Berlinale: Programme

Film file


The Good Shepherd

Der gute Hirte

Matt Damon (Actor)

Martina Gedeck (Actress)

Robert De Niro (Director)

Anatol Weber (Moderator)

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##


This film tells the story of the founding of the American secret service, the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), and a man who is prepared to sacrifice anything and everything to protect his country. His unimpeachable biography, his profound belief in American values and his tremendous mental agility make Edward Wilson an ideal candidate for a career in the USA's newly founded foreign secret service; he later becomes a co-founder of the strategic department of the CIA.
Edward Wilson is a patriot who knows the meaning of secrecy, a man who has grown up imbibed by terms such as discretion and honour. An assiduous student at Yale, in 1939 he joins the Skull and Bones Society, a secret brother hood seeking to recruit future political leaders. The astute, idealistic young man is later himself recruited by the Office of Strategic Services (OSS), a forerunner of the CIA during the Second World War. This career move will not only change the course of his future life, it will have an enduring effect on the entire geo-political situation - right up to the present day: for Wilson and his co-workers found the most powerful secret service the world has ever known.
As one of the CIA's founding fathers, Wilson works in a world in which deception is a part of life and nothing is as it appears to be. His idealism soon gives way to a permanent feeling of mistrust which finds its expression in the long-term paranoia of the Cold War. Wilson rises to become a leading figure in the CIA, and his methods become standard secret service procedure. Like some global chess game, Wilson is determined to defeat his opponents in the KGB.
But Wilson pays an increasingly high price for his unquestioning commitment. Even his wife Margaret's growing doubts fail to prevent him from pursuing a goal that will finally lead him to sacrifice everything for his job.

USA 2006, 167 min


Robert De Niro


Matt Damon
Angelina Jolie
Alec Baldwin
Tammy Blanchard
Billy Crudup
Robert De Niro
Martina Gedeck
William Hurt
Timothy Hutton
Joe Pesci

World Sales

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

The Good Shepherd

Der gute Hirte

Matt Damon (Schauspieler)

Martina Gedeck (Schauspielerin)

Robert De Niro (Regisseur)

Anatol Weber (Moderator)

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

DER GUTE HIRTE

Der Film erzählt von der Gründung des amerikanischen Geheimdienstes, der Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), und einem Mann, der bereit ist, alles zu opfern, um sein Land zu beschützen. Sein makelloser Lebenslauf, sein tiefer Glaube an die amerikanischen Werte und seine schnelle Auffassungsgabe machen Edward Wilson zum idealen Kandidaten für eine Karriere im neu gegründeten Auslandsgeheimdienst der USA und später zum Mitgestalter der strategischen Abteilung der CIA.
Edward Wilson ist ein Patriot, der den Wert von Geheimhaltung kennt und mit Begriffen wie Diskretion und Ehre aufgewachsen ist. Als strebsamer Student in Yale trat er 1939 der Skull and Bones Society bei, einer geheimen Bruderschaft, die künftige Führungskräfte für die Politik rekrutieren will. Der scharfsinnige und idealistische junge Mann wird vom Office of Strategic Services (OSS) rekrutiert, dem Vorläufer der CIA während des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Diese Entscheidung wird nicht nur sein weiteres Leben verändern, sondern bestimmt bis heute die geopolitische Lage: Wilson und seine Mitarbeiter gründeten den mächtigsten Geheimdienst aller Zeiten.
Als einer der Gründungsväter der CIA arbeitet Wilson in einer Welt, in der Täuschung zum Alltag gehört und nichts so ist, wie es scheint. Sein Idealismus weicht bald einem dauerhaften Misstrauen, das in der langjährigen Paranoia des Kalten Krieges seine Entsprechung findet. Wilson wird zum führenden Mitarbeiter der CIA, seine Methoden werden zum Standard des Geheimdienstes. Wie in einem globalen Schachspiel will Wilson seine Gegenspieler des KGB schlagen.
Für seinen bedingungslosen Einsatz zahlt Wilson einen zunehmend höheren Preis. Auch die wachsenden Bedenken seiner Frau Margaret können Wilson nicht von seinem Weg abbringen - der ihn schließlich dazu führen wird, alles für seinen Beruf zu opfern.

USA 2006, 167 Min

von

Robert De Niro

mit

Matt Damon
Angelina Jolie
Alec Baldwin
Tammy Blanchard
Billy Crudup
Robert De Niro
Martina Gedeck
William Hurt
Timothy Hutton
Joe Pesci

Weltvertrieb

Universal