Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

La Môme

La Vie en Rose

Pascal Greggory (Actor)

Clotilde Coureau (Actress)

Jean-Pierre Martins (Actor)

Marion Cotillard (Actress)

Olivier Dahan (Director)

Sylvie Testud (Actress)

Alain Goldman (Producer)

Emmanuelle Seigner (Actress)

Rainer Rother (Moderator)

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

LA VIE EN ROSE

She was tiny and tender, but her private life was marked by extraordinary tragedy. Edith Piaf (1915-1963) conveyed French identity to the rest of the world as had no other singer before or after her. Known internationally as the "sparrow of Paris" her voice was in fact strong, expressive and passionate. Her international fame rests on the astounding success of songs like "La vie en rose", "Non, je ne regrette rien", "Mylord" and many others, 30 of which are to be heard in this film.
Edith Piaf's life was one long struggle. Left by her street singer mother at an early age, she grew up with her paternal grandmother, who ran a brothel in Normandy. Edith Piaf suddenly went blind between the ages of three and seven; legend has it that she regained her eyesight after the prostitutes working for her grandmother undertook a pilgrimage to Sainte Thérèse de Lisieux. She later went to live with her alcoholic father, only to leave him at the age of 15 to go and sing on the streets of Paris.
In 1935 Edith Piaf was discovered by a nightclub owner named Louis Leplée who convinced her to sing, in spite of her fear of performing, and gave her the nickname - "La Môme" Piaf, or little sparrow - that she was to retain for the rest of her life. She released her first album during the same year, and her magical voice soon turned her into an international star - on both sides of the Atlantic. Her passionate affairs and her friendships with famous contemporaries such as Yves Montand, Jean Cocteau, Charles Aznavour, world boxing champ Marcel Cerdan and Marlene Dietrich meant that her private life was often in the public eye. Flights of fancy and moments of happiness alternated with drama and tragic falls. And everyone knew that it would only be a matter of time before the "sparrow of Paris" burned her wings ...

France / United Kingdom / Czech Republic 2006, 140 min

by

Olivier Dahan

with

Marion Cotillard
Sylvie Testud
Gérard Depardieu
Jean-Paul Rouve
Pascal Greggory

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

La Môme

La Vie en Rose

Pascal Greggory (Schauspieler)

Clotilde Coureau (Schauspielerin)

Jean-Pierre Martins (Schauspieler)

Marion Cotillard (Schauspielerin)

Olivier Dahan (Regisseur)

Sylvie Testud (Schauspielerin)

Alain Goldman (Produzent)

Emmanuelle Seigner (Schauspielerin)

Rainer Rother (Moderator)

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

LA VIE EN ROSE

Sie war winzig und zart, ihr Privatleben von einem Übermaß an Tragik geprägt. Edith Piaf (1915-1963) vermittelte der Welt wie keine andere Sängerin vor oder nach ihr französische Identität. Sie war international bekannt als der "Spatz von Paris", aber ihre Stimme war stark, ausdrucksvoll und leidenschaftlich. Ihre weltweit größten Erfolge feierte die Piaf mit Liedern wie "La vie en rose", "Non, je ne regrette rien", "Mylord" und vielen anderen, von denen rund 30 im Film zur Aufführung kommen.
Edith Piafs Leben war ein einziger Kampf. Von ihrer Mutter, einer Straßensängerin, früh verlassen, wächst sie bei ihrer Großmutter väterlicherseits auf, die in der Normandie ein Bordell betreibt. Im Alter zwischen drei und sieben Jahren war Edith Piaf blind. Die Legende besagt, dass sie ihr Augenlicht wieder erhält, nachdem die Prostituierten ihrer Großmutter eine Pilgerreise nach Sainte Thérèse de Lisieux unternommen haben. Später lebt sie bei ihrem Vater, einem Alkoholiker, den sie mit 15 verlässt, um als Straßen sän ge rin nach Paris zu gehen.
1935 wird Edith Piaf von dem Nachtclubbesitzer Louis Leplée entdeckt. Er überredet sie zu singen, trotz ihrer riesengroßen Nervosität, und gibt ihr jenen Spitznamen, der ihr für den Rest ihres Lebens erhalten blieb: "La Môme" Piaf, der kleine Spatz. Noch im gleichen Jahr erscheint ihre erste Platte. Ihre magische Stimme macht sie zum Weltstar auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks. Aber auch ihre leidenschaftlichen Affären und die Freundschaften mit bedeutenden Zeitgenossen - Yves Montand, Jean Cocteau, Charles Aznavour, Box-Weltmeister Marcel Cerdan und Marlene Dietrich - rücken sie immer wieder ins Rampenlicht. Höhenflüge und Glück wechseln sich ab mit Dramen und tragischen Abstürzen. Allen ist klar, dass sich der "Spatz von Paris" irgendwann einmal die Flügel verbrennen wird ...

Frankreich / Großbritannien / Tschechische Republik 2006, 140 Min

von

Olivier Dahan

mit

Marion Cotillard
Sylvie Testud
Gérard Depardieu
Jean-Paul Rouve
Pascal Greggory