalistischen Aufmerksamkeit ein. Viele freuten sich über den Besuch berühmter Schauspielerinnen wie Tilda Swinton, Penélope Cruz, Kristin Scott Thomas, Natalie Portman und Scarlett Johansson, die das Berliner Publikum bereits mit ihrer bloßen Anwesenheit begeisterten. Dazu gesellten sich mit Nanni Moretti, Daniel Day-Lewis, Sir Ben Kingsley und Willem Dafoe auch männliche Pendants mit ähnlichem Bekanntheitsgrad. Der absolute Publikumsliebling kam allerdings nicht aus den Sphären Hollywoods oder europäischen Gefilden, sondern ließ die Herzen der Fans des indischen Kinos höher schlagen: Bollywood-Star Shah Rukh Khan stellte seinen neuen Film Om Shanti Om als Berlinale Special vor und versetzte mit seinem Erscheinen die halbe Stadt in Aufruhr.

Filme, Prominenz und politische Anliegen

Einige wenige Kritiker monierten eine zu starke Fokussierung auf die Welt des Glitzers. So stellte Daniel Kothenschulte in der Frankfurter Rundschau gar süffisant die Frage, ob man die Filmfestspiele nicht „durch ein Prominenz-Festival ersetzen“ solle. Im Allgemeinen überwog jedoch der Eindruck, dass den unumstößlichen und prägnanten Mittelpunkt der Berlinale immer noch die Filme ausmachen. Ohne sie wäre es sicherlich nicht möglich gewesen, die Zahl der verkauften Eintrittskarten (auf über 240.000) und der akkreditierten Fachbesucher zum wiederholten Male zu steigern.

Patti Smith gab Dieter Kosslick eine Kostprobe ihres Könnens

Zu den mit Spannung erwarteten Höhepunkten gehörte natürlich die Verkündung der Preisträger am letzten Festival-Samstag. Dass sich die Internationale Jury unter Vorsitz des Filmregisseurs Costa-Gavras kurz vor Berlinale-Beginn überraschend von acht auf sechs Mitglieder dezimiert hatte (Susanne Bier und Sandrine Bonnaire mussten kurzfristig absagen), tat der Diskussionsfreudigkeit der Gruppe zum Glück keinen Abbruch. Mit ihrer Entscheidung, dem brasilianischen Beitrag Tropa De Elite von José Padilha den Goldenen Bären zu verleihen, trafen die Juroren eine zugleich überraschende wie bestätigende Wahl. Überraschend, weil wenige den Film mit seiner realismusnahen, außergewöhnlichen Ästhetik auf ihrer Liste potentieller Gewinner hatten. Bestätigend, weil das behandelte Thema von Korruption und Machtmechanismen innerhalb einer brasilianischen Polizeieinheit dem (vor allem von Costa-Gavras) erwarteten gesellschaftskritischen Gehalt der Entscheidung entsprach. In diesem Sinne ging auch der Große Preis der Jury an einen dezidiert politischen Film, und zwar an den ersten Dokumentarfilm, der jemals im Wettbewerb der Berlinale um die Bären konkurrieren durfte: Errol Morris’ Standard Operating Procedure über die skandalösen Ereignisse und Foltermethoden US-amerikanischer Militärs im irakischen Gefangenenlager von Abu-Ghraib.

Die Mischung von glanzvollen Momenten auf der einen und politisch brisanten Themen auf der anderen Seite zog sich durch das gesamte Festival. Und selten präsentierten sich die einzelnen Sektionen dabei so aufeinander abgestimmt wie in diesem Jahr. So spiegelte sich das Thema der Elendsviertel aus dem Gewinnerfilm variationsreich in den Programmen der anderen Sektionen wieder, etwa in Los olvidados in der Retrospektive, Cidade dos Homens in Generation oder Sleep Dealer im Panorama.

Musik für Herz und Kopf

Noch verbindender und im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes durchdringender war allerdings in diesem Jahr die Musik. Nicht nur, dass der Brückenschlag zwischen dem künstlerisch unterhaltenden und dem politischen Anliegen der Musiker und Filmemacher oft genug gelang. Nachdem die Rolling Stones bereits mit Regisseur Martin Scorsese für eine furiose Eröffnung der Filmfestspiele gesorgt hatten, folgten in anderen Sektionen gleich mehrere hochkarätige Stars aus der Pop- und Rockwelt nach: Neben Madonna, die ihr Regiedebüt im Panorama vorstellte, waren auch Neil Young und Patti Smith mit Filmen vor Ort.

Mit den ebenfalls musikalischen Produktionen love, peace & beatbox (als Cross-Section-Beitrag mit der Perspektive Deutsches Kino) und War Child stellte die Sektion Generation erstmals zwei Dokumentarfilmbeiträge im neuen 14plus-Kino Babylon in Mitte vor und erweiterte damit ihren filmischen Programmradius. Die Gläsernen Bären wurden mit Black Baloon in 14plus und Buda Az Sharm Foru Rikht in Kplus jedoch traditionell an Spielfilme verliehen.

Wenngleich der deutsche Film nicht so stark und weitläufig wie in den letzten Jahren auf dem Festival vertreten war, konnte die Perspektive Deutsches Kino mit ihrem Programm durchaus überzeugen. Vor allem der Mut junger deutscher Filmemacher, sich über den eigenen Tellerrand hinauszuwagen, fiel dabei positiv ins Auge und wurde mit dem Teddy für den besten Dokumentarfilm für Football Under Cover und dem Preis Dialogue en perspective für Drifter honoriert. Ebenso erfreulich für den deutschen Film war die Aufnahme der Schauspielerin Hannah Herzsprung in den erlesenen Kreis der Shooting Stars 2008.

