Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

Letters From Iwo Jima

 
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA

Sixty-two years ago, American and Japanese troops fought each other on Iwo Jima. Decades later, hundreds of letters were found buried beneath the island's barren surface. These letters give faces and voices to the men who were led into battle by an extraordinary general.
The Japanese soldiers who were sent to Iwo Jima knew that they would probably not return. One of them is the baker Saigo, who is determined to live to see his new-born daughter. Among the other soldiers are Baron Nishi, gold medallist in horsemanship at the 1936 Olympic games; an idealistic ex-cop named Shimizu, and Lieutenant Ito, who is committed to the Japanese cause. They all receive their orders from Lieutenant General Tadamichi Kuribayashi, a worldly intellectual, who has travelled the USA. Thanks to a brilliant strategy, he manages to delay by forty days his troops' defeat at the hands of the superior American forces. But there's a high price to pay. At the end of the battle, 7,000 American and over 20,000 Japanese soldiers were to meet their deaths on Iwo Jima.
The battle was made legendary by a photograph of an American soldier hoisting the US flag. Reproduced hundreds of times, this photograph was to become an iconic image of the war in the Pacific. The story of how this photograph was taken is at the centre of Eastwood's last film, FLAGS OF OUR FATHERS. LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA now follows the story of this bitter struggle from a Japanese perspective.

USA 2006, 141 min

by

Clint Eastwood

with

Ken Watanabe
Kazunari Ninomiya
Tsuyoshi Ihara
Rio Kase
Shidou Nakamura

World Sales

Warner Bros.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Letters From Iwo Jima

 
 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA

Vor 62 Jahren trafen die amerikanischen und japanischen Truppen auf Iwo Jima aufeinander. Jahrzehnte später fand man Hunderte von Briefen in der Erde der kargen Insel. Durch diese Briefe bekommen die Männer, die dort unter Führung ihres außergewöhnlichen Generals gekämpft haben, Gesicht und Stimme.
Als die japanischen Soldaten nach Iwo Jima geschickt werden, wissen sie, dass sie aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach nicht zurückkehren werden. Zu ihnen gehört der Bäcker Saigo, der überleben möchte, um seine neugeborene Tochter sehen zu können. Baron Nishi, der 1936 als Reiter bei den Olympischen Spielen in Berlin siegte, gehört ebenso dazu wie der idealistische Ex-Polizist Shimizu und der von der Sache überzeugte Leut nant Ito. Befehligt werden sie von Generalleutnant Tadamichi Kuribayashi, einem weltläufigen Intellektuellen, der die USA bereist hat. Ihm gelingt es mit einer brillanten Strategie, die sichere Niederlage gegen die amerikanische Übermacht 40 Tage hinauszuzögern. Doch der Preis ist hoch. Am Ende sterben auf Iwo Jima 7.000 amerikanische mehr als über 20.000 japanische Soldaten.
Zur Legende wurde die Schlacht durch ein Foto, das - hunderte Male abgebildet - zur Bildikone des Pazifikkriegs wurde: Amerikanische Soldaten hissen die US-Flagge. Die Entstehungsgeschichte dieses Fotos steht im Mittelpunkt von Clint Eastwoods letztem Film FLAGS OF OUR FATHERS. Mit LETTERS FROM IWO JIMA folgt jetzt die Geschichte dieses unerbittlichen Kampfes aus japanischer Sicht.

USA 2006, 141 Min

von

Clint Eastwood

mit

Ken Watanabe
Kazunari Ninomiya
Tsuyoshi Ihara
Rio Kase
Shidou Nakamura

Weltvertrieb

Warner Bros.