Starkes (südost-)asiatisches Kino in Forum und Panorama

Das Forum wurde seiner bewährten Funktion als Anlaufstelle für couragierte und unkonventionelle Filmemacher gerecht und erhielt durch das Forum expanded mit künstlerischen und installativen Arbeiten abermals eine optimale Ergänzung. Der japanische Forums-Beitrag Asyl - Park and Love Hotel wurde mit dem hochdotierten Preis für den Besten Erstlingsfilm ausgezeichnet. Und auch sonst fiel im breiten Spektrum internationaler Produktionen die Menge eindrücklicher Produktionen aus dem südostasiatischen Raum auf.

Kumasaka Izuru, Keiko Araki
Kumasaka Izuru und Keiko Araki gewannen den Preis für den Besten Erstlingsfilm

Genau dort siedelte auch Teddypreisträger Olaf de Fleur Johannesson die Handlung seines Panorama-Beitrags The Amazing Truth About Queen Raquela an. Nach eigener Aussage wollte er mit seiner Arbeit verdeutlichen, „was soziale Zurücksetzung, Armut, Homosexualität und Crossdressing in einer vom Katholizismus geprägten Gesellschaft wie den Philippinen bedeuten.” Auffallend viele Filme der Sektion zeichneten sich durch einen vergleichbaren und nicht selten gesellschaftskritischen Tiefgang aus. Als roter Faden zog sich dabei eine Rückbesinnung bzw. Hinwendung zu klaren narrativen Formen und Genreformaten durch das Programm.

Markt und Festival – eine erfolgreiche Verbindung

Auch das fachinterne Publikum konnte 2008 wieder die Möglichkeit nutzen, auf dem European Film Market produktive und nachhaltige Geschäftsbeziehungen einzugehen und zu intensivieren. 430 Firmen aus 51 Ländern waren im Martin-Gropius-Bau mit Ständen vertreten und die etwa 6.400 Fachbesucher erhielten einen umfassenden Einblick in aktuelle Entwicklungen der internationalen Produktionslandschaft. Das vermehrte Interesse am Berlinale Co-Production Market als Wegweiser und Motor für internationale Koproduktionen bestätigt zusätzlich die Funktion der Berlinale als Markt- und Arbeitsplattform. 35 Filmprojekte aus 25 Ländern wurden dort in unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungsformen hinsichtlich zukünftiger Koproduktionen diskutiert. Die nicht minder an Bedeutung gewinnende Förderinstitution des World Cinema Fund konnte für das diesjährige Festival seinen Unterstützungsradius erweitern und erstmals auch geförderte Projekte aus den Regionen Südostasien und dem Kaukasus vorstellen.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus im HAU fungierte erneut als idealer Ort für den gemeinsamen Austausch von 349 internationalen Nachwuchsfilmemachern und Professionellen aus allen Bereichen der Filmbranche. Für fachkundige Anregungen und Gespräche konnten prominente Gäste wie Stephen Daldry, Julie Delpy und Maria Schrader als Gäste begrüßt werden, die gemeinsam mit den Talenten die mannigfaltigen Facetten kinematografischer Gefühlswelten erörterten, denen der diesjährige Campus gewidmet war.

Francesco Rosi vor seinem Portrait

Resümierend beschrieb die Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung die Berlinale als "vom Vermarktungsdruck befreite(s) Abenteuer der Kinematographie” und sprach von einer filmischen „Erfahrung der Fülle", die kein anderes Festival weltweit gewähre. Diese Üppigkeit ist nicht zuletzt auch den Berlinale Shorts, der umfangreichen Luis Buñuel-Retrospektive, der Hommage an Francesco Rosi und den zahlreichen Sonderreihen zu verdanken, die 2008 mit "War at Home – Der Vietnamkrieg im US-Kino", "Aufbruch der Filmemacher" mit Werken aus dem Filmverlag der Autoren und dem Kulinarischen Kino zusätzliche Akzente im Programm setzten.

In seiner Dankesrede für den Silbernen Bären (Beste Regie) lobte Paul Thomas Anderson die außergewöhnlich herzliche Atmosphäre der Berlinale und die familiäre Art, mit der Dieter Kosslick das Festival leite, als feiere er eine „Party in seinem Wohnzimmer”. Aber auch die Stadt Berlin leistete ihren Beitrag dazu, dass die Berlinale 2008 zu einem erfolgreichen Auftakt und Highlight des internationalen Festivaljahres wurde: „Berlins Szene, Berlins Kultur und Geschichte sind ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal, das der Berlinale ihren Erfolg und ihr Überleben im immer größeren Festivalzirkus sichert. Es ist der Mythos Berlin, der hier Jahr für Jahr neu aufgeladen wird.“ (Tagesspiegel)

Besucher  
Kinobesuche 450.115
Verkaufte Eintrittskarten 240.098
   
Fachbesucher  
Akkreditierte Fachbesucher (ohne Presse) 15.930
Herkunftsländer 125
   
Presse  
Pressevertreter 4.152
Herkunftsländer 82
   
Website www.berlinale.de
15. Dezember 2007 - 25. Februar 2008
 
Page Views 15.657.066
Besuche 986.264
   
Screenings  
Anzahl Filme im öffentlichen Programm 384
(davon 106 Kurzfilme)
Anzahl öffentlicher Vorführungen 929
   
European Film Market  
Fachbesucher 6.443
Anzahl Filme 732
Anzahl Screenings 1.105
Stände auf dem EFM
(Martin-Gropius-Bau & Business Offices)
120
Anzahl Aussteller 430
   
Berlinale Co-Production Market  
Teilnehmer 461
Herkunftsländer 49
   
Berlinale Talent Campus  
Teilnehmer 349
Herkunftsländer 90